The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ReReplacer ComponentPlugin

ReReplacer - search and replace in your websites output.


ReReplacer is a Joomla! component and system plugin that enables you to replace anything in your Joomla! site’s output with whatever you want.

ReReplacer will search the text (html) of your pages for your search request and replace it with what you have told it to do.
These replacements are on the fly. That means they are not permanent. They are done every time you request a web page in your site.

This gives you great possibilities and power to manipulate the output of your site.

REGULAR EXPRESSIONS
You have the ability to use powerful regular expressions to search and replace. This opens up endless possibilities. You can do virtually anything with ReReplacer.

WHY USE REREPLACER?
You can use ReReplacer for all kinds of stuff like:
    ★ Add/remove/change elements in the html structure of your site
          This can help you add extra ways to style elements or change the layout.
    ★ Create your own plugin-like tags
          You can use quick-codes and replace it with a long bit of text or html code. Like:
                {copyright}, !contact_details!, [terms], __FOOTER__, etc.
          Via regular expressions you can even make these dynamic, like:
                {youtube 123abcABC}, {twitter}nonumber_nl{/twitter}, etc.
    ★ Clean up unwanted html
          Like: comment tags, meta-generator tag, unwanted copyright code from other extensions, etc.
    ★ Replace simple words
          Like: replacing the company name (for mirror sites), correct common spelling errors in your content, replace bad words with ***, etc.
    ★ Replace "Domready" with "load" for IE compatibility of your scripts
    ★ Replace your image (media) urls with a CDN url.

WHAT REREPLACER IS NOT!
ReReplacer does not touch your database. The replacements are not permanent. So you cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff for good. You can use my other extension DB Replacer for that.

It also does not touch the files. You cannot use ReReplacer to replace stuff in the (php) files of your site.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————-
How to use it: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer

NoNumber extensions require php 5.3+
See for more requirements: http://www.nonumber.nl/rereplacer#requirements

Support forum: http://www.nonumber.nl/forum
———————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use my forum for that.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-06-02
Reviews: 1
This is an amazing product. A real must-have for anyone. In fact, it should come standard with J!

I have no real experience with Regular Expressions and I had a specific request, but the author helped me in instant.

Peter, thanks again for a great job!
2009-05-28
Reviews: 4
This software installs and updates easily, is rock solid and is useful in many ways. I created a joomla based solution for a customer that uses various content plug-ins all with their own style. I was able to use ReReplacer to create a single, standardized syntax that translates to the native tag syntax for each content plug in. The customer gets a clean consistent API and I don't have to hack any plug-in code which makes upgrading so much easier.

Thanks so much for a great product.
2009-05-11
Reviews: 22
This is a great component I would recomended it to every one, the support that I have received from the developer is as good or even better than if this was a comercial product.
Thank you for a great free component.
2009-04-26
Reviews: 1
Thank you for great Joomla component! In order to manage rel="nofollow" attribute in Joomla sites I looked long time such component. Finally I solve my problem with ReReplacer ans with script, which I receive from Developer.
This is excellent tool to manage SEO and PR for professionals.
rvh
2009-04-08
Reviews: 1
It solved my IE issue in the simple way as described by others.
Great, thanks so much!
2009-04-02
Reviews: 30
So I get a call from one of my clients saying that he basically wants a global change for his entire site. I would have had to go thorugh hundreds of pages making the minor but time-consuming change.

I considered doing a seach and replace via the exported mysql file. But I didn't want to take that drastic step. I remembered seeing this plugin and downloaded it. Installed it in 2 minutes and 5 minutes later the global change was finished.

Now I can goof off the rest of the day!

Thanks, ReReplacer and all of the incredible Joomla Open Source developers for giving us great tools like this gem!

