The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.4.0
+ add joomla 3.3 compatibility
+ add custom path and file type for flag in Falang language switcher
+ fix integration between native multilanguage and falang mix
+ fix sh404 compatiblity
+ fix mijosef compatiblity
+ fix acesef compatiblity
+ add debug params to display translated item.
+ compatible with php 5.4 (remove strict message)
+ add flag (srp-ME)
+ fix quote in title (text) translation
+ k2 extra field field translation (paid version)
+ add rtl support in language switcher module

Report Extension

 

 

2012-11-27
Reviews: 1
this is a very great service, they help me out. every question gives a good answer and help
2012-11-23
Reviews: 1
we are using falang in several websites. The extension is great, it save us a lot of time. The most important for as is the instant support and Stéphane is there to help us for any question and problem.
2012-11-14
Reviews: 1
it´s a great extension, easy to install and use, works without problem! Highly recommended if you will save your time!
2012-11-13
Reviews: 2
I use Falang to make my community website multilingual. It works very well and I can recommend it. Especially the support is great. This is extremly important for me because I don´t understand about programming and I am new to Joomla. Stephane even helped me out with some problems that were not related to Falang when I was trying to set up the multilingual website.
2012-11-09
Reviews: 5
I've been searching for the translation tool to be equipped onto Joomla 2.5 quiet some time now. Yes, I've tried the famous extension before but this one prove to be more reliable, easy installation and further more the file size itself were small. I'm happy with the extension and I'm too want to give it the Excellent rating. Keep it up guys!
2012-11-06
Reviews: 2
Great extension.
Very easy to install and use.
The developer is very helpful, quick and friendly.
2012-10-24
Reviews: 4
I always worked with Joomfish for Multilanguage Joomla Webpages and was pretty sad to see that a official Version for Joomla 2.5 is not out yet. Then i discovered FALANG and have to say: It's absolutely perfect. It's even easyer to handle than Joomfish and very clear to understand.

I had a small problem so i had to buy the license to get Support from the developer. Very recommended aswell. He helped me quick and clear.
2012-10-15
Reviews: 5
In Joomla 2.5 I was really missing JoomFish, because to be honest I don't like default Joomla translation system.

Thanks to Faboba I can make multilanguage websites with smile on face again.

Just don't forget to install conten plugin, otherwise translated articles won't be displayed in search results. :)
2012-09-18
Reviews: 1
Great component, better then standard Joomla translation manager...

Pro:
1) You can translate article, menu, categories and more from only one page(component); copying layout (images, charcater, type...) from original language (so more speedy respect original joomla system where you need copy and rewrite all content)

2) Free version have only a little link at botton (but in any articles)

Cons:
1) Create translation require backend access
2) Link on bottom in any content (for free version)


In any case good component! Great works!
Five star when allow translation from frontend standard form (an amazing features will be possibility to translate from original joomla input article's forms in site frontend)
2012-09-13
Reviews: 1
I've worked with joomfish in the past. Although that worked well, it was a difficult product to explain and maintain for clients.

Forced by the unavailibity for 2.5 I looked into other products. Falang is simple to use, easy to install and when I hit a snag Stephane was quick to help and solved it in no time!
2012-09-11
Reviews: 9
A big Merci to you Stephane for giving me prompt support even though my support subscription plan had already expired. This is a very useful component and will serve my client well for switching from English to Danish. Thank you
2012-09-03
Reviews: 3
Installed without any problem and works exactly as advertised. If yoy are used to Joomfish, this one will have no secrets for you. Good documentation.
2012-08-28
Reviews: 1
If you are used to working with JoomFish you will surely appreciate Falang! The way of working is very similar.

Support replies quick and with straight forward answers!

It could use some small improvements on eg filtering. We posted a mail to Stephane, and the next release probably contains this feature.

We love this software!
2012-08-10
Reviews: 24
Falang is the Joomfish of 2.5. It work.

But I have some major concerns...

1— This takes over completely or in parts the new integrated Joomla system that is EXCELLENT, but really complex (too complex) to operate for the normal site owner. Remember that from this day on this integrated system WILL be part of all future Joomla versions and Component and add-ons creator will implement for the integrated system first.

2— The worst (for me anyway), and seem to be kept quiet (Not mention as a pre-required here?), is that Search engines will see only the default language as valid. You HAVE NO CHOICE to install something like JoomSEF or any other of those invasive components to have a multilingual, SEO adequate, professional site.

Those 2 points alone make me doubt that we have a practical solution here. Sorry.
2012-08-03
Reviews: 2
I love how much freedom this extension gives you. You can translate what ever you want... It works great.
The only major thing i found with the way it works is that you have to manually make changes whenever your content changes, but i guess i can live with that...

Thanks.
2012-07-29
Reviews: 2
I love your work. This is a very powerful yet simple to use.
Thanks.
2012-07-26
Reviews: 2
This is hands down the best solution in order to translate a Joomla 2.5 website. It is very easy to use and provides an excellent system to managing all of your translations, whether it's articles, menus, modules, etc. I can't even begin to imagine managing a 3+ language site without this plugin.

The only problem that you might face is trying to translate the alias field for SEO links, but even that can be fixed by altering the menu.xml file in the plugin.
2012-07-25
Reviews: 1
I am using Falang in developing the new version of my website and so far I am very positively impressed.I am old school guy in software industry and quite familiar with webdevelopment design and principles but I am new user with joomla.

Before start commenting on the software itself, i have to say that support (Stephane) is exellent. It has been proved so far very fast and effective in fixing any issue arise, and I have to say i feel safe to have this kind of backup when it comes on using any software in my platform.

I have to say that translation work is a breeze (done very easy), it is well organised, even for people like me that have no experience with Joomfish (after all falang is a fork of Joomfish for 2.5, thus very similar) the interface is very easy to learn and use. Above all, when adding a big number of languages the translation work stays well organised, without unecessary repetitions and chaos in module menus (as done with the Joomla 2.5 build in function)

For all you guys that have been around the corner long enough to have worked with joomfish, you need to know the work is done exactly the same way.

One difference with joomfish is the sef translation is not available (I am not sure if this is needed anymore for SEO purposes, at least for Google, but maybe usefull if you upgrade from erlier version of Joomla/Joomfish).

Second difference is you dont have front end ability for translations, however this feature is very specialised need.

Anyway with Joomla 3,0 around the corner you anyway need a plugin that can follow the developments. I am very happy this functionality exists - keep on doing good job guys!
2012-07-25
Reviews: 33
I have used Falang for a consulting companies website and I have to say, that modules can't be translated. Only the titles can be. The content of a module (custom HTML and all the others) can't be multilingual. It is of utmost importance that this feature will be added.

Thanks in advance for doing so
Owner's reply

It's wrong , this function was added 3 months ago

Stéphane

2012-07-24
Reviews: 2
Falang is a best translation solution for Joomla 2.5. Very simple to use, effective and has everything I need. Support is quick and accurate..no problems at all.
Page 5 of 11