The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCE Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

An award-winning, configurable WYSIWYG editor for Joomla! based on Moxiecode's TinyMCE.

Includes advanced Image/Media, File and Link handling, plugin support, and an Administration interface for editor configuration.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-10-03
Reviews: 4
I always use this editor in all my websites. very versatile and easy to use
2012-10-02
Reviews: 5
This is by far and away our preferred editor. We won't be upgrading any sites to Joomla 3.0 until this extension is available.
2012-09-17
Reviews: 2
I am using JCE Editor version 2.2.7.2. It has done almost everything I need from it. The one thing I realized I cannot do is add attachments directly from the editor.

I would like to have the ability to have an attachment icon within the editor to add/remove attachments from articles. This might eliminate more than one issue.

I hope I have not missed this function somewhere in the editor. I could not find this function in the JCE Administration: Control Panel area anywhere. I did not see any information when searching the JCE Forum. This should be different than the file/media manager function.

I realize there are other extensions that can do attachments, but the extension I use does not play with a different component I am using.

I would give this extension a 4.5 if possible, and gladly change it to a 5.0 star rating if I could add attachments directly using the JCE Editor. It is still a very good editor.
2012-09-12
Reviews: 9
By far the most flexible editor for Joomla. It allows for complete control over your content.

Congratulations to the creators. Keep up the good work!
2012-09-03
Reviews: 1
This is a very good editor, especially if you're trying to create a table!
2012-08-20
Reviews: 8
Simple the best editor.
Easy to use, lots of options and setup available.
Add lots of features to manage your articles in the best and fast way.

The best!
2012-08-13
Reviews: 3
This extension is a must have for a Joomla user, default editor is too basic!
2012-08-01
Reviews: 7
This is without any doubt the best editor for joomla. I just love the way it allows the user to configure each tool so that I can hide the unnecessary tools. Also the linking to menu/article is a blessing. And thanks to the developers for keeping it free!
2012-07-17
Reviews: 2
Have to appreciate the developer for coming up with this extension. JCE has been hassle free and user-friendly since I started my project using Joomla. I hope many more people make good use of this extension.
JT
2012-07-17
Reviews: 4
Great editor I use on all my projects. I don't always implement for clients because of overwhelming options but for me it is a must! Keep up the good work
2012-07-11
Reviews: 3
I have used JCE for years in my projects. It's so much better than the built-in Joomla content editor. But it's always been buggy. And recently it's become unusable. The old bug that killed me was switching between WYSIWYG and HTML views would wipe out any changes you made to the article. I learned to get around that one. But recently the Link Editor has completely stopped working. When ever you click on one of the trees in the link editor to create a link, Menus or Content, etc. it never opens. You just see the daisy wheel spin and spin forever. No error, no message, just dead. I don't know if it's Joomla 2.5 or JCE 2.2.1.1 but the greatest single add-on for Joomla has died on me. I hope it gets fixed, because there is really nothing like it out there. Hands down, it was the best.
Owner's reply

"The old bug that killed me was switching between WYSIWYG and HTML views would wipe out any changes you made to the article."

"But recently the Link Editor has completely stopped working. When ever you click on one of the trees in the link editor to create a link, Menus or Content, etc. it never opens. You just see the daisy wheel spin and spin forever."

I'm sure both these issues can be resolved. Please post your issues in the Support Forum and we'll do our best to solve them.

2012-07-03
Reviews: 1
I used this Editor a lot and I fully recommend it. It's functionality is awesome and for everyone easy to manage.

Although I was searching for a possibility to include SWF-Files to the website I am working at. Although this is possible with JCE, you have to pay for this extra Plugin.

As I was working on a project with no financial revenue, I have to find cheaper ways for website construction as I don't want to afford payments for Flash-Insertion.

