The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.4.0
+ add joomla 3.3 compatibility
+ add custom path and file type for flag in Falang language switcher
+ fix integration between native multilanguage and falang mix
+ fix sh404 compatiblity
+ fix mijosef compatiblity
+ fix acesef compatiblity
+ add debug params to display translated item.
+ compatible with php 5.4 (remove strict message)
+ add flag (srp-ME)
+ fix quote in title (text) translation
+ k2 extra field field translation (paid version)
+ add rtl support in language switcher module

Report Extension

 

 

2012-01-02
Reviews: 1
Even I did not use multiple-language extensions before, like Falang or Joom!Fish etc, the learning curve for using Falang is short, and developer support is prompt and helpful when there is problem.
I would not hesitate to recommend Falang to anyone who is looking for easy multiple-lanaguage solutions.
2011-12-29
Reviews: 16
I've been working with Joomla! for years, but never multi-language like Joomfish, only gTranslate. Multi-lang is inherently complex. The first thing to decide is whether you want automated or manual translation. Joomfish and Falang are for manual translation.
This seems to be a one person effort, and Stephane is doing a great job. As others have noted, he's very responsive to support requests, and building up a FAQ.
The documentation is a work in progress. It sounds like the Joomfish docs should be helpful, because Falang is strongly patterned after Joomfish, but I did not find those docs helpful, I think because the differences between 1.5 and 1.7 multi-lang made it confusing for me.
So, after a little struggle, I have Falang working on a test site. It appears to me that:
-You have to install the Joomla lang packs for your target languages
-You have to make multiple menu items and associate them under Association in the parameters, so that Joomla knows that they are equivalent
Then, you can use Falang to track the completion of your translations, which are missing, and once they are no longer missing, which are good enough to be published.
A stable version is expected very soon.
I am also expecting to start a project which will make it easier to use automated translations as as starting point for the Falang multi-lang versions of articles.
2011-12-24
Reviews: 6
Works perfect with joomla 1.7, great work.
2011-12-23
Reviews: 4
Great extension and awesome support!
Thanks Stéphane.
bpz
2011-12-14
Reviews: 1
Super!
With this esxtension, we can finally use the joomfish skills with joomla 1.7.
Great solution for all users that are not completely satisfied by the localisation system's native of joomla.
The feedbacks for question from developers are very fast
2011-12-12
Reviews: 27
I have to admit being very disappointed with the slow speed at which Joom!Fish was being developed, and when I had a client who needed a 1.7 multilingual site, I had a look around the JED to see what else was available and happened across Falang.

I don't normally use beta extensions on live sites however I've been testing this out for a few weeks and although there are a couple of minor bugs - more of a feature request than a bug, mostly - I've found it to be very stable.

I needed the K2 functionality which many others need, and I noticed someone wrote on a review they had re-done the content plugin to work with K2, so I emailed Stephane and received a copy within a few hours to try out.

I'll definitely be watching the development of this closely, and hope it continues to develop as a strong alternative to Joom!Fish.
2011-12-12
Reviews: 5
Just like Joomfish only for 1.7, works perfect!! Great support also!
2011-12-09
Reviews: 1
Great extension.
Very easy to install and use it.
This extension solved a lot of problems I faced before with multilingual website in 1.7 version.
The support was great as well, fast and helpful replies from creators.
2011-12-08
Reviews: 1
A very great extension! It's very easy to modify it to adapt other languages. I added for my website hungarian. It works perfectly on any languages!
2011-12-05
Reviews: 1
Thank you so much for this helpful extension!
Saves me a lot of precious time.

It would be perfect if it would support url-routing like joomfish does.
2011-12-03
Reviews: 1
Great extension.
I had some problems with the installation, as I didn't know I had to install a second "site language" first, before I could start the translation.
The developer was very helpful and responded quickly to help me. After getting over that hurdle, the extension works great, and translation is a "piece-of-cake".
2011-12-01
Reviews: 4
This is an amazing component / extension.

It is much easier to manage than the new joomla multilanguage option.

Best of all the developer Stéphane replied very quicky with answers to a few questions.

Great work! I highly recommend this language component!
2011-12-01
Reviews: 5
While I'm reviewing this extension its still a Beta, but from what I can say its pretty stable.

It's understandable that it's not there where Joomfish is on the 1.5 (e.g. a language switch will bring you always to the frontpage), but it is already pretty powerfull, and just easier to manage as the new joomla multilanguage option.

Also Stephane replied always absolutly quick, to my E-Mails.

and he gave me the Tip to update from Joomla 1.7.2 to 1.7.3, because with the new Joomla language filter plugin you have the opportunity to turn off the default language Code in the url which ist pretty important for seo
2011-11-29
Reviews: 3
really its good and useful but i don`t know is it my mistake just i cant translate the menus. Everything okay contents modules but after i translate the menus i cant see just showing English.
2011-11-10
Reviews: 2
Translating a whole page it's a huge amount of trouble and every tool that comes to help us in this process is so very welcome, everything is simple, even the tutorial but the response from the support is great, by far the best I've received from any Joomla Plugin team.
2011-11-08
Reviews: 2
I use Falang to make it easier to the website users of my sites to understand the structure. As you know, the new joomla can handle multiple languages, but it is not really user friendly at all.

Falang is THE solution to this headache. You can translate all your content to one place. Very easy install and use.

PLUS! I decided to create a "content element" to translate content from 3th party components. But it came out with a little bug. I received very quick support to help me handle this issu. He came out to me with a solution in 1 day.

Support available in french and english tought! Very cool!
2011-11-05
Reviews: 3
This component is essential in a multilingual site, joomla native solution is a hell if your site has more than 10 or 12 pages, menus, modules, etc. .

Works well, poor compatibility with other extensions if they were compatible with Joomfish. I have adapted the k2 extension to work with Falang.
2011-11-04
Reviews: 1
Where Joomfish stopped, FaLang carries on. Really good extension. Support is fast and personal.
2011-11-04
Reviews: 1
I greatly appreciate your work. I do not want to use the auto content conversion by google.
Its my 1st multi-lingual project and i am unaware of Joomfish
So for the purpose just 2 days back i thought to develop similar striped-down package by which i could store alternative titles in different languages for menus & categories, etc. in the DB and fetch respective titles for the selected language.

But yesterday i found this extension so thought to give it a try. And this is exactly what i needed.
Many thanks Stephane for his work.

But unfortunately this extension is in its early beta so don't know what are the issues/bugs/conflicts it posses.

i request everybody to report any error or missing thing you notice to make this extension stable ASAP.

I got 2 issues:
1. The 'alias' column is missing in the 'falang_content' table.
I save both name & alias for the menuitem but didn't get the alias when i edit the same.
2. getting error "Falang Database driver not enabled" despite all falang extensions are enabled.
2011-10-25
Reviews: 1
Just GREAT!! I´m developing a new website based on Joomla 1.7 and needed to use Joomfish but like this component does not work in Joomla 1.7 I´ve tried FaLang and it just do the work that it´s supposed to do.
The website I´m developing is a simple one, so just has menus, modules and articles. Like right now FaLang translate this things has been a great solution for the translations.
I TOTALLY RECOMMED IT!!
Page 10 of 11