The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2009-03-02
Reviews: 1
My site sell professional digital images and some images are very huge because very high resolution. All work well, both download and upload.

If you get time out, you need to contact your host to increase couple PHP parameters like max_execution_time, upload_max_filesize or post_max_size. The default setup are different for every host.

About Paypal, it work too. You don't have to post any question. Just search the forum, there are a lot already. Last time I had problem was with Paypal itself. It solved after I contact Paypal.

Don't use Zen Cart, you will be sorry.
2009-02-28
Reviews: 1
Honestly, if you're hosting digital downloads fore sale, you'll need something better than VirtueMart. I tried several times to get PayPal to work with VM to no avail. The notify script doesn't work. The ability to upload files via browser is quirky, at best. Half the time anything over 10 MB "times out". Worse yet, there is little to no support in the forums, but tons of folks needing help. Created a thread in the forum & am still waiting for a reply after almost a month. So, I said forget it. I installed ZenCart & now have a hassle free site.

VirtueMart gets a big thumbs down from me.
2009-02-19
Reviews: 1
I am rating this as very poor because it will not work with 1.5.9 or 1.5.8. If you are running 1.0 it is the best software you will ever use but stay away from it if you are running a newer version of joomla.
2009-02-07
Reviews: 6
I have experience with Zencart, X cart, oscommerce


VM is by far the best I cart I have worked with. The biggest thing is its a component for joomla
2009-01-26
Reviews: 1
After looking into this system, installing it several times.. Getting used to the back-end... I decided to use it for a production store for a client.

It's pretty intuitive. However you're basically screwed if you need to change some functionality. The programming is all procedural and the template files are inundated with includes, and requires, in place of the core template system. Rather than using objects, parameters are set and globalized, making it impossible - exempting a global site search - to change some of the core functionality.

And the back breaker was the in-ability to set fixed shipping cost's per item, or the ability to create an extension due to the lack of OO use.
2009-01-26
Reviews: 2
I have been an advocate for VM for about one year now, and my client's insist on oscommerce or ecommerce or a variety of zen cart. Not only is the joomla platform perfect for melding an online shop with an elligant design, but also Vm's capability when combined with CSV Improved is unstoppable!

I recently purchased the googlecheckout plugin through power sellers unite, and I am stoked about giving my newest client the full joomla treatment with banners, adverts, video and audio playback with product scroller...you get the picture.

Overall Virtuemart is my Number one choice for online shopping carts!
2009-01-16
Reviews: 2
VM cart is looks great at first glance. It seems to provide all the features a shopping cart needs. If you want to plan a major store VM has a whole bunch of problems you need to worry about.

On top of my list is performance,

1: It makes too many database calls for simply content display, when I say too many I mean about 200 odd database calls, which apparent no one has noticed in these reviews, if your website has major traffic on the site VM Site will slow down and eventually crash. (Major)

2: There is a feature called Manufacturers however it does not behave like manufacturers it’s merely for display purpose. (Minor)

3: Product attributes are totally useless. (Minor)

4: there is no use for vendors (Minor)

5: the most important component in a shopping cart is its ability to communicate with its users, VM has that capability however there is no easy way of customizing the emails it sends out. (Major)

6. It lacks the ability to import users.

7. User registration system could be better, as a lot of shopping carts are b2b and they require prior user approvals before they can be allowed access to the system,

There are several other issues which can be catered by custom programming but there is a real need to improve VM performance and communication system.

If VM can improve upon these in their future versions, I without a doubt think it can be a candidate for the best system in the world.
2009-01-15
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is the BEST! They really help you get off the ground too, A+!
2009-01-06
Reviews: 9
This was a great online e-commerce much better than others and useful for all types of businesses
2009-01-05
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is the only Free Shopping cart which provides all the features that you require to maintain a online shop.It is very powerful and Excellent Modules are available.
CEO
2009-01-03
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is and excellent extension that would cost $$$ anywhere else. I have installed and setup clients several times with this shopping cart and compared to Zend or Oscommerce it is a nice inclusion to Joomla. Many of my clients are very happy with this shopping cart.
Now there are some whiners that virtuemart doesn't custom itself to the way that suites individual needs and you must be a php/css programmer to modify it to look and feel as you wish.
That is true because it would make the file too large and take extra effort away from increasing functionality of the product. I guess that is why you pay someone like me to customize it beyond what the basis framework of virtuemart.
It is said that if something is free then you will get more negative feedback than if you charge a lot of money. Remember the days when someone charge $1,000 to $100 USD for a shopping cart that didn't work this well and had limited features? I do.
Good Work Virtuemart and I will be giving a donation.
2008-12-31
Reviews: 1
This new version 1.1 is not user friendly at all. The shop display is not easy to configure, all the position is messed up, and alot of unnecessary fields that are abandoned.

ActuallY we would just be happy with version
2008-12-29
Reviews: 1
I am amazed by some reviews that were completely misguided and dangerously can lead users to have misperception about Virtuemart. For example when I read a review that said she had installed VM on several sites for several weeks and what she got was a blank site both frontend and backend. When I contemplated this review, I asked to myself how could this extension ever exist for so long (even before Joomla was born) if all I got was a blank site in the first place. Completely doesn't make any sense to me.

