The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2013-08-26
Reviews: 2
I have tried out many e-commerce components but I must admit that once I found Virtuemart all others were unnecessary or should I say they lacked the depth and functionality this one has. With a little of logic you can accommodate any commercial need through it. I have had very picky customers with option on option when it came to their products and at the end only Virtumart allows me to properly correlate them all.
2013-08-24
Reviews: 2
Almost awesome. This does EVERYTHING I wanted, and then some. The only problem is the free version has very little documentation, and what little is there is outdated. So setup is very experimental. But once you get it this is the best. And if you think it doesn't do something you want just check the extensions. It's probably in there.
2013-08-21
Reviews: 2
This tool is simply fantastic. I'm working with her a few years and always have something new to learn. Congratulations!
2013-08-16
Reviews: 5
I have used Virtuemart for about five years and grew to love VM1 despite it's quirks. Virtuemart 2 is a different animal and despite several attempts over the last year to migrate a site to it I have given up. I'm also frustrated that VM is not yet supporting Joomla 3.0 (yes I've read the argument about 3.5 being the long term release but people want to build Joomla 3 sites now and other components support it). So for me thank you Virtuemart, I'll keep in touch but for now I'm moving on.
2013-07-23
Reviews: 3
Previously I used this extension before one year which was my best recommendation for e-commerce. But, Today I checked the latest version which is totally worst. What happened? It's much difficult to understand.
2013-07-18
Reviews: 2
Virtuemart requires a lot of time to set up and even more to customize. But in the end - it is possible to change more settings than in any other shopping system for Joomla.
It is the 500 pound Gorilla version - but in the end, for a commercial shop there is no alternative.
2013-07-11
Reviews: 1
VirtueMart is a great shopping cart solution, easy to setup but have also great advanced features i missed on other (non-commerial) solutions.
2013-07-11
Reviews: 1
This Extension is great in many ways. Most importantly the various and advanced options it has. Creating child products with their own attributes is a feature many commercial CMS or extension do not have. Best choice for an advance eCommerce solution.
2013-07-10
Reviews: 1
This is a great extension. VM1->VM2 migration tool is perfect.
2013-06-27
Reviews: 13
I have used VM since 1.1 and now currently on 2.0.20b. There are issues and there are set backs. 90% of the time is lies between keyboard and chair. :( Documentation is difficult and can be daunting.
I have learned that if you want to get help on the VM forum, you need to be active and help where you can. It's free after all and development is at the mercy of someones free time.

Over all it has had many ups and many more downs. However the VM team has done a good job and I do appreciate their hard work.
2013-06-14
Reviews: 2
I migrated my website from oscommerce to this platform and this platform has some good features than oscommerce platform. like in oscommerce zoom option for images is not available by default.

I like this extension very much. I m novice in joomla so I was not able to configure it but my programmer helped me install it
Owner's reply

Thank you for your kind comments, once you get to know Virtuemart, you will find many more features that will help you build your on-line business and we also have a very active forum to help you learn more. Thank you again

2013-06-10
Reviews: 1
By far the best extension for your online store.Easy to use and easily customisable. At first can seem a little daunting.Lacks some features like multi image upload, so if you have many products you have to upload images one by one.Forums suggest to use FTP and update media files and tables but nah.A more intuitive interface would be great to say link products by image or by field eg color.However there are some great extensions that can achieve this like cherrypicker. Recommended update to latest version for security (aio first) and back end virtuemart second. Overall excellent:-)
2013-06-07
Reviews: 7
Very archaic design that is not at all intuitive, especially if you have used other modern ecommerce extensions and lots and lots of bugs still in version 2.0.20b

Forum support? If you get 1 in 3 questions responded to feel privileged. If you get any answered without being insulted go and buy a lottery ticket.

There are more powerful, feature rich ecommerce systems out there that are both easier to use, less buggy and with better documentation. Your clients will thank you.

One VM2 project was one too many.
2013-05-26
Reviews: 1
I think It's best Shopping Cart for Joomla.
I made many VirtueMart Shop and I love VirtueMart.
2013-05-03
Reviews: 2
This is a great extension. Thanks to the comunity by develop and support this project.
2013-05-03
Reviews: 4
I honestly found this a bit hard to use, but overall it wasn't as bad as some of the others in this niche.
2013-04-24
Reviews: 4
As others have thoroughly explained, documentation is sketchy at best. This solution is UNAVAILABLE for Joomla! 3 altogether. Of course their website failed to provide a page for "system requirements" so I didn't know that until after the fact.

The system works if you want to downgrade to Joomla! 2.5.
Owner's reply

Yes at begin we concentrated on fixing bugs. Since the relaunch we have new virutemart 2 documentation http://docs.virtuemart.net/
The requirements are written down here http://virtuemart.net/downloads . VM2 has the same requirements as joomla 2.5. The experience with j1.6 and j1.7 tells us that we wait with joomla 3.x compatibility for the next LTS 3.5. Expect that we will be ready in time.

2013-04-21
Reviews: 11
I recommend this free e-commerce extensions also if know to code a bit, because you'll need to fix various bug and customize it for your needs. In any case it's a good start.
2013-04-11
Reviews: 4
If you want a propper shopping process, you'll need to spend a lot of programming time for views and plugins. But perhaps I am a bit discerning on this point. :-)

Specially German shop owners need to override the carts views completely. With the standard views only, it is impossible to create a legal contract with a customer due to German laws.

If you are experienced with joomla development, don't dread to use it. But it's not a plug and play solution!
Owner's reply

I think you are misinformed about the new German law of august 2012. There is a lot of misinformation in the net. The only thing you have usually to add for B2C is the "Widerrufsbelehrung", because other countries in the world have only the TOS checkbox. VM2 is a global product and we cannot provide solutions for every country out of the box. For more information you should join this forum (in german) http://www.virtuemart.de/forum.php#virtuemart-2

2013-04-08
Reviews: 5
After so many years, this still is my favorite e-shop.

Love it!
Page 2 of 22