...Rowby
2009-03-31
Reviews: 11
I as well cannot say enough about this extension! And the way the update is notified and setup is something that ALL extension developers should emulate! A nice little icon shows up on the Admin menu bar; click it, and off you go to the download page and a nice one-file update installer for both the component and plugin! So easy! So smart! :)
Owner's reply

Thanks for the praise.
However, I removed the update-notification-toolbar-icon in the latest version. I got some complaints that it slowed the administrator down. On every page load, the update-notification tries to compare the current version with a file on my website.
There is still an update-notification in the ReReplacer component and plugin. But not in the tool-bar anymore.
I might create a separate update plugin that you can install, that will check for any new updates from NoNumber! (that are relevant)... If that sounds interesting, please let me know.

2009-03-26
Reviews: 6
I can't express how much I appreciate this brilliant extension. I could make myself crazy with the i.e. Explorer issue of not liking multiple occasions of "domready" - seems like every time I add a module to a page I get an error! But with rereplacer I just say "replace domready with load" and apply and voila! My error disappears - and what is really important here is I have no clue what domready really means!? :-D - I just read on the forums that multiple instances of the call cause the "object not found" error in i.e. explorer so I thought I'd give this a shot and it works like a charm. On top of that, Peter is a very smart guy with an eye for design that has given me some excellent feedback on my sites. Thank you Peter!
Harmony
2009-03-14
Reviews: 4
This has saved me an unbelievable amount of time and irritation. The use is simple but also as powerful as you want. The massive advantage is that you don't need to keep making the same edits to components or content. One rule covers it all. Peter, you are a genius and thank you so much!
2009-03-03
Reviews: 4
This is so easy to use and so powerful at the same time.

I was having the infamous IE Operation Aborted error with a popular directory com. The problem was with .js files and domready. domready needed to be replaced with load, which fixed the problem, but I was going through what seemed like hundreds of .js files trying to find where the problem was.

I installed ReReplacer, set up a new item to search domready and replace with load, and my problem was instantly solved! The great thing is that I can uninstall it and my original files are still intact.

Awesome component - 10 stars from me for simple yet genious.
2009-02-23
Reviews: 1
This does exactly what you would want it to, and probably more besides that you have never thought of doing.

Huge thanks to the author for making this available to all of us.
2009-02-16
Reviews: 1
I'm fairly new to Joomla and taking on building my first site with it and almost being done I saw a need to replace repeated text that I have listed for 70 products. I sat down today to do just that and not happy about it. It then occurred to me that Joomla has extensions for just about anything under the sun, maybe one that could bulk replace my text. And sure enough here comes ReReplacer to the rescue. UNBELIEVABLE. I got done in 60 seconds (which practically includes also installing the extension as well), in what would have taken me hours to do today.

This developer has some fantastic additional life and sanity saving other extensions on his site, and a great sense of humor too.

Okay I'll stop gushing but thank you so much for this terrific extension. I regged today on Joomla solely to rave and recommend it!
Owner's reply

Thanks for the great review. All this praise makes my cheeks go red. I even made my wife read it :D

2009-02-13
Reviews: 3
I just can't rant enough about this extension. Instead of trying, I'll show some of my favorite uses. I have adopted the convention of using !!stuff!! as instead of the more Joomla-ish {stuff}. That way I don't need to worry about using a taken name or confusing any other code processes.

Some of my favorite uses:

1) Abbreviation: !!myco!! expands to "My Long Company Name". By convention !!MYCO!! expands to the same text with a link to my company.

2) Inline HTML: @@ expands to . I find them easy to remember because of their left/right position on the keyboard.

3) Put content in a side menu type in the Milkywhite theme: !!box2!!_Title_!!_CSS_Name_!!_Text_!!

_Title_ is the title for the box, the CSS name is incorporated into the CSS class & id of the box and the text is the contents of the box.

4) Create a button to link to an article:
!!btn-art!!_Art_ID_!!_Button_Text_!!

Art_ID is the article id of the article.

The twitter box is a good example. I know there are several Twitter extensions but, rather than figuring out which one has the features I need, I just put 440 characters of html and ReReplacer macros into a mod_php module and then add the module as other modules.

