The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.10 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- r

Report Extension

 

 

2008-04-27
Reviews: 1
I have never written a review for anything before. But I feel compelled to out of disappointment in what could and should be the flagship component for Joomla. I have tried on many occasions to use VirtueMart. Each time I find it to be buggy in areas that I would not expect a stable app to be, such as (Stable 1.10) menu selections in the admin panel. Any questions you might have, indeed is in their forums. Unfortunately, most of the answers are not.
2008-04-26
Reviews: 1
Well it looks good when you first download it.. but from then on, it gets worse. The admin is poor and looks and functions awful. Installation is not straight forward. Support is awful. Trying to work with the code is a nightmare. I'm a web developer and I have NEVER seen code as bad as this. Pointless class methods and too much pointless code. Obviously the people who wrote this were stepping on each other's toes. Guy's, take a look at osCommerce, because that's a real ecommerce package. It worries me that something so popular is written so horrifically.
2008-04-26
Reviews: 1
I have been using VirtueMart for a couple of years and had never really taken the time to explore it's full potential.

We sell the same producs but at a range of different prices to different customers and I was thrilled to discover that you can set up a new Shopper Group for each type of customer and then allocate a different price for each Group - GREAT!

Now I just need it to automatically upgrade customers to a more discounted Shopper Group when they hit a predetermined monthly sales figure and I won't have to do any admin at all!

Thanks for a great product.
2008-04-25
Reviews: 1
With many many changes and bugs fixed, the version 1.1 should be 1.5 :)
2008-04-24
Reviews: 7
The app is awesome. I'm using it for 2 months now, and i can say it works like a charm.
Although i had a few problem like when cache is turned on in Joomla global config, a "Page last modified:" with no date appeared at the bottom of every VM page, but i solved it via their forum....
Great app, good supper, excellent customization and integration...
I definitely recomend it :)
2008-04-23
Reviews: 8
Excelent job dev team. Proud to recommand this component. Glad to be the first user to comment this release!
2008-04-04
Reviews: 2
I am using Joomla 1.0.15 with VM 1.0.15. A check at the forum show there is still a lot of bugs to be resolved (session lockout, unable to verify security token...not fixes). Great if these issue can be resolved. I am still not giving up on VM, only just disappointed.
2008-03-22
Reviews: 1
It's a great product. Easy to install (please note - you'll need to install the different modules in addition to the main module - see the user manual for more information), and it gets working immediately.

It's also very cusomisable and has an active forum that help with questions.
2008-03-09
Reviews: 1
After researching for why all my products show up in all categories I finally found the answer here in the reviews. As Dragonman117 shows below, replacing some code on line 19 fixes the issues.

I found where to place it and everything works great!
I love Joomla!
I love Virtuemart!

file to fix: /components/com_virtuemart/virtuemart.php

Find:
global $mosConfig_absolute_path, $product_id, $vmInputFilter,

Replace with:
global $mosConfig_absolute_path, $product_id, $vmInputFilter, $category_id;

Thanks Dragonmann117 for the info
2008-03-07
Reviews: 7
I think it's a wonderful mixture:
Joomla and Virtuemart.
With that combination, you can style online-stores with a beauty that I cannot imagne you can build it with other os solutions like oscommerce or xtcommerce.
For me, the shop is very easy to handle, with all functionalities that I need.
Thank you, developer, you did a great thing! I hope that there will be other developers who help you making (or keeping?) Virtuemart the NO 1 ecommerce solution!
2008-03-02
Reviews: 1
We have used VirtueMart for a year now, and got it to work very nicely for our needs. An ecommerce package like VM, totally integrated inside Joomla is unique ( well.. there is a challenger now... Ixxo cart )and makes it absolutely strategic for Estore owners like us. It is so important in fact that we anxiously await every upgrades of the product.

The problem that we see with VM is that the product seems to be developed by one developer. Granted, he is very talented and deserves all our thanks, but such an important product requires a team, a clear road map etc... Just look at the list of bugs on the forum, and tasks yet to be filled, and you realize that there is not enough "manpower" to maintain the product. What to say about developing it ??

My comments are not to be construed as a rebuke, we have been very pleased, that said, we see a red flag attached to the product's future... Businesses need the reassurance that the product is maintained, developed and serviced. If it is not, we look for alternatives, and this is precisely what we are planning to do with the Ixxo cart for Joomla.

