The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2009-01-05
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is the only Free Shopping cart which provides all the features that you require to maintain a online shop.It is very powerful and Excellent Modules are available.
CEO
2009-01-03
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is and excellent extension that would cost $$$ anywhere else. I have installed and setup clients several times with this shopping cart and compared to Zend or Oscommerce it is a nice inclusion to Joomla. Many of my clients are very happy with this shopping cart.
Now there are some whiners that virtuemart doesn't custom itself to the way that suites individual needs and you must be a php/css programmer to modify it to look and feel as you wish.
That is true because it would make the file too large and take extra effort away from increasing functionality of the product. I guess that is why you pay someone like me to customize it beyond what the basis framework of virtuemart.
It is said that if something is free then you will get more negative feedback than if you charge a lot of money. Remember the days when someone charge $1,000 to $100 USD for a shopping cart that didn't work this well and had limited features? I do.
Good Work Virtuemart and I will be giving a donation.
2008-12-31
Reviews: 1
This new version 1.1 is not user friendly at all. The shop display is not easy to configure, all the position is messed up, and alot of unnecessary fields that are abandoned.

ActuallY we would just be happy with version
2008-12-29
Reviews: 1
I am amazed by some reviews that were completely misguided and dangerously can lead users to have misperception about Virtuemart. For example when I read a review that said she had installed VM on several sites for several weeks and what she got was a blank site both frontend and backend. When I contemplated this review, I asked to myself how could this extension ever exist for so long (even before Joomla was born) if all I got was a blank site in the first place. Completely doesn't make any sense to me.

Another example would be a review that said why the backend interface is much more nice than the frontend. My best guess would be because there are thousands of great looking templates for the frontend whilst none for the backend. Although in my opinion, nothing special on the backend admin interface, it's just the same like Joomla's and others' extensions. I have no idea what made him said so.

Last example would be a review that said VM doesn't work with Paypal. I did some research by looking at hundreds of VM sites. Interestingly I found that majority of them are using Paypal! Some are combined with 2CO or other local payment processors as well. So my conclusion is VM does work with Paypal. My other logic thinking said since Paypal is the most common payment processor in the world, why on earth would VM ever want to have no interest in supporting Paypal in the first place (as what the review said)? What's the advantage of doing so? I'm not seeing any except all the disadvantages, instead.

I guess these kind of unweighted reviews must be reviewed first by the moderator before it was posted whether it's truly a review or just a junk note.
2008-12-19
Reviews: 1
VM is not the easiest component to work with, but everything else makes up for it. My site/ store was up and running within 3 weeks.

After installing VM, I can tell that these guys put a lot of work into their creation. Sure I had to do some research, but that comes with the territory. Thanks to the team that contributed their time and energy into VM only to provide this great service for FREE!!!

Muchas gracias! :)
2008-12-19
Reviews: 7
I was a newbie not only with Joomla but any sort of ecommerce when I discovered VM, and yes, I did have quite a few problems in setting it up esp where shipping costs were involved, but doing multiple searches on their forum and seeing how others had tried to fix similar issues, along with a lot of trial and error, I eventually overcame them - admittedly probably not correctly (e.g. I've had to stick in a ridiculous weight of 1 kg for a handmade card in order to provoke the correct shipping options) but they work and the system works and I've certainly had no problems with it.

I like the frontend which is fine for a small site like mine and in particular loved how easy it was to get it set up with payment options.

I have another site on another platform which doesn't support VM and am having to try to use the much heavier OsCommerce which I can tell you is a TON tougher to set up and work with. And there's almost as little support for it sometimes too, and I agree - nothing more frustrating than not getting an answer at all to a problem, let alone it taking days to do so.

But overall, I would have to agree with others here who've commended the module as I truly feel it's worth the hard work and effort to get it up and running. And given how I've got next to no PHP knowledge or understanding I wouldn't agree that you need to have much - a very basic appreciation of where your modules are stored and how to tweak some basic code lines is about all you might need, if even.
2008-12-17
Reviews: 13
I have been trying to use this on several sites for weeks now and everytime I manual install or automatic all's I get after installing everything is a blankwebsite and the backend the component is blank as well.

