The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

New to the 1.3.0 version, url translation without other tools.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.3.2 (09/12/2013)
+ change 'content' is now 'article' in backend in the dropdown
+ add more flags for module falang (same as Joomla 3.2)
+ add copy button for menu link type (use to change menu type)
+ default language (set this on falang and not in joomla > basic)
+ fix translation typo error on backend
+ cpanel message change
+ add downloadid system to allow direct update from joomla
+ fix bug on translation on some module with validation. (ex ja_slideshow)
+ add previous unused method for mijosef compatibily.
+ k2 extra field (for commercial version)
+ k2 update - content element (for extra field translation)
+ remove root menu in the menu translation view

Report Extension

 

 

2012-04-27
Reviews: 1
After waiting for months for a Joomla 2.5 compatible version of Joomfish which was expected within a few weeks in January 2012, I decided to try Falang.
I have to say the looks and feel are almost like the Old Joomfish.
I encountered spome problems when migrating the JoomFish content to Falang.
But Stéphane gave me a very quick solution (within one day !) for the problem. Thank you very very much. He is working on a migration tool to migrate Joomfish to Falang.

At the moment there's just one smaller problem, the "Recently Changed" module doesn't seem to work an only shows articles in the original (Dutch) Language and none in the English language.
2012-04-26
Reviews: 5
Hi,

I'm giving up after several installation attempts, I carefully followed the instructions but I can't see anything showing up in translation area of the component no menus, no categories, no content.
Therefore I declare this useless.
What's really bugging me is that there're no valid non-commercial alternatives around for joomla 2.5.
Owner's reply

You probably don't follow well the documentation. you can write me to fix your problem.

2012-04-25
Reviews: 6
A great component, very well done!
Also, something very very fast and very nice!
For your translations of sites is Falang!
2012-04-24
Reviews: 3
Thanks to Stéphane for this great extension! As easy as Joomfish was on J1.5 and much better than the integrated multi-language-solution in J2.5.

And by the way: He's also providing lots of help.
DiZ
2012-04-16
Reviews: 1
Using this module I found many bugs:
1. Sometimes edited content not saved (if you edit in html mode and press save - changed content not saved, you must switch off html mode and then it work).
2. Sometimes I saw several records in falang component to one content and I can edit any of them but result will be the same.
3. Sometimes I can't switch on publishing check, but content has been published.
4. Joomla create single link to home page in any languages and native switcher works correctly with this links (then I click to domain.com, it go to domain.com/lang page), but falang switcher don't work properly and it go to default language page.
5. Custom controls can't be edited in falang
Last update was been several months ago and I don't recommended use this control until author fix this errors.
Owner's reply

All your problem are very strange because it's never happens to any user.
Are you sure your joomla installation is well done ?
Look at the other reviews.

2012-04-13
Reviews: 1
Working now for years with joomfish and tried this component because joomfish miss by oversleeping to support j2.5.

I´m happy to find this component and invest some bucks for it. This component is easy to install, leightweight, easy to handle and the support is great. Keep up the good work Stéphane... Cheers, Elvis
2012-04-11
Reviews: 1
This extension is awesome! So much better than JoomFish IMHO. Easy to install, a breeze to manage. Only downside: only Super Users (2.5) has access to the component :( So I emailed Stephane - and he replied within 20 minutes - asking for advice and then he sent me a couple of extra files to unlock the permission tabs for FaLang. Problem solved! Great support!
Thanks a million!
2012-04-11
Reviews: 1
I had some problems with my hosting and this extension, but with the very good and very fast support I get from falang,now all is solved.

Thank a lot stéphane !
2012-04-09
Reviews: 5
After struggling with the new Joomla 2.5 lang support I found this extension and thought lets give it a try.
So I went ahaed and spent the 35Euro and I have to say, this extension is worth every cent. Not only does Stephan do a incredible job answering support questions - within 30minutes i got an answer - but also Falang supports the native lang feature
So i could resolve my troubles simply by cloning the modules and add them to the specific language, without doing any additional hacking etc.

This is way better then using the native Joomla language solution, especially if you have a huge site, cause it wil make your life so much easier

Therefore 5* Start from me

Keep up the good work

Louis
2012-04-09
Reviews: 3
I have installed this extension because of switching a multi-language site from J1.5 to J2.5. Stépahne helps me to migrate the old content of a Joomfish table and it works like a charm now. Thank you for the awesome support and tool!
2012-03-30
Reviews: 1
Extension fantastic !
Support incredible !
Thank a lot stéphane !
2012-03-27
Reviews: 1
Since Joomfish i was waiting for this. Great component and very good support. Fast and great. I just can say, its a must have. Thanks to the Falang team.
2012-03-24
Reviews: 2
It's in the title, the extension worked perfectly, and the support is excellent. Just had to send a mail, and the solved my issue. since Joomfish doesn't exists for joomla! 1.7, i tried this one, and bought it. It realy works good !
2012-03-17
Reviews: 7
A must have for multilingual sites.

Had the J! team included natively easy to use language views and life would be easier for webmasters...but they didn't and Falang is the free answer, although totally bypassing J! native language management.

At the present stage, Falang is the simplest free way of managing multilingual sites effectively. Simple, organized, straighforward, just like any good CMS component should be.

To become perfect, Falang just needs some extra automation:
- Bing/Google automatic translation button / cron (like MissintgT)
- Some information on creating content elements, so the community can start adding external modules
- Frontend editing

Overall, at present, the must have for J!2.5 multilingual management
2012-03-16
Reviews: 1
Everything was working apart from the menus. Contacted Stéphane late on a Friday, not expecting a response until Monday, and before I knew it my problem was fixed (the driver plugin needed to be ordered before a conflicting plugin). The standard edition is worth it!
2012-03-16
Reviews: 2
Amazing support, great product, very deserving of further development. Falang accomplishes the fastest method for Joomla 2.5 multilingual, where no other plug-in is capable.

This developer should be given an army of programmers! Plus the name is hilarious, if you've ever been to Thailand...
2012-03-15
Reviews: 1
Ok this seems to be the only solution for a multilingual site because Joomfish seems to have stuck in 1.5. We had some problems with the configuration but the developers replied quickly and our problems were solved. It is a must for a site translation although some components may not be supported. Thank you for this wonderful extension
2012-03-15
Reviews: 46
Easy to use.
I'm using it for English/ Welsh school site.
The welsh language file for joomla currently doesn't exist.
The developer helped me create a language file to get the site and component working.
The support is excellent.
Component is fantastic to use, showing you pages you have converted and which ones you need to do.
Simple for frontend users, click a flag to change language.
This is for sure the easiest method i have found for language options on Joomla 2.5
Developer is super helpful and replies to emails quickly.
Component is fantastic !!
2012-03-13
Reviews: 1
If you have Joomla 2.5 and if you need multilanguage fot it, use Falang! Easy to translate, this component is very fantastic. Special mention to Stéphane, a great developper who answer to all your questions. Great job!
2012-03-13
Reviews: 2
Quick and easy, I translated everything as I want, k2 supported.
The Support from Stéphane is very very very fast !
Page 7 of 10