The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCK Editor Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

Serving over a hundred thousand registered users and listed at the top of its editor’s category it provides the most user-friendly and powerful html editing tool for Joomla! The project to date has accumulated over 330 reviews and has grown to become one of the most loved text editor's for Joomla!.

The JCK Editor offers an elegant editing experience which is more familiar due to its office like interface yet configurable enough to be used for enterprise developments. It seeks to strike a balance between being feature rich, beautiful and easy-to-use.

Unique to any other editor’s it comes packaged with a collection of beautifully designed typography and content snippets ready for you to use right out-of-the-box!

Most remarkably the JCK Editor is a free content editor for Joomla! It is free for you to use and install on any of your sites under the GPL licence! So why not take a few minutes to see this in action for yourself by checking out one of our demo's.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-03-06
Reviews: 1
I really like the editor, simple to install and use. Only one issue..it worked fine in 1.0.10, but after doing a new site with Joomla version 1.0.12, I cannot get the editor to work properly. No menus appear and content only appears in html format. I have tried reloading everything with the same results. I have tried the sourceforge page and found it to be available. It has been about a year since this bot was revised. Is this still being supported? A great editor that I would like to see maintanined.
2007-02-23
Reviews: 1
I cant really complain about this FCK. So good. No problem in installation.

However It will be nice that there is a configuration section for Administrator to change the "image" path so that it share the same path as "files". By doing so, It will allow user to group the document and image together under the same directory.
mws
2007-02-23
Reviews: 1
Have used this editor for a while on my site and found it very good. Just wanted to say thanks to Amir for the post above, as I have had trouble getting other editors to work since I installed JoomlaFCK. Thanks for the tip - I've been searching for a fix for weeks!
2007-02-22
Reviews: 1
Pros:
+ very stable (din't have any problems/errors during test)
+ fast!
+ ease of use (good feature is the right-click menu)
+ easy to setup
+ seems to let your HTML code untouched

Cons:
- uses outdated HTML code (formatting should be done by CSS)
- no XHTML (or am I overlooking something?)
- missing feature to insert internal links pointing to existing content

Summary:
JoomlaFCK is a very good editor for small (non professional) pages. For professional/commercial pages I can't recomend due to the fact it's using outdated HTML and no XHTML.
2007-02-20
Reviews: 2
Any Plans to Upgrade this to it FCKEDITOR 2.4 as its using the 2.3 at the moments.. anyways nice job and thanks for the time you spent to offer this...

regards
rick
2007-02-17
Reviews: 1
I have to comment and say that this is a great tool. Its faster then others when loading and even placing your courcer over a tool, Its free and it also has a very functional system which will work for everyones needs. I give it two thumbs up!
2007-02-06
Reviews: 18
I was having trouble with TinyMCE and the JEvents calendar. As soon as I installed JoomlaFCK, problem solved.

Yes, this should be the default editor with Joomla.

THanks and kudos to the developers!
2007-02-06
Reviews: 2
I have had frustrations with every editor I have tried until I go FCK. I dont do many reviews but this deserves it! Why...

1) You can upload picures from your desktop straight into articles. For this reason alone you should use this. It makes authoring articles so easy. No clumsy mosimage interface or having to get out of an article to upload a picture from joomla eXplorer.

2) Automatic Borders and placement of pictures at upload!

3) Embedding of Flash !!!!

4) No Script errors, its its clean programming. So many of the editors have scripts problems with various browsers.

5) Its fast, initial load takes a few seconds but after that its fast.

Just Download it already and blog to your hearts content (pun intended)
2007-01-31
Reviews: 1
I like it a LOT !
It works very well, and is very straight forward.
I had minor setup issues so am posting this for others.

The site link to download is confusing.
For Jooomla 1 the link is

http://forge.joomla.org/sf/frs/do/viewRelease/projects.joomlafck/frs.joomlafck_1_0beta.1_2_0

Tick the box for the file & then Download Selected.

Once you have the file (1.zip) you need to UNZIP IT to find the file >> bot_JoomlaFCK120.zip
2007-01-29
Reviews: 1
Well, what can I say..

I have been having so many issues with tags and I install this mambot and my troubles went away instantly!

This is by far the best WYSIWYG editor for Joomla around.. and I'm not just saying that!
2007-01-21
Reviews: 1
I'm very happy with this editor. TinyMCE was driving me nuts! I usually prefer no WYSIWYG at all, but needed some editor to allow users with little experience to be able to submit content properly. This one does the trick.

BTW - somebody made a note about having to modify some url code in the original php file for the editor to work properly with IE7. I have IE7 installed and it worked straight out of the box for me.
2007-01-11
Reviews: 1
But after changing the editor under my account it appear

You should go to - site -> user manager- > admin (or your account) -> then on the upper right side choose JoomlaFCK

After changing that the editor will appear

Hope that I helped someone

Amir
krc
2007-01-09
Reviews: 1
Out of the box the mambot doesn't work. (with firefox 1.0.7 and ie7)

After a lot of searching on google - I ran into the documentation of the fckeditor on www.fckeditor.org. Here everything started to clear up.

in the mambot file fckeditor.php I replaced the line:
oFCKeditor.BasePath = "$mosConfig_live_site/mambots/editors/fckeditor/" ;

With this:
oFCKeditor.BasePath = "/mambots/editors/fckeditor/" ;

It seems the reference with the site included breaks everything. Now I've got a working FCKEditor integrated with my joomla installation. Tested in both firefox and ie7.

Thanks for a great alternative to TinyMCE
2006-12-28
Reviews: 1
This should be a standard editor with joomla

Now I can easily have different coloured text in sentences.
Thanks for this :)
2006-12-28
Reviews: 3
I thought JCE seemed better because of the hype, but it gave me script problems, errors within my site because of conflict of other plug ins I have installed running javascript, and in result slowed my site down. Maybe I didn't configure it correctly. But I don't want something I have to read a manual to figure out. This component is "plug in and play" and is so simple and easy to use. A common sense editor if I may. Although I enjoyed the look of JCE, I have to say this is now my favorite editor. Thank you for making a powerful yet simple product.

The only thing I would suggest to make this easy to use product better is maybe touch up the look a notch. Other than that it does what any editor needs to do.
2006-12-26
Reviews: 1
We've been using this editor over TinyMCE for some time now because of the ability to upload and insert an image whilst editing. That and the additional formatting options. It's part of our standard install these days..

We looked at JCE but had more joy with FCK

H
2006-12-20
Reviews: 2
This is the best and fastest editor I have seen, both tinyMCE and JCE are extremly slow compared to this editor, I am also not sure why editors are not picking this as the choice, definately nice.
2006-12-09
Reviews: 1
I like the fact that you can upload your images from your pc and that the dimensions of the editor conforms to your webpage (Does not run outside the borders)
2006-12-03
Reviews: 3
This one seems decent, and I like source mode, and how it doesn't mess with my code as much as TinyMCE. But it still messes with my code. When I try to use a hack, or sometimes even something mainstream (I can normally find a workaround for this though) it deletes it. Twerp said this is the only one that doesn't mess with code... IT'S NOT TRUE! Can I just get an editor that records what I type?
2006-12-03
Reviews: 1
The best editor i've ever seen!! I really recommend this even though this is not the editor's pick. Nice job
Page 16 of 17