The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCE Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

An award-winning, configurable WYSIWYG editor for Joomla! based on Moxiecode's TinyMCE.

Includes advanced Image/Media, File and Link handling, plugin support, and an Administration interface for editor configuration.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-01-20
Reviews: 9
It is certainly an excellent and very complete extension. I hope soon to upgrade to J1.6 and would give 100% satisfaction if maybe you go down a little price for additional supplements.

Anyway, this is a component that must be present in any project in Joomla.

Thanks developers.
2011-01-15
Reviews: 3
Every time I do a new Joomla Install I have to check all JCE component & Plugin versions.
A update button would be great!
2011-01-14
Reviews: 9
JCE is simply THE editor extension to install.
It is always the first extension i install after installing Joomla! itself.

If you ask me, it should be the default editor packaged with Joomla!

Even the subscription fee is well worth to buy and only 20$. When you think about the added value you bring to your own project or client's project 20$/year is nothing.

Seriously, a must have extension!
2011-01-13
Reviews: 2
One of the first extension I install on every Joomla website I build, it should come pre-install with Joomla! since the base editor is really limited compared to this.
2010-12-27
Reviews: 1
Somewhy I've always saw gray background and black text in this editor..:/ After 30min of use editor crushed and stopped working at all - all buttons were gone and re-installation did not help.
Owner's reply

There is an FAQ entry for your first point - http://www.joomlacontenteditor.net/support/faq/48-editor/207-text-not-visible-dark-editor-background

and a forum to post questions you are having on anything else - http://www.joomlacontenteditor.net/forum/forum?f=6

2010-12-15
Reviews: 1
All my sites uses this great product! keep up the good work.
2010-12-01
Reviews: 1
Exactly just what I need. I've been looking for a quick way to do links between articles and this plugin really helped me a lot. Thank you and keep up the good work!
2010-12-01
Reviews: 16
I am SO GLAD that I installed this soon after starting with Joomla. Browsing through images to insert was a nightmare until JCE! Thanks!
m0y
2010-11-28
Reviews: 1
I must say, this is a must-have extension of ANY Joomla! site you have.

I like the ability to chose which icons you want to show, this is very helpful for less experienced users, or when you deliver the site to a client and don't want him to get annoyed with so much buttons.

The feature I like the most is the HTML editor, it does everything from indenting the code, highlighting and converting deprecated code (like the tag) to actual XHTML 1 code.

Excellent
2010-11-11
Reviews: 19
Hi, I'm using JCE Editor and also for a client to make it easier and more user friendly to use. However, I found the Editor when used on the front-end was too wide when you've got a right side menu and a left side menu and make it stay in the middle. So eventually after a bit of googling and research I found the fix! It was inside form.php of the main core of Joomla to adjust the width of the editor, publishing and metadata sections, in making it smaller and it is now so much better. I was proud of myself! :-)
2010-10-29
Reviews: 1
I have a list of must install component and JCE is definitely one of them. It is especially helpful for my clients so it's easier for them to update the site for themselves.
I could not do without this extension.
I have been using it for years and never had a problem.
OC5
2010-10-28
Reviews: 3
This is one of the few extension that I use in all of my J! sites. Definitely the best editor I've seen so far.

Keep up the good work.
2010-10-21
Reviews: 2
This Should be part of Joomla Core. This editor is THAT much better than the TinyMCE editor Joomla ships with. Because of JCE I hardly never use Media Manager anymore.
2010-10-05
Reviews: 5
JCE has been part of my Joomla toolkit for a few years. The annual subscription is excellent value for money. If your site is about content and you are serious about presenting it accordingly, JCE is a must have.
2010-10-01
Reviews: 3
The component installed fine, but the plugin 1.5.7 had to be installed manually on joomla 1.5.20. Instructions can be found on their website.
After that, everything went fine. A most highly configurable editor. What I liked especially is being able to highly configure the frontend editor to the needs of my client. A must have for Joomla.
2010-09-30
Reviews: 6
Since I started using Joomla, I was disappointed that the editors did not truly work in WYSIWYG. Once I had established in my mind that I had fewer problems working on line this progressed from disappointmnent to issue. I had installed in the JCE Editor to replace TinyMCE and with its capabilities, I was having difficulty as the headers in the editor did not match the headers in the published content. I went back to the JCE Configuration and discovered that I was able to change the style sheet used for the content editor. Yipee! Took a little bit of work but I was able to set up a style sheet for the editor that better matches my published content.

Just go to the JCE Administration>Configuration on the Components menu in Site Administration.

Set the Use Template CSS in the Formatting section to NO

Copy the system editor template from templates/system/css/editor.css to the location specified in the Custom CSS File field in the Formatting section. $template is the default template name.

Modify the new template to match your default template scheme.

It works for me. JCE is better than I originally thought! I learn something new every day.
2010-09-30
Reviews: 2
First rate component, it gets installed on every site I make. Being able to create multiple profiles for different types of user is a killer feature - no more headaches from technically incompetent clients who've butchered their content by trying to get "creative" in the editor.

There's a very good reason this is one of the highest rated WYSIWYGs on the JED, as well as Editor's Pick.
2010-09-14
Reviews: 2
There is not much more of a ringing endorsement I can give than it gets installed on every website I have ever built!

I did not see their inexpensive plugins for this extension for quite some time. They are also indispensable! They are worth every penny and then some.
2010-09-12
Reviews: 9
Generally I would say that I love JCE- I requested it recently on a site I administer. It is way better, more sophisticated then TinyMCE. However their support is frustrating to say the least. I'm having a peculiar issue with the background of my template loading into the editor and typestyles being completely ignored. I'm sure the answer, should I find it, will be simple, but I have no way to find it unless I buy support. That, I think, is unfair.
2010-09-11
Reviews: 6
Good editor etc. but have you ever tried to uninstall this extension? I tried and with the outcome that my browser returns a blank page when trying to edit an article and VirtueMart complains about a missing editor.

Re-installing (with the latest release) of course makes editing possible again.

Isn't it suppose to revert back to the default editor?
Owner's reply

Which editor is set as the default is not controlled by JCE but is an option set either in the Joomla! Configuration or in the Joomla! USer Manager. If the editor has been uninstalled, it cannot influence the default editor setting. What you are highlighting here may be a bug in Joomla!, not an issue with JCE.

Page 9 of 24