The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FaLang Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Your site in multiple languages in the easiest way. The Falang component allows you to manage all your content translations, even the content of all your components/modules, on your web site.

The component is so flexible that you can easily add new components at a later date and then translate the new content.

With extensions you can translate k2, aiContactSafe, Docman , Redshop, jDownload, phocaDownload ....

The free version has a backlink to faboba site. You can remove it if you upgrade to a basic or standard version without loosing your translations and parameters.

The Free version has no limitation.

Falang doesn't use the default language system of Joomla 2.5 and 3.0. You don't have to specify a language for each content article or menu item (which results in a huge amount of duplication).

Did you ever ask yourself how you can create a multi-lingual website without copying every single item and re-creating them in the new language? Then Falang is one of the possible answers to this problem.

In case of problems look for the solution in that page: falang’s problems resolution


Falang is a fork of Joomfish 2.1.7 which has been re-written to be compatible with Joomla! 2.5 and now Joomla! 3.0.

1.4.0
+ add joomla 3.3 compatibility
+ add custom path and file type for flag in Falang language switcher
+ fix integration between native multilanguage and falang mix
+ fix sh404 compatiblity
+ fix mijosef compatiblity
+ fix acesef compatiblity
+ add debug params to display translated item.
+ compatible with php 5.4 (remove strict message)
+ add flag (srp-ME)
+ fix quote in title (text) translation
+ k2 extra field field translation (paid version)
+ add rtl support in language switcher module

Report Extension

 

 

2012-02-22
Reviews: 1
We have used this component on a larger site. It has been published in more than 5 languages. Among these, the following non-western languages: arabic, chinese and russian.

We used the FaLang component and Joomla 2.5.1.

The component has worked out great for us. The support from the author was very fast and responsive.

The component is easy to install and use. We did some adaptions to be able to translate site specific content (event/calendar functions), and didn't encounter any problems in doing so.
2012-02-19
Reviews: 1
In Joomla 2.5 modules can translate only title of modules, but hot any fields in modules. are you in possibilities to repair this bug?
2012-02-17
Reviews: 5
First off, I have used Joomfish for 1.5 sites. Secondly, I did not understand the Joomla 1.7 language pack configuration before I started.

I was really glad to find something to bridge the gap in 1.7. I bought the license because I needed to turn 2 project quickly.

Stephane was really responsive given the time difference. I am in US, she is 12 hours difference... I think.

Falang does not require you enter publish dates.. it does it automatically. So this is better than Joomfish

It installs easily and worked fine out of the box. Stephane's documentation is so easy a beginning Joomla person should have no problem.

Very cool fork! Thank Stephane!
2012-02-17
Reviews: 1
Hello all! First time Im moved to write a review about any extension. I have over 10 years joomla experience, seen many many great extensions, but no matter how good an extension is if the support is bad then the extension is bad also. Tonight, testing this great Joomfish alternative I must say that fullfills all my expectations, and above all, a superb support. As I was testing it I had an issue, and was moved to send an email to the publisher, and incredible, less than 5 minutes later I had a response, 10 mins later everything was fixed by them directly in my site. That's what I call "Good Extension, Great Support". Try it without fears, you won't be dessapointed.
2012-02-17
Reviews: 2
it is a good idea, finally someone is making another component to manage the poor multilingual feature of joomla, the component is growing fast, but it still has some bugs and there is no forum on the website of the developer so there is no way to understand how fix the bugs. I'm having the same bug as the user phoenix011, Falang seems to work well for everything except for the menu items, it doesn't work at all for the menu items.
So I wouldn't say it has a stable release of the component.
Owner's reply

Your review is strange because it's work for everyone with the menu.

2012-02-15
Reviews: 1
Alltogether I am really happy with FaLang.
But today I came accross a really anoying bug. After I translated some menu titles, alias, refreshed the page the translation did not show up!
Everything seems to work ok, I mean, translating content, modules etc, just the menu translation does not work. Please let me know if somebody experiencing the same problem.
Owner's reply

Contact me by mail too fix it.

2012-02-15
Reviews: 1
Everything is in the title, the extension worked perfectly, and the support is excellent. I worked with joomfish before, since it doesn't exists for joomla! 1.7, i tried this one, and bought it. It is easy to use.
Don't hesitate, buy it!
2012-02-08
Reviews: 5
The extension works perfectly, the support is quick and friendly.
Nice to have in the future: frontend editing like in JoomFish. At this stage FaLang only works in the backend. But there it works perfectly!
2012-02-06
Reviews: 9
Im very happy with this !!

Ok, i had to read this time the installation infos on his homepage .. but that was clear and usefull.
That it is based on Joomfish makes all very easy to handle.

