The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCK Editor Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

Serving over a hundred thousand registered users and listed at the top of its editor’s category it provides the most user-friendly and powerful html editing tool for Joomla! The project to date has accumulated over 330 reviews and has grown to become one of the most loved text editor's for Joomla!.

The JCK Editor offers an elegant editing experience which is more familiar due to its office like interface yet configurable enough to be used for enterprise developments. It seeks to strike a balance between being feature rich, beautiful and easy-to-use.

Unique to any other editor’s it comes packaged with a collection of beautifully designed typography and content snippets ready for you to use right out-of-the-box!

Most remarkably the JCK Editor is a free content editor for Joomla! It is free for you to use and install on any of your sites under the GPL licence! So why not take a few minutes to see this in action for yourself by checking out one of our demo's.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-08-31
Reviews: 4
I don't know why other editors get higher rankings than this one, but FCK is EFFEN Awesome!
Owner's reply

Well that's my thought exactly, but enough said! Since last 2007 we have work relentlessly on the project & it has seen a radical set of improvements! Maybe it the case that users have become devoted to using a particular editor & have yet to try it out? Anyway thanks mallamace for your support. Much appreciated!

2008-08-31
Reviews: 1
On the basic editor initially supplied with Joomla, although a table could be done, carrying out formatting to create borders seemed to be a missing element. With JoomlaFCK, I had the same initial problem until I had a eureka moment of creating and formatting the border arrangement as I wanted using Word. I then copied and pasted and things look so much better. It dawned on me that there was a paste from Word facility built into the editor.
Thanks for the editor, I can rest easier having a better finish using borders. I know it can all be done with HTML and CSS, but it is a lot less hassle copying and pasting from Word.
Owner's reply

THE GOOD NEWS! The next release (version 2.6.3) will go further to assist your requirements! It will allow users to apply borders styles to tables simply by using the iStyles tool!
Thanks for your vote! Delighted to hear that copying & pasting from Word works for you!

2008-08-30
Reviews: 3
JoomlaFCK is one of the first plugins I install on every Joomla! installation. It is by far the best editor I have found. Thanks for the great work!
Owner's reply

It great to have such positive feedback, thanks jeffkoertzen!

2008-08-18
Reviews: 2
First feedback. tried a lot of editors. It's exactly what I needed.
Owner's reply

Hi WalterP, I'm pleased to hear that!

2008-08-17
Reviews: 1
Don't usually vote, but love this editor!!!! Recommended download!!!
Owner's reply

Thanks, Le Roux d:0)

2008-08-10
Reviews: 1
I have recently migrated to Joomla! for PHP-Nuke. Being a fan of the FCK editor my natural choice was to choose a Joomla! equivalent. Wow, very impressed! I have to say, this is the best implementation of the FCK editor I have seen!

The design and interface is slick and well organised which makes it a pleasure to use. The Installation went perfectly, seams very stable in IE7 and FF3, everything works and it's FREE!

5 stars - excellent extension!
Owner's reply

Hi Gov999, bless ya & thanks for taking the time to post your comment! Much appreciated!

2008-07-11
Reviews: 1
An excellent and well thought-out Editor

Although I’m quite new to Joomla I’ve used many WYSIWYG editors in the past – written quite a few myself as well – and JoomlaFCK is an excellent and well thought-out Editor.

For me, an editor that you can use without having to think too much, or one you don’t have to create workarounds by hand re-coding all the HTML the editor misses or messes up is a good editor in my book. FCK fits that bill nicely and the interface has a nice look too which is important too.

Compatibility is good. I think I noticed a couple of issues in IE7 surrounding Image Properties which meant I had to use flick into FireFox – but that’s no drama for me.

Excellent choice overall. Great job WebX!!
Owner's reply

Hi spangle, Thanks really appreciate your comments. I am not currently aware of any IE7 issues surrounding Image Properties. Could I kindly invite you to elaborate a bit more on our forums and we will look into it for you.
Take care.

2008-07-09
Reviews: 1
Fabulous editor. Some functions do not work or do not work on all browsers, but VERY GOOD otherwise. Cannot inform authors, see complaint below.

