The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.10 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- r

Report Extension

 

 

2012-03-16
Reviews: 1
I started with VM2 four months ago, when I had chosen to be brave and use beta of VM2 for shop of my friends. Year ago I used VM1 and it was usefull, but customizing was a small hell.
Now I can say it was the best one decision. Since I'm OOP developer for 13 yrs it's easy for me to adopt MVC and plugin concepts. Even without programming knowledge it's easy to template the layout or buy one.

It is sooo easy to write plugins for everything (products, shipment, payment, marketing), templating could not be easier and is compeletely Joomla compliant.
What is very positive, while it's not commercial product support is almost 24/7 with good reaction times in the forum.

Versions gets better and better in stability, and VM2 is so complex while modular and flexible. Core is not of spaghetti code, just take a look.

The only one thing one must consider when choosing VM2 - old habits are gone.

And to be honest, I became VM2 developer this month. JED editors will consider if this review is "self promo" or not.
I don't think so, because I started as anybody other - normal VM2 user making shop for a friends...
2012-03-15
Reviews: 1
it takes a while i was understand all the features but when u come into it its a real good way to manage ur products.
The MVC is real good and easy to extend.
Some features which where in VM1 are missing but the release is just 2 month ago so what...
I think VM2 will be and is a good way to sell products in a Joomla system and my favorite is the well aranges backend which is not overloaded.
2012-03-13
Reviews: 8
I first started to build an e-commerce site with Virtuemart 1.9 and it was awesome! However, my client wanted to use Joomla 2.5 and so I was forced to use Virtuemart 2.0.2

I'm not sure what they were thinking but they really messed it up. They removed many of the best and useful features of the older version and simply broke many others.

It appears to me as if the rewrite was just and attempt to make it easier to sell commercial plugins. Otherwise, I have no idea why they wrecked such a beautiful offering.
2012-03-12
Reviews: 2
Without saying much, I quit virtuemart although I am on it almost since it's birth. Main reason, the digital downloads missing. Buy plugins ?. Shame. Sure but why this way... anyway virtuemart (not with capital anymore) Fall comes. Search google for “virtuemart 2 digital downloads forum” and follow the 1st result, read threads and notice especially the dev's attitude. Bye bye. P.s: 1. I would normally not post this because my reaction to those that ignore me, is to ignore them too. 2. We are talking FOSS here, I know how to spend my money and where, very well.
2012-03-10
Reviews: 1
I have used Virtuemart since version 1.1 and have built many shops with this. It used to be a great extension, despite the horrible support.

However, since Joomla started releasing new versions every 6 months, Virtuemart can't keep up development. It took them many months to just be joomla 1.7 ready, but by then Joomla 2.5 already came out. Once again it has been months and it is still not compatible. As a developer one can't work like this.

As for support... probably the worst ever.

Free will cost you a lot of money, or a lot of time trying to figure this out! Not worth it anymore.
Owner's reply

Hello Milbo here.
Thanks for the flowers, but I cannot agree. Jenkinhill, BanquetTablesPro and others are very helpful. But a lot people are just barefaced. They expect that virtuemart 2 has extensions like vm1, which growed over more than 5 years. They expect that the other users have nothing todo else to help and support. The forum is meant for users who help users. When someone wants support, he must pay of course. Virtuemart is free to use. I do not understand that people thinks there is a duty to give free support for a free product.
Jenkinhill is a very kind person and I am much more rude and direct than him. So when he was rude to you, there is a reason.

2012-03-06
Reviews: 3
Virtumart 2.x does not have the payment methods that were available in earlier versions. In particular it is missing the PayPal API and this is a major oversight.

My advice; stick with the old version or choose another cart.
2012-03-03
Reviews: 1
Also I would like to thank the VM team for the whole project, but...
I think you rest to much on the laurs...
Now when I compareing VM 2.0.2 with the other cart extensions - VM are placed on the far end of the list!
Totally user unfriendly software, I don't know & even don't want to think what kind of logic use the VM 2 authors, but is not the same one, as we all use. I spend a lot of hours trying to figure out this, but I really coudn't understand the way of they thinking, and don't want spend the second half of my life trying more..
Downloadable products on VM 2.0.2 it's a fake! You can create a downloadalble file, but there is no way to connect it with the product which you can download after buying :(
VM 2.0.2 is a nightmare for developers & I really feel sorry for those one who are beginners on that matter and decided to use the VM basing on its former opinion :(
I change the software btw..
2012-03-03
Reviews: 5
All in all VM 2.0.2 is an excellent component and I am sure it will remain a standard e-commerce solution for Joomla 1.7 and beyond

This software has a lot of depth and a very bright future.

where they are lacking is with assisting their users in development.
there is a tendency to be condescending and unhelpful from the Mod staff (not Milbo)when people are asking for support issues.
I have put in appx 2+ months now and it is finally getting where it ought to have been before the release.
There has been many late nights of trying to decode convoluted and cryptic responses from the support staff.

