The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCE Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

An award-winning, configurable WYSIWYG editor for Joomla! based on Moxiecode's TinyMCE.

Includes advanced Image/Media, File and Link handling, plugin support, and an Administration interface for editor configuration.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-01-12
Reviews: 11
Whan you get this, you will have to make som adjustments yourself in the css, because the links are in other colors and the whole design is not so good looking. The latest version does not even work, so I have to stay with the older one. JCE is ok, but not more yet.
2013-01-10
Reviews: 3
Looking for an editor to replace the builtin one, I've tryed this an fall in love.

It's simple, it's complete, it's powerfull and it works out of the box.
2012-12-31
Reviews: 10
I have used this editor for years now. JCE has never ever had let me down. It has been always my favourite Editor.

However, I upgraded one of my sites from J1.5 to J2.5 using jUpgrade.
After the upgrade I installed JCE editor for 2.5, but the editor would not show up.

Checked on the Forum, found the answer :-)

When you upgrade, jUpgrade doesn't set the RIGHTS correctly due to the nature of J2.5.
So, you have to set the RIGHTS for the DEFAULT profile in the JCE Control Panel.

For a moment I thought JCE had let me down, but as always it was NOT JCE error.
And I found the answer from the Forum for the issue too.

Guys, what else can you expect from a FREE useful component?

I would humbly request everyone, before you write a negative review, just understand the problem and read the Forum.
Because your negative comment can ruin such a nice hard work of this component owner.

Ryan, I salute you for the excellent component. You deserve 10 Stars for your generosity..!
Weldone....!
2012-12-16
Reviews: 2
I like the editor I will not lie - it is packed with good features to make our job easier(including "Youtube" and all). However, I scanned through documentations, FAQs and forum discussions, but there is absolutely nothing that talks about how to add more fonts to the pre-installed fonts. The reason for the editor is to edit, so forget about YouTube features and everything else that has nothing to do with basic editing... give us more fonts or better yet show us how to add more fonts ourselves.
Owner's reply

I have added a tutorial for adding new fonts to the Font Family list - http://www.joomlacontenteditor.net/support/tutorials/editor/item/adding-and-removing-fonts

2012-12-11
Reviews: 1
JCE Editor was my only editor for so long until.. i start using joomla 2.5. For 4-5 days it was okey as usual, but then.. it start to not showing when i tried to create or edit an article. The editor won't show at all..
Find other editors.
2012-12-09
Reviews: 35
This is a must have for all my Joomla web sites. Powerful, simple, supported with frequent releases. Be careful if you install an update because it may overwrite your own language and bring your JCE back to English language. I do not recommend JCE if you have to put code in an article or module, it could insert something you don't want: in this case switch to "Editor None", enter the code, save & close, then re-switch to Editor JCE.
Owner's reply

"Be careful if you install an update because it may overwrite your own language and bring your JCE back to English language"

JCE 2.3 includes a new method for translating JCE dialogs, which require new language packs. Our translators are working hard to finish these, one may already be available for you - http://www.joomlacontenteditor.net/downloads/languages

"I do not recommend JCE if you have to put code in an article or module, it could insert something you don't want"

JCE includes full support for javascript and css code (if enabled). "Joomla plugin" code such as {code} and [code] is also supported, but as this is not "real" code, it is treated as plain text within the html.

2012-12-09
Reviews: 7
Easy to install and use yet extremely powerful and free editor - I've used it both on 1.5 and 2.5 to great effect.

The add-ons, which are not free, are well worth the money and I'd advise everyone to buy them to make the editor fully comprehensive.
When I have had problems using some of the software - my fault as a novice joomla user rather than any to do with the software - the developer has been quick to respond and patiently guided me through the process.
Well done and thanks for probably the best software in the joomla world.
2012-12-04
Reviews: 4
Excellent extension to edit articles. Easy to configure & easy to use.

