Joomla! Extensions Directory



Social Web, Social Share

Current Version : 3.6 (23 February 2013)

  • Get this

Vesion 3.6 (23.02.2013) several problems solved from previous version :

  • Facebook meta tag fb:app_id didn't show up on a page when fb app key entered into the Sharethisbar parameter.
  • On some installations users received these messages : "Notice: Undefined variable: divId in pluginssystemsharethisbarsharethisbar.php on line 240, Notice: Undefined variable: fbAppkey in pluginssystemsharethisbarsharethisbar.php on line 300"

Current Version : 3.5 (29 December 2012)

Vesion 3.5 (29.12.2012) new features :

  • New social media sharing buttons added: Buffer, StumbleUpon, Reddit, Delicious, Digg, Tumblr and Technorati.
  • You can add up to three custom social media sharing buttons, which have not already been included into the ShareThisBar.
  • Easy social media button selection and button sorting (check button and drag it to the new position).
  • You can easily select one of the predefined ShareThisBar styles, with a click on the preferred style.
  • Custom ShareThisBar style. You can modify predefined style after you have selected one or enter your unique css style.
  • You have possibility to exclude/include the bar show up from/into selected menus or entered URIs, which belong to your web site.
  • Choose the ShareThisBar plugin manager language. Currently there are only translations for en-GB and sr-YU.

Vesion 3.1 (19.10.2012) new features :

  • Parameter for setting up minimum screen width for which the ShareThisBar will show up is added in plugin administration panel. This makes it possible for the ShareThisBar not to show up when the screen width is lesser than the value entered in the admin parameter "Minimum screen resolution to show the bar" (for smaller screens).
  • Now You can choose one of the predefined messages(e.g. "Share This Content") to show to your web site users, which could have positive impact on your content sharing results.

Vesion 3.0 (22.09.2012) new features :

  • There is no more need to look for reference div for the ShareThisBar social media plugin for Joomla to work. Reference div plugin parameter is no longer needed. As soon as you install the ShareThisBar social plugin and enable it - it works. A few minor adjustments could be needed to tweak the ShareThisBar position correction parameters.

  • Problem regarding not showing up the ShareThisBar social media plugin in Internet Explorer 7/8 solved.

  • New Twitter plugin parameter: data-via added.

  • Twitter button iframe version inserted instead javascript(anchor tag) version. Unfortunately because of that cliks on the twitter button no longer can be tracked in Google Analytics. Facebook, Google Plus and LinkedIn clicks are tracked in Google Analytics if you want that.

Current Version : 2.0 (22 June 2012)

Vesion 2.0 (22.06.2012) new features :

•Two more social networks added: LinkedIn and Pinterest. Google Analytics for

Clean and neat

Posted on 11 February 2014

I've always looked at those floating "share this" bars with envy, and now I have one of my own! Thanks. It was really easy to install and worked straight out of the box. 10 out of 10.

Owner's reply: Thank You very much for your comment.
Best wishes, Dusanka.

Hi there,

I downloaded this great plugin and I must say I'm impressed because it is actually working perfectly, super easy to setup and very good looking !

I would give a 100% satisfaction, so far, but it needs 1 last thing for me before actually being considered as the best of all : the possibility to hide it when you don't want it on the screen because it's overlaying something else. I'm putting myself in the skin of somebody visiting my website and getting anoyed because he can not read something hidden by the plugin display. So if you would have a little cross to close it (slide it out for exemple), that would be just fantastic ! Actually, you could keep an icon on screen, if you click on it it would call back the full display, see what I mean ?

Anyway, Dusanka keep up with a very good job and hope you find my comment worth working on for the next release !

cheers, Giom.

Owner's reply: Hello Giom,

Thank you very much for your comment, rating and for your very good suggestion.

Regarding the issue with the ShareThisBar overlapping content on a page, did you try to position the ShareThisBar plugin on the screen with the following parameter: "Bar left(or right) position correction" , so that the plugin position was closer to the edge of the screen.

Kind regards from Dusanka.

It's good, but althought it says that supports Google Plus follow button, I cannot make it work. Maybe not supported in the free version?

Owner's reply: First and foremost thank you for your review and rating.

The plugin is free, there is no commercial version of the ShareThisBar plugin.

You misunderstood something, the ShareThisBar plugin has a Google +1 button integrated already and it's working. You can activate the Google +1 button easily. The Google +1 button is connected to individual articles or content on your web site.

But You are probably referring to the Google + badge, which is connected to your personal Google+ profile or Google+ page. The Google+ badge can be easily included into the ShareThisBar, because there is room for adding up to three custom buttons, simply by including code for your Google + badge into the appropriate ShareThisBar parameter. But I would recommend you to make custom Joomla module and to include code for Google+ badge, Facebook page,... and other "Follow me" badges into it.

Kind regards from Dusanka.

Very easy to install and easy to use. Someone without much knowledge in coding can handle this.

Excellent plugin, easy but in the same time a lot of possible customizations.

I had an issue, it was fixed in half an hour - so support was super fast. And I didn't have to modify files to fix it, it has a css box where you can enter whatever pops into your head in the backend.

Keep up the good work and thank you so much!

Ten stars!

Posted on 02 April 2013

First: Thanks a lot for this perfect plugin!

It works really good on my site.

I recommend it for all website owner!

I tried 4 other shar bars before this one, and while I am sure it was probably an issue with my template or a conflict with something in the CSS, this was the only plugin that worked for me...lots of nice options, especially like the display delay, make all the buttons show up together, nice feature. Great job!

It downloaded, installed and works without any issue. Very easily configured. Great work!

But I agree with some previous comments -- it would be great if the bar could be hidden for mobile devices. With my current settings, the bar partly hides article text, when viewed on mobile devices.

Owner's reply: Thank You for your comment. New version 3.1 should resolve that issue.
Kind regards, Dusanka.

Almost perfect...

Posted on 25 September 2012

Good plug in. I really like it. But... it would have been great if the bar could be positioned from the middle of the window instead left or right. Cause this way the bar changes position if the browser windows is resized or different resolution is used.

Can't use it for the above reason but anyways good effort and I would like to thank you for that.

Owner's reply: Thanks for the comment.
Best wishes, Dusanka.

Mobile device

Posted on 23 September 2012

Good plugin!

It could be perfect if you add the options to hide the bar for mobile device and small resolution!

Owner's reply: Thank You for useful comment. Best regards.


Dusanka Ilic
Date added:
Nov 19 2014
GPLv2 or later
Free download
Uses updater:
Download Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support