The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCK Editor Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

Serving over a hundred thousand registered users and listed at the top of its editor’s category it provides the most user-friendly and powerful html editing tool for Joomla! The project to date has accumulated over 330 reviews and has grown to become one of the most loved text editor's for Joomla!.

The JCK Editor offers an elegant editing experience which is more familiar due to its office like interface yet configurable enough to be used for enterprise developments. It seeks to strike a balance between being feature rich, beautiful and easy-to-use.

Unique to any other editor’s it comes packaged with a collection of beautifully designed typography and content snippets ready for you to use right out-of-the-box!

Most remarkably the JCK Editor is a free content editor for Joomla! It is free for you to use and install on any of your sites under the GPL licence! So why not take a few minutes to see this in action for yourself by checking out one of our demo's.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2006-11-29
Reviews: 1
This editor is very reliable. The most interesting feature is that we can upload images from our PC, and also flash animations.
What I am expecting from this editor is that in a near future let me change the font type. I think that with that feature, it will be a complete tool for html edition
2006-11-01
Reviews: 1
well indeed is very good editor, i am very happy about their work. thnaks again one more time.
2006-10-07
Reviews: 1
Works great in Firefox, much faster then the standard editor.

But doesn't do anything in Opera. Opera is a great browser, it has the ability to spell check every textarea before submitting, so it is the ideal browser for maintaining a CMS. When will JoomlaFCK support Opera, any ideas?
2006-10-02
Reviews: 1
I like both TinyMCE based and FCK based editors but this one is more stable than JCE and it is lighter. Some plug-ins like color picker,... use JS instead of open popup windows and run server scripts so JoomlaFCK is faster.
Changed editor to JoomlaFCK immediately after install!!!
2006-09-26
Reviews: 8
This is the best editor that I use untill now. It has a lot of components of the others editors and it loading very fast. I recommend!!!
2006-08-13
Reviews: 1
I feel it faster than any wysiwg editors, I like the html button, it make me easier to edit geshi code, Tinymce still seems get problem with geshi.
2006-08-04
Reviews: 10
The FCKeditor mambot is the best!!!!!
2006-07-31
Reviews: 1
I really enjoy this fast editor. When you're editing lots of content what could be more important than speed? I use the Mac Safari browser nearly all the time but this editor doesn't work in Safari. However, I like it enough to use Firefox when editing my Joomla! site...it works great in Firefox.
2006-07-30
Reviews: 2
Lighter than JCE, simple and reliable. You want more?
You can upload images (or Flash animation) directly while editing your article.
It's heaven!

Only one thing : why isn't it bundled with Joomla! Core installation?
2006-07-30
Reviews: 1
Hi All... quick comment here: giving FCKeditor ANYTHING other than an 5 star EXCELLENT rating makes me shudder. ALSO: respect, though I Don't know anything about the cutting off the toolbar issue... certain sexy here - using [set to] 100% width. Having suffered thru weeks of dreamweaver [WITH css style sheet off, and other tweaks,JCE and the others... well, JCE sure is pretty and cool.. and I have found using JCE is cool..

yet, it's ALWAYS FCK that doesn't mess with code.. I've done stuff where ONLY FCK could save my head...

the REAL best fact [for me] is when I run a copy of it on my localhost server 'standalone', and if you get INTO fck it's SO available once I figured out how it works for folders and stuff. This way I can do edits like in dreamweaver WITHOUT totally contadicting the template's style sheets and overrides and stuff...

Anyways: not brilliantly said here though I wrote MAINLY cause the people who do FCK and our own fabulously on it JoomlaFCK Team should be gettin' a LOTTA pats on the back..

What would life be without fast action on updates and all for FCkeditor...?

shudder.

best wishes to ALL
2006-07-17
Reviews: 1
I found JoomlaFCK to be a bit buggy. Slow loading, slow to implement changes, and for some reason breaks image links. Also, I finally found the correct installation file only by accident, for it wasn't in any of the locations the download links took me to.
2006-05-26
Reviews: 98
I had installed this WYSIWYG Editor into my website, it is faster than the EditorPick one on this site, the JCE editor. I like it.
2006-05-18
Reviews: 4
This mambot (now called Plugin) worked fine, just as yabba dabba mentioned, I had to adjust the "width" manually show that the toolbar will not be cut off. The default width and length is 480 and 480, I changed it to 640 and 480, then it displayed well.

maphew (April 6, 2006) maybe downloaded the wrong file. The mambot is available to download form this page but not the Homepage of FCKeditor, instead, the homepage provided the source code.
2006-04-24
Reviews: 1
Installed fine on my remote J 1.08 dev site (IIS6; mySQL 4.0.25; php 4.3.11).

Don't Like:
1 - Lack of granularity for toolbar administration.
2 - the "width" setting in the mambot admin area is useless in that it sets the width but it cuts off the toolbars.

Do Like:
1 - Seems to leave the html code alone.
2 - Simpler text formatting options than "TinyMCE".
2006-04-13
Reviews: 1
This is by far the best editor I've ever used. It has a lot of power, the hyperlink and upload feature make it the best. It's fast loading no problems. Only thing I want is to be able to reorder the buttons like in JCE
2006-04-06
Reviews: 1
the installer is broken for joomla 1.08

" Upload mambot - Upload Failed
ERROR: Could not find an XML setup file in the package.
Upload mambot - Failed
Installation file not found:
/var/www/joomla/media/install_443460a973a2"
2006-04-01
Reviews: 2
The way we work, I develop the pages in xhtml and then I have others maintain that do not know html. They prefer to use one of the WYSIWYG editors, but others editors kept messing with existing code - breaking rollovers etc. But not JoomlaFCK - this is an awesome editor - I am even using it!
2006-03-21
Reviews: 1
I have try JCE, mosCE, etc. Finally found only JoomlaFCK has stable and compatible to any browser. The instalation procedure is very simple: only need one mambot/plugin. JoomlaFCK is very small and very fast.
2006-03-06
Reviews: 4
As nathandiehl mentioned above, this is very clean editor in terms of code output. No WYSIWG editor is going to be as good as a master programmer typing it all out by hand, but this is about as close as you're going to get. That alone is worth five stars after seeing some of the horrific code spewed out by some of the other editor mambots.

While the code is clean, JoomlaFCK is still lacking in a few areas. First, the only options to customize the toolbar buttons are a 'basic', 'compact' and 'advanced'. These provide more or less buttons as stated, but the lack of individual control is frustrating. Thankfully, the editor loads quickly even with the 'advanced' setting.

JoomlaFCK is a quality editor that has some appealing features. Above all else, it has the cleanest code output I've seen in Joomla editor. Secondly, it supports skining to match your site template. Last but not least, it is fast and stable. There is an occasional resizing issue or two, but for the most part it works as intended.

It is worth noting that JoomlaFCK doesn't really have much in the way of administrative customization. It is not overly easy to define sytles, headings or the like. MOSce editor beats JoomlaFCK in this respect. None the less, FCK is an editor you should try and keep and eye out for. Hopefully with time a little extra polish will make this mambot an all-star.

4 out of 5 stars.

Paul
2006-02-21
Reviews: 4
This editor doesn't 'edit' or 'change' html code as I've experienced with some other editors. Used in conjuction with JoomlaCE editor, I have everything I need in an editor.
Page 17 of 17