The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


GTranslate Module

GTranslate uses Google Translate power to make your website multilingual. With 81 available languages your site will be available to more than 98% of internet users.

GTranslate - your window to the world...

http://magazine.joomla.org uses GTranslate!

Features:
✔ Hides "Suggest better translation" pop-up
✔ Hides Google top frame after translation
✔ Mouse over effect
✔ Analytics feature
✔ On Fly translation available
✔ Flags combined in one file to load faster
✔ Option to open translated page in new window
✔ Available styles Dropdown/Flags/flags with dropdown
✔ Valid XHTML
✔ Google Translate Element on your site (Google Default translation method)

✉ SUPPORT: If you think you found a bug or have any problem or question concerning this extension, do not hesitate to contact us in our support forum - http://gtranslate.net/forum/

Supported languages: Afrikaans, Albanian, Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Basque, Belarusian, Bengali, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Cebuano, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, French, Galician, Georgian, German, Greek, Gujarati, Haitian Creole, Hausa, Hebrew, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Javanese, Kannada, Khmer, Korean, Lao, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Maltese, Maori, Marathi, Mongolian, Nepali, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Welsh, Yiddish, Yoruba, Zulu

Keywords: google translation, google translator, automatic translator, website translator, automatic translation, ajax translator, ajax translate, jquery translator, jquery translate, multilingual website, translation delivery network (TDN)

Report Extension

 

 

2011-06-01
Reviews: 19
if you want a clean and simple translation module for joomla 1.6 this is it! squeaky clean valid code too! another creation that should be standard in 1.7!
2011-05-18
Reviews: 4
Excellent Translator Mod for Joomla....Joomla fish require we 'downgraded' php from 5.3 to 5.2 on our server which is difficult at best....
...Free plugin...cant beat that...
Personally, i think 59 Euro is a bit much...a donate button would work better IMHO and i would of pressed it for sure!
2011-05-10
Reviews: 4
Especially for the moment, as the joomfish translation module is not available for joomla 1.6, this module is a perfect solution. Thanks for your great work.
2011-05-07
Reviews: 2
Excellent Job. Thanks a lot for making such kind of extension.
I am looking for Nepali translation . Is there anyone who wants to help creating nepali translation.

thank you.
2011-04-25
Reviews: 2
Works beautifully w/o any need to learn. Simply install, open the module, ez param set, and bam!

One of the best extensions for language...PERIOD!
2011-04-20
Reviews: 14
This is a very nice extension doing what it is meant to be. Thanks for the developer. This extension removes the burden of different langauge packs for the website.
2011-04-06
Reviews: 3
Thanks to developer and JED
This is cool extension!!!!
2011-03-31
Reviews: 1
it helps me a lot with site translation. and more - it`s free!
2011-03-31
Reviews: 5
Pros:
The software works without flaw
and performs exactly as described.

Cons: None

Thank you for contributing your excellent work.
And thank you for volunteering. All the Best!
2011-03-31
Reviews: 2
Very fast config, and able to select whatever languages you want- and display as flags...don't need the drop down menu. the google module works perfect too - don't need the others - this is the one.
2011-03-13
Reviews: 37
It took me a little longer because I probably wanted the app to take me by the hand to read my mind but once I read the tooltips, I was set and ready to go! Awesome for FREE!
2011-03-08
Reviews: 7
We have used Gtranslate on several clients sites currently. We have used many times the basic and several times the Pro version. Both deliver and very impressed extension.

Support is fast and very helpful in guiding us in the proper direction for a fix that will solve the issue we where receiving.

If you are looking for a translation for your site look no further get GTranslate. Super easy to work once all set up. Your users will thank you!

Thanks for a great product.
2011-02-22
Reviews: 5
Extremely useful for a freebie. One word of advise. If you are taken to the paid download, go back and scroll down. On the left you will find the free versions.

You may as I note the flags are hidden by the title bar. Maybe it's a template issue but it was the same on different templates.

By default 'major' languages are set to show flags only, but I suggest you change all to no flags AND remeber to set the default language.

This experience is based on Joomla legacy 1.0.15 version
2011-02-20
Reviews: 9
I first experimented with the free version, which is so much neater (and more transparent) than having the ususal Google Translator widget. I upgraded to the Pro version due to it offering language specific URLs, much in the way that Joomfish does. It is necessary to have certain things installed on your server, most of which are standard in Linux installations these days: PHP Curl + PHP Json. Less likely is ionCube loader, which can be installed by a user in most cases without having to refer to their hosting provider.

Had a couple of issues, which were responded to swiftly by the developer in the forum (i.e. within an hour). Turned out the issues were due to me having the site .htaccess protected during development, rather than GTranslate.

That was two days ago. Today I received an email from the developer with the latest release attached as a Zip (no hunting / checking a site for downloads). This version is a pearler: i) Now uses a Google API (you need to get your own but that's easy enough) allowing translation of up to 100,000 characters a day. A new sophisticated caching system means that changes to pages will only require asking Google for translations of any new words should mean that, after initial translations, the load on Google is keplt well within the character limit. Some users of the previous version had run into trouble with the number of requests being sent to Google and translations were suspended for up to 10 days. Hopefully this will avoid all that. Now for the killer feature: the ability to edit the translated text, so that if Google doesn't get it right you can make manual edits. I'd previously planned to use Joomfish on this site but I really can't see the need now. This looks as though it's going to save me masses of time (and save my clients loads of money!) Following today's release I had just one question to ask the developer (about cacheing) and it was responded to within 10 minutes. Not the cheapest extension I've ever bought but in terms of what it can do, it must rank highly as one of the best value.
2011-02-18
Reviews: 4
This little Module - Is nice, easy to use and quite helpfull ... when not having the time to create a multi-lang website.
2011-02-15
Reviews: 1
My thanks to the developer. I am sure GTranslate has had a most beneficial effect. Half of our traffic is international so this is important to us.
Easy to set up and configure. Good work!
2011-02-05
Reviews: 1
This is a rating of the Non-Comercial Version, not the Commercial "Pro" version found on the non-comercial web site.

GTranslate works as advertised when used with the "on the fly" option available in the free version. The Free version needs little to no tech support. Since it is free and needs little to no tech support, there is no reason to file a dispute with paypal. The free version seems to be well tested and debugged. The Free versions works well with third party extensions. The free version works with and without SEF activated. The free version does not seem to overload the host with script requests. The free version does not have a problem with writing excessive files to the server. All in All the FREE version works great. Tech Support is very very very poor. So if you have a problem, you are on your own.
2010-12-31
Reviews: 4
This extension installed with no problems, on a website designed for seniors by a tinkering non-IT retiree. While our site really doesn't need translations, it is a fun feature for our old folks to play with. I agree with the July 13, 2010 post of Manosaravanan that the language list would be more practical if posted in the native language - on the otherhand, everyone should recognize their own flag. Some translation residue remains when switching back to the website default language -but a page refresh fixes it. The flags add eye candy and a little bit of multicultural education. Good Stuff!
2010-12-17
Reviews: 4
Good extention but no support.
I sent many e-mails and messages in the forum but there was no response.
It also creates too large bandwidth in large Portals.
2010-12-01
Reviews: 16
I've always wanted translation on my page, and now I can with this and Joomla. Thank you for a great module!
Page 5 of 10