The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.4.0
+ add joomla 3.3 compatibility
+ add custom path and file type for flag in Falang language switcher
+ fix integration between native multilanguage and falang mix
+ fix sh404 compatiblity
+ fix mijosef compatiblity
+ fix acesef compatiblity
+ add debug params to display translated item.
+ compatible with php 5.4 (remove strict message)
+ add flag (srp-ME)
+ fix quote in title (text) translation
+ k2 extra field field translation (paid version)
+ add rtl support in language switcher module

Report Extension

 

 

2012-12-11
Reviews: 8
Great extension and timely support by Stephane. Highly recommended!
2012-12-10
Reviews: 2
I downloaded Falang because I needed it to use with HikaShop. It seems really good. There aren't automatic translations, apart from the basic shopping cart stuff which has been translated by a previous HikaShop user; you translate all the product information yourself so it's done properly as you want and Falang connects the two, or more, language versions. Magic! I had to contact Stephane once and he was helpful and friendly.
2012-12-08
Reviews: 3
Very easy to use translation extension. I purchased the standard version which includes 3 months of support and received extremely quick and helpful replies to my emails.

Thank you Stéphane!
2012-12-05
Reviews: 2
I use this extension in a lot of Joomla web that I create for my customers and I never have any problem. It's full recommend for translation on Joomla 1.7 and above.

I send an Excelent! :)
The developer send to me that the Joomla 3.0 version will be compatible very soon.

Thanks!
2012-12-03
Reviews: 22
This is a fine product for joomla, works and delivers well on this platform just as joomfish,

however K2 is very poorly supported - and i payed good money for two licenses hoping this would be my savior, the program is buggy, for example some of the K2 fields get deleted if you press "apply" and not "save & close",
also it's not compatible with K2store, which is what i bought this for...

All my concerns were emailed and for every mail i got a one sentence reply - "is not supported" or "can't be done". without real answers to my questions... and for some emails i didn't receive any reply, by far my least pleasent experiences dealing with a developer. I am reserved person so i didn't bother to write angry emails, but for a user who bought two licenses within such a short period of time, i would expect more courtesy and attention to my questions,

i made two multilingual k2 sites with store - i'm not a happy puppy, my next project i think i will opt for zoo + zoolingual.
Owner's reply

Hi,

Sorry i don't remember your mail but :
- K2 is full supported (with tweak for custom fields)
- The 100998 of the community don't have an content elmement for Falang your right.
- There are some extension who can't be translated with Falang because there are not compatible, i can't do nothing for that but generaly i write to the developper to make it compatible.

Best regards,
Stéphane

2012-11-27
Reviews: 1
this is a very great service, they help me out. every question gives a good answer and help
2012-11-23
Reviews: 1
we are using falang in several websites. The extension is great, it save us a lot of time. The most important for as is the instant support and Stéphane is there to help us for any question and problem.
2012-11-14
Reviews: 1
it´s a great extension, easy to install and use, works without problem! Highly recommended if you will save your time!
2012-11-13
Reviews: 2
I use Falang to make my community website multilingual. It works very well and I can recommend it. Especially the support is great. This is extremly important for me because I don´t understand about programming and I am new to Joomla. Stephane even helped me out with some problems that were not related to Falang when I was trying to set up the multilingual website.
2012-11-09
Reviews: 8
I've been searching for the translation tool to be equipped onto Joomla 2.5 quiet some time now. Yes, I've tried the famous extension before but this one prove to be more reliable, easy installation and further more the file size itself were small. I'm happy with the extension and I'm too want to give it the Excellent rating. Keep it up guys!
2012-11-06
Reviews: 2
Great extension.
Very easy to install and use.
The developer is very helpful, quick and friendly.
2012-10-24
Reviews: 4
I always worked with Joomfish for Multilanguage Joomla Webpages and was pretty sad to see that a official Version for Joomla 2.5 is not out yet. Then i discovered FALANG and have to say: It's absolutely perfect. It's even easyer to handle than Joomfish and very clear to understand.

I had a small problem so i had to buy the license to get Support from the developer. Very recommended aswell. He helped me quick and clear.
2012-10-15
Reviews: 5
In Joomla 2.5 I was really missing JoomFish, because to be honest I don't like default Joomla translation system.

Thanks to Faboba I can make multilanguage websites with smile on face again.

Just don't forget to install conten plugin, otherwise translated articles won't be displayed in search results. :)
2012-09-18
Reviews: 1
Great component, better then standard Joomla translation manager...

Pro:
1) You can translate article, menu, categories and more from only one page(component); copying layout (images, charcater, type...) from original language (so more speedy respect original joomla system where you need copy and rewrite all content)

2) Free version have only a little link at botton (but in any articles)

Cons:
1) Create translation require backend access
2) Link on bottom in any content (for free version)


In any case good component! Great works!
Five star when allow translation from frontend standard form (an amazing features will be possibility to translate from original joomla input article's forms in site frontend)
2012-09-13
Reviews: 1
I've worked with joomfish in the past. Although that worked well, it was a difficult product to explain and maintain for clients.

Forced by the unavailibity for 2.5 I looked into other products. Falang is simple to use, easy to install and when I hit a snag Stephane was quick to help and solved it in no time!
2012-09-11
Reviews: 9
A big Merci to you Stephane for giving me prompt support even though my support subscription plan had already expired. This is a very useful component and will serve my client well for switching from English to Danish. Thank you
2012-09-03
Reviews: 3
Installed without any problem and works exactly as advertised. If yoy are used to Joomfish, this one will have no secrets for you. Good documentation.
2012-08-28
Reviews: 1
If you are used to working with JoomFish you will surely appreciate Falang! The way of working is very similar.

Support replies quick and with straight forward answers!

It could use some small improvements on eg filtering. We posted a mail to Stephane, and the next release probably contains this feature.

We love this software!
2012-08-10
Reviews: 24
Falang is the Joomfish of 2.5. It work.

But I have some major concerns...

1— This takes over completely or in parts the new integrated Joomla system that is EXCELLENT, but really complex (too complex) to operate for the normal site owner. Remember that from this day on this integrated system WILL be part of all future Joomla versions and Component and add-ons creator will implement for the integrated system first.

2— The worst (for me anyway), and seem to be kept quiet (Not mention as a pre-required here?), is that Search engines will see only the default language as valid. You HAVE NO CHOICE to install something like JoomSEF or any other of those invasive components to have a multilingual, SEO adequate, professional site.

Those 2 points alone make me doubt that we have a practical solution here. Sorry.
2012-08-03
Reviews: 2
I love how much freedom this extension gives you. You can translate what ever you want... It works great.
The only major thing i found with the way it works is that you have to manually make changes whenever your content changes, but i guess i can live with that...

Thanks.
Page 5 of 11