The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2013-04-05
Reviews: 1
Its a great system, but the support team is shocking. Forum posts asking for help are replied with links to previous issues, which are links to further issues. I felt as if I was going around in circles.

Many unanswered posts with comments that you have to have the version number, PHP version etc before they will answer. Thats not a problem for me, but I do know that some people are lost at this point.

Ive seen people so desperate that they offer cash for help. This is the only extension I have come across that seems desperate for help. I suppose that some (like me) use our sites as income, means that we are at the mercy off those that can assist.

I also suggest you view the admin area before taking the plunge. It looks ancient in design and style so some guesswork is needed.

I took there advice an voted for them... If they didnt treat users like dumb animals, it wouldnt be so bad.
Owner's reply

"Forum posts asking for help are replied with links to previous issues". A lot people dont search first, they directly start a thread with their question. The idea of a forum is that we answer one time and it helps 1000s people. But it does not really help, when 100s of these 1000 people create their own topic. So we just connect these topics.
It is often impossible to help without knowing the Version`number. Very often people claim a bug which is fixed since months. We start to search again to find out that the user has an outdated version.
Why should another enduser/volunteer help, if the person questioning does not provide the basics.
If someone shows that he is not reflecting his behaviour, it is very likely he did not read the manual and is too lazy to invest 10 minutes reading. Why the community should invest in this selfish person the 10 minutes? Why? The person does not even invest himself the 10 minutes, why the community should do it for him? Would you do it?
It seems you do not recognise that you was part of the community. How many questions did you answer?

2013-04-05
Reviews: 2
Having been using VM since it's very early days. When the last 1.1. version was released we had a great product which was well supported and came with a great range of functionality. I looked forward to VM2 being released and seeing the improvements in the extension, now that is a year after it's release I feel it's time to provide my review of the current extension.

When VM2 came out and we were told how great it would because it would be Joomla MVC framework based - OK it integrates better with Joomla but shop owners don't care - they're only interested in functionality not backend development.

Support:
The only real support options available to VM2 users are the forums with the majority of posts going unanswered even those where post shows many users are having the same issue. Trying to understand how the Taxes are displayed in product pages and shopping cart remains unanswered and does not appear in the documentation - even thou there are multiple options how to configure this (within a product group or shopper group).

Documentation:
OK offical documentation is now a purchasable item - but it is pathetic and well below the quality of what was offered with VM1.1.
It tells you what the fields in the configuration are, but there is nothing in the way of explaining how to use them or how options interact.

Functionality:
Many features which were available in the default VM1.1 series are no longer available although some are provided as commerical 3rd party extensions.
Such as: Manual credit card handling.
Order editing.
Downloadable products.

Updates:
Updates have been provided in the year since release but most of these updates address problems which should never have occured. The few "additional" functonality addons introduced only seemed to fix items that are missing and brings it closer to what VM1.1 provided.

Summary:
I don't believe this product should be called Virtuemart as comparisons between 1.1 and 2 show it too different to the original and expectations are well below what you would want.

If you're installing this product without reference to VM 1.1 it is a simple and straight forward extension without anything below a very basic shop and don't need any support or documentation - go for it. But there are other options non-commerical and commerical which provide a better overall solution.

However if you're familar with VM1.1 or have customers who are familar with VM1.1 and need upgrading due to Joomla upgrade requirements - forget it there are better solutions which now provide better functionality, documentation and support.

Like many other Joomla extension developers I think it is time VM team seriously look at providing "subscription options" so users can benefit from more frequent updates with new required functionality and have the assurance of real support.

For me its time to look at other extensions to provide shopping cart functionality.
2013-04-01
Reviews: 5
VM was and is still the best free shopping cart for Joomla. In the starting days of VM2, there have been some problems and maybe they should have released it one or two months later, but when working on such a huge project (and nearly rewriting the whole code to make it MVC compliant - my respect for that), errors can happen.
Anyway, VM2 now has reached a stable version and when setting up a ecommerce site, this is my first choice.
2013-03-25
Reviews: 23
After trying to use this shopping cart and with very poor documentation i give up using it.

A very simple fix is to provide a video tutorial with the basic setup and and how to add products.
Owner's reply

We know that the documentation was not a lot at begin, but since February the new documentation page is filling. http://docs.virtuemart.net/ Next version have also a direct help button like other joomla components, which directly display the updated content of docs.virtuemart.net

2013-03-23
Reviews: 11
I created several shop with Virtuemart 1. First I don't like vm2 but since 2.0.16 the code has become stable.
If I had developed the new vm2, I had only published the version from 2.0.0 till 2.0.12 as developer release.

But now VM2 was almost a stabile Produkt.

I like it to use it for e-commerce projects. To all developers, thanks for this free product!!
Owner's reply

Thank you very much. Yes viewing back we agree with you. But on the other hand, people already started to create live stores with the 1.9.8 version.

