Welcome to the new directory. If you find a bug, please report it on our Issue Tracker.

Arrow up
Arrow down

Joomla! Extensions Directory

logo
main-image-2
main-image-3
main-image-4
main-image-5

Introduction

e-Commerce

AEC is a manager for memberships (paid or free). The software takes care of the subscription process and everything attached to it. It integrates with major components (like JomSocial and JACL) and supports many payment processors.

  • Get this

Features at a glance:
• More than 70 payment processors built in (Manual Transfer handling, Paypal (& Pro!), Google Checkout, 2Checkout, Authorize.net (& AIM, ARB, CIM!), iDeal, CCBill, Worldpay, Moneybookers...)
• Extensive Registration & Subscription workflow handling
• MicroIntegration API to attach PHP code to payment plans
• Already features more than 80 MicroIntegrations, including: emails, htaccess, mysql queries, assignment of Docman or VirtueMart groups and many more
• Multiple payment plan options (Paid, Free, Lifetime, Trials...)
• Integrated Registration and Subscription process with JomSocial and CommunityBuilder (amongst others)
• Professional features: Tax handling, Shopping carts, Discount Coupons, Plan Groups

Please check out our Tour - It will give you a much better insight into what AEC can do for you!


Great support is back.


Posted on 20 October 2014

I have been using AEC for almost 6 years now. A while back I was pretty nervous because the support response could me measured in days (or weeks).

I am happy to report fast (in minutes now ;-) and helpful support in my Joomla 3 upgrading issues. (turned out to be my fault for not using the latest AEC)


No No NO NOO NOOO NOOOOO


Posted on 04 August 2014

Started off fair at best. The software did not install properly for us and the support was not timely to say the least. Requested a refund and received an apology and a promise of my refund. Made several requests to receive a refund and even to continue with the purchase if the hour of support was provided. NO RESPONSE AT ALL and NO REFUND TO DATE. It felt like I was dealing with a couple of kids in a dorm room not a professional company. I held off as long as I could before posting but after 3 weeks my patience is exhausted and my dander is up.

Owner's reply: Terribly sorry for dropping the ball on this one. The refund request has just been processed - far too late of course. Sorry about the inconvenience and stress caused in not tending to this properly.

We was making Event Subscription Management website. We found such an excellent extension like AEC. We tried many other extensions but doesnt match to our requirement. One thing i want to say that we can make any type of Membership functionality in Joomla. Support was taking little bit time but they are providing correct answer for support answers. Good Job guys.. Keep your work like this


I have been using AEC for a year and have come to the conclusion that:



AEC is OK for simple subscription sites, BUT where the need is more complicated AEC is a poor component.



I will now explain further:



Component:

Since last year I have reported 2 bugs - both of these bugs related to AEC's compatibility with community builder.



The first of which was to do with the CB MI not working. It simply did not action.



This bug was fixed by David and now it works fine.



The 2nd bug is to do with custom restrictions. This simply does not work. This is a very useful feature if it worked.





Documentation: The documenation has improved over the last year with video tutorials being available. However, for a product as complicated as AEC a manual is a MUST. Simply put why should a user have to pay for support on how to use certain functionalities of AEC?





Support:

For the usual tasks the support is OK. However, when you have a specific requirements that go past the norm, the support is poor.



Example:

1st support: I asked for plans to be restricted dependent on current plans. Jake advised me of a setup. It seemed to work fine, but after a year the payments were being received by paypal subscription, but the account was not being renewed. I figured out later that the setup was incorrect and later achieved my aim. The point is I was charged for support time even though the solution provided did not work.



2nd example: I reported a bug of custom restrictions not working. At this time all I wanted was 2 plans setup where custom restrictions worked. I had 19 minutes of support time available.

The bug is still present. I have been told by Jake that its fixed and working on their server.

I was told that due my 'setup' it took 2 hours to fix other issues and the issue is down to a bad install!

I then reinstalled a fresh Joomla 2.5 and installed AEC and CB fresh. The problem with custom restriction still persists. When raised again answer was simply it works on their server and I am in deficit on my support time.

Again the point is 19 mins to setup 2 plans with custom restrictions is plenty of time.

Jake and David fail to realise that due to bugs it wastes a lot of the clients time in determining that there is a bug and there is no sense of courtesy to assist those that experience problems due to bugs.





Membership time wasted: Another point David fails to realise that whilst a client is waiting for bug fix, their PAID membership time is being wasted. Why should a client have to effectively pay for a bug fix. The custom restriction bug has led to 2-3 months of my membership waiting - yes I waited patiently for that long.



Finally, if a user has x amount of support time available, and a request is made for support.



