The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Complete ecommerce solution for joomla 2.5 and joomla 3
Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, Realex(and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 2 and 3
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling

Report Extension

 

 

2012-06-23
Reviews: 13
I had experience with VM1, helping some clients to get their shop right after installing it. It was a nice product, even if the code was totally confused and not organized. I was expecting a great improvement from VM2, but I was wrong. VM2 is missing some important features (for example one pace checkout and a true reseller shopper group) and the code is amateurish: you have to be prepared to fix something to make the shop right, while the quality of the code isn't what you should expect.
Owner's reply

On one hand you say vm1 was nice, on the other hand you say vm2 is missing the one page checkout. Vm1 never had a one page checkout. Why are in the last reviews so many lies?

2012-06-22
Reviews: 2
If you have a free day & have no any other task please install VM2 then start fixing bugs.
fully agree with @"dougevans"'s review
2012-06-20
Reviews: 2
What a frustrating waste of a morning.

Very clunky install and some time before I realised that cited Payment (eg. WorldPay) and Shipping methods are not included.

A visit to the forum (with unreadable captchas requiring repeated retries and enforced long password policy meaning that I couldn't use the same credentials as I use for every other forum on the web) proved fruitless.

Shopping cart is much like any other but very cumbersome.

Decided to stop wasting time and bought a commercial extension instead which is Ace and was running in a fraction of the time.

Admittedly, it is free, but commercial offerings are only around $60 which is well worth it for simplicity (and you have to buy all VirtueMart plug-ins otherwise included anyway).

If you want a free simple shopping cart, this is not the answer either - there are far easier components to work with.

Probably my worst Joomla! extension experience to date.
Owner's reply

What should this mean "clunky install". It is a normal installation of a joomla extension. Also there are payments included, there is a standard shipment included. Yes it is only one shipment, but the one is more mighty then the 3 before.

And you dont have to buy any plugin.

2012-06-11
Reviews: 8
The fact that the child/parent product feature doesn't work in VM2 makes it completely worthless to me.
Owner's reply

Just a slander, The feature works. In fact, what exactly do you mean with it? There are various features using this basic technic.

2012-06-08
Reviews: 3
I lost a client over trying to utilize this "solution". Really, if this is the best e-commerce solution for Joomla, I'm afraid the future of Joomla is dim. The whole back-end interface is clunky and adjusting the templates is a nightmare. The store MUST look good to encourage people to trust the site but it's like pulling teeth to get there. I'm sorry but in evaluating both the front-end and the back-end, I really cannot think of one good thing to say.
Owner's reply

"adjusting the templates is a nightmare"
Maybe for non joomla templaters.

2012-06-07
Reviews: 1
Well, ive been struggling with virtue product plug-in, as well as some other things in VM 2, and the support helped me with all of them.

This is most definitively the best eCommerce solution for Joomla.
2012-06-04
Reviews: 5
Can't help feeling this version was rushed out. Modules that shipped as standard in version are missing from v2. The interface feels clunkier and I find the back end harder to use.
Owner's reply

The free extensions in vm1 grown over some years. A lot people like the new interface more and say it is faster, more intuitive to use, and cleaner. It is a matter of taste and habits.

2012-06-01
Reviews: 2
Several improvements have been done compared to VM 1.1.x and I simply love the idea of using standard Joomla plugins for payment methods and shipping
However it seems like VM 2 suffers of some price rounding issues which are very bad for an e-commerce shopping cart.
I like this extension and I strongly encourage authors to fix critical bugs.
2012-05-30
Reviews: 2
I've been using Virtuemart 1.1 for years and I love several of the new features of Virtuemart 2. Good job!
2012-05-30
Reviews: 4
Apart from some known bugs in rounding prices I still consider Virtuemart as the most complete e-commerce extension for Joomla.
2012-05-25
Reviews: 4
I've used VM for years, and obviously VM 2 is a big challenge for both the development team and the users. Yes, it comes late, and it comes with bugs. But as an open source project, I'd like to ask people to keep calm with this. It's not an easy work, anyway. And I've never suggested people to use any x.0 version to design a commercial site, even Joomla itself! But more important, the development team should stay calm. It's worse if you got angry and tread people unfriendly. You did a great job! Now you have trouble to get your work stable and to fit the expectation of the users, it's tough. I know nobody would feel good. But if your guys keep calm and friendly, I think you'll get over all these soon. For me, VM 2.0.6 is good enough. Just wish all the best to all of you!
2012-05-21
Reviews: 1
I love VM! I have been using it since a few years ago. I decided to put together now my own online shop. So, I installed the new VM and then upgraded to 2.0.6 to have a few fixes they added.

I must say, it does all I need and if I need more (like a wish list, for example) I can buy a plug in to do so. I disagree with people regarding this. This guys give us a full component for free to sell online and get money out of it. So you earn money thanks to VM but you don’t want to spent a bit of money to customize it? That’s greedy and unfair.

I live in Argentina so everything is more expensive for me here in dollars. I don’t have money for this shop because its mine (not for a client), its not giving me money yet and I don’t have savings. Anyways, I am sure when I can have a bit of money I will put it in adding things by buying plug ins.

The component works great, I had a few issues trying to customize order emails and found it. Did it and posted it on the VM forum so everybody can know how to do it. Do you really expect this guys to do the whole component, the plug ins and the instructions manual all in a few days and for free? We should help each other here people!

