The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ReReplacer ComponentPlugin

ReReplacer - search and replace in your websites output.


ReReplacer is a Joomla! component and system plugin that enables you to replace anything in your Joomla! site’s output with whatever you want.

ReReplacer will search the text (html) of your pages for your search request and replace it with what you have told it to do.
These replacements are on the fly. That means they are not permanent. They are done every time you request a web page in your site.

This gives you great possibilities and power to manipulate the output of your site.

REGULAR EXPRESSIONS
You have the ability to use powerful regular expressions to search and replace. This opens up endless possibilities. You can do virtually anything with ReReplacer.

WHY USE REREPLACER?
You can use ReReplacer for all kinds of stuff like:
    ★ Add/remove/change elements in the html structure of your site
          This can help you add extra ways to style elements or change the layout.
    ★ Create your own plugin-like tags
          You can use quick-codes and replace it with a long bit of text or html code. Like:
                {copyright}, !contact_details!, [terms], __FOOTER__, etc.
          Via regular expressions you can even make these dynamic, like:
                {youtube 123abcABC}, {twitter}nonumber_nl{/twitter}, etc.
    ★ Clean up unwanted html
          Like: comment tags, meta-generator tag, unwanted copyright code from other extensions, etc.
    ★ Replace simple words
          Like: replacing the company name (for mirror sites), correct common spelling errors in your content, replace bad words with ***, etc.
    ★ Replace "Domready" with "load" for IE compatibility of your scripts
    ★ Replace your image (media) urls with a CDN url.

WHAT REREPLACER IS NOT!
ReReplacer does not touch your database. The replacements are not permanent. So you cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff for good. You can use my other extension DB Replacer for that.

It also does not touch the files. You cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff in the (php) files of your site.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————-
How to use it: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer

NoNumber extensions require php 5.3+
See for more requirements: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer#requirements

Support forum: http://www.nonumber.nl/forum
———————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use my forum for that.

Report Extension

 

 

bbw
2009-10-13
Reviews: 7
Only used it once and it solved a big ole problem between Sobi and IE in under ten minutes. Not sure what else I can use it for yet, but it worked great this time!!
2009-10-08
Reviews: 2
So many Joomla extensions are unwieldy and difficult to work with. ReReplacer enables me to correct this with ease.

You know how you look at the page source then dive into the extension files to try to figure out where to adjust, get rid of extra spaces, add styling tags, etc. Some extensions are brutal - Virtuemart is a good example. Great shopping cart, but it's very difficult to get back to where they do things to fix it at the source.

ReReplacer eliminates the need for that, for the cosmetic stuff, I just have to look at the source code, find the text I want to change, enter the current text and the desired text into ReReplacer and voíla! You can change HTML, content, restrict it to articles, or the head section or open it up to everything.

Peter, the guy who wrote this is brilliant, check his other very cool extensions and read his web site, he's a character.

Thanks for this great tool!
2009-09-16
Reviews: 4
Sure beats messing with the database where one little error can really foul things up. With ReReplace just edit your item and errors are fixed on the fly.
2009-09-08
Reviews: 2
This is a terrific component.
It saved me hours of work. It's also very cool that it doesn't touch the database so if I ever have to revert, I simply remove the code.

Excellent work on this little tool.

-Marc Sylvester
2009-09-01
Reviews: 1
This extension just saved the life of my news workflow :D This way I am still able to use the excellent image captions plugin for JCE even though its output would destroy my frontpage layout, while it is wanted in the article view.

http://www.joomlacontenteditor.net/forum/topic?f=30&t=15047&p=24510#p24508

ReReplacer is for me a perfect design tool that was still missing in my collection.
2009-08-27
Reviews: 3
It's amazing that NoNumber! can offer so many professional quality components for free. He's an amazing developer.

ReReplacer Benefits:
- Very intuitive interface. I didn't spend any time reading manuals
- Runs perfectly. No time spent debugging goofy PHP errors
- Best support I've ever had (including commercial extensions). I had a feature suggestion and NoNumber! included it in the product the next day!

NoNumber! is a major contributor to Joomla. I highly recommend his extensions.
Owner's reply

Thanks for posting your feature request via my forum. I am glad you find it all intuitive. Creating a manual is somewhere on my todo list, but haven't got the time. You just gave me an excuse to push it further down the list ;)

2009-08-26
Reviews: 6
with this component sky is your limit.
Easy to install and use ,
Really great support. I am using rereplacer from few months. I do not have any problem with the rereplacer.
Owner's reply

Thanks, Sai. You know the sky already starts just above the ground. So 'the sky as the limit' is not very high! :P

2009-08-19
Reviews: 12
I just surprised!
So easy to install ,configure and use. You can do everything to the output code of your site. Even I overcome an IE bug (Domready thing) with this.

