The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ReReplacer ComponentPlugin

ReReplacer - search and replace in your websites output.


ReReplacer is a Joomla! component and system plugin that enables you to replace anything in your Joomla! site’s output with whatever you want.

ReReplacer will search the text (html) of your pages for your search request and replace it with what you have told it to do.
These replacements are on the fly. That means they are not permanent. They are done every time you request a web page in your site.

This gives you great possibilities and power to manipulate the output of your site.

REGULAR EXPRESSIONS
You have the ability to use powerful regular expressions to search and replace. This opens up endless possibilities. You can do virtually anything with ReReplacer.

WHY USE REREPLACER?
You can use ReReplacer for all kinds of stuff like:
    ★ Add/remove/change elements in the html structure of your site
          This can help you add extra ways to style elements or change the layout.
    ★ Create your own plugin-like tags
          You can use quick-codes and replace it with a long bit of text or html code. Like:
                {copyright}, !contact_details!, [terms], __FOOTER__, etc.
          Via regular expressions you can even make these dynamic, like:
                {youtube 123abcABC}, {twitter}nonumber_nl{/twitter}, etc.
    ★ Clean up unwanted html
          Like: comment tags, meta-generator tag, unwanted copyright code from other extensions, etc.
    ★ Replace simple words
          Like: replacing the company name (for mirror sites), correct common spelling errors in your content, replace bad words with ***, etc.
    ★ Replace "Domready" with "load" for IE compatibility of your scripts
    ★ Replace your image (media) urls with a CDN url.

WHAT REREPLACER IS NOT!
ReReplacer does not touch your database. The replacements are not permanent. So you cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff for good. You can use my other extension DB Replacer for that.

It also does not touch the files. You cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff in the (php) files of your site.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————-
How to use it: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer

NoNumber extensions require php 5.3+
See for more requirements: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer#requirements

Support forum: http://www.nonumber.nl/forum
———————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use my forum for that.

Report Extension

 

 

2010-06-13
Reviews: 4
This is an amazing plugin, I nearly have my whole site XHTML 1.0 strict and AAA L3 WCAG accessibility validated in a couple of hours, and I've got a lot of pages too. I would like to marry this plugin and have it's babies.
2010-05-06
Reviews: 5
Cool extension. You surely can do any imaginable replacement task. There are tooltips all around but some of the many options are not completely self-explaining. Anyway: it's real fun to play around with this extension, and it works for me perfectly.
Owner's reply

Thanks!
If you don't understand certain options, please don't hesitate to ask me. If you think there should be changes to descriptions (tooltips), also let me know. Any change to make things clearer / better is welcome :)

2010-03-11
Reviews: 2
I really can believe this!!! This component is one of the best component of Joomla... Im very impressed!!! Thanx thanx thanx to author for developed such component for free!
2010-03-03
Reviews: 10
In my business I use a lot of shorthand, it's a lot easier to type three letters instead of 16. ReReplacer takes my three letter code and displays it as the full 16-letter text everywhere on my web site.

A must have!
2010-03-01
Reviews: 5
I had filed ReReplacer in the back of my mind for a time when I needed it - then was at my wits end for a couple of weeks until I remembered. Fixed my "little problem" in about two minutes.

If there is no other way, ReReplacer is the ultimate way to get rid of generated code that is making your life miserable. Don't make the mistake I did. Download and install it today, for when you need tomorrow.

Thank you, Peter!
2010-02-27
Reviews: 4
This is an amazingly easy to use and very powerful component. Thank you so much for this great piece of code!

I used it for replacing a link in a section list layout pointing to a category listing with a link pointing to another section listing.

E.g.: You have section A with categories I II III and section B with categories I II III, where conent of section B is really subordinate to content in section A.
Now you have a section listing for section A which shows the categories with links to their listings like:
category I
category II
category III
But actually you want to have the link to category AII point to a section listing for section B instead of pointing to a category AII listing.

Before I discovered ReReplacer it was not possible to do in Joomla! core (at least I wouldn't know how). Now I just replace the link to the category AII listing with a link to a section B listing. In the category AII description I have information about section B.
This is an easy way to accomplish unlimited nesting of sections within categories without having to use a CCK extension.

