The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SimpleCaddy Popular ComponentPlugin

SimpleCaddy 2.0 for Joomla 2.5 and up. Create your shopping cart easily and quickly, without the need of learning complex rules and shop setups. Simple, but powerful. Use Joomla's standard content to present your products and let SimpleCaddy redirect the money to your PayPal account. Simple to set up, simple to use.
All is (joomla) plugin driven, so completely SEF friendly. For developers: SimpleCaddy plugins are easy to create and integrate so you can have the paymenty gateway or shipping solution you dreamed of.

New: Downloadable content support: define your product as downloadable and SimpleCaddy makes sure the product has been paid for before anyone can download it.

Paypal returns still mark your orders as "Paid".

Paypal is delivered as a standard plugin so that other payment methods can be presented on the same page.

Taxes can now be defined per destination and are inmplemented as a joomla plugin, all configurable from inside SimpleCaddy. You can set taxes for specific destinations to be different from others.

Shipping uses a simple points system.

The Joomla standard Extra Fields are used a Custom Fields in SimpleCaddy. So you can use Joomla to gather your necessary info about your clients.

Carts can be shown anywhere in your site, with individual css if you like.

To overcome the difficulties of multiple configurations and options in your plugin calls, an editor-extension button is also included in the package.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-08-19
Reviews: 1
I wanted a very simple cart and spent the last few hours setting it up and I was happy with the results. Upon testing, I found that when I get as far as paypal and then CANCEL the order, the return link displays my paypal password in the url as if it were a page... I uninstalled very quickly. Please test your own.
Owner's reply

I would have liked to know about that and be of some guidance to you. I haven't seen you on the very active forum with this issue. However, I do not think this is a SimpleCaddy issue as the return url is issued by PayPal, not by SimpleCaddy... Please check your PayPal settings!

2011-08-16
Reviews: 2
I had almost finished version of the store SimpleCaddy for Joomla 1.7 and plugin to version 1.7
p.s. Front SHOP translated into the structure of MVC
2011-07-30
Reviews: 3
This is an excellent extension! Simple to install and configure. Easy to customize. Why mess with a big store set up when this will do the job? The best support. Henk was prompt in answering my questions. I like the ability to make custom email confirmations. I love the editor plug in that makes entering code a thing of the past. Ten stars!
2011-07-07
Reviews: 3
This is not only great, it is awesome!
Gives me the functional requirements I have been looking for. Simple to install, to configure and to use. Now integrate billing, receipting and invoicing
functionality. Great job!
2011-06-27
Reviews: 2
Atlantic Intelligence (Henk) states that this is a simple extension. Yes it is, simple to install, to understand and to work with.
What "non simple" extensions lack is the major strong point of this extension: it can be adapted to ones need with great ease. If you need support it's quick and it's good. Documentation is readable and to the point.
SimpleCaddy is by far the best extension in my site. I would give 10 stars !
2011-06-06
Reviews: 15
This is a great component that offers a simple solution to create an order button in any article. I needed to change a minor thing in the files and experienced some great and quick support on the forum. I use the component for a website to sell workshops and it works perfect! Good work guys!
2011-05-29
Reviews: 2
really, this component is great, very easy to setup..
i specially got registered at joomla forum, just to appreciate him, really great going SIMPLE CADDY TEAM..
Thats what everyone was looking at.,,,,,,
2011-05-06
Reviews: 1
Excellent componant and a special mention to the Dev who is really kind and available when you got an issue and answers (or saves) you really quickly :-)
2011-04-29
Reviews: 4
I've tried this shop, and i most say that it might be ok for simple and few products, but the possibilities in this shop is rather poor...

No room for growth in this extension
2011-04-27
Reviews: 4
This is a quick and easy shopping cart.

I had everything installed, configured and displaying 5 dummy items in less than 15 minutes!

The package is well thought out, has lots of potential for customisation and has a vibrant support forum.

I asked a question on the forum and received a full and accurate reply within 4 hours - pretty impressive considering the time difference betwen me and the developer.

The demo site has very good documentation which is expanded by the forum.

If you need an easy to configure and run shopping solution, look no further than SimpleCaddy.
2011-04-19
Reviews: 5
Simpler, much simpler than Virtuemart, easy to use and to modify. This component is effective and made for a small shop.
2011-01-25
Reviews: 6
Simple caddy is what it says "A Simple Caddy". So its not full of features but like me there are many people out the who only need a simple shopping cart system. This component works and works well. It does its job.

Why did I write this review? well simply because it needs to be reviewed for what its designed for and not what you wanted (like some of the reviews!). The devleoper designed this to be simple and simple it is.