2013-03-20
Reviews: 2
When Joomla! 2 came we had to wait a long while for VM2 to come out. In that period i've tried all other e-commerce solutions for Joomla! and even some other systems. But i keep coming back to my Virtuemart/Joomla! combination because it's the best solution available.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your very worthful review. People like you give us the power to rise above ourselves :-)

2013-03-19
Reviews: 1
I've made some stores in virtuamart, both 1 series and 2 series.
I am very frustrated with the way this product has turned out.

1. out of the box, your store will be butt ugly. To change anything whatsoever, you must be pretty fluent in CSS and PHP. After hours and weeks, your store might get a look that you can live with. By that time you will be promped to upgrade the software, and all the coding and tweaking you have done, is gone, and the store is butt ugly again.

2. WHEN you try to upgrade, you will not succeed! The autoupgrade will not be able to do the job, and your store will most probably have 10 lines of error messages next time you try to enter it.

3. at this point you will be at the mercy of the forum(as there is no usable documentation at all). You can ask your questions, and if yu are lucky, some moderator answers with a link to another topic that has unanswered questions too.

The list goes on and on, but to make it short: If you dont have extencive knowledge in PHP and CSS, do NOT choose this module.
If you that somethig that LOOKS thrustworty for your customers, do NOT choose this component.
If, for some reason you want something reliable, that you can trust in, do NOT chose this module.
If you like to be able to sleep at night, and don't enjoy working all night, because your client did't expext his store to crash, because he did something as foolish as update the software("they wrote it was not going to mess with the layout, or the SQL and tables...")DO NOT CHOOSE THIS MODULE

I know its free, I KNOW people have been working hard without pay to make this software, I KNOW they did their best! But at the end of the day, free can be very expencive, when it doesent do the job.

It's a shame. Virtuemart used to be good, back in the days of 1.1
2013-03-18
Reviews: 3
VM2 is a good and reliable extension for Joomla CMS.
Because it is an extension for Joomla, it's not for everybody as it takes more work to keep the system up and running properly, but for the same reason Joomla + Virtuemart can offer you much more than average shopping cart. I do not recommend it if you are looking for easiest system but if you are willing to spend some time with it, go ahead,It's free for goodness sake!
Migrations have always been troublesome.
2013-03-04
Reviews: 2
If you know VM1, VM2 is quite easy to get in its main-functions and to get started It justs works well. Many payment-functions are integrated and activated with ease.. But, for running it excellent, you have to use some 3rd-part extensions like smooth ceckout or nice template.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

2013-03-01
Reviews: 6
Stay away from VM2.

I have nothing but bad experience.

Even the upgrade/migration from VM1 is easier with Mijoshop or Hikashop than VM2.

Constant problems and file hacking's. New problems on each new version.

It was the best shopping component in it's days...shame really.
Owner's reply

Thank you for taking the time to add your thoughts. It is a shame you were not more specific in your issues, we are always eager to learn of user problems, and already having thousands of upgrades and migrations, done without problem, has enabled us to understand what third party components sometimes cause issues.

2013-02-27
Reviews: 4
It may be somewhat buggy and the lack of in-depth documentation is really inexcusable, but has some benefits that other carts can't match, at least for the time being:

1) It's free and
2) It has a much bigger user base than anything else.

Now, when I look for support I don't rely much on the developers. Even if they are great and very responsive, they really can't offer the same number and flexibility of solutions that a large number of users can. I want my shop to have a long lifetime, and a commercial solution with a limited number of users can't offer me the certainty that I will be finding solutions to my problems in two years from now.

I have built a highly customized shop full of hacks and my own template designs and I realize that no shop can offer me what I want without me messing with the code myself. But what I like in Virtuemart is that very often what I want has been already done by some other user who has generously shared his code. If I have a problem then it's pretty possible that someone else has solved it before me. I don't have to wait for support to answer my questions, especially since most times they are about new features that aren't even implemented.

So yes, it could have been less buggy and it could have good documentation, and perhaps there are better carts for people who know nothing about PHP, SQL and Javascript. But for someone who wants a fully customizable solution, Virtuemart's great user base can't be beaten. And it has that large user base exactly because it's free.

Of course the developers should be aware that in the fluid world of software, it's pretty possible that another product may appear that will eventually attract more users and so VM's greatest advantage will disappear. So they have to stay free AND antagonistic.
★★
Ok
2013-02-20
Reviews: 13
This is an ok extension out of the box, but configuring it is a complete nightmare. The layout of the front end is ugly and if you want to do anything complicated with the shipping like applying certain rates to specific products or have deliver rates according to post code it is horrible to work with.
Owner's reply

Thank you for taking the time to review VirtueMart 2, when you say the front end is ugly, have you tried any of the numerous templates developed specifically for VM2, may we also suggest you head over to the extensions directory where you will find help postage and shipping extensions as well as some really awesome templates.

