The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2012-12-23
Reviews: 3
I'm running web consultancy agency, so i can review based on developer perspective and also user perspective.

I can understand why some reviewer give low rating. Because virtuemart is not 'out of the box' shopping cart extension.

With TONS of features and flexibility, it will be difficult for VM team to create one solution that fits all online business. So when you install, you get the GENERIC template which simply need lots of tweak.

But in developers perspective, when you able to understand Joomla MVC, VM2 is really a complete shop that has TRUE integration with joomla, you can do almost anything.. the sky is the limit !

Why i don't give 5 star ? because of the documentation! At this time of writing, this is where Virtuemart Team need to put more commitment, even their wiki for Virtuemart 2 plugin development is outdated. (per December 2012) This can mislead a lot of people who wanted to develop solution with Virtuemart 2. So, if you want to learn VM2, you must gather information yourself in forum and by compare the code from default plugin.

Conclusion ? Virtuemart 2 is in the right direction to build powerful shopping cart in Joomla, it need extra work on the documentation (i think you should give the user guide for free instead of buying it from oscmanuals).

If you claimed to be a Joomla developer, this extension is worth 'time investment'
Owner's reply

Thank you for your comments re: documentation, it has been noted.

2012-12-22
Reviews: 4
Have used virtuemart with Joomla 1.5 and this iteration of the extension on Joomla 2.5+ is simply amazing. Unfortunately some reviewers feel its not easy to setup. One could feel this way when the AIO part of the setup is left uninstalled. This contains all the plugins, modules etc. Install this and everything else is a breeze. Everything is where its supposed to be in the config area and the extension is simply amazing. Not enough stars - too bad, cos VirtueMart deserves 10 stars!
Owner's reply

Thank you!

2012-12-10
Reviews: 3
1.5 is a great product. But since everybody had to move to 2.0, it's a mess. Basic features simply don't work. And the development team doesn't respond to complaints or pleads for help. Which is frustrating. I've spends days debugging just to get some basic features working.

I understand you can't get everything right the first time, especially for such a big upgrade of such a complex product. And I understand this product is free, which is great! But I'm having a very hard time explaining all the problems to my clients. And would be happy to pay for support if the option is available.

Please don't ask people to upgrade when this product is not finished. This should still be in a development stage. And causes major headaches in any production environment.

So think twice before using this plugin, or wait another year if possible.
Owner's reply

Hello nuntius, thanks for your feedback. A version vm1.5 was never officially released. I think you mean vm1.1.5? It took us some time to find your 2 posts in the forum. I am quite sure that there was just a misconfiguration, but we work on it so that it is easier to configure, for more read here http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=100330.msg372778#msg372778
The component virtuemart 2 is really very big and has a lot complex features. Most people use only 30% of the features, but of course all people have different 30%. So your problem was just not considered as important for most people. Anyway a fix is on the way, you may read my answer in the forum here http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=105773.msg370755#msg370755.

And please consider. The JED is not the correct place to push bugs you wanna have fixed. Virtuemart 2 is a project, not a product. Consider how you can help the project. Thank you.

2012-11-29
Reviews: 2
Component Good! But need supporting for Jooomla 3.0
2012-11-29
Reviews: 1
I have just finished updating an old Virtuemart 1.18 with about 6,000 products to the new version 2 with Joomla2.5. While it took just over a day to correctly move all products it took another 5 days to get the new version working perfectly and looking right within the new template we chose (with a little help from the Virtuemart forum). It was just 20 minutes after making it live that the first new order appeared!

The shop is obviously faster than the old one and looks a whole lot better - much more professional. It does need a little more knowledge and experience of the way things work and more thought in configuration as there are many more settings than the old version that need attending to. Once I learned the right way to use overides, changing the layout and look of the pages was much easier than on the old version.

Now my sister's shop site needs updating. At the moment it uses another store extension, but it will change to Virtuemart 2.

All in all a great job - and a great price, too!
2012-11-28
Reviews: 1
I use Virtuemart since 2 years and for me and my clients it is the best solution to combine a content website with a shopping cart. Virtuemart has extensive possibilities to customize. You can build easy a multilingual shop and implement so many features that you can build a shopping cart like the big players.

Virtuemart is a great solution for users with or without php-knowledge. It is easy to use and it is for free!

