The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ReReplacer ComponentPlugin

ReReplacer - search and replace in your websites output.


ReReplacer is a Joomla! component and system plugin that enables you to replace anything in your Joomla! site’s output with whatever you want.

ReReplacer will search the text (html) of your pages for your search request and replace it with what you have told it to do.
These replacements are on the fly. That means they are not permanent. They are done every time you request a web page in your site.

This gives you great possibilities and power to manipulate the output of your site.

REGULAR EXPRESSIONS
You have the ability to use powerful regular expressions to search and replace. This opens up endless possibilities. You can do virtually anything with ReReplacer.

WHY USE REREPLACER?
You can use ReReplacer for all kinds of stuff like:
    ★ Add/remove/change elements in the html structure of your site
          This can help you add extra ways to style elements or change the layout.
    ★ Create your own plugin-like tags
          You can use quick-codes and replace it with a long bit of text or html code. Like:
                {copyright}, !contact_details!, [terms], __FOOTER__, etc.
          Via regular expressions you can even make these dynamic, like:
                {youtube 123abcABC}, {twitter}nonumber_nl{/twitter}, etc.
    ★ Clean up unwanted html
          Like: comment tags, meta-generator tag, unwanted copyright code from other extensions, etc.
    ★ Replace simple words
          Like: replacing the company name (for mirror sites), correct common spelling errors in your content, replace bad words with ***, etc.
    ★ Replace "Domready" with "load" for IE compatibility of your scripts
    ★ Replace your image (media) urls with a CDN url.

WHAT REREPLACER IS NOT!
ReReplacer does not touch your database. The replacements are not permanent. So you cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff for good. You can use my other extension DB Replacer for that.

It also does not touch the files. You cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff in the (php) files of your site.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————-
How to use it: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer

NoNumber extensions require php 5.3+
See for more requirements: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer#requirements

Support forum: http://www.nonumber.nl/forum
———————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use my forum for that.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-07-12
Reviews: 6
This component is really a very valuable hidden treasure. It is sad that it is not promoted enough. Everyone should be aware of this. I wish it had been selected as editor's pick.

I was ready to pay even $150 for such a component. I've been looking for something like this for a long time.

It can be used in many different ways as outlined. However one less promoted feature is the one which really rocks: it can be used as "Autolinker". However all the autolinker components can be used for articles only. But this great component can reach literally everywhere: Kunena Forum, JomComment, MyBlog.

Let's say you want to give a definition of concept in another page, without having to leave the article. You create a page for the definition of the term, and give a one time link to this page. So every occurrence of this term is automatically linked to its definition in a small cool thickbox pop-up. All you have to do is load mootools/modal library in template index and in the replace field give the link accordingly for modal pop-up.

It's just incredible. Our site is small, I hope it can have the same performance as it grows.

Thank you very much for such a great component.
Owner's reply

I am not stopping you from paying me $150 :)

2009-07-11
Reviews: 4
This Tool helps me in different areas. I replace Meta-Tags under different circumstances which can not be done easily in Joomla itself.
And it gives me any easy way to change the way the Joomla Output is ordered. I use it for putting some special links from the content into a navigation area. Thank you very much for this perfect work!
2009-07-08
Reviews: 3
I would like to rate it more then Excellent rating. It has no limit in it's functionalities. You imagine it and you got it .Support in the forum is supurb . I am now fan of this extension.
Wishing to have a guide/ tutorial soon .

4joomla
Owner's reply

All options have mousover tooltip explaining what it is for.
But yeah, you are right, a manual/tutorial would be good. I wish there were 10 days in the week :S

2009-07-06
Reviews: 1
This component works great for our purposes. I had been using notepad to manually replace code in content and then replacing in databases. Now I can publish the content without changes and allow rereplacer to do the search and replace task.

Response to questions is unbelievably fast, and the developer made adjustments to my site and to the component within hours.
bt1
2009-06-19
Reviews: 1
I am not expert in webprogramming, but this tool was simply simple to use and configure. In addition the support is just fantastic. It does the job as described and its free. You cant go wrong with this as if you put your issue on forum, I got the reply in less than an hour.
Have a go!!!
2009-06-17
Reviews: 3
I had a website with quite a bit of content using a particular syntax for a plugin I was using. When I decided to change to a different plugin and realized the syntax was a different I was looking at the possibility of having to go through a whole bunch of articles until I found ReReplacer. Thanks for saving me tons of time.
2009-06-03
Reviews: 2
Not joking. This extension works! It is a must to have and a great time saver. And, the developer is giving it for free with an option to donate, and support him... and that is what I am going to do now. Thank you for great job and attitude.
2009-06-02
Reviews: 1
This is an amazing product. A real must-have for anyone. In fact, it should come standard with J!

I have no real experience with Regular Expressions and I had a specific request, but the author helped me in instant.

Peter, thanks again for a great job!
2009-05-28
Reviews: 4
This software installs and updates easily, is rock solid and is useful in many ways. I created a joomla based solution for a customer that uses various content plug-ins all with their own style. I was able to use ReReplacer to create a single, standardized syntax that translates to the native tag syntax for each content plug in. The customer gets a clean consistent API and I don't have to hack any plug-in code which makes upgrading so much easier.

