Joomla! Extensions Directory



Events Calendars, Calendars & Events, Events

Zap Calendar is an advanced, native Joomla calendar featuring AJAX, RSS and full iCalendar support. There are dozens of add-ons available for Zap Calendar, making it a full-featured calendaring system for Joomla websites.

  • Get this

Extensive iCalendar Support - Zap Calendar was written from the ground up to fully support the iCalendar standard (iCalendar is the standard format for transferring calendar events between applications). Zap Calendar provides full import, export and synchronization of calendar events to and from external sources (including deleted events). Using a calendar program such as Outlook, Thunderbird or Google Calendar and devices like the iPod or iPad, downloading or uploading a single event or an entire calendar with 1,000's of events can be done easily with Zap Calendar. iCalendar repeating events are also fully supported. Using the iCal subscribe plugin (available in Zap Calendar Pro), you can synchronize events created on remote calendars with Zap Calendar, allowing automatic updating of your calendar when an event changes in a remote calendar.

Module and Plugin Addons – Zap Calendar can be extended using Zap Calendar modules plugins. With over 2 dozen to choose from , these addons provide additional functionality to the calendar, including searching, weather, mapping, captcha, RSVP, moon phases, commenting and social networking support.

Third Party Application Support – Zap Calendar provides support for several popular Joomla extensions, including Community Builder, JomSocial, sh404SEF and Zap Weather. Zap Calendar also includes a plugin for Google Maps for displaying events on a map.

AJAX Support – Zap Calendar supports AJAX, which allows users to browse the calendar by event, day, week, month or year without ever refreshing the screen page. AJAX is supported for both Zap Calendar component pages and modules.

Social Networking Support – Zap Calendar users can post events to popular social network sites like Facebook and Twitter using the "share your event" option. Events can include a Facebook "like" button. Users can comment and RSVP to events using the provided plugins. Zap Calendar provides support for Community Builder and JomSocial.

Event Management – Multiple categories per event, repeating events, linking events to articles, front-end add/edit/delete events, location/venue support (new!), quick event creation mode, import events from a CSV file, iCalendar file or URL.

Calendar Management - Multiple calendars per site, multiple calendars per page (via modules), personal calendars, spanning events and categories across multiple calendars, flat and tree-based category layouts, theme support, display/hide event categories on a calendar.


Zap Calendar is stable and does exactly what it claims it will do. Installation is straightforward and integrates well with Joomla.

Ease of use

The front and back end are intuitive and always being perfected, meeting the needs of the end users, regardless of their experience level.


ZContent gives fantastically fast and thorough support. If there is ever an issue with a new version, the problem is addressed quickly.


Component, module and plugin add-on documentation is well written and comprehensive. Continually being updated when new features are added.

Value for money

Zap Calendar is an integral part of one of my high-profile websites and is worth every penny. I renew my update subscription every year.

I used this to: Having tried other calendar options, I've been using Zap Calendar for five years now -- with Joomla 1.5, 2.5, and 3.0. The numerous features, add-ons, third-party integration and social media applications, as well as the price and support, makes Zap Calendar a MUST HAVE!

Great Extension

Posted on 06 August 2015

It was exactly what I needed.

Ease of use

It was a learning curve like everything else but not too difficult.


Awesome support. I had a problem with the display format and received assistance very quickly.

Value for money

Well worth the money.

I used this to: I have just used this for the first time and will be using it on more websites. Very flexible and looks great.

Great product

Posted on 25 February 2015

Once everything is set up, Zap Calendar works quite well. The configuration can take a little time, but isn't overly complicated.

Ease of use

Generally, from a user standpoint, it's quite easy and intuitive. The configuration, as mentioned above, can take a little time.


I've had no issues with support at all, including direct interaction. Response times may take time, but I can live with that.


Documentation is OK. Most of my issues were solved via forums or online docs.

Value for money

Generally, I try to use free, setting things up for non-profit organizations. This is one where I felt strongly that paid was the way to go

I used this to: I've implemented this for a couple of different sites, a Boy Scout troop and Cub Scout pack. While there are one or two more features I would love to see, Zap Calendar is a great product overall, and one of the items that both sites get a lot of use out of.


Our organization has 23 different groups and programs that are always doing something. Zap Calendar combines them AND keeps them separate.

Ease of use

For a simple Event listing page, it won’t take long to set up. For our complex organization, it took a few hours of study. Well worth it!


When something doesn’t work as expected, I open a ticket on the developer’s website and the support staff responds within a few hours.


Most times, the feature we need is already there. They show me how to use it properly. Sometimes we find a bug that they fix right away.

Value for money

Our program/group managers love its fresh look and predictable information format. When they are happy, I am VERY happy.

I used this to: Our community organization has 23 different groups and programs that are always doing something. I looked all over for a calendar extension that could combine them all AND keep them separate. Zap Calendar does that and gives even more features. We couldn’t be happier with it.

The calendar installed properly straight away. I've had a few problems with importing data and with the google maps plugin, but all support queries have been answered within 12hrs and all problems quickly resolved. Highly recommended

Good But Terrible Support

Posted on 05 February 2014

The guy that wrote this is nice enough when he decides to answer you, but we purchased this for a client site and asked for support over a month ago. We had our first response in about a week after we asked for help and then again over a week later. Now I can't get a response at all. This is not acceptable with a paid extension. We have an upset client are stuck having to pay to develop something else for lack of support. I am sorry to the developer for writing this, but I have given you many weeks and you are not responsive at all. The middle button between the arrows makes you refresh the screen to see the current month once you advanced to a new one. The links in the calendar are broken and only hover works, and now we find out that the subscribe does not work either. This is a great option of it works, but it simply has too many flaws and support is non existent.