5 stars for this extention as it exactly what the developer says it is and does what it says it should. Bug free? well you tell me a component that has none! but at least you get support via the forum when needed.

Keep it up! good work.
2010-12-20
Reviews: 2
This product is a great simple solution for a basic shopping cart. Good work, followed by strong ongoing support. Well Done.
sip
2010-12-09
Reviews: 13
Thanks Atlantic! Great work on this. Client has a simple line of products and this fit their needs. It would be nice to have a bit more control on shipping, but there are ways around this. Setup is a breeze and the functionality is easy enough that anyone can work with it. This is a great solution for this project. Our donation is well deserved.
2010-12-07
Reviews: 1
Not only is the module perfect for my needs .. simple, without a lot of complexity .. the best part is the support. It's always the support. I had some difficulty on my site because there was a conflict between this module and another vendor's. As it turned out, the other module was at fault. After contacting the developer of SimpleCaddy, he troubleshoot the conflict and provided me with the fix. This is even after it was determined that the fault was with the other module. In the world of open source, where there are lots of contributors and potential for conflicts, etc., it is nice to know that you can get generous support to resolve conflicts no matter where the issue lies. Thanks for the module and your generous help!
2010-12-01
Reviews: 4
I love the concept of this component and in fact went as far as to set up almost a complete store but there were a couple of things that would keep any serious etailer from using this. There is no integration with site login so you cannot set up customer accounts and develop any kind of relationships. If you are going to use this you would have to write code to get it to link to your user database. As many of us are using CB for logins, this software would bennifit greatly from CB integration.
Second, from an administation point of view, there is basically no reporting so you would have to write a lot of code for that.
That being said, the programmer was really onto something here. What is done is elegant, simple and it works fine. I would say it is about half way there to being a prefered shopping cart and I would have happily paid for this as it leverages the core of joomla which gives you the flexibility of using a great many addons.
lastly (and this is important !!!!), if you do install it on your site, beware when you go to uninstall. When I uninstalled the component it brought my site to the ground. For about 20 seconds I was horrified untill I gathered myself and reinstalled the software. What I noticed was it does not uninstall the plugins or modules so when you uninstall the component it still makes calls to includes that no longer exist. You need to unistall the plugins and modules first then you can safely uninstall the component.

Bottom line is this. I ran a software company for a number of years and this guy has talent. But this is a project that simply was not finished.
Owner's reply

For bringing your site to the ground... It seems to me that when you install a package using a component + plugins + modules and you remove the core component (first) the other parts will somehow complain. That is not so much a problem of SimpleCaddy as well as knowing what you uninstall.

Customer management is what makes components like this heavy and cumbersome for most people. SimpleCaddy does not have this, although code is commented in the source as to how to use Joomla user information as well as CB information. As for reporting, yes, there is very little. However, since the creation of the project I have had only a handful requests for more than is currently in the program. Any reporting is fairly easily addable.

On the other hand, I haven't seen you, or at least your login here, in the forum asking for any advice or extra functionality, am I wrong? I would have thought that the forum would have been your first stop before posting here.

2010-11-26
Reviews: 3
Great extension for a simple catalogue... Still ironing out some look and feel elements, but the install, the configuration and the use is all remarkably simple. Thumbs up !
2010-10-30
Reviews: 2
Never has the acronym K.I.S.S (Keep It Simple Stupid) been more relevant to an extension. Easy to set up, easy to configure and does what it says. I battled for hours with other ecommerce components and wish I had tried this first. Thank you – a great component and highly recommended.
2010-10-08
Reviews: 16
Have only tried this offline as a test but it seemed to be very simple to set up and worked perfectly unlike other products I had tried.
Using it for a small non profit club and only a few club items so it seems ideal. Simple online instructions from creator. Hope it's as easy to set up online.
2010-09-14
Reviews: 3
Very nice, very easy to setup, and the button to place products in articels is genius. it's a KISS program but is missing a manual that goes a little beyond the plain configuration setup. like how the product is presented in the webshop, how do you add extra text to the basket and the shop. the developer is kind enough to answer in the forum but not to all questions, or maybe it's the qustions that's understandable. if the manual have been a little better SimpleCaddy have deserved the last star.
KISS=Keep It Simple Stupid.
Owner's reply

The Demo site is there to have an answer to most "standard" questions and shows how to set up your shop in less than 30 minutes.
If I don't answer all questions in the forum, there might be a reason for it. Just ask the question again or bump the subject. The forum is very active, some questions may go unanswered by mistake.

Page 2 of 6