The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- r

Report Extension

 

 

2012-01-12
Reviews: 2
So I installed VM 2.0.0 to see what is new and if I should upgrade from the solid VM 1.1x. The install was easy as expected.

The core looks solid but once I tried to setup shipping and payment plugins, I felt like something is missing. All they have left is a standard flat rate shipping module. There are hardly any shipping modules available that get automatic quotes from the shipping providers. A commercial USPS plugin is now selling for $63 plus. Other payment modules are also rare. All I found is a "standard" and a PayPal plugin. So what was free in VM 1.1x, seems to be now a little bit more commercial.
2012-01-12
Reviews: 1
After spending days painfully upgrading to the new VM2.0, I discover that the very basic payment methods which existed 'out of the box' in previous versions, have been removed completely and are only able to be setup via plugins which haven't even been written yet - and no indication when they will be available!

There is nothing indicated in the release notes or FAQs that standard features had been removed. You only discover this AFTER installation/configuration.
It is pretty much unusable until the missing payment methods have been restored.
2012-01-11
Reviews: 4
I JUST WASTED A WEEK OF WORK TRYING TO UTILIZE VM 2.0 FINALLY GET IT INSTALLED AND MY 1.9 MIGRATED OVER TO A NEW WEBSITE, ONLY TO DISCOVER THERE ARE NO PAYMENT OR SHIPPING OPTIONS AVAILABLE FOR 2.0? HOW RIDICULOUS IS THIS?

YOU MAY WANT TO CONSIDER POSTING THIS INFORMATION ALL OVER YOUR WEBSITE SO THAT OTHER PEOPLE DON'T WASTE THEIR TIME TOO. THIS IS NOT READY FOR RELEASE ON A LIVE WEBSITE IN ANY WAY SHAPE OR FORM.
2012-01-08
Reviews: 1
Now the virtuemart 2.0 comes compatible with j1.7 and 1.5. however the child product option is not working and I am waiting for a bug fix to make my site operational as I do not want to use 1.1 version of the extension.
2012-01-06
Reviews: 2
I've implemented over 50 VM sites in 1+ and thought cool - they've got VM 2 out and it's stable I'll start using it. BIG MISTAKE. VM 2.0 should NEVER have been released with out proper payment plugins (or at least more than 1 !). The ONLY option for payment is Paypal, which works for most clients, but there is no way at the moment to accept even basic information for off-line processing, something you don't find out until you install it and set it up. Really lame. But hey, the 1 screen checkout is cool... as long as you're using paypal.
2011-12-31
Reviews: 4
Have spent days and days trying to get this looking the way I want. If you're new to CSS, PHP etc and want something other than bog-standard design defaults, forget it. It seems a very powerful package with plenty of operational options - but if you care about how your site actually LOOKS, go elsewhere. I simply can't face going through it all over again for the latest versions of Joomla, so will try another cart. if it's supposed to be an extension of Joomla, why can't they make it extend to Joomla's (relatively) ease of design customisation? A wasted opportunity.
2011-12-28
Reviews: 2
Recently I've started using VM2. Really awesome. This review is to thank the developers.
2011-12-23
Reviews: 1
If you want a functional shopping solution, but are not concerned about looks, it is good. I have implemented VM several times in the past 7 years, and have consistently found its weak spot to be appearance. The ability to tailor it is just not there. I have used commercial extensions for VM in order to address this, and have even hacked the core code, adding names to DIVs so I could try to style it. Bottom line - too hard. If you want something to look really good, look elsewhere. If you are not too fussy about a vanilla appearance, it's ok.
2011-12-14
Reviews: 6
Pro's:
Works stable.
Many extensions for VM
Can be well adapted.

Con's:
Still Joomla 1.5
Source code is a mess.
Confusing administration
2011-12-08
Reviews: 2
I have tried to used Virtuemart for my ecommerce website. This extension is simple to use, specially, it has many additional products. The search function of VM is good, but i would like to have the faster search way. Because we may have many products in our website. I recommened this extension for user who want to make the power e-commerce website.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 2
This is a powerful e-commerce extension!

As one of the reviewers below said, VirtueMart pales in comparison with any other attempt at a complete e-commerce extension for Joomla!.

Thanks to it I make a living!

