Joomla! Extensions Directory




AEC is a manager for memberships. The software takes care of the subscription process and everything attached to it. It integrates with major components (like JomSocial and JACL) and supports many payment processors.

  • Get this

Features at a glance:
• More than 70 payment processors built in (Manual Transfer handling, Paypal (& Pro!), Google Checkout, 2Checkout, (& AIM, ARB, CIM!), iDeal, CCBill, Worldpay, Moneybookers...)
• Extensive Registration & Subscription workflow handling
• MicroIntegration API to attach PHP code to payment plans
• Already features more than 80 MicroIntegrations, including: emails, htaccess, mysql queries, assignment of Docman or VirtueMart groups and many more
• Multiple payment plan options (Paid, Free, Lifetime, Trials...)
• Integrated Registration and Subscription process with JomSocial and CommunityBuilder (amongst others)
• Professional features: Tax handling, Shopping carts, Discount Coupons, Plan Groups

Please check out our Tour - It will give you a much better insight into what AEC can do for you!

Back to zero!

Posted on 28 October 2015

It had almost everything you need for subscriptions until the last version. There some parts (MI's) missing.David knows it but did not fix.

Ease of use

Needs some work and, without any forum or working ticket system, it is almost useless.


No forum, no ticket system. Same excuse since months ( and no "blog post" following. No answer at all on emails.


About 50% of the documentation is empty. How to install a component is the highlight and most of the parts are outdated or incomplete

Value for money

Regarding the actual situation:Hands off! David should distribute a migrator to another subscription component and shut this project down.

I used this to: Subscriptions

No support at all

Posted on 21 September 2015

A lot of possibilies, but due to lack of support, I'm not able to use it.

Ease of use

Difficult, without support


None at all. I have mailed the developer several times, but no reaction at all.

Value for money

Waste of money. I bought this component to combine it with Docman, but this is not working at all.

Little to no support

Posted on 29 May 2015

Has good functionality if you have knowledge of coding if not go with any company that's willing to back their product with support.

Ease of use

No easy at all.


If you like to wait 3 weeks for a response, then don't buy it. You're on your own with support.


Old and outdated

Value for money

Better off spending the extra money for payplans or something else as David has left me out in the cold with a working site that is broken.

I used this to: Member website


We are a SaaS and our subscriptions go to PhD students - it has taken a while 4 product market fit - AEC plans have made it possible.

Ease of use

I'm not tech savvy, or wasn't when i started - I had help from Valanx - sophisticated micro integrations took a while/couldn't live w/o them


As good as any I have worked with


Getting better - I'm not a video person so those weren't my style of learning - the new manual is great

Value for money

OMG - can I give 125%? AEC is one reason i would never leave Joomla - it is that important to us long term

I used this to: Complex membership system of users each plan with diff subscriptions and different access levels as a result of paying. I integrate it with MailChimp for communication.


it has more to offer than i can understand

Ease of use

With the Video and tutorials i was able to create what i need without issue.


This is what i was worried about before purchasing. However the reality is that David has been there for everything including modifications.


because of the nature of the beast you can never have enough documentation.

Value for money

Very clever - I am using about 25% of the whole thing and still see it as a great buy.

I used this to: Subscription services

AEC - It's glory is gone.

Posted on 27 January 2015

Got almost everything you need for subscriptions. Works with a lot of payment gateways. Coupon creation is possible.

Ease of use

Needs some serious commitment. Depending the payment gateway there are some custom programming needed.


Nope! Support absolutely not existent. David (creator) seems not committed anymore and the Forum search is broken since years.You are alone!


Some videos which are valuable. A lot of possibilities aren't explained and one feels absolutely lost. Member stopped to contribute to Forum

Value for money

Had been some big announcements some years ago, but nothing followed. Little value for money. As well ticket support costs theoretically

I used this to: Creating subscriptions. We are looking to migrate to another component as AEC seems quite dead and never left "Release Candidate" during the last 3 years.
Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to file your very honest review. I fully agree that the Forum ended up in a terrible place and (as announced a while ago) it has first been sunsetted and now removed from the site. The community, sadly, simply didn't happen the way I imagined it would and I chose to instead focus on the support ticket system and documentation.

This is also where I take exception to your review - the forum was meant to be a community forum, not a support forum, that's what the ticket system is for! If you have a support request, simply file a ticket and I will help you right away. I didn't see any ticket from your account, so I hope you will file one if you still have problems. I would also like to add that the need for custom programming is very, very rare - usually only for adding new payment processors.

Furthermore - please note that there is a new documentation available at - simply follow the "Documentation" link on this page.

Finally - Yup, following up on the big announcements was thwarted by a number of factors, unfortunately. As I wrote above - to get out of that hole, I chose to focus on our core areas first - support and documentation - and then transitioned to working on the software. That being said - AEC 1.2 has been out of Release Candidate status for half a year now, which I'm sure you must have seen.

I hope you will read this and either file a ticket or send me an email - I'm here and ready to help.


Very Good

Ease of use

Steep learning process


Non existing any longer after Jake has left. Tickets are only answered after you telephone (!) David Deutsch, the owner.


Good video tutorials

Value for money

You are lost because of no replies to tickets so value drops completely to useless

I used this to: Membership magazine in combo with JS + JSPT + Mosets

Great support is back.

Posted on 20 October 2014

I have been using AEC for almost 6 years now. A while back I was pretty nervous because the support response could me measured in days (or weeks).

I am happy to report fast (in minutes now ;-) and helpful support in my Joomla 3 upgrading issues. (turned out to be my fault for not using the latest AEC)


Posted on 04 August 2014

Started off fair at best. The software did not install properly for us and the support was not timely to say the least. Requested a refund and received an apology and a promise of my refund. Made several requests to receive a refund and even to continue with the purchase if the hour of support was provided. NO RESPONSE AT ALL and NO REFUND TO DATE. It felt like I was dealing with a couple of kids in a dorm room not a professional company. I held off as long as I could before posting but after 3 weeks my patience is exhausted and my dander is up.

Owner's reply: Terribly sorry for dropping the ball on this one. The refund request has just been processed - far too late of course. Sorry about the inconvenience and stress caused in not tending to this properly.

We was making Event Subscription Management website. We found such an excellent extension like AEC. We tried many other extensions but doesnt match to our requirement. One thing i want to say that we can make any type of Membership functionality in Joomla. Support was taking little bit time but they are providing correct answer for support answers. Good Job guys.. Keep your work like this



Paid download | Membership & Subscriptions | Valanx
7 reviews
Denies access for registered users if they are not (or not anymore) listed in a htaccess file With the vHTaccess plugins you can use the concept and security of .htaccess to manage your Joomla Users - without additional Membership software! These plugins has been developed as a Joomla authentication and user plugin for those using CCBill, Paycom/Epoch and/or Verotel. Instead of signing up on your website, your potential members will checkout directly on the payment processors form with one click - and this plugin will pick up the user details automatically, authenticating against the details the payment processor provides.

Account Expiration Control

Last updated:
Feb 09 2015
Date added:
Nov 22 2009
GPLv2 or later
Paid download
Uses updater:
Download DemoNot available Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support

  • Value for money