The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without losing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.3. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.3

1.4.4
+ fix front-end message on successfull save.
+ fix order number problem in hikashop and front-end edition.
+ set different message for free and paid version for front-end edition.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-02-05
Reviews: 8
I rised a compatibility issue with another extension, and the author fixed the problem very soon and kept me informed about that.
This extension is much reliable and has a good support. -Fox-
2012-02-02
Reviews: 2
My thirst thinking was 'excellent', because of the great component with its features and the very fast en kind support of the author.
At this moment, there are some components which are not supported by FaLang so they can't be translated. No problem, the important things on a joomla site can be translated. I hope in the future there will be some more components which will be supported.
So I guess I can't give less then excellent.
Thanks for this great component!
2012-01-25
Reviews: 3
Best solution for translation in J1.7 and J2.5, it works like Joomfish for Joomla 1.5 version.

Really easy to use for content (cantegories, menús, new...). It would be really usefull having a Forum on their website, i´m trying to add rokgallery support, i have two xml files to translate slices and files but it doesnt work and there is not a Community support for their free version. Otherwise very good work. THANKS!!!
2012-01-24
Reviews: 2
Without a doubt the best translation extension for Joomla 1.7 at this moment.
Ease to install and very good support.
2012-01-24
Reviews: 2
a very good component.
Stephane has on request, an extension for JoomGallery made​​.
Very fine. and again thank you
2012-01-20
Reviews: 1
This is a very good product and works very good on Joomla 1.7.
First i was sad i could not get Joomfish for 1.7 but i think this one is better!

And the support is super fast and friendly.
Many Thanx
2012-01-16
Reviews: 3
I used to use JoomFish and while waiting for a version to support anything above Joomla 1.5, I was very disturbed at the total lack of silence about their progress. Then I came upon this component.

All I can say is that it is absolutely excellent. Full multi language support! The effort that we put into making our components JoomFish compatible has not been wasted. I literally had to change one element name and everything was back up and running.

Thank you Stephane. I hope that once more people know about what you have done, you will find customers beating down your door.
2012-01-11
Reviews: 1
For everyone used to Joomfish. This is the equivalent for Joomla 1.7.

I struggled to get my site in English and Dutch (simple site: Dutch site is equivalent to English, just translated). The Joomla 1.7 approach is too difficult, requires too much duplication and does not show an alerts on Dutch content when English content has changed.

Falang instalation was a piece of cake. It does not require third party stuff that makes the use on hosted sites difficult (like GTranslate that requires IonCube loader). It workes very well: You make your site with one lanuage and use Falang to translate all modules, content and menus. Falang will show a list with red (to be done), yellow (original stuff was changed) and green (translated) signs. That's all you need!
2012-01-10
Reviews: 3
After installing Falang on my new Joomla 1.7 website (since JoomFish doesn't support 1.7) I was amazed on how easy and effective this extension is. I admit I was a bit lost in the beginning but with the immediate support given by Stephane I was up and running in no time.

The extension works brilliantly and without any problems whatsoever. The only issue I had was with the language pack I created myself (since it doesn't exist), but amazingly Stephane went into it, found the problem and sorted it out for me also.

For me this is not an alternative to JoomFish but an excellent multilingual management system of it's own. I strongly suggest anyone using Joomla 1.7 to use this extension for their multilingual websites and not waste time trying anything else. Rest assured that if you encounter any difficulty, you will find Stephane ready to assist you in a simple, clear and extremely helpful way.
2012-01-09
Reviews: 5
It simply works - so far great to have your multi language site in J1.7.
This component closes a gap caused by comaptibility issues of the Joomfish component. So it is indeed god to have and it works fine so far.
Support is superfast & friendly!
The only annoing thing is, that the free version comes with a backlink in the middle of the content.

Anyway a good and usefull piece of software - woth the money to remove the link!
2012-01-08
Reviews: 1
I've to repeat another review:
Really with this esxtension, we can finally use the joomfish skills with joomla 1.7.

Great support also with k2 component!
2012-01-02
Reviews: 1
Even I did not use multiple-language extensions before, like Falang or Joom!Fish etc, the learning curve for using Falang is short, and developer support is prompt and helpful when there is problem.
I would not hesitate to recommend Falang to anyone who is looking for easy multiple-lanaguage solutions.
2011-12-29
Reviews: 16
I've been working with Joomla! for years, but never multi-language like Joomfish, only gTranslate. Multi-lang is inherently complex. The first thing to decide is whether you want automated or manual translation. Joomfish and Falang are for manual translation.
This seems to be a one person effort, and Stephane is doing a great job. As others have noted, he's very responsive to support requests, and building up a FAQ.
The documentation is a work in progress. It sounds like the Joomfish docs should be helpful, because Falang is strongly patterned after Joomfish, but I did not find those docs helpful, I think because the differences between 1.5 and 1.7 multi-lang made it confusing for me.
So, after a little struggle, I have Falang working on a test site. It appears to me that:
-You have to install the Joomla lang packs for your target languages
-You have to make multiple menu items and associate them under Association in the parameters, so that Joomla knows that they are equivalent
Then, you can use Falang to track the completion of your translations, which are missing, and once they are no longer missing, which are good enough to be published.
A stable version is expected very soon.
I am also expecting to start a project which will make it easier to use automated translations as as starting point for the Falang multi-lang versions of articles.
2011-12-24
Reviews: 6
Works perfect with joomla 1.7, great work.
2011-12-23
Reviews: 4
Great extension and awesome support!
Thanks Stéphane.
bpz
2011-12-14
Reviews: 1
Super!
With this esxtension, we can finally use the joomfish skills with joomla 1.7.
Great solution for all users that are not completely satisfied by the localisation system's native of joomla.
The feedbacks for question from developers are very fast
2011-12-12
Reviews: 27
I have to admit being very disappointed with the slow speed at which Joom!Fish was being developed, and when I had a client who needed a 1.7 multilingual site, I had a look around the JED to see what else was available and happened across Falang.

I don't normally use beta extensions on live sites however I've been testing this out for a few weeks and although there are a couple of minor bugs - more of a feature request than a bug, mostly - I've found it to be very stable.

I needed the K2 functionality which many others need, and I noticed someone wrote on a review they had re-done the content plugin to work with K2, so I emailed Stephane and received a copy within a few hours to try out.

I'll definitely be watching the development of this closely, and hope it continues to develop as a strong alternative to Joom!Fish.
2011-12-12
Reviews: 5
Just like Joomfish only for 1.7, works perfect!! Great support also!
2011-12-09
Reviews: 1
Great extension.
Very easy to install and use it.
This extension solved a lot of problems I faced before with multilingual website in 1.7 version.
The support was great as well, fast and helpful replies from creators.
2011-12-08
Reviews: 1
A very great extension! It's very easy to modify it to adapt other languages. I added for my website hungarian. It works perfectly on any languages!
Page 10 of 11