The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2012-06-07
Reviews: 1
Well, ive been struggling with virtue product plug-in, as well as some other things in VM 2, and the support helped me with all of them.

This is most definitively the best eCommerce solution for Joomla.
2012-06-04
Reviews: 5
Can't help feeling this version was rushed out. Modules that shipped as standard in version are missing from v2. The interface feels clunkier and I find the back end harder to use.
Owner's reply

The free extensions in vm1 grown over some years. A lot people like the new interface more and say it is faster, more intuitive to use, and cleaner. It is a matter of taste and habits.

2012-06-01
Reviews: 2
Several improvements have been done compared to VM 1.1.x and I simply love the idea of using standard Joomla plugins for payment methods and shipping
However it seems like VM 2 suffers of some price rounding issues which are very bad for an e-commerce shopping cart.
I like this extension and I strongly encourage authors to fix critical bugs.
2012-05-30
Reviews: 2
I've been using Virtuemart 1.1 for years and I love several of the new features of Virtuemart 2. Good job!
2012-05-30
Reviews: 4
Apart from some known bugs in rounding prices I still consider Virtuemart as the most complete e-commerce extension for Joomla.
2012-05-25
Reviews: 4
I've used VM for years, and obviously VM 2 is a big challenge for both the development team and the users. Yes, it comes late, and it comes with bugs. But as an open source project, I'd like to ask people to keep calm with this. It's not an easy work, anyway. And I've never suggested people to use any x.0 version to design a commercial site, even Joomla itself! But more important, the development team should stay calm. It's worse if you got angry and tread people unfriendly. You did a great job! Now you have trouble to get your work stable and to fit the expectation of the users, it's tough. I know nobody would feel good. But if your guys keep calm and friendly, I think you'll get over all these soon. For me, VM 2.0.6 is good enough. Just wish all the best to all of you!
2012-05-21
Reviews: 1
I love VM! I have been using it since a few years ago. I decided to put together now my own online shop. So, I installed the new VM and then upgraded to 2.0.6 to have a few fixes they added.

I must say, it does all I need and if I need more (like a wish list, for example) I can buy a plug in to do so. I disagree with people regarding this. This guys give us a full component for free to sell online and get money out of it. So you earn money thanks to VM but you don’t want to spent a bit of money to customize it? That’s greedy and unfair.

I live in Argentina so everything is more expensive for me here in dollars. I don’t have money for this shop because its mine (not for a client), its not giving me money yet and I don’t have savings. Anyways, I am sure when I can have a bit of money I will put it in adding things by buying plug ins.

The component works great, I had a few issues trying to customize order emails and found it. Did it and posted it on the VM forum so everybody can know how to do it. Do you really expect this guys to do the whole component, the plug ins and the instructions manual all in a few days and for free? We should help each other here people!

I also had a few problems with the saving of the users info on front-end and back-end and they were SO helpful. I originally wrote on the forum, which is what I think people should do first. I lot of things are already solved in there and a lot of people can help. Then, when I got nothing, they told me how to contact them and they spent hours helping me to solve the problem. And you know what? Afters hours of guiding me one-on-one we solved the problems.
THANK YOU MILBO for all your kind help!

I have a template and overrides and I did a few things wrong and they helped me even when a part of it was my own fault. So, don’t complain people, help, understand, ask for help, get in the forum. And please, PLEASE, say thank you every once in a while for all this free things you get doing nothing. This people deserve that at least.
2012-05-16
Reviews: 2
I want to give a shout out to all those helping to make VirtueMart better. I've used VM for years now, and I'm been impressed with what volunteers have given us for free. Yes, VM2 is shaky at the moment, but I've already seen the improvements in the minor updates within the past few months. Stop complaining about no free support y'all.
2012-05-11
Reviews: 3
I'm happy with how 1.9 works on my site, but I am not willing to upgrade to 2.0 and as such have become a bit of a leper in support forums with not many people willing to help you.
With the major overhaul that comes with upgrading to 2.0 I may look for another e-commerce component when the time comes to change.
Thanks
Simon
2012-05-03
Reviews: 11
Since the new Virtuemart 2.x i must say that now virtuemart IS NOT a valid e.commerce cart. The team has just done a restyling, MCV, but there's a great lack of features! 1st, you can't sell downloadable goods! (don't loose time) and you should buy a plugin for 35EUR!!! 2nd, the so announced Multi-vendor feature is not already working and is not stable. 3rd, the backend is totally incomprensible and is not simple to manage 4) the software is full of bugs, things disappear, fields disapper.. this why the migrator does not works good.
I shall move to another solution. I don't want to spend money for features present in version 1.1.x! does not worth the money!! I'm one of the donators, i donated money for that project and now, the most important feature for me, downloadable files for sale, is commercial and has high cost!
Owner's reply

"has just done a restyling MCV".
It is not a restyling or you would be happy. It is a rewrite using the MVC pattern (not MCV, btw).
Second do not mix downloadable with files for sale. Vm2 is written by 3 people fulltime. We need to eat and to live. You get a software which is a lot worth for free. You wanna sell downloads, but you do not want to spent money for the people making it possible for you. This is greedy. But if people are intersted. Similar discusssion were already done here: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=100817.msg333640#msg333640

2012-05-01
Reviews: 1
wow, 312 reviews.

I love it. Does exactly what I needed and more. It allows me to do 2-1 deals on books...I own a used book store and it is much easier to sell them 2 for 1.

Thanks, I will be back if I need any more extensions.
2012-04-29
Reviews: 8
For years trying to use Virtuemart. I really hoped it would be easier with the new Virtuemart version to do some templating and adjusting the layout.

