The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

New to the 1.3.0 version, url translation without other tools.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.3.2 (09/12/2013)
+ change 'content' is now 'article' in backend in the dropdown
+ add more flags for module falang (same as Joomla 3.2)
+ add copy button for menu link type (use to change menu type)
+ default language (set this on falang and not in joomla > basic)
+ fix translation typo error on backend
+ cpanel message change
+ add downloadid system to allow direct update from joomla
+ fix bug on translation on some module with validation. (ex ja_slideshow)
+ add previous unused method for mijosef compatibily.
+ k2 extra field (for commercial version)
+ k2 update - content element (for extra field translation)
+ remove root menu in the menu translation view

Report Extension

 

 

2012-03-13
Reviews: 2
This is an excellent extension since there is no Joomfish available for Joomla 2.5. It;s very easy to set up and saves you a lot of time in comparison with the standard translation option in Joomla 2.5.
The only option I can't find is to display the language based on domain (so .de is german, .fr french, etc.)
2012-03-12
Reviews: 2
Very good extension, works fine, easier than the original, I was having a problem wit this extension, which came from another extension.

I would never have found the issue myself, Stephane went in to our website and corrected the problem.
Good job done !
2012-03-08
Reviews: 4
This extension is a must have for those who relay on muntilingual sites on Joomla 2.5.
Easy, clean and straighforward.
Translations have never been so easy.
Great job Stéphane!
2012-03-07
Reviews: 5
Great support from author. Great extension for anyone who needs multiple languages on a joomla site. 5 stars earned!
2012-03-04
Reviews: 2
hallo!
I was very disappointed as could not find any news regarding JoomFish for Joomla 2.5; by random I found FaLang and now I am very happy!
The support from Stéphane Bouey is just fantastic :-)

please continue supporting this component!
2012-02-29
Reviews: 1
I found FaLang after failing to make a multilingual site using standard Joomla 1.7 and I am so happy!
Quick and easy, I translated everything as I want.
It's very nice and very useful extension!
2012-02-28
Reviews: 1
hello,
I loved this component, I tried at first the free version menus, article and modules have very good market by 5 munites cons I have not succeeded in translating two components (widgetkit and rsform ) but thanks to the support professional stephane I could have my website translated carefree and not even 10 munites! I'm flattered! thank you very much Stephane! it is very pleasant
2012-02-27
Reviews: 1
I developed a couple of websites with Joomla 1.5 and Joomfish. Joomla moved on, Joomfish slowed down and I was left with a problem. I thought there was no alternative to such a consolidated and solid solution like Joomfish.
There are two good news. 1. FaLang is a perfect and simple alternative to manage multilingual sites that just works, and 2. The support is outstanding. Stéphane's quality of support is top notch to the point of raising the question: does that guy ever sleep?
2012-02-27
Reviews: 1
It's what I was looking for since joomfish is not compilant with lastest joomla versions.
It works perfectly when you do the thing correctly.
And more important, Stephane Bouey give a great support to it.

A must to have.
2012-02-23
Reviews: 3
I tried the free version of Falang. I think it is easy to use and that saves you a lot of time because using the Joomla built in translation system is very tedious because you have to duplicate the content for each language. When translating a menu item I had a problem so I contacted the developer. He answered me very soon so I decided to buy the component license. He solved my problem fast and efficiently. I think this extension is a must have for Joomla multilingual sites.
2012-02-22
Reviews: 1
We have used this component on a larger site. It has been published in more than 5 languages. Among these, the following non-western languages: arabic, chinese and russian.

We used the FaLang component and Joomla 2.5.1.

The component has worked out great for us. The support from the author was very fast and responsive.

The component is easy to install and use. We did some adaptions to be able to translate site specific content (event/calendar functions), and didn't encounter any problems in doing so.
2012-02-19
Reviews: 1
In Joomla 2.5 modules can translate only title of modules, but hot any fields in modules. are you in possibilities to repair this bug?
2012-02-17
Reviews: 4
First off, I have used Joomfish for 1.5 sites. Secondly, I did not understand the Joomla 1.7 language pack configuration before I started.

