Welcome to the new directory. If you find a bug, please report it on our Issue Tracker.

Arrow up
Arrow down

Joomla! Extensions Directory

logo

Introduction

THIS PROJECT IS NO LONGER BEING SUPPORTED

  • Get this

Simple Review is a free review component for Joomla 1.5-2.5. It can be used for reviewing books, music, dvds, etc.

Simple Review is independent of Joomla articles and categories. It is a specialized component designed specifically for writing reviews.

Simple Review contains many features including:
*Community Builder, Kunena, JomSocial integration and phpBB via JFusion (currently limited to comment avatars)
*Star ratings
*Tag reviews with keywords
*User comments and ratings. Support for comments using Disqus.
*A powerful template system
*Multiple categories
*User submitted reviews (beta)
*Top reviews
*hReview support
*Free
*Captcha using Security Images 5 or reCAPTCHA.
*and more...

16/09/2012: Version 4.0.02 Alpha release. Bug fixes and a new module.

08/07/2012: Version 4.0.01 Alpha release. PHP5 strict standards mode. Joomla ini language files.

28/01/2012: Version 3.0.13 release. Supports Joomla 2.5 and includes some minor bug fixes.

7/11/2011: Version 3.0.12 released. Removes the restriction of comments requiring a rating and comment text.

26/09/2011: Version 3.0.11 released. Removes the restriction of reviews requiring a rating.


Started in Joomla 1.0.13, and now working with Joomla 2.5



While it always had its rough edges, it was simple for me to use.

Great little component for writing reviews, hope it revives soon - as it does needs improvements that are forthcoming in version 4 (in alpha currently)


I installed it and couldn't even find it. No instructions for 2.5. Nothing made sense to me.

Owner's reply: The component appears under the 'components' menu in the Joomla admin. After adding a review category and reviews, you can then add a frontend link via the Joomla menu manager.

Looking Good


Posted on 18 October 2012

Has a lot of features for a free extension although had to do some html changes to get thumbnails on a category list. Keep the versions coming please. The forum has some great information and documentation. Thanks for your time and effort.


Great component


Posted on 08 July 2012

Simple Review is a great extension for featuring recommended recordings (LPs, CDs, and downloads) on my website, grouped by genre (classical, jazz, rock, etc.). Hopefully the user submissions part will get the bugs worked out.



Thanks!


Great extension


Posted on 11 June 2012

This is a great extension for creating a table of reviews for whatever type of thing you want reviewed. Support is speedy and helpful, and if you need custom work the price is reasonable too. One of the few solid extensions on JED


OMG... uninstalled this as I discovered that it doesn't work with articles (disappointed...) and my website went blank! Installed it again and there was my website again. What the heck?

Owner's reply: Correct, Simple Review is independent of articles (I will update the description to clarify this).
Since it is independent I am not sure how it can be blamed for your website being blank, especially after being installed.

Very well


Posted on 24 March 2012

Hi! I'm using this component and it's very useful for my problems. I like user reviews' idea. There are some idea I would submit you: first of all I'd like to comment and rate the users' comments to a review; could be useful to have the total number of "raters". Anyway this is a great component and I hope could increase its popularuty and improve every day.


Great extension!


Posted on 04 March 2012

Simple Review is perfect component for any review site, i.e.: for games, movies or music reviews. It's easy to use, configure and even to modify. It's template system is really simple and easy to learn and understand. Also - developers provides great support via forums (and fast answers for short questions via twitter). There is no better review-component for FREE.


Great Component


Posted on 11 February 2012

Having used JReviews previously on another site and finding it confusing and non-intuitive, I have to say I love Simple Reviews. It installed faultlessly, and the 1 issue I had with User Generated Reviews (applying the admin template and not the site template) was dealt with so professionally by the support tea,. In fact their support shames some commercial component support efforts.



I hope they keep developing this component as it's a really solid basis for a review engine.


After installing the component on Joomla! 1.7, it looked like it might just do the trick for the site I'm building.

But, I found too many errors and problems. For example, clicking on a category to see the reviews ends up with a 404 screen.

Also, in the config, it references extra fields and lets you select how many, but there isn't a way to define those fields or use them.

This is a great module, and I would like to see a later version. At this point, at least for me, there is too much I would have to change to make it work for my specific needs.

Owner's reply: Hi,

I am not sure about the 404 problem as it has been tested to work. Please contact our support forum.

You can define the custom fields when creating your category and you then assign them values when creating a review.

Simple Review

Version:
4.0.02
Developer:
Sockware
Date added:
Apr 27 2008
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Uses updater:
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support