The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCE Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

An award-winning, configurable WYSIWYG editor for Joomla! based on Moxiecode's TinyMCE.

Includes advanced Image/Media, File and Link handling, plugin support, and an Administration interface for editor configuration.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-09-10
Reviews: 1
This Editor is simply the best of them all, with some configuration and lots of features. But I experience some kind of problem..

Looking at other reviews it seems that I'm the only one who experience this problem.. When I write inside the editor It seems to have really small space between lines, making words in each line crash to each other.. Is this some kind of bug?
2009-09-04
Reviews: 3
We have been using JCE for a few years. The developers of this extension have really set a benchmark for WYSIWYG editors. It is stable, full featured and has a slick interface.
2009-09-04
Reviews: 1
TinyMCE has been my abusive boyfriend for 2 years now. I was sure if I just loved it a little more it would love me back. It took a corrupt upgrade file to show me the light. JCE is superior in every way. Thanks guys!
2009-08-25
Reviews: 5
this is the first component I install on a new joomla site! great...
2009-08-20
Reviews: 2
has all the features I needed. I like the new groups options. best editor out there.
2009-08-15
Reviews: 3
really nice and easy way to do your work in joomla!!! u´ll love it...
2009-08-12
Reviews: 2
I was having a hell of a time trying to format my Joomla articles correctly so that an image was on the left and the text wrapped around it properly.

Installed this extension, and this solved my problem. Works like a dream and now my site looks really good.

Thanks much for JCE!!
2009-08-11
Reviews: 9
Every Jooomla developer should have this in their toolbox. Editing HTML is so much easier. The feature i like most is being able to set urls by having the ability to see all site content and clicking on a page instead of going to the live site, copying url, then pasting. Just a lot of features and a vast improvement over the core editor. Take notes Joomla!
2009-08-10
Reviews: 10
Prior to version 1.1.9.2 / 1.5.4 I thought this was a pretty good editor component, even if the image upload feature wasn't always a feature. Fortunately this release seems to have fixed it.

Unfortunately other things were broken in the process, notably the readmore tag button. The author says there are other ways of inserting the tag but I can't find it.

Shame, really.
Owner's reply

JCE has its own Readmore and Pagebreak buttons in the Editor Layout (not the ones below the editor window). These are better than the default Joomla! Readmore / Pagebreak buttons as 1) They overcome an issue with block element splitting caused by the Joomla! Readmore / Pagebreak code and 2) Pagebreaks become editable when using the JCE method.

2009-08-07
Reviews: 2
This is one of the first extensions I install when starting off on a new project. Really good work and I like the way it can load the templates css.
2009-07-23
Reviews: 3
the best editor you can use with your joomla.... It like Word, All the things you want to have its there. Fonts sizes, font family, tables web links, symbols, Justify, achors,Bullet List ... etc...
2009-07-22
Reviews: 1
After visiting the demo site and using the editor for only a few minutes, I was hooked. I will never again install Joomla without installing JCE. This editor just works! I struggled with the stock J editor for some time with different browsers and found that IE was doing the wrong things with text and images. After switching to JCE, I’m finding that articles look like they were intended. This should be included as the default editor in the 1.6 release.
2009-07-18
Reviews: 1
I am convinced that the incredibly bright people who are developing products in the Joomla community simply do not understand the NEW kinds of customers they are getting. Joomla is offering the non-technical people who actually do the writing and the planning and visualizing an opportunity to put their thoughts into action. After, oh about 3 weeks, working with Joomla I am both amazed and confused. Apparently the folks who write these extensions want money, and I say, hoorah ! I would be delighted to give you some money for your hard work. But how do I tell what functionality is free and what I need to buy ? Who told you guys/gals that you needed to be coy about your products. This notice comes in JCE and I rate it excellent although I am not yet able to achieve my goals because I am confused. There is no place where it says "this is free" and "this costs money" and "load things in this order". Instead you need to wander around for hours and hours trying to figure this stuff out. Here is the point, if you are really smart and can do stuff others can't then be crystal clear and charge for it. Otherwise, as a business person I would have to warn my peers off this product because it is bloody insane trying to get the functionality that is described in various places to show up in my world. I'm going to keep trying because I have soooo much time invested. If you're just starting, pack a lunch.
2009-07-18
Reviews: 3
After using the basic editor for a while in Joomla! I came to know about JCE, and believe me it is so handy and useful that I always install JCE before I start working on my websites. I just love it for its lots of nice fetatures. Thank you so much for JCE!!!
2009-07-10
Reviews: 1
I think JCE is one of the "must have"-extensions. Why? I say it's very simple and "Microsoft look-a-like" so anyone can easy use all the icons and design good looking articles.

