The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCK Editor Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

Serving over a hundred thousand registered users and listed at the top of its editor’s category it provides the most user-friendly and powerful html editing tool for Joomla! The project to date has accumulated over 330 reviews and has grown to become one of the most loved text editor's for Joomla!.

The JCK Editor offers an elegant editing experience which is more familiar due to its office like interface yet configurable enough to be used for enterprise developments. It seeks to strike a balance between being feature rich, beautiful and easy-to-use.

Unique to any other editor’s it comes packaged with a collection of beautifully designed typography and content snippets ready for you to use right out-of-the-box!

Most remarkably the JCK Editor is a free content editor for Joomla! It is free for you to use and install on any of your sites under the GPL licence! So why not take a few minutes to see this in action for yourself by checking out one of our demo's.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-04-19
Reviews: 3
For quite a few months I've been frustrated by a number of WYSIWYG Editors - I've tried a number of them listed here in Joomla Extensions, only to reject them for one thing or another. But now I've found the one Editor that suits ALL my requirements - and it looks very professional too.

The first thing you'll notice is that the layout and graphical styling is very clean and professional, which gives immediate confidence that here is someone who knows how to design a graphical tool. The speed is good, and there are a great number of options and parameters available which should fulfill most site requirements.

But the most important thing for me with this Editor is the ability to use custom classes and styles. These are consistent and work when you hit the Apply button, unlike some Editors I've tried.

Excellent product - highly recommended - and it's non-commercial. And to the reviewer who complains about not been able to get rid of it, my response is simple: why on earth would you want to?
2008-04-14
Reviews: 1
I liked this editor a lot and would recommend it to most, but when I tried to replace it with another (JCE), it simply nuked my content screen. By this I mean:
I went through the whole uninstall process and added the new editor to replace this WYSIWIG but instead of having a new editor to try out, I was left with no WYSIWIG whatsoever and no place to add content. (Firefox 2.0, Joomla 1.0.15)
Reinstalling JoomlaFCK resolved the issue, but apparently I'm stuck with it.
I'm not entirely upset as its still a great product.
Owner's reply

You only need to update Joomla!'s Global Configuration and set the JoomlaFCK as default. We also have tutorial that would have walked you thought the changes.

2008-04-10
Reviews: 2
It's simple and easy to compose, easy to insert images, flash!
I recommend it!
2008-04-08
Reviews: 1
This is a great editor although their registration seems to be down and they have unanswered posts over a month old.

My rating has been lowered because of the lack of support!!!
Owner's reply

I’m sorry to hear that! Our eagerness to provide support over the last 2 weeks has been occupied in actively implementing some of the request and bug fixes kindly mentioned by the community on our forms.

We active visit the forms daily and I hope the 4 new JoomlaFCK versions which we plan to have with you by Monday week, possible earlier will be proof enough of our commitment to those whom have contributed!

This will see 2 beta releases of Version 2.6.0 and 2 stable release of Version 2.5.x compatible with both J! 1.0.x and J! 1.5.x.

We are excited about these releases and are sure they will be welcomed with the same enthusiasm.

2008-04-07
Reviews: 1
I like FCKEditor but wonder how do I add/remove/organize the toolbar buttons?
sip
2008-04-04
Reviews: 13
Much easier inserting images and managing content. Thank you! This will make training my clients a lot easier. It also doesn't mess with Flash within a page. TinyMCE would always reset the Flash size to 0.

Great editor - will donate $
Owner's reply

Thanks for your support. Really appreciate your kind words and encouragement.

2008-03-28
Reviews: 9
Thank You - Thank You - Thank You
Joomla 1.0.12 - I was having so much trouble inserting flash movies into my pages with the stock editor and JoomlaFCK 2.5.1a fixed all those problems.

The only thing lacking is a way to input a text memo field, in my case I want to provide the html code for linking to an image on my server so people can cut n past to their site. Maybe I have to look more, but I didn't see it.

Thanks Again
Stuff4Toys - JOhn >
2008-03-27
Reviews: 2
The default editor tinyMCE in J15 is good, but it fails to deliver on two key areas: viewing page code and managing images.

To move between design and code view in tinyMCE requires opening a popup window with an unformated presentation of the code. It is difficult to view because the text is not wrapped.
Using JoomlaFCK the code is wrapped, which makes viewing code more appealing.

To add or manage images in tinyMCE, there's no upload or browse option, so you have to know the name of the images and where they are located. Additionally, if you want to add new images from your HD you would have to go to your FTP program to upload them.
Using JoomlaFCK, the image manager includes upload and browse options, so you upload new images or browse the image directory to select images to display.