Thank you, VirtueMart team!
2011-11-28
Reviews: 2
Great Thanks to the developers and the team. It is a huge extension with extremely large set of features. I use it on any eCommerce project i start!
Wow
2011-11-15
Reviews: 8
Some much in this package with yet more potential by adding on plugins Joomla! extensions and other third party goodies. Fantastic job on getting people started in web markets
2011-11-13
Reviews: 5
Note: this is a review of 1.1.9. I have built a few sites with Virtuemart (VM), including one with hundreds of products, and VM has been able to handle them. It is possible to build a good, working store with VM alone, but VM has a lot of great extensions - especially k2Mart, which integrates k2 and VM. I would recommend using K2Mart to get the most out of VM.

I would like to respond to a lot of the negative criticism from other reviewers: first, VM's documentation is good. VM's forum section also has an extensive collection of posts. VM is not a good solution if you do not like to read or you do not know how to search for solutions to potential problems.

VM has an extensive amount of options and will take some time to customize and get just right. A lot of the negative reviews seem to think this is a problem; however for me this is one of the most useful things about it. It makes the extension very flexible and able to accomplish more than a lot of others.

I would not recommend the extension for someone who is lazy or who doesn't want to write (or learn to write) some PHP. That is what keeps me from giving this extension 5 stars. If you are going to build a large site, you will likely have to tweak it just a bit in order to get it to work just right. You can find a lot of great workarounds in the VM forums, and I recommend that if you tweak VM that you share your solutions with the VM community.

For people who are comfortable with PHP and CSS, this is a 5 star extension, for less experienced developers or people who are short on time I would say it is a 4.
2011-11-04
Reviews: 4
An enormous programme that is challenging to use, yet no other extension can compare.

I struggled to install it, to use the extension directory (which could be much better organized) and to customize it. I wanted to use it for a book store, and only found one theme that could accommodate books. However it was a commercial theme and didn't look so good, so I ended up just using the default theme.

Despite all its faults, other extensions pale in comparison. So I used it for my site anyway.
2011-11-03
Reviews: 4
I have spent hours testing about 10 other eCommerce solutions but settled with VirtueMart. As a first-time user of shopping carts, the Tax and Shipping settings in ALL carts are a complete headache, and VM is no exception.

My advice is to have a play with it on a test site, and if you can't set it up, seek paid help from a freelance (I used PeoplePerHour, here in the UK). Once VM is set up, I have found it to be fairly logical.

I needed a solution that could handle both DVD sales and movie downloads. I now have my store working perfectly, with fully automated paid downloads.

It would be nice to see more discount options when products are bought together etc but for now, this works fine.
2011-10-27
Reviews: 8
I give you four stars from five only because is good that this extension is still free. But for every online shop is important to have perfect seo. With Virtuemart is no way to do this - mission impossible. Current version have many bugs and problems with indexation, there are no canonical tag on category pages or good seo friendly pagination. Maybe is time for new version - with better seo and fixed bugs and of cross with joomla! 1.7 support.
2011-09-27
Reviews: 2
I noticed some unflattering reviews regarding Virtuemart, but in my book it's still one of the best. I have tried some other solutions (not naming names) that are more fancy at the first glance, but i still return to virtuemart for a good shopping cart. I think that you can feel the huge experience that lies behind this product.
Thanks guys!
2011-09-14
Reviews: 1
I've used Virtuemart on a few sites connected up to payment gateways like WorlPay and PayPal and it does an admiral job. The depth of the product is, in my opinion, where most people slip up - this is a complex and full featured product that offers similar functionality to many commercial applications. You need to spend the time to understand how it is structured to get the best out of it.

There are a few 'quirks' mind. Some key aspects are rather clunky and the lack of an easy mass upload function (you'll need to do a MySQL upload) could certainly be improved.

All said this is a free piece of software that is comparable with most commercial ecommerce applications. For that it certainly gets a strong recommendation from me.
2011-09-04
Reviews: 1
Why this was so highly rated beats me.. obviously they did not look at it very closely. The whole idea , I believe, is to get you to download the free version but if you want any basic features, like importing or exporting your catalog, you have to pay for it..The program itself was designed poorly, many things should be handled automatically for you and instead it makes you painstakingly do each one of them on your own.. If you have a catalog of 5 items then maybe its worth it however if you plan to expand to more than 20 products or already have more than 20 pass. Its just bait to get you to pay more for extensions that should already be included, and requires to much time anyways adding settings for things that should be implemented automatically.
Page 9 of 23