GREAT GREAT GREAT !!! Thanx a lot for your contribution and effort !!
2012-02-05
Reviews: 8
I am in touch with Joomla since Limbo/Mambo time and designed/manage several websites (some single language, some multi). As for J1.5 was used JoomFish - IMHO best solution for MultiLang. sites, but starting with J1.6/1.7 and now withJ2.5 I missed this possibilty for MLS "easy to go" management.

Few days ago found FaLang extension and... tried it on J2.5 test installation.
Technically - no problem, installed like a charm and plg setled up withot any problems.
Functionally, rather similar to JoomFish (as it is also stated by Author - it's based on JoomFish), still I missed something (due to some missunderstandings or missreadings of docs) in settings or test site settings and not all worked as I expected. Probably, I missunderstood some features or technical aspects, therefore I wrote an email to Author - Stephane. Same day quick reply with short and direct answers, I got the idea and tested it again - all works as described. Fantastic!

Now, only one aspect I found, that I do not know how to solve in easy way (may be have to read and try more) - can not translate article from another language to default site language (there is no possibility to chose it in translation menu). Thus, I found solution - to translate article to default language from another - change default langugae for translation moment.
May be folks can suggest right way for this.

But! A big thanks to FaLang author for this great app for MLS!
2012-02-05
Reviews: 8
I rised a compatibility issue with another extension, and the author fixed the problem very soon and kept me informed about that.
This extension is much reliable and has a good support. -Fox-
2012-02-02
Reviews: 2
My thirst thinking was 'excellent', because of the great component with its features and the very fast en kind support of the author.
At this moment, there are some components which are not supported by FaLang so they can't be translated. No problem, the important things on a joomla site can be translated. I hope in the future there will be some more components which will be supported.
So I guess I can't give less then excellent.
Thanks for this great component!
2012-01-25
Reviews: 3
Best solution for translation in J1.7 and J2.5, it works like Joomfish for Joomla 1.5 version.

Really easy to use for content (cantegories, menús, new...). It would be really usefull having a Forum on their website, i´m trying to add rokgallery support, i have two xml files to translate slices and files but it doesnt work and there is not a Community support for their free version. Otherwise very good work. THANKS!!!
2012-01-24
Reviews: 2
Without a doubt the best translation extension for Joomla 1.7 at this moment.
Ease to install and very good support.
2012-01-24
Reviews: 2
a very good component.
Stephane has on request, an extension for JoomGallery made​​.
Very fine. and again thank you
2012-01-20
Reviews: 1
This is a very good product and works very good on Joomla 1.7.
First i was sad i could not get Joomfish for 1.7 but i think this one is better!

And the support is super fast and friendly.
Many Thanx
2012-01-16
Reviews: 3
I used to use JoomFish and while waiting for a version to support anything above Joomla 1.5, I was very disturbed at the total lack of silence about their progress. Then I came upon this component.

All I can say is that it is absolutely excellent. Full multi language support! The effort that we put into making our components JoomFish compatible has not been wasted. I literally had to change one element name and everything was back up and running.

Thank you Stephane. I hope that once more people know about what you have done, you will find customers beating down your door.
2012-01-11
Reviews: 1
For everyone used to Joomfish. This is the equivalent for Joomla 1.7.

I struggled to get my site in English and Dutch (simple site: Dutch site is equivalent to English, just translated). The Joomla 1.7 approach is too difficult, requires too much duplication and does not show an alerts on Dutch content when English content has changed.

Falang instalation was a piece of cake. It does not require third party stuff that makes the use on hosted sites difficult (like GTranslate that requires IonCube loader). It workes very well: You make your site with one lanuage and use Falang to translate all modules, content and menus. Falang will show a list with red (to be done), yellow (original stuff was changed) and green (translated) signs. That's all you need!
2012-01-10
Reviews: 2
After installing Falang on my new Joomla 1.7 website (since JoomFish doesn't support 1.7) I was amazed on how easy and effective this extension is. I admit I was a bit lost in the beginning but with the immediate support given by Stephane I was up and running in no time.

The extension works brilliantly and without any problems whatsoever. The only issue I had was with the language pack I created myself (since it doesn't exist), but amazingly Stephane went into it, found the problem and sorted it out for me also.

For me this is not an alternative to JoomFish but an excellent multilingual management system of it's own. I strongly suggest anyone using Joomla 1.7 to use this extension for their multilingual websites and not waste time trying anything else. Rest assured that if you encounter any difficulty, you will find Stephane ready to assist you in a simple, clear and extremely helpful way.
2012-01-09
Reviews: 5
It simply works - so far great to have your multi language site in J1.7.
This component closes a gap caused by comaptibility issues of the Joomfish component. So it is indeed god to have and it works fine so far.
Support is superfast & friendly!
The only annoing thing is, that the free version comes with a backlink in the middle of the content.

Anyway a good and usefull piece of software - woth the money to remove the link!
Page 9 of 11