Another example would be a review that said why the backend interface is much more nice than the frontend. My best guess would be because there are thousands of great looking templates for the frontend whilst none for the backend. Although in my opinion, nothing special on the backend admin interface, it's just the same like Joomla's and others' extensions. I have no idea what made him said so.

Last example would be a review that said VM doesn't work with Paypal. I did some research by looking at hundreds of VM sites. Interestingly I found that majority of them are using Paypal! Some are combined with 2CO or other local payment processors as well. So my conclusion is VM does work with Paypal. My other logic thinking said since Paypal is the most common payment processor in the world, why on earth would VM ever want to have no interest in supporting Paypal in the first place (as what the review said)? What's the advantage of doing so? I'm not seeing any except all the disadvantages, instead.

I guess these kind of unweighted reviews must be reviewed first by the moderator before it was posted whether it's truly a review or just a junk note.
2008-12-19
Reviews: 1
VM is not the easiest component to work with, but everything else makes up for it. My site/ store was up and running within 3 weeks.

After installing VM, I can tell that these guys put a lot of work into their creation. Sure I had to do some research, but that comes with the territory. Thanks to the team that contributed their time and energy into VM only to provide this great service for FREE!!!

Muchas gracias! :)
2008-12-19
Reviews: 7
I was a newbie not only with Joomla but any sort of ecommerce when I discovered VM, and yes, I did have quite a few problems in setting it up esp where shipping costs were involved, but doing multiple searches on their forum and seeing how others had tried to fix similar issues, along with a lot of trial and error, I eventually overcame them - admittedly probably not correctly (e.g. I've had to stick in a ridiculous weight of 1 kg for a handmade card in order to provoke the correct shipping options) but they work and the system works and I've certainly had no problems with it.

I like the frontend which is fine for a small site like mine and in particular loved how easy it was to get it set up with payment options.

I have another site on another platform which doesn't support VM and am having to try to use the much heavier OsCommerce which I can tell you is a TON tougher to set up and work with. And there's almost as little support for it sometimes too, and I agree - nothing more frustrating than not getting an answer at all to a problem, let alone it taking days to do so.

But overall, I would have to agree with others here who've commended the module as I truly feel it's worth the hard work and effort to get it up and running. And given how I've got next to no PHP knowledge or understanding I wouldn't agree that you need to have much - a very basic appreciation of where your modules are stored and how to tweak some basic code lines is about all you might need, if even.
2008-12-17
Reviews: 13
I have been trying to use this on several sites for weeks now and everytime I manual install or automatic all's I get after installing everything is a blankwebsite and the backend the component is blank as well.

I'm not sure how it made Editors Pick. If you check out the forum they never answer anyone's support question.
2008-12-15
Reviews: 2
When you see the admin tool, you'll be blown away by it's design and maturity. Unfortunately, the admin tools are so much more advanced than the front end ... the part the user sees. The display of products on the site has so much to be desired. Why put so much effort into the admin tools and so much less effort into the product display and shopping cart functionality. This is still a good shopping cart, but be prepared to hack the code to make it look at least semi-professional to the site visitor.
2008-12-11
Reviews: 1
I felt a strong need to create an account here just to rate this component.

I've used Virtuemart in the past with PayPal (something used by a few of you out there I'm sure) and I've always been inclined to appreciate such a robust e-commerce extension for Joomla. It's worked for me before, but in working with the latest version it has been problem after problem after problem. When I finally find a fix or a rough work around for one problem another one is encountered.

Don't use this if you're simply going to use PayPal there are too many flaws and very little relevant support in the forums. Other payment methods may be the same, but I assume that there's less interest in supporting PayPal since it is free and often viewed as a less than serious payment processor.

In any case, even if you get it to work there will be annoying little bugs to live with such as compiling all products as one during checkout or listing products separately but not transferring shipping costs. The biggest problem is failure to notify properly a confirmation of successful payment. This is the latest version and I never had this much trouble getting previous versions to work!
2008-12-03
Reviews: 1
Great component! It's been over 2 years ago since when we started our online shop. VM helped us to have a nice basis. Sure we modified it and tweaked it allot in order to suit our needs, but the component is very stable and has no noticable issues.
This is one of the real Joomla components, that really helped the Joomla Community to develop and to expand it's range.
Many thanks to the developers!
2008-11-18
Reviews: 1
At first glance this shopping cart system seems great, however, there are many flaws in its design that makes it pretty-much WORTHLESS ... thank god its free.

1. This shopping cart system is Category Driven ONLY! ... there is ABSOLUTELY NO WAY of filtering the products! They have created additional features like product TYPES and ATTRIBUTES to enhance the products ordering system, but if you want your customers to sort the products by any other means other than by Name, Category and a few things like Price ... then just FORGET IT!

2. Manufactures are worthless in this system. You can't do anything with them.

2. Vendors are worthless in this system. You can't do anything with them. Admittingly this feature is Beat.

3. No REAL support in the forums ... there are very few real developers working on this thing, and forget about Feature Requests ... out of the hundred or so, only 1 was fulfilled!

4. There are reasons why this thing is free ... is you want a BASIC shopping cart then this thing will work fine, beyond that go somewhere else.
Page 16 of 23