The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

New to the 1.3.0 version, url translation without other tools.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.3.2 (09/12/2013)
+ change 'content' is now 'article' in backend in the dropdown
+ add more flags for module falang (same as Joomla 3.2)
+ add copy button for menu link type (use to change menu type)
+ default language (set this on falang and not in joomla > basic)
+ fix translation typo error on backend
+ cpanel message change
+ add downloadid system to allow direct update from joomla
+ fix bug on translation on some module with validation. (ex ja_slideshow)
+ add previous unused method for mijosef compatibily.
+ k2 extra field (for commercial version)
+ k2 update - content element (for extra field translation)
+ remove root menu in the menu translation view

Report Extension

 

 

2011-12-05
Reviews: 1
Thank you so much for this helpful extension!
Saves me a lot of precious time.

It would be perfect if it would support url-routing like joomfish does.
2011-12-03
Reviews: 1
Great extension.
I had some problems with the installation, as I didn't know I had to install a second "site language" first, before I could start the translation.
The developer was very helpful and responded quickly to help me. After getting over that hurdle, the extension works great, and translation is a "piece-of-cake".
2011-12-01
Reviews: 4
This is an amazing component / extension.

It is much easier to manage than the new joomla multilanguage option.

Best of all the developer Stéphane replied very quicky with answers to a few questions.

Great work! I highly recommend this language component!
2011-12-01
Reviews: 5
While I'm reviewing this extension its still a Beta, but from what I can say its pretty stable.

It's understandable that it's not there where Joomfish is on the 1.5 (e.g. a language switch will bring you always to the frontpage), but it is already pretty powerfull, and just easier to manage as the new joomla multilanguage option.

Also Stephane replied always absolutly quick, to my E-Mails.

and he gave me the Tip to update from Joomla 1.7.2 to 1.7.3, because with the new Joomla language filter plugin you have the opportunity to turn off the default language Code in the url which ist pretty important for seo
2011-11-29
Reviews: 3
really its good and useful but i don`t know is it my mistake just i cant translate the menus. Everything okay contents modules but after i translate the menus i cant see just showing English.
2011-11-10
Reviews: 2
Translating a whole page it's a huge amount of trouble and every tool that comes to help us in this process is so very welcome, everything is simple, even the tutorial but the response from the support is great, by far the best I've received from any Joomla Plugin team.
2011-11-08
Reviews: 2
I use Falang to make it easier to the website users of my sites to understand the structure. As you know, the new joomla can handle multiple languages, but it is not really user friendly at all.

Falang is THE solution to this headache. You can translate all your content to one place. Very easy install and use.

PLUS! I decided to create a "content element" to translate content from 3th party components. But it came out with a little bug. I received very quick support to help me handle this issu. He came out to me with a solution in 1 day.

Support available in french and english tought! Very cool!
2011-11-05
Reviews: 3
This component is essential in a multilingual site, joomla native solution is a hell if your site has more than 10 or 12 pages, menus, modules, etc. .

Works well, poor compatibility with other extensions if they were compatible with Joomfish. I have adapted the k2 extension to work with Falang.
2011-11-04
Reviews: 1
Where Joomfish stopped, FaLang carries on. Really good extension. Support is fast and personal.
2011-11-04
Reviews: 1
I greatly appreciate your work. I do not want to use the auto content conversion by google.
Its my 1st multi-lingual project and i am unaware of Joomfish
So for the purpose just 2 days back i thought to develop similar striped-down package by which i could store alternative titles in different languages for menus & categories, etc. in the DB and fetch respective titles for the selected language.

But yesterday i found this extension so thought to give it a try. And this is exactly what i needed.
Many thanks Stephane for his work.

But unfortunately this extension is in its early beta so don't know what are the issues/bugs/conflicts it posses.

i request everybody to report any error or missing thing you notice to make this extension stable ASAP.

