The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.4.0
+ add joomla 3.3 compatibility
+ add custom path and file type for flag in Falang language switcher
+ fix integration between native multilanguage and falang mix
+ fix sh404 compatiblity
+ fix mijosef compatiblity
+ fix acesef compatiblity
+ add debug params to display translated item.
+ compatible with php 5.4 (remove strict message)
+ add flag (srp-ME)
+ fix quote in title (text) translation
+ k2 extra field field translation (paid version)
+ add rtl support in language switcher module

Report Extension

 

 

2012-05-28
Reviews: 2
Great extension, better support! Totally recommend it! (now i'm glad joomfish for j2.5.x is delayed)
2012-05-28
Reviews: 2
Falang installed and is running well on Joomla 2.5.4. I am also using HikaShop eCommerce and have not run into any conflicts. Stephane was quick to respond to my email with support as well. Don't wait for Joomfish... this works well and it works now.
2012-05-22
Reviews: 2
Great Multi lingual support! Replacement for joomfish on joomla 2.5! Really great support and very fast!!! Thanks a lot Stephane!!!
2012-05-22
Reviews: 5
It really is excellent extension. Everything is easy, similiar to Joomfish. Also when I want to add some extra thigns to translate (Contact etc) Stephane answered via email very quick, in few hours. Compliments to Stephane, really good extension.
2012-05-21
Reviews: 8
We are now developing a multilingual site for a company where people are not so technically oriented and looked for an easier to use alternative to Joomla built-in translation system.
That's how I discovered Falang, and I must say the author has made a great job here.
If you used Joomfish before you will feel at home with Falang. The interface is even cleaner and easier to use than its predecessor Joomfish.
The instructions to setup the component are very clear, and eventually everything works 100% as expected.
One (simple) thing not to forget: Publish the System - Language Filter plug-in otherwise translations wont work. I found myself struggling for half an hour with this. But this is clearly explained in the setup instructions, 100% my fault, I should have read them ;)
Thanks again for the excellent work
2012-05-17
Reviews: 2
Like others waited a long time for a new Joomfish version. Falang delivered exactly what they promised. Stephane provided super fast support in helping me setting this up.
Thanks Stephane!
Paul
2012-05-14
Reviews: 6
Good but there is a problem with html code being stripped.

In the original article I can insert html tags 'style' since it's not in the blacklist.
But FaLang seems to ignore blacklist or whitelist settings and strip my tags...

Even as a superadmin (with no filtering at all) I can't insert a 'style' tag in a FaLang translation.

I've tried to edit the joomla blacklist's file but FaLang doesn't seems to rely on it since it always strips.
2012-05-10
Reviews: 1
La Fang Works fine and Stephane was very quick for support.
2012-05-03
Reviews: 1
We waited for *months* for a Joomfish release.
Finally we decided to use Falang instead.
We are using it for several websites, it's working very well and Sthephane is readily available for any technical issue. We are very happy with it!
2012-05-02
Reviews: 1
I 've used joomfish before, but because it wasn't available of the newest joomla I downloaded FaLang and hey.. .I'm not dissapointed, even liking it a lot.

Makes me almost feel that I'm working with Joomfish. :-)

Bless
2012-05-02
Reviews: 3
I tried to use Joomfish with Joomla 2.5 , and was impossible.

Then, I tried Falang, and thanks to the excellent support of Stephane, It worked fast.

ps: it is a good idea to do the install in English in the backend, to find the right plugin to active it.
2012-05-01
Reviews: 66
I was hired to build a government site that needed both English and French versions. Falang made the translation process a breeze - I first built the English version of the site, and then I was able to manage the entire translation from this one component. Works perfectly for me in Joomla 2.5.
2012-04-30
Reviews: 3
Great extension. It worked great, simply and diectly. The only think I do not like is a phrase "Falang translation system by Faboba" which is shown in my homepage.
Owner's reply

The free version have this bottom link
You need to buy a license for this (basic or standard)

2012-04-27
Reviews: 1
After waiting for months for a Joomla 2.5 compatible version of Joomfish which was expected within a few weeks in January 2012, I decided to try Falang.
I have to say the looks and feel are almost like the Old Joomfish.
I encountered spome problems when migrating the JoomFish content to Falang.
But Stéphane gave me a very quick solution (within one day !) for the problem. Thank you very very much. He is working on a migration tool to migrate Joomfish to Falang.

At the moment there's just one smaller problem, the "Recently Changed" module doesn't seem to work an only shows articles in the original (Dutch) Language and none in the English language.
2012-04-26
Reviews: 5
Hi,

I'm giving up after several installation attempts, I carefully followed the instructions but I can't see anything showing up in translation area of the component no menus, no categories, no content.
Therefore I declare this useless.
What's really bugging me is that there're no valid non-commercial alternatives around for joomla 2.5.
Owner's reply

You probably don't follow well the documentation. you can write me to fix your problem.

2012-04-25
Reviews: 6
A great component, very well done!
Also, something very very fast and very nice!
For your translations of sites is Falang!
2012-04-24
Reviews: 4
Thanks to Stéphane for this great extension! As easy as Joomfish was on J1.5 and much better than the integrated multi-language-solution in J2.5.

And by the way: He's also providing lots of help.
DiZ
2012-04-16
Reviews: 1
Using this module I found many bugs:
1. Sometimes edited content not saved (if you edit in html mode and press save - changed content not saved, you must switch off html mode and then it work).
2. Sometimes I saw several records in falang component to one content and I can edit any of them but result will be the same.
3. Sometimes I can't switch on publishing check, but content has been published.
4. Joomla create single link to home page in any languages and native switcher works correctly with this links (then I click to domain.com, it go to domain.com/lang page), but falang switcher don't work properly and it go to default language page.
5. Custom controls can't be edited in falang
Last update was been several months ago and I don't recommended use this control until author fix this errors.
Owner's reply

All your problem are very strange because it's never happens to any user.
Are you sure your joomla installation is well done ?
Look at the other reviews.

2012-04-13
Reviews: 1
Working now for years with joomfish and tried this component because joomfish miss by oversleeping to support j2.5.

I´m happy to find this component and invest some bucks for it. This component is easy to install, leightweight, easy to handle and the support is great. Keep up the good work Stéphane... Cheers, Elvis
2012-04-11
Reviews: 1
This extension is awesome! So much better than JoomFish IMHO. Easy to install, a breeze to manage. Only downside: only Super Users (2.5) has access to the component :( So I emailed Stephane - and he replied within 20 minutes - asking for advice and then he sent me a couple of extra files to unlock the permission tabs for FaLang. Problem solved! Great support!
Thanks a million!
Page 7 of 11