Thanks so much for a great product.
2009-05-11
Reviews: 18
This is a great component I would recomended it to every one, the support that I have received from the developer is as good or even better than if this was a comercial product.
Thank you for a great free component.
2009-04-26
Reviews: 1
Thank you for great Joomla component! In order to manage rel="nofollow" attribute in Joomla sites I looked long time such component. Finally I solve my problem with ReReplacer ans with script, which I receive from Developer.
This is excellent tool to manage SEO and PR for professionals.
rvh
2009-04-08
Reviews: 1
It solved my IE issue in the simple way as described by others.
Great, thanks so much!
2009-04-02
Reviews: 26
So I get a call from one of my clients saying that he basically wants a global change for his entire site. I would have had to go thorugh hundreds of pages making the minor but time-consuming change.

I considered doing a seach and replace via the exported mysql file. But I didn't want to take that drastic step. I remembered seeing this plugin and downloaded it. Installed it in 2 minutes and 5 minutes later the global change was finished.

Now I can goof off the rest of the day!

Thanks, ReReplacer and all of the incredible Joomla Open Source developers for giving us great tools like this gem!

...Rowby
2009-03-31
Reviews: 11
I as well cannot say enough about this extension! And the way the update is notified and setup is something that ALL extension developers should emulate! A nice little icon shows up on the Admin menu bar; click it, and off you go to the download page and a nice one-file update installer for both the component and plugin! So easy! So smart! :)
Owner's reply

Thanks for the praise.
However, I removed the update-notification-toolbar-icon in the latest version. I got some complaints that it slowed the administrator down. On every page load, the update-notification tries to compare the current version with a file on my website.
There is still an update-notification in the ReReplacer component and plugin. But not in the tool-bar anymore.
I might create a separate update plugin that you can install, that will check for any new updates from NoNumber! (that are relevant)... If that sounds interesting, please let me know.

2009-03-26
Reviews: 6
I can't express how much I appreciate this brilliant extension. I could make myself crazy with the i.e. Explorer issue of not liking multiple occasions of "domready" - seems like every time I add a module to a page I get an error! But with rereplacer I just say "replace domready with load" and apply and voila! My error disappears - and what is really important here is I have no clue what domready really means!? :-D - I just read on the forums that multiple instances of the call cause the "object not found" error in i.e. explorer so I thought I'd give this a shot and it works like a charm. On top of that, Peter is a very smart guy with an eye for design that has given me some excellent feedback on my sites. Thank you Peter!
Harmony
2009-03-14
Reviews: 4
This has saved me an unbelievable amount of time and irritation. The use is simple but also as powerful as you want. The massive advantage is that you don't need to keep making the same edits to components or content. One rule covers it all. Peter, you are a genius and thank you so much!
2009-03-03
Reviews: 4
This is so easy to use and so powerful at the same time.

I was having the infamous IE Operation Aborted error with a popular directory com. The problem was with .js files and domready. domready needed to be replaced with load, which fixed the problem, but I was going through what seemed like hundreds of .js files trying to find where the problem was.

I installed ReReplacer, set up a new item to search domready and replace with load, and my problem was instantly solved! The great thing is that I can uninstall it and my original files are still intact.

Awesome component - 10 stars from me for simple yet genious.
2009-02-23
Reviews: 1
This does exactly what you would want it to, and probably more besides that you have never thought of doing.

Huge thanks to the author for making this available to all of us.
2009-02-16
Reviews: 1
I'm fairly new to Joomla and taking on building my first site with it and almost being done I saw a need to replace repeated text that I have listed for 70 products. I sat down today to do just that and not happy about it. It then occurred to me that Joomla has extensions for just about anything under the sun, maybe one that could bulk replace my text. And sure enough here comes ReReplacer to the rescue. UNBELIEVABLE. I got done in 60 seconds (which practically includes also installing the extension as well), in what would have taken me hours to do today.

This developer has some fantastic additional life and sanity saving other extensions on his site, and a great sense of humor too.

Okay I'll stop gushing but thank you so much for this terrific extension. I regged today on Joomla solely to rave and recommend it!
Owner's reply

Thanks for the great review. All this praise makes my cheeks go red. I even made my wife read it :D

2009-02-13
Reviews: 3
I just can't rant enough about this extension. Instead of trying, I'll show some of my favorite uses. I have adopted the convention of using !!stuff!! as instead of the more Joomla-ish {stuff}. That way I don't need to worry about using a taken name or confusing any other code processes.

Some of my favorite uses:

1) Abbreviation: !!myco!! expands to "My Long Company Name". By convention !!MYCO!! expands to the same text with a link to my company.

2) Inline HTML: @@ expands to . I find them easy to remember because of their left/right position on the keyboard.

3) Put content in a side menu type in the Milkywhite theme: !!box2!!_Title_!!_CSS_Name_!!_Text_!!

_Title_ is the title for the box, the CSS name is incorporated into the CSS class & id of the box and the text is the contents of the box.

4) Create a button to link to an article:
!!btn-art!!_Art_ID_!!_Button_Text_!!

Art_ID is the article id of the article.

The twitter box is a good example. I know there are several Twitter extensions but, rather than figuring out which one has the features I need, I just put 440 characters of html and ReReplacer macros into a mod_php module and then add the module as other modules.

(Note, that I have a 2nd mod_php with some gross JavaScript Twitter has on their site. It is in a 2nd mod_php as it downloads JS from Twitter and I don't want my page to hang should it be slow loading.)
Owner's reply

Yeah, that is what ReReplacer is for. To make your own little nifty plugin-ish thingies.

Page 5 of 6