The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2008-03-07
Reviews: 7
I think it's a wonderful mixture:
Joomla and Virtuemart.
With that combination, you can style online-stores with a beauty that I cannot imagne you can build it with other os solutions like oscommerce or xtcommerce.
For me, the shop is very easy to handle, with all functionalities that I need.
Thank you, developer, you did a great thing! I hope that there will be other developers who help you making (or keeping?) Virtuemart the NO 1 ecommerce solution!
2008-03-02
Reviews: 1
We have used VirtueMart for a year now, and got it to work very nicely for our needs. An ecommerce package like VM, totally integrated inside Joomla is unique ( well.. there is a challenger now... Ixxo cart )and makes it absolutely strategic for Estore owners like us. It is so important in fact that we anxiously await every upgrades of the product.

The problem that we see with VM is that the product seems to be developed by one developer. Granted, he is very talented and deserves all our thanks, but such an important product requires a team, a clear road map etc... Just look at the list of bugs on the forum, and tasks yet to be filled, and you realize that there is not enough "manpower" to maintain the product. What to say about developing it ??

My comments are not to be construed as a rebuke, we have been very pleased, that said, we see a red flag attached to the product's future... Businesses need the reassurance that the product is maintained, developed and serviced. If it is not, we look for alternatives, and this is precisely what we are planning to do with the Ixxo cart for Joomla.

We plan to try Ixxo for Joomla inthe next few weeks, and will comment on how the two products stack up when we can make an objective assessment.

The good news is that there is now competition, and even though one product is not free, it is a small price to pay for a business that demands a 100% foolproof solution.

Best,

Michel
2008-02-28
Reviews: 1
Not so easy at beginning, but once learned to use your life and your web production will be very simple and productive. I'm a webmaster and use VM evry day for my job!
2008-02-28
Reviews: 2
This is the best shopping cart around... but I only use it for the catalog and it is fantastic.

The import and product entry section could use some vast improvements - but the core extension is perfect!
2008-02-20
Reviews: 6
There is so much hype about this app and when you look at it, it really does look good.

Problem is, there are severe problems in the core of this app. Problems that have been posted on the developer's forum since last year, yet still not addressed nor even replied to.

The two biggest problems are:

1. Import of CSV product data does not work.
2. If using sales tax, pricing does not work!!!

If you're only having a dozen products or so, you may be able to live with not being able to import your products - but the developer has been aware of this bug for over a year and hasn't fixed it.

Random pricing? Actually, random discount pricing! Sales tax is usually subtracted after being subjected to seemingly random math functions.

I'm a web developer/database guy and have installed hundreds of Joomla (and other) components, plug-ins, etc., so it's not like I'm some newbie user who doesn't read manuals.

One annoying bug in the /administrator/index2.php file will keep loggin you out, but is easily fixed by adding ob_start(); immediately after the first php tag (include the semi-colon).

Unfortunately, the other bugs aren't so easily fixed.

- Hank Castello
2008-02-14
Reviews: 1
I like this solution a lot, it is very easy to use and has helped me a lot in my business. I have experienced problems with the CSV upload it did not work with it's own product export but other than that i have nothing to complain about. I know it does not officially support Joomla! 1.5 yet but I discovered in legacy mode it does work if you replace the php on line 19 to read


global $mosConfig_absolute_path, $product_id, $vmInputFilter, $category_id;

after that it works with everything except front end administration.
2008-02-13
Reviews: 1
This is the best such component for Joomla at all. It has several small bugs but I never saw software without bugs.
Many peaople here talking about support. I know, it's not the best. But I think many of this people forgeting very, very important thing;
this is FREE (in every sense) component. Tha author has invested many, many work in this compoenent and I believe we should be very thankful for this work, and for sharing it with the comunity.
So as I said: This is the best such component for Joomla at all
2008-02-05
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is one of those things that makes Joomla so great. It's still far from perfect, but it already as good as most commercial softwares. Thank you...
2008-01-22
Reviews: 3
There is a lot of promise with Virtuemart but it just doesn't deliver in terms of development and support. The USPS shipping module has troubled users for MONTHS and nobody seems to have an answer to getting it to work. And there are a few other glitches here and there that require you to hack the code and get them working...the real solution would be to update the component to include those fixes, but so far it feels like the developers are just overwhelmed. I'll keep watching for it to mature, however, because it shows so much potential.
2008-01-19
Reviews: 1
This component is impressive--and gets the job done. As previous posters have noted, serious customization can be daunting. But for someone new to eCommerce or with middle range Joomla skills this will get you what you need to be up and running.

The site that this was deployed on took some time--osCommerce was evaluated and discarded, and $130 was spent on a buggy DigiStore and mambot which proved completely worthless for tangible goods selling. With time running out, this option was installed--and covers all the bases!

OOTB setup will take a little time--some items are not intuitive or things that most will not want are turned on by default like the rating feature. Version 1.1.13a corrects some of the complaints made earlier--but also makes certain 3rd party modules or mambots obsolete. But we all know that it is just a matter of time before that catches up.

