The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SimpleCaddy Popular ComponentPlugin

SimpleCaddy 2.0 for Joomla 2.5 and up. Create your shopping cart easily and quickly, without the need of learning complex rules and shop setups. Simple, but powerful. Use Joomla's standard content to present your products and let SimpleCaddy redirect the money to your PayPal account. Simple to set up, simple to use.
All is (joomla) plugin driven, so completely SEF friendly. For developers: SimpleCaddy plugins are easy to create and integrate so you can have the paymenty gateway or shipping solution you dreamed of.

New: Downloadable content support: define your product as downloadable and SimpleCaddy makes sure the product has been paid for before anyone can download it.

Paypal returns still mark your orders as "Paid".

Paypal is delivered as a standard plugin so that other payment methods can be presented on the same page.

Taxes can now be defined per destination and are inmplemented as a joomla plugin, all configurable from inside SimpleCaddy. You can set taxes for specific destinations to be different from others.

Shipping uses a simple points system.

The Joomla standard Extra Fields are used a Custom Fields in SimpleCaddy. So you can use Joomla to gather your necessary info about your clients.

Carts can be shown anywhere in your site, with individual css if you like.

To overcome the difficulties of multiple configurations and options in your plugin calls, an editor-extension button is also included in the package.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-12-25
Reviews: 1
It took me less then 20 minutes to get everything up and running, including PayPal checkout. I could recomment this to everyone, if you wish to set up a simple shop!
Tux
2009-10-20
Reviews: 1
I tested osCommerce, VirtueMart and some other shops and ... finally found my solution.

The principle of simply put a button in a content page is really ingenious. You want a special page for a special product which looks different from the others? No problem. You need two products on one page? Easy! You don't want "No image available" for some products? Get this in minutes.

You're completely free in design and functionality!

A big point: You can create as many user data fields as you want - so it is easy to create different invoice and delivery address and other special things. So I have a field "customer id" and when you don't want prepayment, it is checked by SC internally. Every field has an additional check function which is called during checkout to check for valid parameters. These functions are very easy to add.

Onother big point: it's easy to create your own shop e-mail by simply put special words together with the text in a content page. So you're completely free here, too.

Of course there are some missing parts: Pure-text e-mails, some destroy my template by clear:both and so.

My wish would be a "universal shipping function" which is called during checkout like this:
function UnivShip ($cartarticlearray, $userdata)
In this function one can look at all the cart articles and distill the shipping destination (for example) and calculate the shipping costs.

Such a function would give the maintainer the freedom of creating every special shipping costs he wants.

SC is so few code (I think, it's 1/10 of VirtueMart) - I only took half a day to know where to change what I need.

Really a great job, Henk! :-)
2009-10-16
Reviews: 2
I used this for several months and it served my needs perfectly. It is the best offering I could find to offer a simple shopping cart for a limited number of products, and the installation and use were straightforward.

The only issue I had was that it breaks W3C validation. The code produced by the module/plugins is not valid - my homepage was valid until the Shopping Cart was shown, then it failed by 16 errors (mainly due to unclosed tags and none-escaped ampersands). Not a huge issue, but one that was enough for me to look at and implement an alternative solution.
2009-10-14
Reviews: 1
Perfect for the handful of items we sell. So easy to set up. Literally took me less than 1/2 hour with testing included. Not confusing like other carts. The only downfall is I can't seem to get a PayPal Sandbox account to work. Still going to keep with it, though. Keep up the good work.
2009-10-13
Reviews: 2
I'm sorry about the caps title, i have created an account here just to comment on this little extention.
This is the most useful extension i ever ran across!
I'm a website developer and when people have asked me before to create an e-store, i hated it because i can not stand virtue mart, it's too complicated and has way too many things i don't need.
This is simple, works beautifully and gives me what i want and nothing more and it will save me many, many hours.
2009-09-15
Reviews: 2
This is absolutely perfect for my needs, so far at least.

I am setting up a small business, and this is easy to use and integrates with my site perfectly. I wanted the flexibility that Simplecaddy provides - i.e. I didn't want to be faffing about with a large e-commerce site.

Easy to use, and to customise.

2 thumbs up! Thank you so much :)
2009-09-14
Reviews: 15
All I can write is 'what a great component'! I didn't want to use Virtuemart as it was too heavy for my needs and I like the concept of using my content pages to create the products! It gives me a lot more creativity and I was able to set this up within 15 minutes with easy to follow instructions. And it's FREE! Well done to the developers.
2009-09-11
Reviews: 4
Am I blind or you can't add pictures to products!?
At least it is not available (or not clear at the SimpleCaddy control center)...
Owner's reply

Blind or not, you did not *read* the principle of SimpleCaddy. SimpleCaddy provides a plugin for your *content* to become the description of your products. This is described on http://atlanticintelligence.net, http://demo15.atlanticintelligence.net, here on the JED, in the forum on http://atlanticintelligence.net and many more places.
In this way all the layout and all the possibilities of a Joomla content is at your disposal to describe a product.

gws
2009-08-29
Reviews: 13
I had this working out of the box in a very short time. It is the mutts nuts of a shopping cart without all the overhead and bloat of a full shopping cart system. I managed to knit together a gallery and this extension to produce a stylish way of marketing abstract wall art.
jj-
2009-08-27
Reviews: 2
The is fantastic for those in need of a simple, easy to setup shopping cart. It took me 15 minutes to install, add products, and go live on the site. Works perfect!
iP
2009-08-19
Reviews: 1
Hi, I am impressed with this module. Simple to install and easy to use.
Mind me for asking, is there any way to remove the product code, price/unit, qty and total column?
Because I am using this module for enquiries...where the user can add enquiry to enquiry cart (aka shopping cart)..
Please advise. Thank you so much...
Owner's reply

Thank you for your comment. And Yes there are many ways to configure the appearance of SimpleCaddy, as well as ways to add fields for inquiries. Post your questions in the forum on our site and we'll respond with more details!