Like many others, I had trouble with the file manager portion of the product. I was getting "Premature End of Script Files" or some such XML error. Research on the web-site revealed no solution. Research on Google led me to the solution, for me. It appears there are different line-endings in some parts of the code. Installing from a Windows box to a Linux box produced faulty files. As a last result, I installed from Windows to Windows, and then FTPed the files to the server. Almost all functions now work just fine.

Complaint: their web-site refuses to allow me to login. I have tried several times over several months to reset password, etc, to no avail. Actually, this seems to be a Joomla fault -- I've seen it myself on my site. If it were not for highly motivated users, many of mine would never get on and I would never know. THERE NEEDS TO BE A "CONTACT US" MENU ITEM on every web-site, so problems can be reported.
Owner's reply

As I understand it both Safari & Opera are working hard to resolve some of their rich text editing support. Advancement needs to be addressed on both sides and so we presently claim 85% compatible with Safari & Opera. We are soon to release the latest Joomla! implementation of the FCK code, in which we will go as far as possible to address some of these compatibility issues for you. ****NOTE: Our ‘Contact Us’ form can be found under the 'Get involved!' menu item on our website. Would you be so kind to email us & I will look into why the system has banned you. Thanks & take care.

2008-07-04
Reviews: 1
Excellent improvement (2.6) - however, if you use Firefox - be sure to disable Firebug on the site that this is loaded or the editor will not work properly.

In Safari, you still cannot right click an image and get the edit image options... it thinks that you are in the text and not on the image.

In Safari, the popup for inserting images and links does not work. Just shows a cancel button in the upper right hand side and clicking it does nothing.
Owner's reply

Hi The_Mastermind, I did notice that the 1st compatible Firebug version for FF3 kept refreshing the page a bit, I didn’t consider or think it might be the editor! However i’m not getting this anymore! Maybe it was resolver when Firebug was last updated? Thanks for your input & engorgement, I think I have answer your comment in the post above. Take care.

2008-06-07
Reviews: 2
I used JoomlaFCK before and it was a tremendous help when working in contents.

Later it had something that was showing errors and by urgency I had to switch to JCE.

Now I checked that there was some fixes done, and it's great again. JCE is good but it doesn´t have flash uploader free.

Thanks for your work! I like very much this mambot.
Owner's reply

Thanks jesuscam,
The next release which will be version 2.6.3 will offer relative path to both flash & images items! This should allow JCE user who use relative image paths to simply migrate across & still be able to view their images in the editor.
God bless ya!

2008-05-28
Reviews: 6
I find the JoomlaFCK editor to be as good as the capable TinyMCE default editor that comes with Joomla 1.5 AND it reformats the HTML source after some other editor has "munged" the source by taking out all the white space. That reformatting is the main reason I really like the JoomlaFCK editor, but I also like its image upload feature.

I installed JoomlaFCK 2.5.1.2 on a Joomla 1.5.0 installation, and JoomlaFCK 2.5.15 on a Joomla 1.0.13 installation. It seems to work fine in both cases, though I tried out just a few features, mainly editing HTML source and images.
Owner's reply

Hi mattsson, did you know that the 2.6x series is the ‘only Joomla! editor’ that offers control over the ‘Auto format’ tool and therefore perfect for those advance-users. It can NOW be switched OFF and ON, either globally in the plug-in or on editor’s tool-bar, or on the fly by right clicking the mouse in the content area. Thanks for your encouragement! d:0)

2008-05-15
Reviews: 1
There is a problem with the releases from 2.5.1 on (for Joomla 1.0.x). Many people have reported the same problem existing in Joomla 1.5 installations.

The problem centers around the editors filemanager. When you attempt to upload images to the server it craps out with an error "Connector is disabled. Please check the "editor/filemanager/connectors/php/config.php" file.

Some advanced users have posts on elaborate fixes for this -- but these fixes should be incorporated in a new release - if, indeed, they really work.

This problem has been going on for a month now and no solution has been posted in the forms by the staff.

I have users that need to use this function -- a lot. In the interest of serving my users I will be going to JCK 1.1.1 - I understand they do not have this problem.