We plan to try Ixxo for Joomla inthe next few weeks, and will comment on how the two products stack up when we can make an objective assessment.

The good news is that there is now competition, and even though one product is not free, it is a small price to pay for a business that demands a 100% foolproof solution.

Best,

Michel
2008-02-28
Reviews: 1
Not so easy at beginning, but once learned to use your life and your web production will be very simple and productive. I'm a webmaster and use VM evry day for my job!
2008-02-28
Reviews: 2
This is the best shopping cart around... but I only use it for the catalog and it is fantastic.

The import and product entry section could use some vast improvements - but the core extension is perfect!
2008-02-20
Reviews: 6
There is so much hype about this app and when you look at it, it really does look good.

Problem is, there are severe problems in the core of this app. Problems that have been posted on the developer's forum since last year, yet still not addressed nor even replied to.

The two biggest problems are:

1. Import of CSV product data does not work.
2. If using sales tax, pricing does not work!!!

If you're only having a dozen products or so, you may be able to live with not being able to import your products - but the developer has been aware of this bug for over a year and hasn't fixed it.

Random pricing? Actually, random discount pricing! Sales tax is usually subtracted after being subjected to seemingly random math functions.

I'm a web developer/database guy and have installed hundreds of Joomla (and other) components, plug-ins, etc., so it's not like I'm some newbie user who doesn't read manuals.

One annoying bug in the /administrator/index2.php file will keep loggin you out, but is easily fixed by adding ob_start(); immediately after the first php tag (include the semi-colon).

Unfortunately, the other bugs aren't so easily fixed.

- Hank Castello
2008-02-14
Reviews: 1
I like this solution a lot, it is very easy to use and has helped me a lot in my business. I have experienced problems with the CSV upload it did not work with it's own product export but other than that i have nothing to complain about. I know it does not officially support Joomla! 1.5 yet but I discovered in legacy mode it does work if you replace the php on line 19 to read


global $mosConfig_absolute_path, $product_id, $vmInputFilter, $category_id;

after that it works with everything except front end administration.
2008-02-13
Reviews: 1
This is the best such component for Joomla at all. It has several small bugs but I never saw software without bugs.
Many peaople here talking about support. I know, it's not the best. But I think many of this people forgeting very, very important thing;
this is FREE (in every sense) component. Tha author has invested many, many work in this compoenent and I believe we should be very thankful for this work, and for sharing it with the comunity.
So as I said: This is the best such component for Joomla at all
2008-02-05
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is one of those things that makes Joomla so great. It's still far from perfect, but it already as good as most commercial softwares. Thank you...
2008-01-22
Reviews: 3
There is a lot of promise with Virtuemart but it just doesn't deliver in terms of development and support. The USPS shipping module has troubled users for MONTHS and nobody seems to have an answer to getting it to work. And there are a few other glitches here and there that require you to hack the code and get them working...the real solution would be to update the component to include those fixes, but so far it feels like the developers are just overwhelmed. I'll keep watching for it to mature, however, because it shows so much potential.
2008-01-19
Reviews: 1
This component is impressive--and gets the job done. As previous posters have noted, serious customization can be daunting. But for someone new to eCommerce or with middle range Joomla skills this will get you what you need to be up and running.

The site that this was deployed on took some time--osCommerce was evaluated and discarded, and $130 was spent on a buggy DigiStore and mambot which proved completely worthless for tangible goods selling. With time running out, this option was installed--and covers all the bases!

OOTB setup will take a little time--some items are not intuitive or things that most will not want are turned on by default like the rating feature. Version 1.1.13a corrects some of the complaints made earlier--but also makes certain 3rd party modules or mambots obsolete. But we all know that it is just a matter of time before that catches up.

Want great eCommerce that is well integrated with Joomla? This is it, and tremendous thanks to the developers.
2008-01-18
Reviews: 1
It's actually the best e-commerce solution for Joomla, but it's a bit hard to manage and, especially, to style.

I was able to do all the tasks I needed with this component, but still wishing there was a simplified version - because there are so many options it's confusing for the administrator and, sometimes, even for the user.

I give it five stars because it would be unfair to rate less such an extensive work. But it's not perfect yet.
Page 19 of 23