The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

JCK Editor Popular ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

Serving over a hundred thousand registered users it provides the most user-friendly and powerful html editing tool for Joomla! The project to date has accumulated over 330 reviews and has grown to become one of the most loved text editor's for Joomla!.

The JCK Editor offers an elegant editing experience which is more familiar due to its office like interface yet configurable enough to be used for enterprise developments. It seeks to strike a balance between being feature rich, beautiful and easy-to-use.

Unique to any other editor’s it comes packaged with a collection of beautifully designed typography and content snippets ready for you to use right out-of-the-box!

Most remarkably the JCK Editor is a free content editor for Joomla! It is free for you to use and install on any of your sites under the GPL licence! So why not take a few minutes to see this in action for yourself by checking out one of our demo's.

Report Extension




Reviews: 6
I believe this is the best editor I've ever tried for Joomla. Works nice, offers a much closer to a real WYSIWYG experience than all the other editors I've ever tried. Very good! Thanks a lot to the author!
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review. We have made a vast number of changes to help make JCK a real WYSIWYG editor. I am glad to read that you think our hard work has paid off.

Reviews: 8
Being still a newbie to Joomla, I was looking for an editor, which could simplify my life, while at the same time offering lots of helpful functions - I found this plus more in JCK.

It is absolutely amazing, how such a powerful product can be offered for free!

What really convinced me about JCK, is the fact that this editor can properly handle HTML - whereas other editors sometimes get hickups at this point.

Furthermore, JCK's performance can be extended via a large portfolio of plugins - really looking forward to check them out. For now, already the basic free version of JCK offers much more then I currently need.

Have not tried their support yet, but I appreciate the fact that they to video tutorials on their page.

I highly recommend this editor to Joomla beginners and advanced users at the same time.
Owner's reply


I'm glad the video tutorials have helped. We have added a number including "how to install the editor" for those who are new to Joomla. We try our best to make the whole process as easy and as straight forward as possible. I am glad that it has helped.

PS, have you tried 5.2? It has some great new features including drag and drop uploading for HTML5 compatible browsers.

Kind regards,

Mark and the JCK team.

Reviews: 3
Without a doubt, JCK is the best editor I have used. And this comment comes after trying out almost every ranked editor available in Joomla extensions! Great work. Just installed the 5.1 Stable version and it looks good.
Reviews: 1
Yes it is a great Editor and the best one I found. The only problem that I got is that I cannot find out how can I insert Greek language for spelling. But still is the best Editor for Joomla.
Reviews: 20
It is a really nice editor that does most of what you would want it to. I chose to use it when one of it's major competitor that I had been using for ages started to strip off my iframes after an update.
I would be 100% happy to have made the switch to JCK if it wasn't significantly slower than my previous editor. Also, the fact that if you don't click exactly on a line, it sends you off right at the top of the post is really annoying.
I guess that I will continue to use it anyway since once again, it if pretty useful and good looking too, but I wish it were quicker (both load and operation). I know that the developer claims that it is fast but I am afraid that in my case, it is not (I am using it bare-bone with no extension).
Owner's reply

Hiya, Thank you for your review and comments.

We was not able to replicate the issue you mentioned, but would be more than happy to assist you. As so we can please post a message on our forums as so we can reply to you.

Regarding speed; as you rightly point out, from our tests it is the fastest loading editor on the JED. If you enable the Spell as you type feature, it can appear to slow down the editor. That is because the editor is checking your spelling as you type. We feel that this slight delay is out weighed by the advantages. However, please feel free to turn that feature off.

I hope that helps.

Mark and the JCK Team

Reviews: 4
Nice style and there is not stuped html-tag autoreplace as opposed to standart editor for Joomla 1.5.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your support

Reviews: 2
I really want this editor to work! I download it every 2 months or so, try it and within an hour I uninstall it because it has too many quirks.

First off, make them one install, a plugin & management component.

Second, if you update a the manager file, make sure Joomla's extension manager can install it. I was getting a missing file error. Recent version updated 3 days ago and the core install file is missing?? I installed a previous manager, install worked but 500 errored when I went to admin it. I was able to install the current version of the manager over the previous using the installer(which must be separate) no 500 error. New manager version installed - no more 500 error. Why was this so difficult? Again, the management component & editor plugin should be installed as one!

Lastly, installed on a subdomain. Why is the manager looking for my template files in my main domain using the "system check" feature to setup the editor! I can't even begin to think of using the commercial version or wanting it if the free one doesn't work out of the box!

Uncomplicate it, then bundle it, then beta test it until it works perfect. The other popular editor has always worked right out of the box for me, using it for the past 3 1/2 years.
Owner's reply

Hiya, thank you for your comments, but there are reasons why our editor and component works as it does. Firstly the editor comes shipped with a number of plugins. As such we can not combine the component as on some customers websites it exceeds the maximum upload limit. Hence we are forced to keep them separated.