Awesome to find an open-source Editor that offers so many features!
2008-03-10
Reviews: 10
I have been using Joomla for approx. 1 week and installed the JoomlaFCK editor after reading these reviews. I is so much better than the one that came with the program. I really like the fact that when you insert a picture you can see it rather than having to remember the path.

There only a couple of things I have found that I don't like is that the "Read More" button does not function in IE7. I does however work in Firefox so, problem solved. The other is that the editor background takes on the color of the Template background.
2008-03-09
Reviews: 6
I have been using JCE editor for ages.
Now, when J1.5 comes, I tried JoomlaFCK. Was very surprised how's fast and reliable, simple and powerful.
It fully covers may very different needs: as an standard author of articles and rather sophisticated html coder.
All four my thumbs up!
2008-03-06
Reviews: 3
This is incredibly easy to install and use. It may not have all the bells and whistles of JCE, but it works much better! I installed JCE, but got nothing but errors, even with all the fixes they listed on their forums. I don't have endless hours to apply fixes, so I installed JoomlaFCK, and it worked perfectly! Thanks and great job!
2008-03-05
Reviews: 1
Very easy to install. Very easy to use. It loads quickly. It's very complete. It's free.
The "insert picture" works very well, and give all the main options for alignment of the picture within the article.

I would have give it 6 stars if it allowed to insert a mini gallery ... maybe in the next version. :)

Thanks
2008-02-22
Reviews: 1
I really like this editor. It is much cleaner then the original and I like the template features that are built-in. I only have one issue but it does not effect my rating as it has nothing to do with build quality more of UI and that would be a submit button while in full screen editing mode. You have to exit full screen mode in order to see the save button.

All in all great editor !-)
2008-02-21
Reviews: 1
Easy to install
Easy to setup
**Easy to use

it doesn't have a copy format button... but it's still an excellent plugin.
2008-02-15
Reviews: 12
I have migrated from JCE, which is bulky, often cumbersome and sometimes buggy. Nevertheless, JCE was still the best editor of its time, but with the FCKeditor making its debut, the title goes to FCKeditor.

This is in spite of FCKeditor not yet having a file manager, but it does boast an image manager upload utility, which is easier and more intuitive then JCE's offering, which is essentially a plugin. FCKeditor is simple to use and install and has a nice template system. Downloading, installing and putting it to use only took approximately three minutes tops. It is simply the best. Thanks.
2008-02-04
Reviews: 2
absolutely brilliant thankyou works straight after install no problems wish all other extensions were like this one
5 star
2008-01-24
Reviews: 1
The author claims compatibility with Opera 9.5. At the time of release of this bot, the latest version of Opera available is 9.25.

Furthermore the editor isn't compatible with Safari at all.
Owner's reply

The editor is compatible with the latest release of version 9.5 beta; this was in fact released prior to our claim! The exciting news sees the Opera team working the editor to resolve incompatibility issue with the browsers! These advances are only implemented in the latest beta of Opera 9.5!
The latest release of the JoomlaFCK is compatible with Safari 3.0+ but as different configuration very we are happy to work with those willing to post the problems on the official JoomlaFCK website. This is because it is difficult to resolve any problem you might be having without knowing more information?

2008-01-23
Reviews: 2
First: A very very fast Editor (I don't think it's good idea to use any other in presence of this Editor)

Second: Normal FCK Editor (without Joomla) shows a lot of Style Lists, like emphasis,big,small,Marker:Yellow,Marker:green,......

All these Styles are not shown in Joomla Component of FCK Editor.

I tried to fix it, but failed.

I believe these Styles are very important and Joomla Plugin of FCK mush have this feature too.

Beside this, I have no other Issue and still this Plugin gets Full Rating from me.
2008-01-23
Reviews: 1
I like this editor a lot, even compared to JCE Editor what I think is good too. Must say though that this one is a bit sharper. Nicer and easier navigation, easier to install, nicer skin. Very good job! Thanks!
2008-01-23
Reviews: 3
Wrong links when embedding images.

Note: the useful feature of linking to an Article through a dropdown is not present for the 1.5 version.
Owner's reply

I’m sorry to hear that you are having problems with embedding image. Unfortunately we are unaware that the editor produces a wrong path links when embedding image in the current version but are happy to work with you to resolve any problem there might be!
May I invite you to take the time to comment you issue with the Error message, Screen shots, JoomlaFCK Version, Browsers type etc... We invite users to process queries in this way as your comment may provide another user with a valuable solution or answer.

Page 13 of 17