If someone have problems, go to the forum and there are many people who will help you. Some day I was also a beginner and I found in the forum help on all my questions.
2012-11-26
Reviews: 2
Thanks a lot! Its one of the best free extentions in jed. Easy to install with lots of features. I like this module!
2012-11-24
Reviews: 2
It's easy to config and use. I used it on 2 online shop sites. Great work!
2012-11-22
Reviews: 4
When I have to deploy an ecommerce, Virtuemart is always the safe choice. It can be improved and made more modern, but it's always a win!
2012-11-20
Reviews: 2
VM2 has become a mess with several bugs. You can't remove a product with custom field from cart. It says it was removed, but still there. Since june people are complaining at the Virtuemart Forum and they simply does not respond or find a solution. Several posts are left alone. With a bugy product (bugs with more than 5 months old) , bad support, and untattendant forum it is going down everyday. Sorry about that, but VM1 was much better.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your thoughts, sorry for the late response. It would be impossible to identify your specific problems from this post, we would suggest you break down any problems you have and you will find solutions and find answers on the VM2 forum. In many cases people do not clear their cache, which results in products appearing to not be removed. I refer to the website cache, not cash which is not required for the VirtueMart as we all know this is free.

2012-11-19
Reviews: 3
VirtueMart offers allot of possibilities! This makes it a little bit harder to begin with.

But everything is hard in the beginning. I always have a period in my learning proces in which I want to throw my PC into a canyon.

But after a while you get the hang of it and try to experience more and more. If it's software or just study books, you just need to put some time and effort in it.

Most people here are like me, they have problems with the module or software, but don't want to look in the documentation of on the forums. Sadly most people like that begin to complain instead of looking for a solution. That's why I wanted to give a good rating for the hard work the guys of VirtueMart put into this software!

Keep up the good work guys!
2012-11-12
Reviews: 1
Good component. I use long ago.
However, often it is necessary to work hard for editing of some not obvious trifles
2012-11-08
Reviews: 2
I used VM1 and Hikashop. VM1 was not the easiest to use and to modify, but it was all within reasonable terms.

VM2 is a mess. Basic functions that were present in VM1 have been removed and now need to be purchased as paid extensions from other sources.

Some internal functions are not working properly and the documentation is more than scarce.

Posts on the VM Forum regularly get a reply by the administrator Milbo "You don't understand Virtuemart...You Don't understand...You don't understand..." There seem to be a lot of people 'not understanding. Maybe it is a lack of documentation.

Our internal programmer managed to solve some of the programming errors of VM2...until we updated to the new version VM 2.0.12f Now the bugs are even worse, so that even our programmer can't find out what is going on.

We tried 3 months now to make VM2 work for our client. Our advice...If you think about using VM2 for your shop...don't.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your comments, which are really appreciated to help focus the numerous volunteers who help build and use virtuemart in many live shops.

I have to unfortunately refer to my car analogy of a 1966 mini copper, which when produced, worked, in a way that we did not realise by today’s standard, might not have been as safe and reliable as mini's of today standards, yet they worked, and through development of technology improved. Both are brilliant cars, however they are very different, much like VM1 and VM2.

The comments towards Milbo are unjust, this is NOT to be a personal area to slate people, we have decided not to have your comments removed, because Virtuemart is an open community that embraces everybody, to aid the same goal, which is to create a world class product for FREE.

The free nature of Virtuemart has helped many people throughout the world, a fact that should make many people happy.

I note your developers were able to correct issues you had, have you shared these on the forum? It would be excellent to know people who can afford developers to make a free product better, return this knowledge to the pool, to help others.

To reiterate, VM2 is growing, in the right direction and with many new features added as time goes by, it does work out of the box, you can set up a shop within an hour and working, problems often come when, third party, extensions and hacks are required, which is a different situation to claiming VM2 does not work.

2012-11-05
Reviews: 12
ANYBODY could get VM1 up and running quickly and easily.

VM2 is a HORRIBLE product. There are many issues with product, dealing with options that most people want to use.

If you want product variants (IE colors, sizes) for your shop, go look at the 12 page thread on their forums where virtually NOBODY can get this working correctly and there has been NO response from the VM team at all.

Unless you want a lot of hassle and a ton of extra work, find an alternative.

So sad.
Owner's reply

Re Horrible product!

Virtuemart offers variations via custom fields, which once worked out how to use, are very broad in what they offer.