2009-08-17
Reviews: 1
Great extension which really does a lot once you understand how it works. Absolutely ideal for small scale ecommerce, with good paypal integration. If you have a really large catalogue you wanted to sell using this, it will take a while to bring it in, as you have to add them manually. However, in my experience its easy to do, the support was first rate, and there are some very interesting additions available on the authors site. Totally recommended.
2009-08-11
Reviews: 2
Nikijacob, you have indeed missed the point. I also thought this component wasn't what I expected, but in fact it's a lot more useful than many "full" shopping carts you'll find.

My client only wanted a system to allow visitors to add products to a "wishlist" and then submit. They will call the visitor back to discuss their needs and handle the order on the phone.

The idea is that you create your products with a name, description, price and you can add options if you wish.

You then create a standard Joomla! article with full details of the product. You can include photos, videos, flash, or anything else that you can put in any other Joomla! article.

Use the simplecaddy plugin to link this to the shopping cart. The web visitor will see buttons to order the product.

In my case I made a bunch of changes to the CSS and I also changed the labels in the relevant language file to suggest "Add to Shortlist" rather than "Add to Order".

If you find this component useless, then you're doing it wrong. Either read the instructions more carefully or abandon it. But giving a negative review is a bit like complaining that the car you bought is rubbish because it sinks when you drive it into water.

I do think the author's demo site could be better, mind. It wasn't obvious to me how simple and useful this component was and you would expect the author's own demo to really show you this.
Owner's reply

Thank you. I couldn't have said it better. In fact, the demo site (demo15.atlanticintelligence.net) will see a huge update when the next release will be out. A complete demo as well as more documentation will be included.

2009-08-07
Reviews: 13
this is the most useless shopping cart ever.. you cant add categories, even though it says you can.. u cant add HTMl descriptions, matter of fact the name of the item-is apparently the description. It has four choices in the main control panel. thats it. It does nothing. if u have 2 products...i still wouldnt buy this. I only have 9 and Im going with Virtue Mart just because I can add stuff without beng confused or dissapointed easily...even if I dont need everything for just 9 products.
Owner's reply

Apparently you have missed the point, everywhere. SimpleCaddy is free, no need to buy it. Your descriptions are in your content, not in the product names. Four choices in the main control panel are currently more than enough for what the component does, more are being added for extended features. If it does nothing, then I suppose you haven't taken a look at it more closely than installing, looking and discarding it. If you are happy with Virtuemart, by all means! Although your previous comment on Virtuemart makes me wonder...
Your comment of December, 17, 2008 on Virtuemart :
[quote]
I have been trying to use this on several sites for weeks now and everytime I manual install or automatic all's I get after installing everything is a blankwebsite and the backend the component is blank as well.

I'm not sure how it made Editors Pick. If you check out the forum they never answer anyone's support question
[/quote]

Let me state that VirtueMart is also an excellent product, but not for the same users/public as SimpleCaddy.

2009-08-07
Reviews: 5
I was stunned that SimpleCaddy was so essy to install and get running. There are several products out there that I just couldn't wrap my poor brain around in the 5 seconds I usually have to get one going (my fault I am sure). Simple Caddy was easy to install and is VERY intuitive for those of us whose brains are atrophied. Would love to see this one add some advanced features, or even a separate more full featured version in the fullness of time....
2009-08-06
Reviews: 1
I was able to setup a shopping cart in one hour including the testing process. Thank you very much!
udi
2009-08-04
Reviews: 4
I've made some e-commerce solutions on VM. I have to say that customisation is not an easy job with that component.

Now... I was searching for some EASY solution for my clients website, that enables customers to make orders on-line WITHOUT any registration. Lucky me! I've found that one.

Advantages:
-orders without registration (this may be considered as disadvantage... but for lot of us this is a big +)
-basic Joomla! content as shop articles - you can create ANY content and add shop buttons and cart info without restrictions and hours spent on configuration (still thinking about VM...)
-I really love the idea of KISS - keep it simple stupid. this component (module & plugins) is 100% kissed.

now some cold water:
-if we use content as articles why not to relate it via component with the adding to cart capability? I mean: why to use plugin to parse content {prodcode=""}? it would be easier if we could choose some articles section as a default cart content and use all articles in it as shop products. in configuration panel we could only choose which section & articles are available for shopping...

well... that's all. really love that one.
2009-08-01
Reviews: 3
Installed with no problem and although some basic documentation would be nice with the installation I found what I needed on the website and successfully got a product set up. We needed to have the ability to allow visitors to make donations for specific things and although I am a relative VirtueMart expert I definitely didn't need such a big component.

SimpleCaddy fits the bill perfectly. It's plain, which is fine as I'm a web developer and am pretty sure I can jazz the look up a bit.
2009-06-30
Reviews: 1
Thanks to developer. but here i will list out bugs/error for future improvement:
1)the stock limit is not working, user still may proceed the order even the stock zero.
2)the check out field, we can create it no problem, but you can't auto ready the new field data sent to user and owner.
-i think this all is involve simple editing. sorry for my bad English.
Owner's reply

A better place for this would have been the forum on atlanticintelligence.net so you would have some solutions...

2009-06-29
Reviews: 2
It is a real nice and fine software. but the author is not thinking about the extrafield function. You can add Field like name, postcode and whatever (fine!!) - but all can translated by language files, only this fields have no language option and no joomfish option.

I think - if the author add this function to joomfish - then all will be fine and it will work in multi-language too.

kasi
Owner's reply

Since YOU are the one creating the custom fields and their appearance... I would have some difficulty providing a translation for them.

Page 4 of 6