Joomla's extension manager sadly does not do everything we need it to. As such we had to extend it and add in our functionality. This allows the JCKEditor to have more flexibility which in turns allows you to tailor your editing experience to your requirements. We feel this out ways the additional click or two required to access our extension manager.

We have tested the editor in a vast number of website configurations including subdomains. However, if you believe you have found an issue, please raise a thread on our forum and we will be more than happy to help.

Kind regards,

Mark & the JCK Team

Reviews: 3
I originally loved this extension. But 10mins after using it, I recognized the slowness was going to persist. It also slowed up frontend pages by about ~4secs average. I would've lived with that, but then I started getting database crashes which wouldn't allow me to edit articles. Numerous times I uninstalled, cleaned directories/database, then reinstalled... same problem. By default I can't use this extension.
Owner's reply

Hiya,; the version of the editor you are using is three years out of date. A lot has changed since then!!! This old version has a version checker which is no longer supported. Our website has a solution to fix it. From our tests version 5.1, which has recently been released, has been tested and is the fastest loading editor on the JED. Furthermore version 5.1 contains a vast set of new functionality which allows you to further personalise your editing experience. May I suggest upgrading. After all it is free. I hope that helps.

Reviews: 2
Very good text editor component. Simple to install, easy to use and rich of functionality.
And also very important: a good update policy, with an eye for security issues.
Owner's reply

Thanks for supporting us!

Reviews: 1
It is easy to install

I was able to embed flash movies in my articles. I had failed to do it with my previous editor.

Thank you

Never give up
Owner's reply

Thanks, we don't plan too!

Reviews: 4
I am using it now for my new site and I think it is a little faster than JCE. The look is modern and easily blends with any kind of template. I have found the loading time is a bit slow but I think that's just fine for a heavy application with so many functions. Thanks to the developer team.
Owner's reply

In testing we found that the editor loads much faster in real-time comparison, however, running the editor with our JCK plugins installed will increase the load of the editor. Also running the editor with two or more spell checking tool enable is a performance drain!

Reviews: 2
Excellent Editor, I'm using JCK for my client and it's really helpful.
GReat job.
Reviews: 3
I will use this plugin for any of my Joomla site. Excellent work. Appreciate for time and efforts spend for this plugin. Good Job Thank you.
Reviews: 2
Excellent! For me and the kind of use i give to editors, this one has two points where it beats JCE — that i've used and loved so far but am now replacing by this one on my websites — : it allows me to edit images inside joomla the way i needed and it gives further control over css usage
Reviews: 11
Ok I was looking for an editor with spell check and found this one, I got more than I bargained for, for free. Loaded with available free plugins, nice framework and excellent choices. Just installed it, simple clean and easy to do. Didn't change anything except the template choice and works great right out of the box. I needed something for my personal blog. This is it. I intend to use it on a group site I'm building for a gamer communinity. Thank you for all the work you've done and are doing to create an excellent extension. If the Free one is this good, I'm impressed! Would have given you 5 but I'm still just trying it out. My guess is it's well worth 5.
Reviews: 1
Nice product and good plugins, however I'm on Joomla! 2.5 and, as yet, JCK aren't offering a solution / plugin so as you can insert PHP code into articles and modules (they only are for Joomla! 1.5).

For me this is the only bad aspect of the component / product.
Owner's reply

Hi Mediastreet, the PHP code plugin is now J! 2.5 compatible! I hope this will ensure you of our continuing efforts. (o:b

Reviews: 6
Thank God i found this component!
I was having problems with JCE editor, i had blank screen after installation and couldnt solve the problem. However, i found this JCK component which does almost exactly the same as JCE and bug free!
Thanks for the developer - you saved my life!!! Very happy :-D
Reviews: 1
Very good (and it is free!)
Reviews: 1
It's a GNU Public Commercial version.
However it is published as Non-Commercial.

According to my experience testing in the website it seems to be the best one.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review. The JCK Editor is free and will always remain free! We also provide a free component (JCK Manager) which allows users to install the wide range of the free plug-ins we have developed for the editor.

Under these terms it qualifies as a fully working Non-Commercial commodity as it is completely free for all!

However, we have developed a few commercial extensions for the 'JCK Editor' which allows our paying subscriber to enjoy a fuller and professional editing experienced. The monies generated by these extensions helps fund the project which is non-profit.

Reviews: 11
stand alone a simple editor...but with all those plugins a very powerful editor. file permission was important to me as well as image manipulation on the fly. i recommend it very much even though support in forum is a bit limited or slow once and a while. they probably can't deal with a lot of request, but by now there is not much to ask for...this editor is very close to be perfect and I hope they keep up the good work
Page 3 of 18