I've read a few topics on the virtuemart forum but seems it's the same all over again. Again editing all kind of files, not really sure what it will do in the end. Ending with different outcome for different browsers. And probably never really satisfied with the looks.

You put so much effort and time in the Virtuemart and it's much appreciated. But the project really missed one of the most important aspects: easy configuration to give shoppers a good looking shop in a easy way.

If've been busy for 2 days and bringing me nowhere. :'( :'( :'(
2012-04-28
Reviews: 4
Walk away if you need to use it on a life site.

Installation is the best way of installing. But after that the only thing you are doing is fixing problem after problem.

And yes sometimes it is a conflict because of the template people are using but in VM2 you have the option to run with the VM2 template and even then there are too many errors to deal with.

So for everyone who want to test it out please do and let everyone know how you fixed stuff so that people can learn. For everyone who want to use it on a live site and want to sell real items than use the older version or a completely different solution.

For the makers of Virtuemart 2, I am proud to life on the same world as all of you because it is seriously good work what all of you are doing. I hope you keep it up and I am looking forward over a couple of months when hopefully all the problems are gone. And I seriously hope that VM2 will finally run without 1 error.

PS: the forum of virtuemart is terrible. I try to find one question about payment and you will find 12 pages all the same paypal question what is that about.
2012-03-29
Reviews: 1
"This extension is the best!" is what I would say if it actually worked. It has great funcionality and a lot of cool stuff. Fairly easy to understand and all. BUT. No matter what version, one is always confronted with bug fixes. And not just one or two. There's just way too much crapp one has to deal with.
In my opinion, they keep bringing out beta versions and call them stable. I'm very frustrated with this neverending load of bugs. It takes forever to find solutions and wastes my time.
I am now at the point where I'd pay for shop-software. At least I'll be able to complain to the support team if something wrong and let them handle it.
I don't understand how this junky software got such high ratings. If you ask me, stay away from it. It's just one big headache.
2012-03-28
Reviews: 8
I have been using Virtuemart for some years now, and have always been pleased with it, AND I have several times donated.

Going over to Joomla 2.5, I installed the VM 2.0.2.
Well... tricky to get it in place was the first thing I noticed.
Some obvious bugs there... but it looks much better than the 1.1.9 version in my opinion.
I think the layout etc seems more logical.

However, it collapsed after the 5th product was uploaded... and run havoc here... so, I had to uninstall it.
I am obviously looking at the other shops that are 2.5 compatible, but realistically, I know I will end up using VM when it is ready.

As for their Forums support... well, over the past 5 or 6 years (!) I have only once run into a problem that wasn't already covered there!
2012-03-26
Reviews: 1
I was stoked to use this, got it all set up and then figured out there is no PayPay included in it. Im sure it was hard work to do this, as I could never figured out. Unfortunately I will have to pass.
Owner's reply

There is paypal included! You must install whole virtuemart and not only the core. We provide one package, including two smaller packages, one is the core the other is the all in once installer with all free plugins and modules. Paypal is a plugin, therefore in the aio.

2012-03-17
Reviews: 5
I like the new VM2 very much - it is very powerfull and offers many many features. Last year I evaluated several other components - some of them looked very promising. But after testing them a while I got stuck with that, what I wanted to do, so I went back to VM, no v2.

Regarding negative opinions on the virtual download feature: first: yes, there is a virtual download plugin for VM2 and no, it is not for free anymore. But common! The whole core VM is free. I needed to expand it to virtual downloads and invested 35EUR. Sorry, but if you even cannot afford 35 EUR for an eCommerce platform, which should be easily earned back, then better leave it all... There is no free lunch in this world!

The only downside I have with VM2 is the lack of documentation. This needs to be improved strongly and as far as I have heart, the VM-team is already working on that.

But as this doesnt belong to the functionality and features of the core product itself - still 5 stars for this great component!
2012-03-16
Reviews: 1
I was quite new to VirtueMart when I started to develop VM2 for a customer. I am very satisfied with the extension! Most I got figured out by just testing but I also got a lot of help reading the forum.

Since VM2 was quite new (compared to VM1) when I started some features was not yet existing or ready for use. But the expert support I got from the developers was extraordinary!

All needed features are now after a couple of upgrades working! The work the developers are doing on this FREE (!) extension is amazing, I know they work hard to fix all small details and still takes the time to help people at the forum!

I will suggest VM for all new customers that wants e-commerce, no doubts about that!
2012-03-16
Reviews: 1
My thankyou to virtemart developers for a good working cart for joomla. Before I did make a site with magento but it was difficult and took many weeks to work. I set virtuemart2.0.2 in my joomla2.5 with a payed template and in 3 days have a working shop with tips from reading the virtuemart help forum. It does come with paypal module already which I am using for payment and shiping module which I set up with forum help. Already I have sales. I will use again for next shop.
2012-03-16
Reviews: 1
I started with VM2 four months ago, when I had chosen to be brave and use beta of VM2 for shop of my friends. Year ago I used VM1 and it was usefull, but customizing was a small hell.
Now I can say it was the best one decision. Since I'm OOP developer for 13 yrs it's easy for me to adopt MVC and plugin concepts. Even without programming knowledge it's easy to template the layout or buy one.

It is sooo easy to write plugins for everything (products, shipment, payment, marketing), templating could not be easier and is compeletely Joomla compliant.
What is very positive, while it's not commercial product support is almost 24/7 with good reaction times in the forum.

Versions gets better and better in stability, and VM2 is so complex while modular and flexible. Core is not of spaghetti code, just take a look.

The only one thing one must consider when choosing VM2 - old habits are gone.

And to be honest, I became VM2 developer this month. JED editors will consider if this review is "self promo" or not.
I don't think so, because I started as anybody other - normal VM2 user making shop for a friends...
Page 7 of 23