The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCE Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

An award-winning, configurable WYSIWYG editor for Joomla! based on Moxiecode's TinyMCE.

Includes advanced Image/Media, File and Link handling, plugin support, and an Administration interface for editor configuration.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-06-14
Reviews: 2
this editor is a must have.
- you can customize the editor for different user groups.
- you can limit the directory where the user is alowed to
upload files or you can configure for every user an own
directory with variables ($username)
... and lot of other stuff.
2008-06-06
Reviews: 5
I've used JCE at least two, maybe three years and it was what made me decide on Joomla. It is essential. Ryan is quick on the forums. Just quietly, I probably wouldn't use Joomla without JCE, (Although Joomla is also brilliant) Now it is native for 1.5 and really good improvements like multiple upload and resize, group access and way more. Can insert Flash or mp3 files easy as. A must have under every tree at christmas.
2008-06-05
Reviews: 5
Awesome addition!

This extension provides all the goodies and control over editing content!

I ran into a tiny configuration issue, but support was within 2 hours - awesome!

One of the standard extensions for all of my new Joomla websites and installs!

Looking forward to the subscription plugins too!

Thanks a billion!!!
2008-06-01
Reviews: 1
Way better than the TinyMC Editor - cleaner, slicker, and down right better than the default!

Made my like easier as a newbie to Joomla!
2008-05-28
Reviews: 1
The module did exactly what it said and more. Quick and easy to install with great documentation to learn about the advanced features.

Not only does the easy interface allow me as a webmaster to accomplish tasks quicker it allows me to hand real ownership and control of the site over to folks not so technically inclined. Even tasks such as adding in rollover images and easy uploading of files. Allowing my nonprofit clients to feel comfortable using the website tools ensure that they are more likely to have active and successful websites.

Thanks for developing this fantastic tool and sharing it with the Joomla community.
2008-05-24
Reviews: 3
This certainly makes my life, as a webmaster, much easier !

5 out of 5.
lbk
2008-05-11
Reviews: 1
Being a Windows guy and using MS Word for quite sometime for content editing, this is an Excellent (I wish there is a better word for this) tool for content editing in Joomla.

My client asked me to give a facility to create links to existing contents, I am giving her JCE.

I have decided to have JCE as my default WYSIWYG editor in all my Joomla installations.

Ryan, you made my day!!! Thanks a ton.
2008-05-08
Reviews: 25
This editor is the best open source Joomla editor there is. It has the ability to link to other content within the site without having to know the full URL.

It has a few quirks, one of which is that when you cut/paste from the JCE WSIWYG editor into an external editor like MS Frontpage using the design tab, the HTML generated has '/administrator/administrator' inserted into every URL link. When you edit that in your external editor and paste it back in, then beware...your links won't work.

I don't know why that is but I've learnt to live with it. I seldom edit externally anyway so it isn't much of a problem.

Another quirk is that the editor is susceptible to the wrong URL, if you put sitename.co.uk in the browser and your Joomla site is configured as www.sitename.co.uk, the editor content pane may not show up at all. This may be a Joomla problem though and not a JCE specific issue.

I have also had problems trying to get JCE as the default editor, sometimes having to de-install all the other editors and re-install JCE a couple of times before it would work.

Once installed and working it is my editor of choice and all my sites now have JCE installed by default.

Yereverluvinunclebert
2008-05-07
Reviews: 9
I have tested and used other editors looking for JCE. Now that I've found it, I have been using it (and my clients) for over 2 years with excellent results.

After you install JCE, at the bottom of the "success" page we see that the work on JCE is dedicated to his (Ryan's) father.

Ryan, he is proud of you.

JCE is fantastic!

Quality - excellent
Usefulness - excellent
Features - stellar (i.e. beyond excellent)
Configurable - excellent
Ease of installation - excellent

I can't say enough good things about this component and all the useful plugins (especially the latest image manager)

Wish - I wish all the blog components, forum components, and any add-ons that include html entries (e.g. editor text area) would simply allow JCE to create HTML for their application - all users and admins would benefit!

Anyone that uses this component should send a donation immediately. He has single handedly saved hundreds (if not thousands) of people hours-and-hours of time with JCE.
2008-05-06
Reviews: 1
Wow, as I'm new to Joomla 1.5, I was already completely satisfied with the included TinyMC Editor...

So at first I was reluctant to try this one, but what can I say!? It's really worth it!

Thanks to the developer for all the effort...

... and let's pray that some developer-genius might add a slicky slim-highslid-lightbox super-duper popup image-plugin for free some time..
2008-04-29
Reviews: 3
As a Joomla professional having installed and administered a ton of Joomla sites over the years, this is by far the best WYSIWYG editor to date.

Easy to install, simple to configure, yet powerful enough to provide the kind of functionality necessary for any level of 'end-user client expertise'.

This slick little editor goes in all our Joomla installs as a matter of course.

A++
2008-04-20
Reviews: 2
I am a Joomla! newbie. I tried and tried to get JoomlaFCS editor work with much anguish. JCE worked right the first time, I should have just used this to begin with.

Good job ladies and gentlemen!

john
2008-04-02
Reviews: 1
At last an extension that does what it says on the Box, easy to install, set up and use, this is how they should all be.
2008-04-02
Reviews: 15
Probably one of the Bests Joomla Components, if not the best. Usability, versatility, layout, support, EVERYTHING!!! This is a really wonderful extension!
2008-04-02
Reviews: 1
This is a good component but the support is very poor, even for those who subscribe.
2008-03-20
Reviews: 3
A great editor and much more easier and stable to use than the standard TinyMCE editor.

Thanks
2008-03-09
Reviews: 2
What a relief to have this instead of the default TinyMCE. I'm working with Joomla1.5 and an initial slow start with an error message after a successful install of JCE threw me for a loop, but the answer was in the JCE forum. Much nicer to use than TinyMCE. It's well worth the small cost of subscription!
2008-03-05
Reviews: 1
I love this tool, it saved my day so i can spend the time to write this review. Very easy to setup, fully configurable. It was very easy for me to customize to and and change features. For example, I did not want my users to be able to see the raw HTML code, so that button is disabled for them, but enabled for me. And there are many free plugins for this editor.
2008-03-03
Reviews: 2
A professional Editor for Joomla CMS.
2008-03-02
Reviews: 1
At first, it was hard to figure out how to install this sucker - but it all falls down to being calm, and "reading" the instructions!!

If you watch the flash install tutrorial, you will find this also helps.

It really amps up the Media Manager to a Awesome degree.
Page 18 of 24