You can optimize the editor button bar from usability point of view so that your site's editors only have the buttons they need. E.g. I'd recommend to remove the font chooser & color buttons: use CSS styles instead! It will save you time when you change the template in the future (and you won't have to change all hard coded font settings from your articles).

btw: I also use the commercial JCE addons from the same developer which make it easier to add photos & documents to your content.
2012-12-03
Reviews: 4
I'm a big fan of JCE, my goto editor when it comes to Joomla! It's nice, easy to use and without major problems. The new version is actually impressive!
2012-12-01
Reviews: 4
I never Install a Joomla without this component. It generates very clean html code and is very accurate. Right clik on every element. Drag and drop. Works in all browsers. Configurable.

There is no better editor if you buy the super plugins 'Image manager extended' and 'Media plugin'. This allows you to batch upload images, rezising on the fly, and creating tubnails too. Only ting i wish for is auto-renaming images to awoyd spaces end spesial charaters.
2012-11-30
Reviews: 1
Only a SINGLE complaint... (and it really isn't that important)

I wish there was a button clearly on the right side to view source - perhaps a larger one - I usually use the source view, but I like to flip back and forth for certain things.

Of course it could be my aging eyesight on high-res screens - the 'source' icon sometimes gets lost in the mix for me...

Anyway - this is a MUST plug-in - especially if you are turning content creation over to a client - They can do more stuff in less time.
2012-11-29
Reviews: 7
A have experience with couple of CMSs and this is the best editor you can find on the market.

This is example for well done software!
2012-11-29
Reviews: 8
This extension has become essential to me. JCE is very comprehensive, stuffed with options and optional pro but excellent plugins. Absolutly no nightmare here. A dream! But we must make an effort to learn to use it properly.
2012-11-28
Reviews: 10
This WYSIWYG is fatal for some components or codes, like a tabber or any other which use {quotes}. It places and anywhere, it automatically edits your code... It can quickly become a nightmare... Why nobody repears these problems, since several years ?
Owner's reply

JCE is designed to produce valid HTML based on the doctype selected and by default will cleanup your html, removing invalid tags and attributes and fixing errors. This action can easily be disabled in the editor configuration.

Some tags, like iframe, script, style etc. are removed for security reasons, but options can also be set to allow all or some of these tags.

As for non-html code like {code} etc. JCE does not interfere with this syntax and treats it as plain text.

2012-10-22
Reviews: 3
Great Job JCE. Never found any thing like you have it together. Great Functionality and accessibility from all areas of Joomla. Works excellent for me. I will give 5/5. Thanks again and keep up the great work.

Thanks
Archit
2012-10-13
Reviews: 3
I have been using this extension for years and feel compelled to say not only is this extension excellent the support is also superb! Ryan always responds timely and even when the problem is on your end he doesn't ignore your request... I wish ALL these developers (particularly paid), would take a page from his book! THANK YOU!!
2012-10-03
Reviews: 4
I always use this editor in all my websites. very versatile and easy to use
2012-10-02
Reviews: 6
This is by far and away our preferred editor. We won't be upgrading any sites to Joomla 3.0 until this extension is available.
2012-09-17
Reviews: 2
I am using JCE Editor version 2.2.7.2. It has done almost everything I need from it. The one thing I realized I cannot do is add attachments directly from the editor.

I would like to have the ability to have an attachment icon within the editor to add/remove attachments from articles. This might eliminate more than one issue.

I hope I have not missed this function somewhere in the editor. I could not find this function in the JCE Administration: Control Panel area anywhere. I did not see any information when searching the JCE Forum. This should be different than the file/media manager function.

I realize there are other extensions that can do attachments, but the extension I use does not play with a different component I am using.

I would give this extension a 4.5 if possible, and gladly change it to a 5.0 star rating if I could add attachments directly using the JCE Editor. It is still a very good editor.
2012-09-12
Reviews: 11
By far the most flexible editor for Joomla. It allows for complete control over your content.

Congratulations to the creators. Keep up the good work!
Page 3 of 24