Want great eCommerce that is well integrated with Joomla? This is it, and tremendous thanks to the developers.
2008-01-18
Reviews: 1
It's actually the best e-commerce solution for Joomla, but it's a bit hard to manage and, especially, to style.

I was able to do all the tasks I needed with this component, but still wishing there was a simplified version - because there are so many options it's confusing for the administrator and, sometimes, even for the user.

I give it five stars because it would be unfair to rate less such an extensive work. But it's not perfect yet.
2008-01-10
Reviews: 1
It works as what a shopping cart application should do.

It allows you to configure an item price based on the customer groups.

I wish there is a better reporting tool such as listing all items with all the prices for the customer groups on 1 single page. This report helps me to review my pricing strategy. As of now, I have to open every single item and check the various customer groups for their pricing. It is not a big deal if you have less than 20 items. However, as you add more items, then it becomes an issue.

The other issue that I am still having with the latest release (1.0.13a) is with the paypal module. The paypal module works, except that virtue mart sends the purchase email to both me and the buyer right after they buyer clicks "confirm order" button, but before the buyer completes the paypal transaction.

Furthermore, order status is not updated even after paypal transaction is successful.

So here is the sequence:

1) buyer checks out, completing the registration, shipping address, etc.

2) on the last screen before the buyer is sent to paypal website, the buyer must click "confirm order".

3) the buyer clicks "confirm order".

4) (ISSUE #1). virtue mart will send email to the buyer and me (store owner) indicating that there is a new order, and update the virtue mart order database indicating this new order. This new order is marked as "pending". i.e waiting for paypal payment completion.
why does virtue mart sends the email before the payment is cleared ? It might give a false impression to the buyer that he had a successful order even before the buyer complete the paypal transaction. In my opinion, the email should be sent after step 6 below.
I know that this is not a major issue. Who would try to mess up my store by submiting order, but not paying... ?? LOL.

5) the buyer is directed to paypal website to complete the paypal payment.

6) after the buyer completes the paypal transaction, the buyer will be redirected back to my store.

7) (ISSUE #2) Even after paypal transaction is cleared (i.e. successfully charged the buyer's account and transfer the money to my paypal account), the order status in virtue mart database remains in "pending" state. I must manually set it to "confirmed" state.
This is a major issue if you have large number of purchase a day.

I hope I could get some help for issue 1 and 2 above. However, I have no luck getting some help/tips regarding the 2 issues above from virtue mart forum.

Overall, virtue mart works fine for me. My store is small, so I don't bother with the 2 issues above for now. I give 4 stars to virtue mart for all the other good features.


Note that I also have another online store using Zen Cart. I don't have the above 2 issues with Zen Cart. the only negative of zen cart is that zen cart does not work with joomla.
2008-01-08
Reviews: 1
I've had limited experience with this component (1 site) but actually found the code to be relatively transparent, lean, and easy to mod. May be because I'm comparing it to Community Builder.

Someone mentioned that adding items is difficult--not true in the latest version at least, which can import/export csv.

The only real issue with VirtueMart is that it is a work in progress and thus missing some features that other free solutions like Zen Cart provide out of the box. I found many tweaks and mods in the growing forum but the fact there are that many of them spells the shortcomings of the core code. If you don't code, before you opt for VirtueMart, make sure it supports all or most of the features you need. The forum will not help you much if you can't code.

If you have some tweaking experience, you can indeed do a whole lot with VM as I found it to be quite flexible.
2007-12-21
Reviews: 7
I installed the prepackaged version of Virtuemart & Joomla, and I was very excited about getting going with it. Unfortunately, my excitement soon turned to frustration and disappointment.
If you need multiple taxes, like I do in Quebec, Canada, where there is a tax on a tax, don't even bother trying VM. By law, we have to show both taxes and what was charged.
I wanted to have downloadable gift certificates. Can't do that either.
There were errors in the shipping calculations.
After seeing the Editor's Pick on this product, I was quite surprised as to the functioning (or lack thereof) of this product.
And there is almost no support in the forums.
Like I said, very disappointing.
Even though Joomla is my favorite CMS, I may go with a dedicated non-Joomla e-commerce package. I haven't been able to find a Joomla based system that works well for what I need.
2007-12-13
Reviews: 7
After using osCommerce and then using Virtuemart I have to say that Virtuemart is superior by far. If I could only leave my review there I would give Virtuemart five stars, however, a component or module is only as good as it's support. While seeking information during the configuration I found myself spending hour after hour sifting through hundreds of forum posts. Many of these posts are unanswered leading to dead-ends and others have incorrect information which caused the greatest of sins, wasted time.