I was really glad to find something to bridge the gap in 1.7. I bought the license because I needed to turn 2 project quickly.

Stephane was really responsive given the time difference. I am in US, she is 12 hours difference... I think.

Falang does not require you enter publish dates.. it does it automatically. So this is better than Joomfish

It installs easily and worked fine out of the box. Stephane's documentation is so easy a beginning Joomla person should have no problem.

Very cool fork! Thank Stephane!
2012-02-17
Reviews: 1
Hello all! First time Im moved to write a review about any extension. I have over 10 years joomla experience, seen many many great extensions, but no matter how good an extension is if the support is bad then the extension is bad also. Tonight, testing this great Joomfish alternative I must say that fullfills all my expectations, and above all, a superb support. As I was testing it I had an issue, and was moved to send an email to the publisher, and incredible, less than 5 minutes later I had a response, 10 mins later everything was fixed by them directly in my site. That's what I call "Good Extension, Great Support". Try it without fears, you won't be dessapointed.
2012-02-17
Reviews: 3
it is a good idea, finally someone is making another component to manage the poor multilingual feature of joomla, the component is growing fast, but it still has some bugs and there is no forum on the website of the developer so there is no way to understand how fix the bugs. I'm having the same bug as the user phoenix011, Falang seems to work well for everything except for the menu items, it doesn't work at all for the menu items.
So I wouldn't say it has a stable release of the component.
Owner's reply

Your review is strange because it's work for everyone with the menu.

2012-02-15
Reviews: 1
Alltogether I am really happy with FaLang.
But today I came accross a really anoying bug. After I translated some menu titles, alias, refreshed the page the translation did not show up!
Everything seems to work ok, I mean, translating content, modules etc, just the menu translation does not work. Please let me know if somebody experiencing the same problem.
Owner's reply

Contact me by mail too fix it.

2012-02-15
Reviews: 1
Everything is in the title, the extension worked perfectly, and the support is excellent. I worked with joomfish before, since it doesn't exists for joomla! 1.7, i tried this one, and bought it. It is easy to use.
Don't hesitate, buy it!
2012-02-08
Reviews: 5
The extension works perfectly, the support is quick and friendly.
Nice to have in the future: frontend editing like in JoomFish. At this stage FaLang only works in the backend. But there it works perfectly!
2012-02-06
Reviews: 10
Im very happy with this !!

Ok, i had to read this time the installation infos on his homepage .. but that was clear and usefull.
That it is based on Joomfish makes all very easy to handle.

GREAT GREAT GREAT !!! Thanx a lot for your contribution and effort !!
2012-02-05
Reviews: 8
I am in touch with Joomla since Limbo/Mambo time and designed/manage several websites (some single language, some multi). As for J1.5 was used JoomFish - IMHO best solution for MultiLang. sites, but starting with J1.6/1.7 and now withJ2.5 I missed this possibilty for MLS "easy to go" management.

Few days ago found FaLang extension and... tried it on J2.5 test installation.
Technically - no problem, installed like a charm and plg setled up withot any problems.
Functionally, rather similar to JoomFish (as it is also stated by Author - it's based on JoomFish), still I missed something (due to some missunderstandings or missreadings of docs) in settings or test site settings and not all worked as I expected. Probably, I missunderstood some features or technical aspects, therefore I wrote an email to Author - Stephane. Same day quick reply with short and direct answers, I got the idea and tested it again - all works as described. Fantastic!

Now, only one aspect I found, that I do not know how to solve in easy way (may be have to read and try more) - can not translate article from another language to default site language (there is no possibility to chose it in translation menu). Thus, I found solution - to translate article to default language from another - change default langugae for translation moment.
May be folks can suggest right way for this.

But! A big thanks to FaLang author for this great app for MLS!
Page 8 of 10