It really is a shame. JoomlaFCK was a GREAT Joomla Editor. What happened -- I don't know. Maybe it was updates to Joomla from 1.0.13 to 1.0.15 - but whatever it is it appears to be affecting quite a few people and only silence from the staff in the forums.

If they ever figure it out and fix it I might be tempted to give it a go again as it WAS a great editor.
Owner's reply

Hi MikeSelvage,

Within a few days of releasing version 2.5.1 on January 16th we released Critical Security update which causes a problem with the editor’s file manager.

Our response was swift because someone had posted a forum on the web that detailed how to hack Joomla! through the editor’s config.php file. So in being prudent we released version 2.5.1a within a few days. Some users reported a problem so we responded by released a fix in version 2.5.15 which resolved the issue.

If you update your 2.5.1 versions to 2.5.15 you will find that this has indeed been fixed. As configurations do vary occasional users may have problem but may I assure you of our on going efforts to resolves them.

2008-05-09
Reviews: 2
For sometime, whenever i include flash in a module i have to work around JCE editor.. either use a flash module or find some other way because JCe doesn't seem to have included flash.

When you wanna have a table with a flash on one cell and an image on the other cell, there is no other way than to create a new module and use an editor. And for that JCE doesn't seem to able to handle flash files.

FCK is the editor to use when you wanna do this. And it looks extremely fast and does the job.

The interface is nice as well and its relatively easy to use.

lookign at the source code while in the editing mode is a breeze.

I would say 5 stars for FCK because it does something other editors cannot.
2008-05-01
Reviews: 4
I am a new Joomla user. I have been having a lot of fun learning how to setup it up and use it. But WOW, the FCK editor needs to be included as the default editor in Joomla. It makes everything so much simpler and is a breeze to figure out. Adding links, uploading documents and linking to documents are such a breeze. Writing articles and making them look good as you publish them is such a wonderful experience. I will recommend this extension to everyone I talk to. Thank you for all the hard work you put into making this extension, it is a lifesaver to a newbie like me.
2008-04-29
Reviews: 6
a very nice editor. Definatly try this one. top of my list
2008-04-28
Reviews: 10
Used this on 1.0.x was quite stable. Since going to 1.5, it's unstable. On a brand new 1.5 install and the latest FCK install, freezes the browser, still work needs to be done!
Owner's reply

Dear nikko500, thank you for your comments. Would you be so kind to email us the details of the problems as so we can have a looking into it and resolve any issue.

You can email us by visiting http://www.joomlafckeditor.com/Contact

Kindest Regards,
WebxSolution Ltd

2008-04-28
Reviews: 1
Nice Job! ;)
2008-04-25
Reviews: 1
This is brilliant editor but it is still crashing the browser, (Firefox and IE) when used with VirtueMart, until that is fixed i simply can't use it even though I really want to!!!
Owner's reply

Hi stonep, thank you for your comment.

May I invite you to take the time to comment you issue with the Error message, Screen shots, JoomlaFCK & VM version, Browsers and Server type etc on the JoomlaFCK forums.

If we can find out a bit more info we will look into it for you.

2008-04-21
Reviews: 1
I transferred a Joomla site from a Linux environment to Windows. JCE decided it didn't want to do certain functions on the Windows machine - I did not have the time to figure it out. I came upon JoomlaFCK and found that it does everything I need and more. The interface is nicely crafted and gives you several different viewing options via the admin panel. You can also use the interface to upload and link to files from the front-end of the website. So far so good - it seems to be a solid, reliable application.
2008-04-19
Reviews: 3
For quite a few months I've been frustrated by a number of WYSIWYG Editors - I've tried a number of them listed here in Joomla Extensions, only to reject them for one thing or another. But now I've found the one Editor that suits ALL my requirements - and it looks very professional too.

The first thing you'll notice is that the layout and graphical styling is very clean and professional, which gives immediate confidence that here is someone who knows how to design a graphical tool. The speed is good, and there are a great number of options and parameters available which should fulfill most site requirements.

But the most important thing for me with this Editor is the ability to use custom classes and styles. These are consistent and work when you hit the Apply button, unlike some Editors I've tried.

Excellent product - highly recommended - and it's non-commercial. And to the reviewer who complains about not been able to get rid of it, my response is simple: why on earth would you want to?
Page 12 of 17