Virtuemart is Great! Support is Dreadful! If you are a professional designer or a very good amateur designer you should use this component. I would have to recommend to newbees to stay away form this component.
2007-11-23
Reviews: 6
If you want a solid, well integrated cart, you can't go wrong.
This is a nice component with poor documentation - don't expect that you will be able to fully customize this easily, but it is a great project.
Solid and consistent development behind this project, but limited or non-existent user documentation.
Overall, an excellent addition to the Joomla world - much needed and much appreciated by myself and others seeking rapid implementations.
I donated - did you??
If you are a newbie or don't have extensive web skills, you can set up an easy to use and easy to maintain small cart system with this component with no problems. It works well with PayPal, so if you want to get running quickly and cheaply, this is the best I have found.
Advanced developers can also get a lot out of this - solid framework for future development and growth - I hope this project continues to get support and grow.
If you are a designer you will be frustrated by the lack of integrated styles and the fact that there is poorly written HTML littered throughout this project.
If you already have a cart "design" in mind, stick with something with greater flexibility on the design side.
2007-11-04
Reviews: 1
Yes, its very easy to setup and configure with joomla. However, it has an extensive amount of bugs and issues that need to be worked out, and there is virtually no support or help in their forums.
My problem is the shopping cart will not reset if you try to remove an item. So if a user is logged in and wants to remove an item from their cart they are SOL. try another extension and save yourself alot of frustration.
2007-11-02
Reviews: 1
Easy to install and easy to edit ! works great on alot of my sites !
2007-10-25
Reviews: 1
I have been trying to get the VirtueMart shopping cart to work right for almost two weeks now. What was touted as a quick and easy already-integrated solution has turned in to a headache.

After umpteen attempts, reading the documentation (which is WOEFULLY outdated) at the store site AND on VM's own site, I have to say that it hasn't been worth the time.

There are few explanations as to what information or format a field is looking for. For example, the UOM (Unit of Measure) - it would seem pretty simple, but it does not necessarily use the standard two letter UOM that most of us are accustomed to. I had "EA" for each in a listing,and it was not recognized! Even the admin asked me what it stood for. Um, "each". It wanted the word "pound" spelled out. I would have never done that, esp since the items I sell are not weight-related.

I had to invent nine diff shipping rates to accommodate multiple item discounts for just this one item. I'll have to create fake weights for other listings to use anything different. Amazing - very poorly thought out on the shipping mods. If you ship via UPS, FedEx or DHL, you'll probably be okay. If you use UPSP shipping and have smaller items that take first class, good luck!

There are many diff options to choose from on the shipping, with NOTHING explained as to what they trigger. You have to peck and hunt, experiment, change types, try again, ad infinitum.

My store host admin was able to get my additional shipping to finally ad up correctly, but then the tax was off! It asks for 3 decimal points, but only calculates based on two decimal places, and does NOT round up. So, our .xyz tax rate only calcs as .xy, and the z doesn't enter in to the picture at all, causing tax calcs to be off. Even if I round "y" up to the next number, then I am overcharging my customers.... it just doesn't make sense!

The VM boards are full of unanswered questions and surly responses from the few moderators that are still there. They seem to take offense that someone would need help! As often happens, the people who use it every day forget that the rest of us do NOT use it daily (until we downloaded it), and many things are not clear at all! They even state that they don't have the time to monitor the boards and answer all the questions, so try to find something already posted. Um, ok.

There needs to be walk-through documention on the CURRENT version on how to configure for USPS, etc etc. If they are going to put in so many options, they need to be explained, as well as how to adjust them for your usage.
While their intentions are great, and they've created a great piece of software, users still need to know how to customize it to their needs, and that is a shot in the dark at best! A few things in the latest version have a blue circle with an "I" in it - presumably standing for information. If you mouse over it, it tells a little bit about it, but not very helpful still, and doesn't EXPLAIN what the options do! Ugh - but they are at least on the right track. Every item should have an explanation as to how to customize it.

Take that UOM deal - I've dealt with software modules for years, and have not seen one that wanted the full word spelled out! Why don't they just give a drop-down list to choose from, instead of making you guess what they need? Since my "EA" was not recognized, I need to know what they have to have....

So far, it has taken WAYYYYYYYY too much time for little in return. My site is still not able to open for business, since the charges don't calc right still, and tax is off. I've stopped uploading product, since I might have to just change sites and start over. I'm looking for something permanent and had hoped I would not have to learn to program a cart to use this one. Well, I guess I do! And if I have to learn how to configure a cart, I'd rather spend my time with one like OSComm or Zencart. VM is too scattered!

Overall, I have over ten yrs experience in HTML coding, and I find this cart to be glutted with overkill, and lacking in the basics. Perhaps it is because the developer isn't familiar with USPS mail systems? I don't really know. But had I known how backwards the shopping cart really was, I think I would have chosen another store host! I went with this one, because supposedly everything was integrated and ready for the small seller to set up shop.

Yeah right. Plan ahead - I might have it figured out after Christmas, and be ready for holiday sales 2008.
2007-10-21
Reviews: 1
It took me a while to find a shopping cart that is easy to work with and also has the options to blend in a profesional site.
It is free to use, and learning how it works isnt so frustrating as most free shopping carts out there.
Page 19 of 22