Owner's reply: I'm sorry for the delay you experienced in support. The problem was related to the Joomla version you were using, which was hard to troubleshoot since it was a very old version of Joomla and we did not have a test site running this version. I hope the problem is now resolved to your satisfaction.

I've been using Zap Calendar for over a year now. This calendar extension does more than any other calendar component I have ever tried. Aside from being incredibly easy to install and straightforward to use, the support for this is absolutely incredible. I had to do a few custom things with the calendar and the author of the component came to my site, re-worked code, and helped me get set up. Over a year later (after my year of service expired) I asked for help again and he STILL helped me. Cheers to this component and its author. Amazing.

Very good calendar

Posted on 13 December 2012

This calendar is very good.Some functions want to mention:

1.Google map integration

2. Facebook like integration

3. Jomsocial integration.

The only thing missed is SEO optimization. Hope to see in next release.

Owner's reply: Thank you for the review. Zap Calendar currently supports the built-in Joomla SEO feature and sh404SEF Joomla extension. If you are having a problem getting SEO to work with Zap Calendar, you can contact support by sending a message to the "Contact Us" link at the site or post a message on the support forum at the same website.

ZAP CALEDAR is an excellent extension that helped me a lot creating my site calendar. The support given was really fast and accurate, I can't ask for better assistance! A fantastic extension that saved me a lot of developing time!

After looking at all of the calendar products, I carefully selected Zap Calendar as the most comprehensive and the one that suited my needs. It installed without a hitch and I was up and creating events for my site.

After working with Zap for a while, I had a problem with the component. It was clearly some conflict within my other products, but I could not work it through. I emailed Dan and he was quite responsive, cordial and methodical. When I gave up trying to get it going he graciously stepped in and fixed it. As suspected, it was NOT a problem with Zap but a component conflict. I was very pleased with his response to my problem.

What more could you want? All the features in a calendar and a mature company standing behind it!

Zap Calendar Lite

Zap Calendar Lite

Free | Events | Z
1 review
Zap Calendar Lite is a free calendar system for Joomla and is based on over 8 years of development. It is a complete, native calendar system for Joomla sites. Features include: - Extensive iCalendar support for exporting a single event or an entire calendar. Export events to Google Calendar, Outlook, Yahoo Calendar or any other iCalendar compliant calendar. - AJAX support for displaying calendars by month, week, day and year - RSS feed for upcoming events - Multiple calendars supported with different layouts to choose from - Multiple time zone support - Automatic e-mailing of upcoming events - Add-ons for displaying upcoming events, mini-month display, searching and category filtering - Advanced event management for supporting multiple categories per event, repeating events, removing or editing an event within a repeating series, batch editing - Front end adding and editing events - Group events by location/venue - Moon phase add-on (new in version 4.2) ... and much more!
c m p
Z Weather

Z Weather

Free | Weather | Z
47 reviews
** New in version 9: support for Joomla 3.x, additional weather stations Zap Weather (formerly Z Weather) is a Joomla application that displays weather for U.S.A. cities and territories using data provided by the National Weather Service. Forecasts, current conditions and weather alerts are supported. Many display options are available, including single and multiple day forecasts and a choice of either 3, 12 or 24 hour forecast display. Zap Weather is also compatible with the JED extension Zap Calendar, allowing the display of weather forecast information within a calendar. Zap Weather is absolutely free to use and DOES NOT have any advertising or links to commercial sites that other weather products require. The weather data Zap Weather uses is provided free of charge by the U.S. government.
c m p
Sign Me Up!

Sign Me Up!

Paid download | Events | Z
0 reviews
"Sign Me Up!" allows people to easily sign-up for items for an upcoming event. Who is bringing the dessert? Will we have plates? "Sign Me Up" answers these questions with this Zap Calendar Add-on. A "Sign Me Up" package includes this add-on with either the Basic, Standard, or Pro versions of Zap Calendar. E-Mail Notification - Users are sent a thank-you e-mail when they sign-up for an item. The event owner is also notified by e-mail. Public and Registered Users Welcome - Sign Me Up! can be configured to accept all sign-ups or only sign-ups from registered users. Reminder E-Mail - A reminder e-mail can be sent to each user prior to the event to summarize their signed-up items. These features are available to the owner of the event: Create Sign-up Items - Specify the title and quantity you need for your event and perhaps a short description. You can also limit the # of items a person can sign-up. Sign-up Invites - Owners can invite friends to sign-up for an event. Friend lists can be created so invites can be sent to the same group of friends for other events. Custom field - Owners can utilize a custom field to request additional info or create a select list (i.e., shirt size selection of small, medium, large and extra large selection is possible) Sign-up Export - Export your sign-ups to a CSV or Excel file Manage Sign-ups - Update or cancel sign-ups created by other people Re-order Sign-up Items - Drag and drop sign-up items to re-order them on the event page. These features are available to the website administrator: Customizable E-mail templates - Add header and footer images to e-mails, or customize the e-mail templates using Zap Calendar's built-in form editor. Allow Public Sign-ups - The site administrator can enable or disable sign-ups by non-registered users. Sign-up Verification - The site administrator can require public sign-ups to be verified by e-mail before the sign-up is accepted. Sign-up Invites - Allow or disallow event owners from using the friend invite list.
c m p

Zap Calendar

Last updated:
Sep 24 2015
Date added:
Jun 13 2009
GPLv2 or later
Paid download
Uses updater:
Download Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support

  • Value for money