The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Import for K2 Component

With this component you can import content into K2 from a CSV-file and export your K2 data to a CSV file.

This is not a good component for regular backups. It's much better to backup the database directly! Use this extension for transferring items to/from K2, mass updates in K2 and so on, but do not relay on it as your only backup.

Importand:
the version 1.0 is for Joomla 1.5 /1.6 / 1.7 / 2.5
the version 2.0 is for Joomla 3.x

The import and export works for nearly all standard K2 fields. Images are exported as path to the file. The hierarchy of the categories is not exported or imported.

Try an export first to have a example file and check the documentation.

Check the documentation link for an example CSV-file or use the export function first and change the file.

Costs: You decide yourself how much you like to pay for the plugin (min 1,79 EUR)

Do you have questions, need support or found a bug? Write me a twitter message: http://twitter.com/home?status=@INDIVIDUALIT
Do you want to stay up to date? Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/INDIVIDUALIT

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-02-09
Reviews: 2
It takes a little bit of work to get the import right but that is probably more due to the complexity of K2 than this component, especially if you have extra fields and so on.

I had problems at first getting the CSV file formatted correctly - K2 import requires double quote text delimiters and Excel and other programs failed to offer that option. Finally I figured out that Open Office can do what no other commercial software could and from there on it worked like a charm.

Make sure though, you have a published date set in your import file, otherwise you won't be able to edit the item in the backend anymore (Error 500), at least that's what I ran into.
2011-12-09
Reviews: 1
I commend this great work is easy to use and very intuitive.

I have a problem with k2 and facebook, I do not upload images of the items to furniture, for that reason I would like to know how I can import all the items but not including any field such as images and links where they are located.

I hope you can help me, forgive my English

regards
Owner's reply

Please contact me by mail: http://www.individual-it.net/en/kontakt-impressum.html

2011-11-07
Reviews: 1
This is my first post about an extension. Really simple to use & very very handy.
Thx a lot for your work !
As another user said : Excellent support from Artur! Thank you and continue the good work !!
2011-02-25
Reviews: 9
Ever tried to upload your staff's content manually? Into K2? With extra fields? And then get another version to re-upload next week?

Use this extension.

In K2 set some articles the way you need them, start an export, in the resulting csv-file put your content into columns and import the file again. Its as easy as this.

It saves you headaches, and makes your boss loving you. :) Thanks for the work.
2011-02-07
Reviews: 16
I had used another component to import article text, but had problems getting the images to come in. Now that 0.7RC does overwrite/update by ID, it was super easy to do an import that only updated the image data for those specific records.

I am using Access to do ODBC queries from a Drupal database, 4 table joins with multiple conditions, and a few functions to convert datestamps and other fun, pumping CSVs through this tool- works great! If I am not perfectly clear, this can be a very handy tool for doing Drupal to Joomla conversions ;)
2011-01-10
Reviews: 1
I needed a product to automatically update a Joomla website from a database. K2 was even a better option than plain Joomla, because of extended category flexibility.

Import for K2 is still at an early stage of development, but is already working well.

Pros:
It allowed me to import and/or update tons of data into K2 in a snap. It links articles to any category, wherever this one is located in the hierarchy.

Cons:
Import for K2 still lacks of an "import mask", where a user could save his configurations once for all. Same work has to be done over and over, and can lead to mistakes.

Development team:
Communication with Artur (the developer) is great. He's willing to develop his product, helping and listening.
The price he's asking is ridiculous, and he's open to collaboration.

Overall:
Having reviewed the market, Import for K2 is the only product enabling to import csv (Excel exports) tables into K2 and linking them to K2 categories.

I hope to find enough time to keep participating to its development through further testing.

Thanks to Artur for his contribution.

Christian
2011-01-04
Reviews: 4
Thanks to this component, I was able to import 3,881 articles into K2 from a 1.0.x news site that had been hacked (backend access was lost). There is a learning curve and the documentation is not detailed. I used the sample CSV file from Artur's site and after some trial and error, it worked like a charm. Artur VERY generously sent me the latest copy for free - he has crafted a very powerful tool. THANK YOU for this fine work.
2010-12-30
Reviews: 1
Really helped me a lot especially with the extra fields.
Also very easy to edit the core files for costume changes.

Excellent support from Artur! Thank you and continue the good work
hry
2010-11-04
Reviews: 1
This component works perfect and deserves more than it's lower price that is needed to be download!

Perfect for sites with a lot content, especially if you want to migrate your database from another cms or site. Just write down the csv file and you're done!

It woulb be great if there would be an update in a later version that can intergrate also k2mart, the new extention for k2.

Thanks!
2010-08-18
Reviews: 1
This is a great option for importing data into any common or custom fields associated with K2 items (Title, Image, Extra Fields...).

Make sure to consult the documentation for specific instructions!
2010-05-19
Reviews: 5
I found this extension when I was looking for a tool to import large amount of data into K2 based product catalog. It really saved me a lot of work.

For me the best thing is that it supports Extra Fields import, since importing Extra Fields straight into the K2 database field isn't that simple.

Also I was very surprised how responsive developer was when I had a question which I sent to him through email.

Keep on with good work Artur!
Page 2 of 2