The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without losing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.3. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.3

1.4.5
+ fix 5.4 php warning message on publish item in the list
+ fix front-end bug
+ add frontedit param's in content element file

Report Extension

 

 

2012-10-15
Reviews: 5
In Joomla 2.5 I was really missing JoomFish, because to be honest I don't like default Joomla translation system.

Thanks to Faboba I can make multilanguage websites with smile on face again.

Just don't forget to install conten plugin, otherwise translated articles won't be displayed in search results. :)
2012-09-18
Reviews: 1
Great component, better then standard Joomla translation manager...

Pro:
1) You can translate article, menu, categories and more from only one page(component); copying layout (images, charcater, type...) from original language (so more speedy respect original joomla system where you need copy and rewrite all content)

2) Free version have only a little link at botton (but in any articles)

Cons:
1) Create translation require backend access
2) Link on bottom in any content (for free version)


In any case good component! Great works!
Five star when allow translation from frontend standard form (an amazing features will be possibility to translate from original joomla input article's forms in site frontend)
2012-09-13
Reviews: 1
I've worked with joomfish in the past. Although that worked well, it was a difficult product to explain and maintain for clients.

Forced by the unavailibity for 2.5 I looked into other products. Falang is simple to use, easy to install and when I hit a snag Stephane was quick to help and solved it in no time!
2012-09-11
Reviews: 8
A big Merci to you Stephane for giving me prompt support even though my support subscription plan had already expired. This is a very useful component and will serve my client well for switching from English to Danish. Thank you
2012-09-03
Reviews: 3
Installed without any problem and works exactly as advertised. If yoy are used to Joomfish, this one will have no secrets for you. Good documentation.
2012-08-28
Reviews: 1
If you are used to working with JoomFish you will surely appreciate Falang! The way of working is very similar.

Support replies quick and with straight forward answers!

It could use some small improvements on eg filtering. We posted a mail to Stephane, and the next release probably contains this feature.

We love this software!
2012-08-10
Reviews: 24
Falang is the Joomfish of 2.5. It work.

But I have some major concerns...

1— This takes over completely or in parts the new integrated Joomla system that is EXCELLENT, but really complex (too complex) to operate for the normal site owner. Remember that from this day on this integrated system WILL be part of all future Joomla versions and Component and add-ons creator will implement for the integrated system first.

2— The worst (for me anyway), and seem to be kept quiet (Not mention as a pre-required here?), is that Search engines will see only the default language as valid. You HAVE NO CHOICE to install something like JoomSEF or any other of those invasive components to have a multilingual, SEO adequate, professional site.

Those 2 points alone make me doubt that we have a practical solution here. Sorry.
2012-08-03
Reviews: 2
I love how much freedom this extension gives you. You can translate what ever you want... It works great.
The only major thing i found with the way it works is that you have to manually make changes whenever your content changes, but i guess i can live with that...

Thanks.
2012-07-29
Reviews: 2
I love your work. This is a very powerful yet simple to use.
Thanks.
2012-07-26
Reviews: 2
This is hands down the best solution in order to translate a Joomla 2.5 website. It is very easy to use and provides an excellent system to managing all of your translations, whether it's articles, menus, modules, etc. I can't even begin to imagine managing a 3+ language site without this plugin.

The only problem that you might face is trying to translate the alias field for SEO links, but even that can be fixed by altering the menu.xml file in the plugin.
2012-07-25
Reviews: 1
I am using Falang in developing the new version of my website and so far I am very positively impressed.I am old school guy in software industry and quite familiar with webdevelopment design and principles but I am new user with joomla.

Before start commenting on the software itself, i have to say that support (Stephane) is exellent. It has been proved so far very fast and effective in fixing any issue arise, and I have to say i feel safe to have this kind of backup when it comes on using any software in my platform.

I have to say that translation work is a breeze (done very easy), it is well organised, even for people like me that have no experience with Joomfish (after all falang is a fork of Joomfish for 2.5, thus very similar) the interface is very easy to learn and use. Above all, when adding a big number of languages the translation work stays well organised, without unecessary repetitions and chaos in module menus (as done with the Joomla 2.5 build in function)

For all you guys that have been around the corner long enough to have worked with joomfish, you need to know the work is done exactly the same way.

One difference with joomfish is the sef translation is not available (I am not sure if this is needed anymore for SEO purposes, at least for Google, but maybe usefull if you upgrade from erlier version of Joomla/Joomfish).

Second difference is you dont have front end ability for translations, however this feature is very specialised need.

Anyway with Joomla 3,0 around the corner you anyway need a plugin that can follow the developments. I am very happy this functionality exists - keep on doing good job guys!
2012-07-25
Reviews: 35
I have used Falang for a consulting companies website and I have to say, that modules can't be translated. Only the titles can be. The content of a module (custom HTML and all the others) can't be multilingual. It is of utmost importance that this feature will be added.

Thanks in advance for doing so
Owner's reply

It's wrong , this function was added 3 months ago

Stéphane

2012-07-24
Reviews: 2
Falang is a best translation solution for Joomla 2.5. Very simple to use, effective and has everything I need. Support is quick and accurate..no problems at all.
2012-07-22
Reviews: 8
If you're building a multilingiual website then this is an absolute MUST HAVE!

I have used this package since it's conception and I have to say it's made my life a whole lot easier.

It works great 'right out of the box' and lets me use Joomla 2.5 to it's MAX.

Thanks Stéphane for your great work and support!
2012-07-20
Reviews: 2
As a Canada-wide company that must provide all communications in English and French and the developer of their new (huge) HR webite, I was worried about being able to find a solution to our multi-language challenge. I’m thrilled to say I found exactly what I was looking for in FaLang. It’s very easy to set up and use, and if you have a few bumps along the way, the email support is awesome.

Stéphane, I don’t think you charge enough for your product! Thank you so much – your creation will save me countless hours and I truly appreciate it.
2012-07-13
Reviews: 1
It saves time ! really. easy to use. GREAT ;)
2012-07-10
Reviews: 1
This extension saves you a lot of time and makes it much easier to handle translations. Information and support from developer is also excellent. Thank you so much!
2012-07-09
Reviews: 2
After have a problem, there was a very quick service response with the solution: "upgrade to the latest version."
Works now great with Joomla 2.5.6.
2012-07-08
Reviews: 5
Falang is a JoomFish fork at its best. This is the shortest and most flexible road to a well written component to manage a sustainable multi-language website in Joomla 2.5.x to date.
2012-07-04
Reviews: 20
I was getting very frustrated at the slow responsiveness of the Joomfish team as regards to Joomla! 2.5 and gave this extension a try for a project that could not wait. I am happy to report that I am no longer waiting for the Joomfish update. FALANG works perfectly and does everything I need it to.
Page 6 of 11