I'm not sure how it made Editors Pick. If you check out the forum they never answer anyone's support question.
2008-12-15
Reviews: 2
When you see the admin tool, you'll be blown away by it's design and maturity. Unfortunately, the admin tools are so much more advanced than the front end ... the part the user sees. The display of products on the site has so much to be desired. Why put so much effort into the admin tools and so much less effort into the product display and shopping cart functionality. This is still a good shopping cart, but be prepared to hack the code to make it look at least semi-professional to the site visitor.
2008-12-11
Reviews: 1
I felt a strong need to create an account here just to rate this component.

I've used Virtuemart in the past with PayPal (something used by a few of you out there I'm sure) and I've always been inclined to appreciate such a robust e-commerce extension for Joomla. It's worked for me before, but in working with the latest version it has been problem after problem after problem. When I finally find a fix or a rough work around for one problem another one is encountered.

Don't use this if you're simply going to use PayPal there are too many flaws and very little relevant support in the forums. Other payment methods may be the same, but I assume that there's less interest in supporting PayPal since it is free and often viewed as a less than serious payment processor.

In any case, even if you get it to work there will be annoying little bugs to live with such as compiling all products as one during checkout or listing products separately but not transferring shipping costs. The biggest problem is failure to notify properly a confirmation of successful payment. This is the latest version and I never had this much trouble getting previous versions to work!
2008-12-03
Reviews: 1
Great component! It's been over 2 years ago since when we started our online shop. VM helped us to have a nice basis. Sure we modified it and tweaked it allot in order to suit our needs, but the component is very stable and has no noticable issues.
This is one of the real Joomla components, that really helped the Joomla Community to develop and to expand it's range.
Many thanks to the developers!
2008-11-18
Reviews: 1
At first glance this shopping cart system seems great, however, there are many flaws in its design that makes it pretty-much WORTHLESS ... thank god its free.

1. This shopping cart system is Category Driven ONLY! ... there is ABSOLUTELY NO WAY of filtering the products! They have created additional features like product TYPES and ATTRIBUTES to enhance the products ordering system, but if you want your customers to sort the products by any other means other than by Name, Category and a few things like Price ... then just FORGET IT!

2. Manufactures are worthless in this system. You can't do anything with them.

2. Vendors are worthless in this system. You can't do anything with them. Admittingly this feature is Beat.

3. No REAL support in the forums ... there are very few real developers working on this thing, and forget about Feature Requests ... out of the hundred or so, only 1 was fulfilled!

4. There are reasons why this thing is free ... is you want a BASIC shopping cart then this thing will work fine, beyond that go somewhere else.
2008-11-18
Reviews: 1
I can understand the last few reviews, at first glance this can seem very daunting, however I have found if I stick to a tried and tested install approach it works fine. Install Joomla, install Virtuemart, install sh404sef (if needed), now do all your set up and make sure it all works. Be aware that there is a direct relationship between the Joomla global settings and the VM settings, and to get postage to work you need to make sure it is active in the path to purchase, these being the two most common issues. It also helps if you install the demo data as this will illustrate the settings very well. Having set it all up, back it up! Then you can add in all the other eye candy etc that you want on your site safe in the knowledge that if you mess up your install you can roll back to a good version.
My thanks to the developers and others in the community for their help in the past.
2008-11-14
Reviews: 8
I have installed VirtueMart four times. And got it working on two sites. but only for a while.

Two major cautions need to be given to anyone that wants to use VirtueMart.

1. You MUST NOT be a Joomla newbie
2. You MUST know php

VirtueMart has so many capabilities it is compelling to download and install. But, if you plan a major store, you will need to know php.

If you are considering VirtueMart because it is free, its not. It will cost you many hours and days. Their forum is filled with posts from many people pleading for help. Many receive "me to" replies and many with zero replies that are months old.