Other than that this Editor is very good. But if you want full functionality you have to either pay for it or look for another editor.
2012-06-29
Reviews: 2
First, in 5 years this is only the second review I've written. I have no problems with Joomla!
I've used JCE for years. Until the J2.5 was available I had no issues. JCE developers have tried to re-create things to a point where there are TOO many bugs. I've put up with a lot of the "tweaks" that JCE did to the editor, and those that "I" had to make in the software in order that it works. This new version leaves a lot to be desired, although "some" aspects are quite nice. But basic functionality suffers greatly just to get something new to function.
There was an update just today for JCE. No problem. I allowed the update and went back to work.
I've just lost 2 weeks worth of article writing because the latest update of JCE combines shift+a as "Select All". WHAT?!!! Who wants that option?! I can't make a capital "A" now?!
The first time I noticed the shift+a selected everything I was astounded and thought I'd done something wrong. I made sure I had everything saved and moved on.
The second time that happened I knew it wasn't me and went into the settings and tried to find where I could turn off the keystrokes. The only thing I could find was "Typography" for the "Enter" key.
I "had" to get the articles written and didn't have time to deal with uninstalling or trying to contact JCE, so I continued.
Immersed in writing I tried to make a capital A while on page 4 of a 4 page document - yes, the entire document was highlighted in one swift move. I type around 65 wpm. So the moves I made 'after' shift+a deleted the entire article! It wasn't the first time today that I've had it happen, but the last time (out of 4) wiped out my entire document and I have nothing now. There is no way to retrieve the document because the page moved up and the moust to the "Apply" and before I could click somewhere else the document saved the blank page.
WHO's idea was that to update JUST TODAY and include shift+a as the select all shortcut?! The editor didn't do that prior to today's update!
I know it was just today because the update was just today while I was in the midst of writing another article.
I can't complain at the JCE site because I'd have to purchase a membership in order to post in the forum.
??!!
In the last 2 months I've watched the updates and they have all been horrid. Highlighting all similar code when I select one bit of code in source view?!
Completing my tags for me in source view when I haven't typed my content?!
DON'T do the work for me, JCE. If I wanted an automated system I would be using Dreamweaver! I've been writing my own code in Notepad since 1998.
I can only hope that JCE contacts me personally in the next 24 hours - before I stay angry enough to start posting my feelings in other venues. Unless JCE can figure out a way for me to get back my 4 pages, I'm through with JCE!!!
Owner's reply

I can understand your frustration and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We too were surprised by this bug, which was unfortunately introduced in the update to TinyMCE 3.5.4

This issue was addressed in the JCE 2.2.1.2 update which was released as soon as we became aware of the problem and of the availability of the fix in TinyMCE 3.5.4.1

"Completing my tags for me in source view when I haven't typed my content?!"

An option to disable tag-closing was included in JCE 2.2.1

"Highlighting all similar code when I select one bit of code in source view?!"

An option to disable Selection Matching will be included in JCE 2.2.2

2012-06-28
Reviews: 1
Very good editor, people should start appreciating extensions especially non-commercial versions because creating one really takes alot of work and research
2012-06-25
Reviews: 1
This editor deletes any javascript code automatically. Isn't there at least one editor out there for Professionals?
Owner's reply

Allowing javascript to be entered into content items by default is a security risk, a fact most professionals would recognise.

JCE can be configured to allow or remove javascript, and many other elements and attributes, using Editor Profile parameters.

2012-06-23
Reviews: 5
Surely the best out there, simple and complete!!
2012-06-23
Reviews: 13
JCE is the premium choice for everyone who wants an easy and powerful editor for Joomla. Great!
2012-06-11
Reviews: 1
Fantofantastic!!!! superb plugin..built people are awesome.
2012-05-31
Reviews: 2
This is definitely the best editor for Joomla, in my opinion it should be part of the core by default.
2012-05-30
Reviews: 4
The best Joomla WYSIWYG editor available. A lot of useful options and I really like the image editor. Good!
Page 4 of 24