One favorite feature that I think is the best is that you can create tables and customize them as you want. This makes it easy present structured data in tables.

Good work!
2009-07-07
Reviews: 1
This is an excellent plugin to the standard WYSIWIG that comes with Joomla. Adds the ability to edit tables - add/delete cells, rows, columns, apply styles.. indispensable.

There are soem quirks to it. The text may show up as non-justified, when the source actually show it as justify-ed. takes some using to ..

that said, this is an indispensable component
2009-07-02
Reviews: 5
As a hand-coder, Tiny-MCE has a bad, bad feature of stripping out all the line breaks of your code.

JCE has no such trouble and it's HTML editor is excellent -even down to line numbers.

Top work and Joomla would do well to take note of this and add it to their Tiny MCE.
2009-07-01
Reviews: 2
The prospect of a flexible, powerful WSYWIG editor for Joomla is enticing. Unfortunately, JCE's execution is wholly disappointing.

One of the biggest problems with Joomla is that is integration of stylesheets is exceedingly poor. JCE allows you to create a stylesheet for editing purposes...but it doesn't have any effect on the actual output, forcing you to rely on guesswork and inline styles. Its only utility is if your template makes the editing window hard to read.

Some of its functions (such as the ability to upload an image via the image menu item) simply don't work at all.

It tends to strip tags and formatting from pre-formatted text, regardless of its settings. And while it lets you paste text from Word, the code that results is extremely ugly.

Many of its functions, particularly the HTML editor, are sluggish, and tend to freeze repeatedly.

I spend so much time working around JCE's limitations and adding inline styles that posting content takes as long or longer than if I simply wrote pages in straight HTML.

I cannot recommend this program for any reason.
Owner's reply

"One of the biggest problems with Joomla is that is integration of stylesheets is exceedingly poor. JCE allows you to create a stylesheet for editing purposes...but it doesn't have any effect on the actual output, forcing you to rely on guesswork and inline styles. Its only utility is if your template makes the editing window hard to read."

I think you misunderstand the purpose of the custom editor stylesheet. By default, JCE is configured to use your template stylesheet to provide a preview of what some element and class styling may look like when viewed by visitors in the frontend. This is usually adequate, but for a few reasons creating a custom stylesheet for the editor may be appropriate, ie: to remove css classes that don't apply to content layout, or if text visibility is impaired by the default styling. The actual template css file is still responsible for the layout and styling of your site, as it should be, JCE's use is contained within the editing process only.

"Some of its functions (such as the ability to upload an image via the image menu item) simply don't work at all."

Admittedly a bug in the current version has broken the Joomla! editor buttons that appear at the bottom of all editors (Readmore, Pagebreak, Image) but JCE provides its own buttons in its layout that perform similar task, arguably more effectively and with better results, hence the appeal.

"Many of its functions, particularly the HTML editor, are sluggish, and tend to freeze repeatedly."

JCE's AdvCode editor uses one of the best (if not the best) javascript based syntax highlighting engine available, CodeMirror. Modern browsers cope quite well with the intensive process of syntax highlighting, where each line is scanned for changes, and these highlighting changes applied after each edit. Large amounts of html and other code (css, javascript) may cause this process to become a little sluggish.

"I spend so much time working around JCE's limitations and adding inline styles that posting content takes as long or longer than if I simply wrote pages in straight HTML."

It sounds like you need to learn a bit more about the interaction of content and the template stylesheet and experiment a bit more with the use of these styles through the Styles and Format lists.

2009-07-01
Reviews: 8
I'd previously hand-coded sides using MCE so was very used to the flexibility in deciding what tools my users got to use, so was a bit frustrated by the default installed tool.

This gives me all the flexibility I was looking for. Given that the whole point of a CMS like Joomla is to make it easy to update the content (hopefully without breaking or ruining the design!), this should be the first extension you install on any site created, IMHO.
2009-06-23
Reviews: 1
hi,

Very useful editor with meny features. Thank you for the good work.

I had only one problem with the layout display. Starting from the buttons (image, read more...) everything was out of the main container.

The work around is simple.
In the file plugins/editors/jce.php the line "$return .= "\n";" (at the end of the document) was inside the "foreach". You have to move it outside, just before the "return".

Good luck with the further developments of JCE, i am looking forward to them.
Owner's reply

Upgrading to the latest version (easy with the new package installation) fixes the layout problem.

Page 14 of 24