Saved me a lot of headaches. Thanks again!
2010-01-30
Reviews: 6
Installed 2.6.1 and could not save, Peter was on it within 7 minutes and had a new version ready to download and install. Heck, it even told me in the component that it had an update before I could even finish my research to see if something was up. Downloaded and installed the latest 2.6.2 and WaLah!
This fixed my problem that I was having with IE8 "domready" warning. Also my other modules were not showing up on the right side of the page in IE8 and this fixed that as well. I really don't like IE8 or the IE browser, but if your into web development it is a hazard of the trade. Thanks.
2010-01-07
Reviews: 6
I installed Content Templater (itself a brilliant piece of work) and due to a Joomla stupidity needed to remove a tag inserted in the new article in front of the template.
Peter pointed me at ReReplacer to achieve this - and then when faced with my complete lack of RegEx experience provided the code necessary to do it.

Peter provides superb support for his extensions and I can't praise his dedication enough.

Thanks once again, first for your extensions and then for all your help.
2009-12-29
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a program that could help me to create a custom tags. Well this extention did that for me. But by looking into it a bit more I realized this extentions can help me out on way more things then just a Tag. Simply changing the output will save me alot of time. Also the Support is great.
Thanks!
Owner's reply

Yep, possibilities are virtually endless once you get the hang of it.
When using loads of replacements, it is a good idea to use cache.

2009-12-26
Reviews: 31
i have never used such a simple but amazing extension before.. it literally took me 3 clicks to replace certain words in my articles with a small image. unbelievably easy to use.. PERFECTION.

thank you so much to the developer Peter for this fantastic extension!
2009-12-21
Reviews: 22
I have tested this extension and it is excellent like all the other NoNumber! Software. But for the moment i don't have a reason to use it. but i'm sure it becames "a good place" in one of my futher projects.
2009-12-17
Reviews: 4
Who ever you are. Thank you so much. With out even knowing what I was doing, I was able to replace the domready with load basically in seconds. You are a life safer. I could be here all day say thank you :)
Owner's reply

Well, who I am? Peter! Nice to meet you!
Glad you find a good use for ReReplacer :)

2009-12-10
Reviews: 1
This little extension is PERFECT for adding images to an article title!!
You can do A LOT more with it, but I had been looking for days for an extension that could do this and ReReplacer is perfect for that task.
You can search and replace any text or code throughout your site, it's great! It also seems like the author provides support in his site. GREAT EXTENSION!
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review! Hope you have a lot of fun finding out what more ReReplacer can do for you.

2009-12-09
Reviews: 1
Brilliant extension! I had designed my site and checked it mostly with FF so when I finally viewed it in IE i found out a module basically made 50% of my site completely useless.

All it did was replace "Domready" to "load" but it fixed it no bother!
2009-11-22
Reviews: 9
Found it yesterday on your website while searching for some information about your other extensions.
Great thing the ReReplacer.
Made some tags do display articles or other stuff in a lightbox.
Needed a little bit trying before it did what I wanted to, but it's not to difficult.
Really cool thing. Keep on doing stuff like this :)
Owner's reply

Thanks. Yeah, to do the more exotic stuff a little regular expression knowhow comes in handy.

If you can't figure it out, you can always try my forum :)

2009-11-16
Reviews: 3
This fixes a bug with SOBI2 and IE8 - upon trying to edit or add an entry, there was an error - HTML Parsing Error: Unable to modify the parent container element before the child element is closed (KB927917) joomla - refer to sobi forum topic for item configuration settings: http://www.sigsiu.net/forum/index.php/topic,14995.0.html
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review and noting the Domready -> load fix ReReplacer can do.

2009-10-28
Reviews: 15
This guy is the best for our Joomla extensions!
So simple to use, and really well done, works perfectly, I'm French and discover "Nonumber extensions" yesterday, every one is usefull and should be in core joomla !
Thanks a lot !!
Snooky
Owner's reply

If even the French think my extensions are simple to use... :P

2009-10-24
Reviews: 1
Thanks a lot! I was looking for something to change the "Article Title" in the category list layout. After an hour of searching the joomla package, I searched the Joomla formum and found a post. Next time I will reverse this process! Thank you!
Owner's reply

Next time just go to my site and see if I have a solution ready :D

2009-10-24
Reviews: 2
Replaces anything in your content and easy to use.

One enhancement maybe...
I wish there was a way to set up an item, then let the front-end user determine the replacement text, such as via a small form module. e.g. "Give this artilce a name", then their input replaces the current "articlename".
2009-10-14
Reviews: 6
As I have already mentioned this extension I'm lovin' it. :)
Only one request (I have written it in the forum): the opportunity to exclude articles from the search and replace.
Thank you for the extension! Great support!
Page 4 of 7