The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCE Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

An award-winning, configurable WYSIWYG editor for Joomla! based on Moxiecode's TinyMCE.

Includes advanced Image/Media, File and Link handling, plugin support, and an Administration interface for editor configuration.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-01-12
Reviews: 6
I install it on every page I create. It should be in every Joomla installation. Great work.
2010-01-06
Reviews: 18
Thank you for giving me such an editor.....out of words to comment on this one..
2009-12-15
Reviews: 7
Thank you thank you thank you..

this is an absolute must have for joomla! editors..
such a great editor, with great xhtml compatibility..

keep up the good work!
2009-12-13
Reviews: 6
I automatically install JCE on every Joomla site I build. JCE has everything a website author needs to create a first rate article in any blog or news item.

It's also a real time saver for administrators. It has so many formatting functions built in there is little need for custom HTML.

Five stars is not high enough, I would give JCE ten stars if I could...
2009-12-07
Reviews: 24
I’m making Joomla sites for around 2 years now and I just change recently from another well known Editor (only in an paying version). My main raison at first to switch to JCE is the Support. On that other editor your support was running out after a period of time. When I say run out, it’s really that no forum, no nothing. Even if I support develloppers that type of aftersales services are not welcome. My analogy : You buy a new car and after the warranty is over you cannot buy any parts for it, you can even open the hood...

I make the good choice with JCE.
1— Excellent support
2— You can go with a free , more basic Editor
3— Or in my case go for the paying extensions to have a professional Editor with all the bells and wistles that you need.

Main features for me is the ability to have one set of tools (of your choice) to one user/authors or type of users and the possibility to assign folders to editors/authors.
And so far, I have more possibilities, compare to my other editor.

THANKS JCE
2009-12-06
Reviews: 1
I agree with the earlier post and really do think that this is the best joomla editor by far. But it does need to support mp4 video playback by its bundled flash player since this is the new defacto format for web video now. Even adobe does not actively develop the flv video container any more, they now focus on mp4.
If setting a custom player in the media settings is an option, then more documentation need to be available to explain how to do so. Also how to extend the external video sources to include more than youtube, google and metacafe only videos, such as screencast. but overall, this is a great component.
Owner's reply

Extensive Media Manager improvements will be made in JCE 2.0 which will be out early next year.

Kos
2009-12-04
Reviews: 4
I had to give this extension a 4 star rating purely because there is an issue with the read more button. I can get around this by just changing the editor over and then going back to JCE. It gives so many more options and it makes life so much simpler if you are doing lots of articles etc. Really should be a must have extension for anyone designing a site.
Owner's reply

Issues with the Joomla! Readmore, Pagebreak and other 3rd party buttons were fixed in 1.5.6

2009-11-27
Reviews: 6
After days of stressing trying to make another popular editor work, I tried this one. It is so easy to use and really is WYSIWYG (unlike the other one I tried). This component has taken all of the hard work out of publishing articles to my website. Thank you!
2009-11-24
Reviews: 1
It's the best editor for Joomla with the least problems. I have 4 editors installed on our site so the users each can use the one they prefer (we have 20 people who submit content to one website for example). JCE is hands down the least problematic of them all.

The only problems that ever arise from this editor are always browser based; I'm positive that it's browser issues for all other non 5 star reviews for this editor. (Firefox is such a buggy browser now that most people use IE, Safari, or Chrome when editing the site even if they're Firefox fans - Opera also has issues with many Joomla editors).

Thank you very much for providing such a great extension for Joomla!
2009-11-23
Reviews: 7
I have tried them all, but I always return to JCE. Please keep up the good work in spite of the 3 and 4 star reviewers that have never cut a line of code for others to enjoy.
Maybe they should look at what the paid editors offer. JCE is value for money.
2009-11-08
Reviews: 3
As I said in my title this is teh best editor for Joomla so far! This Editor has all the features TinyMCE lacks and it looks really cool.

I have only one micro complaint, that the new windows, like to add a link, take a while to load. But that is a micro issue and this is still the greatest editor.
2009-11-02
Reviews: 1
I love this extension. I had it working beautifully on one site but when I went to install it on another, I couldn't get the media button to show. I spent about 2 hours trying everything I could think of. Finally I uninstalled it and installed the exact same files that were in the site where the media button worked. Initially the media button still didn't show then finally it did. I have no idea what I did right. but it's working now. Wish there was a little better documentation. Forums at the JCE website were down too. Bummer. But Still a fantastic Extension. I'd give it excellent if I hadn't had this problem.
2009-10-14
Reviews: 14
I've just installed Joomla for the first time and wanted a more powerful editor. This is definitely the one. I would have given it excellent but for the fact that I had to do a bit of messing with file permissions and install the editor plugin from the manual instructions to get it to work. THIS MAY HAVE BEEN MY FAULT but it still only took me a few minutes to get it working.

To be honest, it took me longer to register to post this comment than to install JCE!

The only thing that I can't find (which may be there) is the ability to crop or resize an image which is present in the commercial version of TinyMCE through the image manager. But then you have to pay for this.

This is, without doubt, a fantastic addition.
2009-10-12
Reviews: 11
Please don't be offended, but the reputation that was JCE Editor may be now suffering from over extending and trying way too hard. Sometimes a major scale back is needed to get back to basics. This is a great editor. It's very capable but some of the issues are better suited for the experienced user. We newbies just have sites to build and maintain. The issues can stop this show cold. Think simple.
2009-10-10
Reviews: 2
If you are like me.... the kind of guy that want to have TOTAL control on the articles, then this is a MUST HAVE component.
Remember to install all de plugins to have it working fine and also to set it a the default Editor, or your default Editor.
2009-10-09
Reviews: 3
I love this extension BUT I have a issue with the image manager. It keeps making the images on my site show up with the title and ALT of the filename. Is there a way I can remove this?
2009-10-02
Reviews: 3
I know this component is an editors pick - also before i download it i visited the demo site online and i was impressed.

The problem is that when in installed it on MY system, I wouldn't edit the content of the articles using the editor- it was like the editor was frozen and I couldnt do anything with it...i was able to edit the article only when i selected the html code option through "show/hide"..but what is the point when this is a WYSIWYG editor?

Anyways i didn't have the patient to try it more at the moment, or the time so i uninstalled it.

Probably I will try it again in the future and see how it goes...

One last comment - the fact that didn't work for me doesnt mean that it will not work for you...maybe i did something wrong..who knows...
2009-10-01
Reviews: 2
nice component really many features and very nice picupload and insert
2009-10-01
Reviews: 1
Very comprehensive editor, excellent implementation of more complex features like inserting images and links.

Some features flaky under Safari 4.0.3 (Mac)
2009-09-28
Reviews: 14
Very buggy interface. Especially editing and formatting text. The cursor vanishes constantly in the editor window and unless you click within a word, you never know where you cursor is. Must be my stock installation of Joomla 1.5 but other editors I've tried have this issue.

Also does not play well with the Linkr extension. I've uninstalled JCE and re-installed it three times with the same results. Very buggy. Even on a completely separate Joomla site it's has the same issues. My favorite is when it intermittently highlights the entire contents in the editor when I'm trying to highlight a word! I love that! Again, buggy on both Joomla sites so I know I'm not the only one who had issues with JCE.

Switched to JoomlaFCK (only Editor I hadn't tried before) and like the other editors - have had no issues at all.
Page 13 of 24