If you want VirtueMart, hire a consultant that has at least 10 stores in their portfolio (and go visit them first). It won't be free, but you will improve your probability of success. For me, I'm bagging VM - its too expensive.
2008-11-13
Reviews: 1
I have been implementing VirtueMart for a client for well over two months now. Yes it was my first implementation and initially was fairly impressed with the product. Still, fairly impressed but now that we are down to the wire issues are coming up that I believe most users will have trouble with.

1. There is no way to have multiple taxes configured, even though they have a multiple tax option. You can't have taxes based on shipping address for different cities. You can globally assign one tax rate to a state and not charge other states, but if you have to charge different tax rates within a state based on the shippers city, it is not possible.

2. Non-taxable items. They claim to be able to do this, which it can be done, but for some reason they have tied "non-taxable items" to the item weight. So if you don't want to charge tax on something then you don't put an item weight in the configuration. But then if the customer only orders that item that is non-taxable and has no weight, then the shipping module doesn't bring up the shipping options (like their UPS Shipping Module). Why would you tie "non-taxable items" to a shipping weight.

3. Customizable emails are virtually non-existent - unless you are a php guru. There are no templates for emails that are easy to manipulate. The initial email that a consumer receives on the order looks great. Subsequent emails are a simple text email that looks very elementary and as of the date of this review...the forums, the developers have provided no answers.

4. Before you use this extension, go register and get into the forums and look at the questions and see how many responses there are from actual developers vs. forum members.

There are other little things to that are annoyances, but are fairly easy to overcome. However, the items I have described are big, not just for me but for a lot of users. The tax thing is huge.

If you need a simple, out of the box (so to speak) solution with no complications for tax implications, no need for custom emails to your buyers, and just want to sell all items with one flat tax, then I would agree, this product is pretty easy to use.

I have lots of good things to say also. I am just being candid about the issues.
2008-10-26
Reviews: 4
About time I posted a review. For those that expect a complete solution without any tweaking are always going to be disappointed with a system like this. It's big, has huge potential for many different types of sites, and it's open source.

Based on that, and the fact that I have made some money from it, how could it possibly be worth less than 5 stars? As someone else said, I'd give it 6 if I could.

I would like to see the forums become more community focused rather than so many expecting pro support (and getting frustrated when it doesn't happen). Other than that the forums are well thought out, and an effective way to find solutions to common problems.
2008-10-13
Reviews: 1
This is a very feature rich extension that is a DEFINITE time saver for those who have do not have any shopping cart system developed.

The virtue mart forum seems very friendly and helpful.

i'd give this a 6/5 if i could...
2008-10-13
Reviews: 2
Very nice component. I developed a music shop with this component. It has very good payment gateway integration scripts. very easy to maintain a store.
2008-09-29
Reviews: 5
Nice package, works great.
keep up the good work.
2008-09-19
Reviews: 2
VirtueMart installed very smoothly, lots of features. Works fine for a new shop without an existing product list. The one feature I wanted to use was the import/export feature component. There is lots of useful advice on delimiters etc, but unless you want to do it through phpAdmin I'd wait until this component has been updated.
2008-09-18
Reviews: 1
VirtueMart is loaded with features, for a worldwide audience. This can be a challenge to wade through the features and get it running the way you want because everyone has their own expectations. But the price is right!

The VirtueMart Forum is a better place to ask for help than here, and I've found a lot of help by post questions directly in Google.

In response to a couple of previous posts I offer the following...

1) "Can't have products with no shipping, Really? by domdeez, September 2, 2008"

Actually you can do this. You'll have to create a Shipping Rate List, starting with 0 (zero) weight at $0.00. So for that I would put "Highest Weight 0.010, Lowest Weight 0.00. Then put 0 (zero) weight for your product.

2) "Not compatible with Community Builder by paul.shane, August 17, 2008"

Did you try the VirtueMart plugin for Community Builder? http://www.e-motion.com.au/open-source/virtuemart-plugin-for-community-builder.html
Page 16 of 22