The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without losing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.3. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.3

1.4.4
+ fix front-end message on successfull save.
+ fix order number problem in hikashop and front-end edition.
+ set different message for free and paid version for front-end edition.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-06-21
Reviews: 1
I downloaded the free version first to see if it worked in my site, and it was great! much easier to use than joomfish, I had my site translated in record time. It does exactly what it promises. I bought the standard version to take away the credits at the bottom of the page afterwards. A couple of days ago I upgraded Joomla and it stopped working, but Stephane answered my mail immediately and released a new version the next day. Great support! I warmly recommend this extension and the developer!
2012-06-21
Reviews: 1
FaLang is the best solution for translation. Great support very fast.
Thanks a lot Stephane!
2012-06-21
Reviews: 7
This works really well. I had a problem using it but it seemed that I installed the wrong version.
Support answered whitin a few hours. Problem solved.
I must say that it works more intuitive than joomfish or the joomla core extension.
Great piece of work !!!
2012-06-12
Reviews: 1
I've to thank to Stéphane for his great FaLang. Its the best solution for translation with quick and pleasant support. I had questions for translating VirtueMart and quickly Stéphane had a solution for it.
Great thanks
thorpi
2012-06-12
Reviews: 4
On a first look falang looks like Joomfish. And indeed functionality is very similar.
Also moving form joomfish isn't a big effort (ther's a tutorial on the developer page).

First difference is: Falang does not support frontend edition!

Second difference - and that's the reason I'm not using it so far: sef url functionality is not supported. While joomfish used the translated menu alias to build the url in falang the url always is in the default language. Like that
-If I move from Joomla 1.5 my content isn't available under the same url -> very bad!!!
-my url is always in the same language -> not good for search engines

A hack in the core files lets you fix that (translating the url) but then the language switcher module doesn't work anymore (and that's definitely not what I'm looking for). Also I have to translate the whole url instead of only the menu alias.

If you don't care about seo or if you do seo with an additional tool falang may be great. No - it is great. And I'm quite sure the developer will add the functionality with the menu alias and then this extension is even better.
2012-06-10
Reviews: 1
Falang is doubtlessly one of the best translation systems out there. After a short play with a free version, I've experienced some problems and Stephane helped me to solve everything in one day! This extension is much more simpler to use than the default Joomla system and actually, any other I've used before (this also includes JoomFish)... There should certainly be more developers and extensions like this one! I strongly recommend using this extension where support is 100% guaranteed and on time! After everything, I've also decided to buy a standard version - BIG LIKE for the extension/developer...
If there'll be other extensions similar to this one, I would definitely use/buy them - thanks!
2012-06-09
Reviews: 2
I used to use JoomFish and was very disappointed when it appeared to stop being developed. The choice seemed to be stay at Joomla 1.5 or upgrade and drop multi-lingual support. Then I found Falang and it was great. Generating a multi-lingual site is so easy and Falang just works.

Thank you Stephane for a great product.
2012-05-28
Reviews: 2
Great extension, better support! Totally recommend it! (now i'm glad joomfish for j2.5.x is delayed)
2012-05-28
Reviews: 2
Falang installed and is running well on Joomla 2.5.4. I am also using HikaShop eCommerce and have not run into any conflicts. Stephane was quick to respond to my email with support as well. Don't wait for Joomfish... this works well and it works now.
2012-05-22
Reviews: 2
Great Multi lingual support! Replacement for joomfish on joomla 2.5! Really great support and very fast!!! Thanks a lot Stephane!!!
2012-05-22
Reviews: 5
It really is excellent extension. Everything is easy, similiar to Joomfish. Also when I want to add some extra thigns to translate (Contact etc) Stephane answered via email very quick, in few hours. Compliments to Stephane, really good extension.
2012-05-21
Reviews: 8
We are now developing a multilingual site for a company where people are not so technically oriented and looked for an easier to use alternative to Joomla built-in translation system.
That's how I discovered Falang, and I must say the author has made a great job here.
If you used Joomfish before you will feel at home with Falang. The interface is even cleaner and easier to use than its predecessor Joomfish.
The instructions to setup the component are very clear, and eventually everything works 100% as expected.
One (simple) thing not to forget: Publish the System - Language Filter plug-in otherwise translations wont work. I found myself struggling for half an hour with this. But this is clearly explained in the setup instructions, 100% my fault, I should have read them ;)
Thanks again for the excellent work
2012-05-17
Reviews: 2
Like others waited a long time for a new Joomfish version. Falang delivered exactly what they promised. Stephane provided super fast support in helping me setting this up.
Thanks Stephane!
Paul
2012-05-14
Reviews: 6
Good but there is a problem with html code being stripped.

In the original article I can insert html tags 'style' since it's not in the blacklist.
But FaLang seems to ignore blacklist or whitelist settings and strip my tags...

Even as a superadmin (with no filtering at all) I can't insert a 'style' tag in a FaLang translation.

I've tried to edit the joomla blacklist's file but FaLang doesn't seems to rely on it since it always strips.
2012-05-10
Reviews: 1
La Fang Works fine and Stephane was very quick for support.
2012-05-03
Reviews: 1
We waited for *months* for a Joomfish release.
Finally we decided to use Falang instead.
We are using it for several websites, it's working very well and Sthephane is readily available for any technical issue. We are very happy with it!
2012-05-02
Reviews: 1
I 've used joomfish before, but because it wasn't available of the newest joomla I downloaded FaLang and hey.. .I'm not dissapointed, even liking it a lot.

Makes me almost feel that I'm working with Joomfish. :-)

Bless
2012-05-02
Reviews: 3
I tried to use Joomfish with Joomla 2.5 , and was impossible.

Then, I tried Falang, and thanks to the excellent support of Stephane, It worked fast.

ps: it is a good idea to do the install in English in the backend, to find the right plugin to active it.
2012-05-01
Reviews: 69
I was hired to build a government site that needed both English and French versions. Falang made the translation process a breeze - I first built the English version of the site, and then I was able to manage the entire translation from this one component. Works perfectly for me in Joomla 2.5.
2012-04-30
Reviews: 3
Great extension. It worked great, simply and diectly. The only think I do not like is a phrase "Falang translation system by Faboba" which is shown in my homepage.
Owner's reply

The free version have this bottom link
You need to buy a license for this (basic or standard)

Page 7 of 11