I got 2 issues:
1. The 'alias' column is missing in the 'falang_content' table.
I save both name & alias for the menuitem but didn't get the alias when i edit the same.
2. getting error "Falang Database driver not enabled" despite all falang extensions are enabled.
2011-10-25
Reviews: 1
Just GREAT!! I´m developing a new website based on Joomla 1.7 and needed to use Joomfish but like this component does not work in Joomla 1.7 I´ve tried FaLang and it just do the work that it´s supposed to do.
The website I´m developing is a simple one, so just has menus, modules and articles. Like right now FaLang translate this things has been a great solution for the translations.
I TOTALLY RECOMMED IT!!
2011-10-23
Reviews: 3
If you want translate the content of your webpage like the old JoomFish style, this is your extension.

The Falang team make a great work, because Falang is integrated with the J1.7 multilanguage system (Even use the native language manager and the language filter plugin).

Great work!
2011-10-22
Reviews: 8
Very happy to hear that someone is adapting Joomfish for 1.7! Hope that a stable version will be available quite soon. Thanks Stéphane.
2011-10-21
Reviews: 2
I was developing a website for my client on Joomla 1.7 only to find out that Joomfish for 1.7 is not available! Stupid me, I should have checked before hand.

Than i tried to implement the Core Multi language functionality of Joomla 1.7 - Showed it to the client for review, Thought he will be happy but he got mad on me because of insanely hard to translate contents and managing it.

It was my birthday on 17-oct and i was sitting sad, suddenly a new extension appeared on Joomla extensions list, Called Falang.

I thought to gave it try and Boom it worked perfect for me. Instructions on the website we very clear.

And in the last i really like to Thank the Developer for my birthday Gift. :)
2011-10-20
Reviews: 2
It is fantastic that someone is finally adapting JoomFish for J1.7.

I have been developing multilingual sites using JoomFish since J1.0. Currently our J1.5 homepage is translated into 13 languages. I am not a professional developer, but an amateur who has built about half a dozen joomla sites for my own projects on J1.0, J1.5, J1.6 and now J1.7.

Currently FaLang is in Beta, which means there are issues (see below), but my testing during the last two days has been positive, and I will continue to use it.

ABOUT J1.7 CORE MULTI-LINGUAL SITES

The J1.7 core multi-lingual implementation is unsatisfactory because it basically means creating and maintaining a parallel web site for each language.

In J1.7 There are no connections between translated articles and the originals, which makes it difficult for editors to keep track of what is translated and what is not translated. It makes it difficult for readers because they cannot switch to another language without bouncing back to the main menu point or homepage (depending on how you set it up). This might mean that a user gets confused, and frustrated because they cannot find the content they want.

Although this system is workable for two or three languages, it becomes impossible to keep track of sites that are translated into a multitude of languages, so it is not an option for us.

WHY FALANG IS BETTER

joomfish/falang has an excellent multilingual management system that has developed over the years. Anyone who has used joomfish knows how easy it is to manage translations.

It stores the translations in a dedicated table, and this is the only logical (normalized) and scaleable way to store the data.

There are many great reviews of JoomFish, so I will not get into more detail, other than that this component is absolutely mission critical to the Joomla community, and it is fantastic that someone has taken up the torch.

BETA ISSUES

The developer has been very quick in helping me (response time measured in hours) get the beta version up and running on our site.

His instructions are clear, and installation was easy for someone who knows a bit about joomla.

While installing it, we found conflicts with JoomSEF (Artio) and JCK editor. Neither crashed the system, but to get FaLang to work properly, I had to turn off JoomSEF and stop using JCK.

I am confident that these problems will be ironed out quickly. I remember when Joomfish was starting out for J1.0, they had a lot of conflict issues with the SEF modules, but together both teams sorted these out.

JoomSEF is still working on resolving issues with the J1.7 core multilingual implementation, and there are already forum threads on the Artio site about this, so I am confident that this issue will be resolved soon.

I love the JCK editor, and I expect this will be resolved too, but can live without it if need be.

FUNTIONALITY

FaLang is currently a stripped down version of JoomFish 2.1.7. It does the basics, but does not have a plugin API, or a statistics module. This is not a problem for us, as we have not used these in the past.

CONCLUSION

It is great news for the Joomla community that this critical component is now available for J1.7. Stéphane has been helpful, and I can recommend this component to anyone with a reasonable understanding of Joomla.

There are some problems, but because FaLang is currently in Beta, this is to be expected. The developer is enthusiastic, and I am looking forward to seeing the last problems being sorted out soon.
Page 10 of 10