The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- r

Report Extension

 

 

2007-07-02
Reviews: 1
After a great deal of frustration with X-Cart, then OSCommerce and then CRE Loaded, Virtuemart was like a gift from heaven - really easy to set up, easy to get a basic store up in just two days.

It became a little tricky when I was trying to add attributes and assign stocklevels via these attributes, (I'm setting up an online clothing store, so needed to have the system recognise how many small, medium, etc sizes were left when people ordered them) - BUT after hours of research, I found out how to do it (should have bookmarked the resource)
2007-06-27
Reviews: 1
...But how about the payment module? - It's impossible to turn off the registration! When you have filled your cart with good, and want to pay - You'll have to fill in loooong registration-forms and so on and so on and so on.... This is not appropriate for a shop. Personally I remove myself from a site where I cannot finish payment within 1½ minute! How much patience do You have?
2007-06-14
Reviews: 1
I personally, really like this code. There are several very complicated features, but with a little work, their not to hard figure out. I highly recommend this to ANYONE who needs to sell items online.
2007-05-21
Reviews: 98
Why you all praise this component so much ?

Today I began to test it and thought it must be very good. Finally, I realized that this component was disigned wrongly from the first line of code.

It requires to disable the registration system of Joomla, and can't use the registration of Community Builder.

Why it need a new registration system when everyone agree that CB must be the Core of Joomla?

Very bad idea. I will give up it even if there is no shopping cart component for Joomla.
2007-05-17
Reviews: 1
Thank you for creating such an amazing product! I re-developed a small e commerce site, used Miva in the past and it does not even come close to the functionality of Virtumart. Easy to install and configure, worked flawlessly with Authorize.net.

Thank you!
Stephan
2007-05-07
Reviews: 1
I have been managing Joomla sites for about 3 years now. I am currently running 4 of them. One of them is a Salmon Derby Site for a non-profit. We wanted to be able to sell derby tickets and apparel. I know its not much but I understood the complete system in 30 min. and in 2 hours I had my on-line store complete. I didn't even understand what I needed to provide to our customers. This is so intuitive and complete that I can offer much better service than I had even considered.
2007-05-06
Reviews: 1
I expected this to be much more difficult than it was. I consider myself an amateur with extensions and definitely didn't know what I was doing with e-commerce. It installed quickly without any problems, set it up for Paypal, then spent an hour or two customizing the look and loading images of my product. Very excited to make first sale!
2007-05-01
Reviews: 7
VirtueMart is the best. A lot of plugins, flexible, easy to use and support a lots of payment processors.
2007-04-18
Reviews: 5
I don't think there is any other Open Source ecommerce solution that better than Virtuemart at this moment. I've tried OSCommerce, Zen Cart and XT commerce but end up with Virtuemart due to its integration with Joomla. Better security than OScommerce despite its lack of design templates. Hope in the next version even better with more features. Thank you for feeding my small kids. Keep up the good work.
2007-03-27
Reviews: 2
It took sometime for me before eventually got version 1.08 works. Excellent work! Now I got to know v1.0.10 definitely will check it soon. Thanks VM! Will definitely donate when I get the cash inflow from it :-)
2007-03-19
Reviews: 2
VirtueMart Shopping cart is easy to install configure and add product items to. The developers have done a great job, with this very user friendly shopping cart the admin tools are simple and straight forward.
2007-03-08
Reviews: 2
I really love this cart. I set it up quickly and and does everything except there is no affiliate system. i really need that. I've tried to search in the support forums for the cart and have asked whether or not there is an intention to do an affiliate program but have received no response. So, I'll be switching to a commercial cart. Unfortunately...
2007-02-28
Reviews: 1
I tried VirtueMart a few months ago but found the template layout frustrating so I gave up on it.
However, just yesterday i noticed that VirtueMart had upgraded so thought i'd give it another go and it has improved heaps. I've been trying to find a decent Joomla shopping cart for at least 6 months now and nothing really worked - I even bought a competitors component (ECJC) which was OK at first but that's also frustrating now. VirtueMart seems to be the best option for me at the moment. It also makes it easy to connect to payment gateways which for someone like me is a god send!