That said I don't mind helping the test develop this amazing piece of software.

They just have to remember that we can't read their minds.

Hopefully this message gets across to all Joomla developers: Please be articulate when giving support as it makes it easier for all involved.
2012-03-02
Reviews: 8
I'm testing Virtuemart 2 for a certain time now and I think that there is a big work on this version to improve the base code and the whole component.
I prefer much more the V2 than the v1 !
Keep up the good work.
2012-03-01
Reviews: 1
I would like to thank the VM team for the whole project.
On the other hand, the drop down of downloadables is disastrous (to me)!
I spent the last 6 months in testing VM 1.1 capabilities in order to participate in a web project with downloadable products, and now...what??
2012-02-28
Reviews: 3
First of all: credit to the hard work of the developers.

Unfortunatly VM 2 did not live up to my expectations.
The option for downloadable products is removed. So for two shops I won't be able to use VM any more. The checkout process is too complicated, especially for people who are not custom to online shopping. The payment has to be selected through a seperate page. Again another useless click for customers.
The admin area looks more organised, but when you really get into it, it's even more complicated than the VM 1 version.
There are a lot of small improvements, but the bottom line is that the things that really count: check-out process and quick admin of the whole shop, did in my opinion not changed for the better.
I am sorry to say goodbye to VM, bt this was really a big dissapointment and indeed not worth waiting for.
2012-02-26
Reviews: 4
Configured several VM shops succesfully in the past, but sorry to say that since 2.0 came out and up to last 2.0.2 version (been testing all the versions "in between"), this product is NOT finished and full of bugs. It's clear that I cannot use this cart for customers.

Jan
2012-02-26
Reviews: 16
Hi

After trying new version for some weeks I'm really dissapointed.

Administrator doesn't have and easy setup for begginers or even users with knowledge from 1.x versions.

When you release a new component and the older version is better there's something going wrong.

These new VM2.0 is though for developers which have a lot of time to tweak and understand how this component works, not recommended at all for begginers.

I couldn't even get my shop to show the price for products... something which shouldn't take me days to solve and I had my VM 1.x version perfectly set up.

There are better solutions out there right now and VM really has to work on their layout and simplicity if they want to reach others than developers.

This new version made me migrate to Hikashop and I have been a VM user for years now.
2012-02-23
Reviews: 16
I must say I have been waiting ages for this new version to appear and I am very disapointed. Its complicated and unstyled unlike the much superior older virsion. If you want to spend half your life trying to work around the new setup and then style from scratch then this is for you. I really dont know why its the editors pick? There are much better shopcarts out there.
2012-02-16
Reviews: 3
I still use VM 1.9 with Joomla 1.7. I have a small home business that has tons of products and VirtueMart works very well! But trying to upgrade didn't work for me. I didn't read the how to those and only have tried the easy way of just installing the package. I hear depending on what Joomla your installing on you need to choose that part of the extract. Any how I heard that they should be ready with this in June sometime that should be ready to work with at least Joomla 1.7 no problem! So I am waiting for them to finish their work and make it really great to work and to be able to use. Not bad for a great free add on to the best CMS in the world! My site is starting to feel great and working!
2012-02-11
Reviews: 3
There is much more to be done before considering using VM 2.0 on production site, if you are really looking for shopping cart use previous version VM with joomla 1.5. For VM team hope they continue improving the component because I really love the previous version it would be shame to if lost VM with joomla 1.5 when the time comes.
2012-02-07
Reviews: 3
There is no documentation with VirtueMart 2.0. The documentation on the website is for the older version which works very differently. Nor, is there much help in the forums.

I'm a developer and usually can figure out how to setup a piece of software, but VIrtueMart is really overly complex and non-intuitive. All I wanted to do was have a place where someone could add a text field -- something I did with VirtueMart 1.5.

The software might be great if you can figure it out, but I spend a week and decided to move on to something else.
2012-01-31
Reviews: 2
I am so glad i can use VM on my 1.7/2.5 sites! This makes my day! Good job and thanks to the developers!
2012-01-27
Reviews: 2
I have built dozens shopping cart sites with vm1.1x, and I was looking forward the exciting release of vm2.0, but, the result is really really disappointed,

Only a standard module, and it's NOT WORKING
Only a Paypal and standard payment module, and fully of BUG

Can you believe a shopping cart without these workable core modules? if you are not a programming guru who full of passion and energy to debug someone's poor quality code, please choose other shopping cart!

VIRTUEMART IS DEAD!!!
2012-01-24
Reviews: 1
I like many others came to VM 2 thinking it would be great things. I wasted my time as well. I did a lot of work, setting it up, imported some test products and seen it was looking good. I then proceeded to import about 200 products into my store only to find out that the payment system is useless. Considering I have J 1.7 Now I have to go to something else or wait until something better happens, meanwhile my 18,000 products have no way to be sold on the J17 platform. Thanks a lot guys!!
Page 8 of 23