I also had a few problems with the saving of the users info on front-end and back-end and they were SO helpful. I originally wrote on the forum, which is what I think people should do first. I lot of things are already solved in there and a lot of people can help. Then, when I got nothing, they told me how to contact them and they spent hours helping me to solve the problem. And you know what? Afters hours of guiding me one-on-one we solved the problems.
THANK YOU MILBO for all your kind help!

I have a template and overrides and I did a few things wrong and they helped me even when a part of it was my own fault. So, don’t complain people, help, understand, ask for help, get in the forum. And please, PLEASE, say thank you every once in a while for all this free things you get doing nothing. This people deserve that at least.
2012-05-16
Reviews: 2
I want to give a shout out to all those helping to make VirtueMart better. I've used VM for years now, and I'm been impressed with what volunteers have given us for free. Yes, VM2 is shaky at the moment, but I've already seen the improvements in the minor updates within the past few months. Stop complaining about no free support y'all.
2012-05-11
Reviews: 3
I'm happy with how 1.9 works on my site, but I am not willing to upgrade to 2.0 and as such have become a bit of a leper in support forums with not many people willing to help you.
With the major overhaul that comes with upgrading to 2.0 I may look for another e-commerce component when the time comes to change.
Thanks
Simon
2012-05-03
Reviews: 11
Since the new Virtuemart 2.x i must say that now virtuemart IS NOT a valid e.commerce cart. The team has just done a restyling, MCV, but there's a great lack of features! 1st, you can't sell downloadable goods! (don't loose time) and you should buy a plugin for 35EUR!!! 2nd, the so announced Multi-vendor feature is not already working and is not stable. 3rd, the backend is totally incomprensible and is not simple to manage 4) the software is full of bugs, things disappear, fields disapper.. this why the migrator does not works good.
I shall move to another solution. I don't want to spend money for features present in version 1.1.x! does not worth the money!! I'm one of the donators, i donated money for that project and now, the most important feature for me, downloadable files for sale, is commercial and has high cost!
Owner's reply

"has just done a restyling MCV".
It is not a restyling or you would be happy. It is a rewrite using the MVC pattern (not MCV, btw).
Second do not mix downloadable with files for sale. Vm2 is written by 3 people fulltime. We need to eat and to live. You get a software which is a lot worth for free. You wanna sell downloads, but you do not want to spent money for the people making it possible for you. This is greedy. But if people are intersted. Similar discusssion were already done here: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=100817.msg333640#msg333640

2012-05-01
Reviews: 1
wow, 312 reviews.

I love it. Does exactly what I needed and more. It allows me to do 2-1 deals on books...I own a used book store and it is much easier to sell them 2 for 1.

Thanks, I will be back if I need any more extensions.
2012-04-29
Reviews: 8
For years trying to use Virtuemart. I really hoped it would be easier with the new Virtuemart version to do some templating and adjusting the layout.

I've read a few topics on the virtuemart forum but seems it's the same all over again. Again editing all kind of files, not really sure what it will do in the end. Ending with different outcome for different browsers. And probably never really satisfied with the looks.

You put so much effort and time in the Virtuemart and it's much appreciated. But the project really missed one of the most important aspects: easy configuration to give shoppers a good looking shop in a easy way.

If've been busy for 2 days and bringing me nowhere. :'( :'( :'(
2012-04-28
Reviews: 5
Walk away if you need to use it on a life site.

Installation is the best way of installing. But after that the only thing you are doing is fixing problem after problem.

And yes sometimes it is a conflict because of the template people are using but in VM2 you have the option to run with the VM2 template and even then there are too many errors to deal with.

So for everyone who want to test it out please do and let everyone know how you fixed stuff so that people can learn. For everyone who want to use it on a live site and want to sell real items than use the older version or a completely different solution.

For the makers of Virtuemart 2, I am proud to life on the same world as all of you because it is seriously good work what all of you are doing. I hope you keep it up and I am looking forward over a couple of months when hopefully all the problems are gone. And I seriously hope that VM2 will finally run without 1 error.

PS: the forum of virtuemart is terrible. I try to find one question about payment and you will find 12 pages all the same paypal question what is that about.
2012-03-29
Reviews: 1
"This extension is the best!" is what I would say if it actually worked. It has great funcionality and a lot of cool stuff. Fairly easy to understand and all. BUT. No matter what version, one is always confronted with bug fixes. And not just one or two. There's just way too much crapp one has to deal with.
In my opinion, they keep bringing out beta versions and call them stable. I'm very frustrated with this neverending load of bugs. It takes forever to find solutions and wastes my time.
I am now at the point where I'd pay for shop-software. At least I'll be able to complain to the support team if something wrong and let them handle it.
I don't understand how this junky software got such high ratings. If you ask me, stay away from it. It's just one big headache.
2012-03-28
Reviews: 9
I have been using Virtuemart for some years now, and have always been pleased with it, AND I have several times donated.

Going over to Joomla 2.5, I installed the VM 2.0.2.
Well... tricky to get it in place was the first thing I noticed.
Some obvious bugs there... but it looks much better than the 1.1.9 version in my opinion.
I think the layout etc seems more logical.

However, it collapsed after the 5th product was uploaded... and run havoc here... so, I had to uninstall it.
I am obviously looking at the other shops that are 2.5 compatible, but realistically, I know I will end up using VM when it is ready.

As for their Forums support... well, over the past 5 or 6 years (!) I have only once run into a problem that wasn't already covered there!
Page 7 of 23