Well done on the much needed improvements - thanks for sharing this with us mere mortals. keep up the good work.
2007-02-22
Reviews: 5
Ok, I admit it, I am a complete newbie. In fact, I am not a dev or programmer--I am just a middle aged lady who wanted to sell my art and create an online community. Joomla and CB (more fantastic people and products!) solved the last two wishes, but I can only say WOW to VirtueMart for sharing such a SUPER extension! It was incredibly easy to install, fantastic documentation on the website for the minor issues I have experienced and best of all, it works perfectly with my Paypal account. If this little-old-lady can figure it out, it really IS a dream product! Thank YOU!
2007-02-16
Reviews: 1
I must say, VM goes above and beyond competing projects.

Support is remarkable, as the community is a bustling and thriving smorgasbord of users and developers, all of them ready and willing to offer their support.

Customization of this component is easy, but you'll need a working knowledge of basic PHP functions.

All in all, if you need an e-commerce solution to integrate into your Joomla! installation, this is it. If you're using Joomla!, use this project: don't try to integrate anything, as they won't work as seamlessly as this one.
2007-01-01
Reviews: 1
It's a GREAT start on an excellent shopping cart, but it requires too much work to get it running in a seamless fashion.

The templates don't work well (new templates don't work and even when you customize the default templates there aren't enough options to make it worth doing. You have to re-code the back end to provide enough flexibility!)

Tax and shipping configurations are buggy and confusing. I STILL haven't figured them out yet.

The overall code complexity is higher than it needs to be which makes for difficult customization (which is required to get it running, they say so right on their website).

It's a noble effort, and one that I hope succeeds, but they need some seasoned developer help.

After 40 hours of development time on my end... I'm giving it 2 stars, grudgingly.
2006-12-24
Reviews: 3
Since the last upgrade, the virtuemart shop convinced me that this really is the shopping cart solution to use.

Use it for a while now and it is stable, and easy to handle.
Offcourse it is still a wok in progress and always can be improved,.. but what isn't?

For downloads only, or for products which needs to be shipped, this shop is a great solution. It's easy to handle and needs almost no explanation for the shop holder.

For multi lingual and/or international shops... I don't know if this is what you should use. But as long as you use 1 language and a differsity of shipping- and payingmethods, this does the job.
It can't be compared to OSCommerce, yet, since it's much younger, and new features regularly come out. And Virtuemart has an integrated CMS solution which OSCommerce can't offer, the strength of Joomla!

At the end the best plus for me and most joomla users is the seamless integration with our favorite CMS.
2006-12-18
Reviews: 1
I'm using this product for my site. Definitely fits the bill, however the main problem is support. There's virtually none. Looking on the virtuemart support forum, there's literally hundreds of unanswered problems. Seems the dev team isn't so sure of the inner-workings of this product either.

If you need support for the hundreds of questions you'll have, then this is NOT the product for you.
2006-12-18
Reviews: 1
I had to move an existing shopping cart to a new solution in Joomla. This one worked great - much better than the old one as this also works well with OpenSEF.
2006-12-12
Reviews: 8
Fantastic, hats off to the developers!
This is a fully featured professional-standard ecommerce solution IMHO.
Only thing I had trouble getting my head around is the taxes, virtual tax, displaying and discounting tax, but if you read hte forums there are work-arounds and explanations.
the installation manual is probably the best I have ever read - SO clear and easy to follow - you won't have any problems installing VM if you follow the simple instructions - they don't assume any particularly technical knowledge.
Creating products and building the shop was a pleasure, and the range of modules which are included is fantastic, although the modules' layouts are pretty tacky-looking. I WISH this component relied more on CSS rather than the inline styling - we should be able to easily choose product title font sizes etc.
It is also not clear how to test the whole system from the outset - example dummy data would be helpful, and somewhere to point and test the payment methods would be appreciated. I for one have no ide how we are supposed to use the PayPal IPN testing page :S
I am generally VERY IMPRESSED and I look forward to this just getting better and better! My clients are going to LOVE it!
Page 21 of 23