All of Peter's extensions are great and the support is impressive.
Thanks
2009-07-29
Reviews: 7
Hello,

I have installed the component/plugin with ease. It was so simple and is a wonderful tool, which I like a lot. Just replacing a word or a phrase and not having to worry about editing files is very easy and time saving.

Thanks for your fast response in the forum.
Kelley
Owner's reply

Wait till you start experimenting with manipulating whole html structures... you can change the output of (3rd party) extensions to your likings and not touch a single file.

2009-07-23
Reviews: 2
This one extension has probably saved me more time than every other Joomla extension I've used ... put together. We had to migrate a large site to Joomla 1.5 with 10,000s of hand-written pieces of code that were unique to Joomla 1.0. ReReplacer allowed us to search and replace them all inside of 10 minutes. 5 thumbs up!
2009-07-18
Reviews: 1
this is a very useful must have joomla component. saves having to manually hack code. it works right out of the box without further configuring. thanx to the developer.
2009-07-12
Reviews: 6
This component is really a very valuable hidden treasure. It is sad that it is not promoted enough. Everyone should be aware of this. I wish it had been selected as editor's pick.

I was ready to pay even $150 for such a component. I've been looking for something like this for a long time.

It can be used in many different ways as outlined. However one less promoted feature is the one which really rocks: it can be used as "Autolinker". However all the autolinker components can be used for articles only. But this great component can reach literally everywhere: Kunena Forum, JomComment, MyBlog.

Let's say you want to give a definition of concept in another page, without having to leave the article. You create a page for the definition of the term, and give a one time link to this page. So every occurrence of this term is automatically linked to its definition in a small cool thickbox pop-up. All you have to do is load mootools/modal library in template index and in the replace field give the link accordingly for modal pop-up.

It's just incredible. Our site is small, I hope it can have the same performance as it grows.

Thank you very much for such a great component.
Owner's reply

I am not stopping you from paying me $150 :)

2009-07-11
Reviews: 4
This Tool helps me in different areas. I replace Meta-Tags under different circumstances which can not be done easily in Joomla itself.
And it gives me any easy way to change the way the Joomla Output is ordered. I use it for putting some special links from the content into a navigation area. Thank you very much for this perfect work!
2009-07-08
Reviews: 2
I would like to rate it more then Excellent rating. It has no limit in it's functionalities. You imagine it and you got it .Support in the forum is supurb . I am now fan of this extension.
Wishing to have a guide/ tutorial soon .

4joomla
Owner's reply

All options have mousover tooltip explaining what it is for.
But yeah, you are right, a manual/tutorial would be good. I wish there were 10 days in the week :S

2009-07-06
Reviews: 1
This component works great for our purposes. I had been using notepad to manually replace code in content and then replacing in databases. Now I can publish the content without changes and allow rereplacer to do the search and replace task.

Response to questions is unbelievably fast, and the developer made adjustments to my site and to the component within hours.
bt1
2009-06-19
Reviews: 1
I am not expert in webprogramming, but this tool was simply simple to use and configure. In addition the support is just fantastic. It does the job as described and its free. You cant go wrong with this as if you put your issue on forum, I got the reply in less than an hour.
Have a go!!!
2009-06-17
Reviews: 3
I had a website with quite a bit of content using a particular syntax for a plugin I was using. When I decided to change to a different plugin and realized the syntax was a different I was looking at the possibility of having to go through a whole bunch of articles until I found ReReplacer. Thanks for saving me tons of time.
2009-06-03
Reviews: 2
Not joking. This extension works! It is a must to have and a great time saver. And, the developer is giving it for free with an option to donate, and support him... and that is what I am going to do now. Thank you for great job and attitude.
2009-06-02
Reviews: 1
This is an amazing product. A real must-have for anyone. In fact, it should come standard with J!

I have no real experience with Regular Expressions and I had a specific request, but the author helped me in instant.

Peter, thanks again for a great job!
2009-05-28
Reviews: 4
This software installs and updates easily, is rock solid and is useful in many ways. I created a joomla based solution for a customer that uses various content plug-ins all with their own style. I was able to use ReReplacer to create a single, standardized syntax that translates to the native tag syntax for each content plug in. The customer gets a clean consistent API and I don't have to hack any plug-in code which makes upgrading so much easier.

Thanks so much for a great product.
Page 5 of 7