If the support team feels that its not enough or the support time runs out, then they should notify the client and advise them of this. Not carry on for as long as they need and then tell client they need to pay to cover a deficit!

Owner's reply: "The 2nd bug is to do with custom restrictions. This simply does not work."

Not true - It works on our servers and we have given you the login details to see this for yourself. You had a modified version of CB, which we had to find out (after being told otherwise by yourself) and which we had to make up for.

If we have a fully functional solution and your account is in the red, why is it on us to give you the benefit of the doubt?

"Simply put why should a user have to pay for support on how to use certain functionalities of AEC?"

A user pays for access to AEC, which includes four months of access to our support, which includes our manual and videos. I think that is plenty of time to get through any problem.

And if it isn't, renewing your account really isn't that expensive. Total cost for a year is currently fifty bucks. If you just want another four months, it's twenty. In return, you most likely get a new version within that timeframe, too.

"However, when you have a specific requirements that go past the norm, the support is poor."

Do note that what you actually mean is "if I have hacked up software on my server". I think you will find that many software vendors have trouble with this. Not sure whether that allows for judging the support as "poor".

"Why should a client have to effectively pay for a bug fix."

Not true - you found a bug and we credited you with 30 minutes of support time, which made up for the time that Jake spent supporting you and then some.

"If the support team feels that its not enough or the support time runs out, then they should notify the client and advise them of this. Not carry on for as long as they need and then tell client they need to pay to cover a deficit!"

That's a tough one - Do we spend time talking to the client and risk delaying the solution, or do we try to solve the issue as quickly as possible and risk going overtime?

We have decided for the second, because most clients have a business with our software and appreciate things being dealt with as quickly as possible. In addition to that, we are quite generous with allowing for overtime (we're fine with it until you're more than 15 minutes in dept), but there's just a line that we have to draw to prevent abuse.

No support!


Posted on 03 May 2013

It seems really cool, and has a ton of features and integrations. But there's little to no support for it. And it's a pretty complex component. I'm a Joomla seasoned vet and I've run into at least 3 roadblocks on it and can't even get a response. If they stepped their support game up it would probably be 5 stars all the way.


Very complete membership component, with lot of features and integration with others.

Further, support is fast and competent.


A whole lot of goodness


Posted on 25 January 2013

This product fits your needs perfectly in a way that makes you feel like you should've developed it yourself long ago. It is rich in features, well-designed and highly customizable. In my search I haven't come across any product that comes close to what AEC can do.


We have just started using AEC on our site for memberships and it is fantastic. We looked at several other options, but just couldn't go past the features of AEC. The Micro Integrations make it such a powerful extension.



It is a little bit of a learning curve, to get set up correctly, but it is worth the time and effort.



Support from David was great. We had a question about intergration with another module (magebridge)and he answered our question and got us on the right track straight away.



Highly recommended.


We had a fairly basic need for a membership extension and AEC more than filled the bill. I installed it over two years ago and it has worked without any more thought. That is a tremendous PLUS for any piece of software - to go so long with no intervention. We had one minor customization that Jake helped implement - fast, easy, painless. Can't reommend this product enought. Since it *is* so comprehensive it does require some thought to use it but again, it is rock-steady.


Hi all,

Here, in many African countries, Paypal does NOT allow us to RECEIVE payment, so it was quite difficult when I decided to start a membership website.



The difficulty was in finding a script that could support integration with other payment processors.



This script made that possible for me.



Needless to say that with AEC you can have different permutations for protecting your site and contents. And everything works.



It does take some getting used to IF you just follow ONLY the documentation on their website, because some videos are outdated.



My fast start guide would be to set up the content on your site BEFORE installing the script. That way you can then:



1. Enable feature A

2. Then go to your front page and see how it works;

3. Enable feature B

4. Then go to your front page and see how it works; and so on.

vHtaccess

vHtaccess

Paid download | Membership & Subscriptions | Valanx
2.5 3
Score:
0
7 reviews
Denies access for registered users if they are not (or not anymore) listed in a htaccess file With the vHTaccess plugins you can use the concept and security of .htaccess to manage your Joomla Users - without additional Membership software! These plugins has been developed as a Joomla authentication and user plugin for those using CCBill, Paycom/Epoch and/or Verotel. Instead of signing up on your website, your potential members will checkout directly on the payment processors form with one click - and this plugin will pick up the user details automatically, authenticating against the details the payment processor provides.
p

Account Expiration Control

Version:
1.2
Developer:
Valanx
Date added:
Nov 22 2009
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Paid download
Uses updater:
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download DemoNot available SupportNot available DocumentationNot available
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support

  • Value for money