The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


CKEditor Popular ComponentPlugin

CKEditor for Joomla is an Open Source component that enables CKEditor in your favorite CMS.

It is provided by CKSource, the company that created CKEditor and CKFinder. No registration is required to download and the component is free to use.

The following features are included in the component:
- the latest stable release of CKEditor 3.x,
- built-in support for CKFinder, an advanced Ajax file browser,
- administration section with lots of configuration options to customize CKEditor to your needs,
- Link Browser - a dedicated plugin for Joomla!,
- multilingual interface, RTL support, Paste from Word, and all other cool features that are available in CKEditor.

A few words about CKEditor:

CKEditor is an online rich text editor that can be embedded inside web pages. It is a WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) editor which means that the text edited in it looks as similar as possible to the results end users will see after the document gets published. It brings to the Web popular editing features found in desktop word processors such as Microsoft Word and OpenOffice.org Writer. CKEditor is truly lightweight and does not require any kind of installation on the client computer.

You can learn more about CKEditor on the official CKEditor website (click the "DEMO" link). If you are looking for a package that includes a CKFinder license and a dedicated e-mail support channel, visit http://cksource.com/ckeditor-for-joomla

Please refer to the project homepage (hosted by joomlacode.org) to report bugs or add feature requests.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-04-29
Reviews: 4
Installing and configurating this editor was so simple.
The default skin is beautiful, but most of all this editor is intuitive to use.
And once the matching CKFinder is running, it really is a force to be reckoned with.

A joy to use.

The only downside is that it is not as popular in the Joomlasphere as some other editors, thus the lack of plugins.

But CKEditor is still my first choice for my future projects.
2011-03-25
Reviews: 1
This is and Excellent editor! and has and spanish support THANK YOU!
2011-03-10
Reviews: 114
I want to say thank you to the developers of this plugin, you have done a superb job on this. Its simplicity is mond boggling. :-) I cannot give enough praises for this editor. SUPER WORK!! A++
2011-02-14
Reviews: 1
Just tried the release candidate 2 on my Joomla 1.6 site, however it failed...
for info: It wasn't a total failure because most of it worked OK.
I had used TinyMCE for articles until I installed the CKrc2 and after installation, (in Admin view) all inserted pictures from before came up as an empty square with a small X in the corner (like a broken link) but the public view of the site was still OK.
I changed my editor back to TinyMCE again and it was all OK again.
That was using IE (it was similar using FireFox)

Keep up the good work, and keep on smiling... the final release can't be far away :)
Owner's reply

I will change ckeditor baseHref path to works with default joomla editor. You always can change this settings in component configuration -> Custom configuration setting in advanced settings tab. The new settings should be less confused for new users. Thx for report this problem.

2011-02-06
Reviews: 1
Works great no problems so far. I was looking for an easy editor that would be compatible with a Joomla 1.6 install. Great timing. This editor does exactly what it is suppose to without STRIPPING my HTML which is a ongoing problem I have with other WYSIWYG editors.
2011-01-25
Reviews: 6
I checked diff. editors, many of them fine. But this is the best one. I experienced no hassle with install / usage whatsoever. The timing of the availability of v1.6 is just perfect. Many thanks for this gem. - Tony
2011-01-24
Reviews: 4
Hello
these guys do a very very great work
work perfect
thank you very much
2011-01-07
Reviews: 6
Downloaded, installed and started using in seconds! Awesome! This should really be part of Joomla default - the default editor has been giving me headache for a loooong time, especially when it comes to using tables. But this just solves it pronto!
Thank you!
2010-12-22
Reviews: 4
At a 1st glance This editor seems to offer some nice features and a very friendly interface, but beneath the surface it destroys the source code and generates some odd things. For example infinite . I can see about 50+ of those tags inserted into my other ways very clean and neat code. Also it doesn't seem to like a background property at all and it feels it should replace it with background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; background-color: initial; text-align: center; background-position: 50% 50%; background-repeat: no-repeat no-repeat;

Seriously? Why no-repeat twice? Makes it useless in FF and IE, gracefully chrome ignores the stupidity of inserting no-repeat twice.
Owner's reply

It's a pity that you have used review to report a bug in the editor, that's not the best place to report issues with CKEditor or suggest new features that are outside of the scope of Joomla! extension

Please use the following URL to report a bug in CKEditor:
http://dev.ckeditor.com/
remember to read an instruction on howto report a bug:
http://dev.ckeditor.com/wiki/TicketSpecs
This way we'll be able to handle it properly.