(Note, that I have a 2nd mod_php with some gross JavaScript Twitter has on their site. It is in a 2nd mod_php as it downloads JS from Twitter and I don't want my page to hang should it be slow loading.)
Owner's reply

Yeah, that is what ReReplacer is for. To make your own little nifty plugin-ish thingies.

2009-02-11
Reviews: 12
What an awesome little component. I installed it as a word blocker for my forum. There were other options out there, but this is by far the best one I've seen. And the beautiful thing is that it is fully customizable. I needed something that could replace words, not just mark ****. I needed to block some company names from appearing, and this is just the component!

Of course, I'm selling it short...I've only mentioned one feature...there are so many things you can use this ingenious component for. Look at some of the other reviews for ideas.

The support is awesome. I emailed the company with a quick question, and they wrote asap with advice. Truly awesome.

And I can't believe it is free! A+++
Owner's reply

Thanks for the review.
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. Also, if you run into any bugs, please let me know. ReReplacer is made by me, and seeing I'm still not perfect, there are bound to be some glitches...

2009-02-07
Reviews: 1
This is a great component. Now I managed to replace the famous (& quote) with quotation marks ("") from the title theme. A very powerful tool.
Owner's reply

As you say, ReReplacer can be very handy for relatively simple stuff.
If you get down and dirty with regualar expressions, you can do all kinds of powerful stuff turning your website around.

2009-02-03
Reviews: 1
It's a superb component! With ReReplacer I can do what ever I want on my Joomla site. Nearly everything is possible now. For example I made my external links as rel="nofollow". That's great! I will donate for it. :-)
Owner's reply

Thanks bennyn, spread the word about ReReplacer :D
And also thanks for donating, that make it possible for me to create these extensions.

2009-01-16
Reviews: 2
I wanted to add a footer to each content page on my Joomla site, and couldn't find any way to do this until finding this extension. Great stuff - works perfectly and is very simple to use.
Owner's reply

Yep, it's just about the answer to anything you need customized in your site. The more I use it myself, the more new ways I find to use it.

2009-01-13
Reviews: 4
If you're debating between this, or some other product that does something similar, get this. All NoNumber products come with support that can't be beat, even by commercial software. A+!
Owner's reply

The extensions I make are created because I have a need for them myself. So it's got my heart! So it is very useful for others to give feedback and show me what can be improved.
By the way, you can pay for my extensions. But you won't get any better support for it :D

2008-12-15
Reviews: 3
I have been using the scrip jos_replace but it will not install in 1.5 so I was stuck and couldn't upgrade until I found a replacement for replace :-).

Moving to a new server so you bet I was nervous. This is it. Has the same function as ssi and is a real Swiss army knife.

Works even better than the original. Hallelujah!!!
Owner's reply

By original, you mean jos_replace. But ReReplacer is not built on jos_replace. It is a completely new extension.
And you are right, ReReplacer is a real Swiss army knife. :D

2008-12-10
Reviews: 2
I can't imagine my website without this extension anymore.

This plugin moved my website fron stone age to technology days...

Two single strings generously offered by the support team from ReReplacer turn my articles photos from wich are RSS feeded thumbnails in full sized photos removing anoying tags from html line.

I couldn't believe when my entire website photos turn from small scracthes photos to real size photos and bring me the ability to my own software to make my own flash thumnails and offer to my visitors.

The visual upgrade was incredible and the most important, all this improvement was done with two single string line of code inserted on ReReplace, one single time.

IT'S AMAZING SIX STAR'S FOREVER !

I became a big fan of NoNumber products. These are really smart, intelligent and objective products and best support ever !

Do not hesitate. It works. Doesn't have any bugs. Is easy to install and you have just to learn a little about hex strings. (all information about it are provided by NoNumber support team and forum)

NoNumber, I love you !
Owner's reply

Thanks for the flattering report :)
By 'hex strings' you mean regular expressions. Yeah, for the more custom and dynamic things you want to change in your website, a little regex knowledge is a plus. But if you don't know how, you can always ask me...

If you want to see more and better stuff being produced by NoNumber, donations are very welcome and help a lot.

Page 6 of 7