We are really sorry you are having such problems with Custom fields, however this does not make the whole product, but is a small element.

Many community members have created excellent youtube videos addressing custom fields, as there are so many options it would be a 1000 page document just to see all the possible permutations.

Please revisit the custom fields with a different eye, and maybe view a couple of the many free youtube videos made by people who help support VirtueMart, I am sure that once you have that eureka over what custom fields offer, you will say wow to yourself.

2012-11-05
Reviews: 1
I used earlier versions of Virtuemart. It WAS a great extension, however the developers have missed out a lot on ease of use in the present ones.
I suppose they've made/ upgraded the 2.x versions keeping in mind the developers as things do not work at all without applying tweaks. I would say 2.x versions of this extensions are not meant for those without coding knowledge. Still a great extension but only for those who can apply Hacks and Tweaks
GO FOR THIS EXT. IF U HAVE GOOD KNOWLEDGE OF CODE - Does'nt work out of the box
Owner's reply

Thank you for your comments, however I would like to suggest that VirtueMart is perfect for people who just want to install a shop and get it working, based on their own limited development ability, and likewise it is perfect for developers who want to take a free product, power bulge it for their clients, and provide a world class product that works.

As with any product, when you start hacking and tweaking, there are other implications to consider, this is where sometimes issues arise.

2012-11-03
Reviews: 1
I had the VM1.1 (it was nice) and installed the VM 2.
The migration tool is bugged, no price, VAT ... imported.
Downloadable products arn't imported, and it even seems that you have to pay an extension to have downloadble products, it was free in the VM 1.1. The front end crashes very often (DB error).
So, I will look for other e-commerce solutions...
Owner's reply

Re Migration tool!

May I explain, the migration helps many people move from different versions of Joomla, as well as different versions of VirtueMart, which is pretty slick Considering the number of uses people have found for VirtueMart, buggy is a word that is different to many many people, and is caused by different issues, so the word used in this example is very broad in meaning.

Please consider this, many people are using VM2, so maybe there are some local issues you have that are causing the problem of the front end of your site to crash, have you checked the storage URL of your downloads?, please try and revisit the problem, by setting up a standard install and ensuring everything works, then try using the migration tools.

2012-11-03
Reviews: 2
This is a good component to build a shop with Joomla, i use it for 2 Shop-sites. But it needs more stability in the core-functions.
Owner's reply

Thank You

2012-10-26
Reviews: 5
About 2 years ago I made a shopping site with Joomla 1.5 and VM 1.1.9. Although both systems were new to me, I could make a workable shopping site with a bit of elbow grease and a few compromises.

For my new web site I needed VM only for the display of products, without a shopping cart. I thought this would be an easy task and started with Joomla 2.x and the new VM 2.x. To wrap it up, it is a mess and after months of hard work I am close to giving up. What pulls me down are the numerous things that do not work and for which you cannot find a work-around. The system has become hard to understand and there is no useful documentation. Since I started with VM 2.x I have followed every update, hoping that the bugs would disappear. Not one has disappeared, but one more got in with 2.1.2. And after each update I the code with the "hacks" that I found in the forum and that remedied at least some of the bugs, has to worked in again. That is frustrating.

For my purposes the functionality to add products with good images is vital. This was not quite easy in VM 1.5 but still manageable. Now it has become a total mess. The image management does not store/display my product images with the sizes I want nor the names nor the storage location I want. It just does some wild things and to clean up the mess you have to spend hours with FTP.

The system has some good new features like defining your own product fields. The main problem are simply the bugs, and that apparently nobody tries to fix them in updates.

I acknowledge that this is free software, but it should work nevertheless. Sorry folks, but I cannot give this product a good rating anymore.
2012-10-16
Reviews: 1
I have developed a lot of shops in version 1.1.x - thanks for that - but version 2 is simply impossible to be used ... The "approach" used in child products, stock variants, cart attributes, prices calculation ( cost base final ) ... doesn't make any sense.
Search VM forums and look how many people have the same questions about these.
Well ... sometimes take a step back could mean many forward I think.
2012-10-15
Reviews: 4
I've tried a lot of new carts/ecommerce extensions for Joomla. None of them are as polished as Virtuemart. VM 2.0 is still the best out there and possibly the best ecommerce platform period. This may change but VM is the only cart I'd recommend to clients.
Owner's reply

Thank You

Page 4 of 22