In short we need a detailed set of steps to reproduce the issue (with initial HTML source, expected result) along with the editor version and your browser/OS. We've tried to reproduce the issue reported in this and previous comment without luck, so we'll not manage to fix it unless you provide some more details on it.

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and test our extension and I hope that you'll give CKEditor another chance soon ;-)

2010-12-14
Reviews: 15
At a 1st glance This editor seems to offer some nice features and a very friendly interface, but beneath the surface it destroys the source code and generates some odd things. For example infinite . I can see about 50+ of those tags inserted into my other ways very clean and neat code. Also it doesn't seem to like a background property at all and it feels it should replace it with background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; background-color: initial; text-align: center; background-position: 50% 50%; background-repeat: no-repeat no-repeat;

Seriously? Why no-repeat twice? Makes it useless in FF and IE, gracefully chrome ignores the stupidity of inserting no-repeat twice.

It gets 2 stars for a well designed layout and interface.
2010-11-28
Reviews: 9
Been using FCKEditor/CKEditor since 2007 and cannot imagine living without. It has been so easy teaching my clients how to create and edit articles.

THANKS
2010-11-10
Reviews: 4
Excellent editor! Completed in roles and with a modern and very well organized! 5 stars for sure!
2010-11-08
Reviews: 5
I have been using your editor and really like it, easy to install and use. Would like to see more fonts and more colors in the basic colors. Highly recommended.
2010-11-08
Reviews: 2
After spending two frustrating days with JCE and JCK, I found this languishing at the bottom of the editors page here. Normally I only consider extensions which are long established but this looked good in the pics and thought of giving this a try.

And Wow just wow, this is so incredible. Coming from WP background, i loved the looks, usage and simplicity. This looks brilliant, works brilliantly and has all the control options in the backend. One thing that irritated me to hell was the auto starting spell checker in JCK, this gives an option in the backend where you can disable it from autostarting.

All in all, this is very good and much better than the other editors available here.
2010-10-18
Reviews: 2
Firstly, it's nice to have a CKEditor extension for Joomla from those involved with the project itself. It lends some confidence as to things being done correctly and that the extension will be kept up to date.

Overall the editor is great and functions very intuitively, with there being a set of beginner/easy options as well as advanced/more-challenging configuration possibilities. It makes it so that basic setups and common options are readily apparent and available, but the depth is available and not hidden if you need it.

My sole lament is that the source/code editor (HTML view) doesn't do syntax highlighting, which makes it difficult for me to use this in preference of other editors for myself or my advanced users. For those non-technical who won't be viewing source, however, I may switch them to this editor as the default since it seems to behave more consistently and intuitively than many of those with equally advanced features.
2010-10-15
Reviews: 3
I'm install CKFinder in Firefox, but in other browser in CKFinder I'm read this notice:

«The file browser is disabled for security reasons. Please contact your system administrator and check the CKFinder configuration file.»

And one more:
Please add setting for Super Administrator look all files and folder when add in the path users parameters (example: $id, $group etc.)

Tnx.
2010-09-29
Reviews: 2
Very nice to be able to use CKEditor and CKFind integrated into Joomla :-).

It takes some time at first to figure the configuration out, that is: if you have specific needs. Otherwise it is ready to go in only a few steps.
2010-09-02
Reviews: 9
Very good work, thanks.

Some improvements of the PHP notices are needed and completons of the parameters, but great work!
Page 2 of 2