2013-02-20
Reviews: 8
Unfortunatley, I found that Virtuemart 2 is not usable unless you are prepared to "hack" the code. VM1 was fine and easy to setup but VM2 has too many variables that are too complicated. A simple product discount has turned into a nightmare where you have to setup a separate record and then apply to the product. I have moved to MijoShop and find it much better and easier to use with no hacking necessary. I will continue to use VM as a catalog only.
Owner's reply

Each person has their own goals when building a shop, and whilst we disagree the core needs to be hacked to get VirtueMart up and running each user has to decide what is best for their use. We would also like to thank the hundreds of thousands of users who use and trust VirtueMart 2 to power their websites. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!

2013-02-01
Reviews: 3
VirtueMart and I had a rocky beginning, but that was mostly due to the fact that I started out on joomla 1.5 and tried to make it work with the lastest VM. Now that I have updated my Joomla to 2.5 VM2 is working perfectly. I'm not a programmer so I wanted to find a solution that I could handle.

I never used VM1 so I can't compare, but VM2 seems pretty easy to setup get working. There was one hiccup at the end of my setup where there wasn't a good solution for calculating taxes in States like WA and CA, but they recently contracted with AvaTax and now my tax calculations are super easy.

Highly recommend this product if you are using Joomla 2.5!
Owner's reply

It is interesting that you did not use VM1, many people who used VM1 maybe expect VM2 to be the same when it is not, and this has caused confusion. Thank you on behalf of the whole VirtueMart community who equally deserve your kind words.

2013-02-01
Reviews: 1
In the last 4 months has improved greatly and is stable, there are many new and interesting extensions that enhance its functionality. Congratulations to the team.
Owner's reply

Thank you on behalf of the whole VirtueMart community who equally deserve your kind words.

2013-02-01
Reviews: 6
Virtuemart WAS a great eCommerce component - unfortunately this new version is so different to the older version it is unrecognisable.

The support forum is a mess. Beware that selecting your version before starting does not mean that the answers are applicable.

Many of the common bugs remain unanswered months later - including "Guest checkout" which has me stumped. Unfortunately the articles that rank so highly in Google do not provide solutions - after months of looking.
How to change the 'required' form fields is another problem unanswered.

Documentation is non existent - more than a year since release.

Version 1.1 was great and version 2 is very disappointing.

I realise this is a non-commercial release and I appreciate the work done - but this has turned from an excellent first choice tool that I had confidence to support to a product that feels like it was designed by a government committee - and is is now somewhere between a nightmare and useless. (unfortunately)

Version 1.1 had minor issues - ALL I knew how to work around or solve. I would have preferred to see a professional version released (that I even paid for) than this.

such a shame

Steve
Owner's reply

We are sincerely saddened by your lack of confidence on VM2. The volume of features, increased security and general code that has gone into VM2 is staggering, if you read what some others say about VM2 they differ greatly from your unfortunate experience, whilst we believe VM2 is better than many paid solutions, you must consider this is a free product that grows from great feedback like yours, thank you!

2013-01-29
Reviews: 5
I feel really sorry to place this review, but I'm really disappointed about the new VM version 2.x. I was using VM for about 5 years now and it was good and simple.

Now they changed many many features that were perfect before to be way more complicated now... eg the vat system, price showing (still dont get it), checkout-site.

Sorry, but I think you're going to the complete wrong direction.

I have a lot of coding knowledge and VM knowledge, but I'm too tired to solve all those issues and questions I have with the new VM2.

I wish, they had just improved the features from VM1 and not turned everything upside down.
Owner's reply

Thank you for sharing your insight with us, VAT is a simple matter of adding a tax. If you are referring to the way tax is displayed on the products page, this can easily be adjusted with radio buttons in the administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=config >> configuration > checkout.

Hope this helps, if not, please head over to the VirtueMart forum for help.

2013-01-26
Reviews: 12
I use VM from many years, and I'm with mixed fealings.

But after all the problems, I still love it.

It's free and easy to use, what more...
Owner's reply

Thank you for your thoughts we really appreciate them.

2013-01-09
Reviews: 1
Started 5 years ago with VM1 after trying a lot of other shopping carts....now i'm Updating to Version 2 and i like it very much.
Ok, there are still some bugs here and there, but the developers do really take care about them and most of them are solved immediatly.
They give you even personal support if you run in some strange errors....
The thing i like most about Virtuemart is, that is totaly open and you can change whatever you want by your own.so no shop is looking like the other...
Owner's reply

Thank you for your kind comments!

2013-01-09
Reviews: 1
My first online shop wasn’t VM. Then I realize that I was wasting time and money on it. I installed and tested a several solutions and after few months analyzing other options I realize that VM 2 is the best extension cart solution.
Obviously, the job isn`t final yet. We have to give time to team continues providing us this great/ excellent extension upgrades.
Community is active and forum works fine.
Go VM team!
Owner's reply

Thank you we really appreciate your feedback on behalf of the whole VirtueMart community.

Page 3 of 22