NEW! Tabbed interface, all translations in one place
NEW! backend direct quick access: translation page appearts in popup from anywhere in the backend of your site, for easy and immediate translation!
Includes aJoomfish exporter and importer: automatically recover original articles, categories and menu items from Joomla! 1.5.x Joomfish-based sites into native Joomla! 2.5 multi-lingual items.
Josetta facilitates the translation of existing Joomla content in several languages by one or more translators with little or no knowledge of Joomla. Translators can easily monitor items that have already been translated and those that have not.
Without Josetta, administrators must continually copy content items like articles and modules in the Joomla backend and apply the appropriate translations.
Josetta hides all this complex work and translators can focus on creating great content. Importantly, Josetta provides a dedicated translation interface on the frontend of your web site so that users do not need to learn how to navigate the Joomla administrative backend and cannot accidentally make changes to sensitive settings.
Josetta relies entirely on the native multilingual feature of Joomla and as such does not trap your translated content into its own format or database tables. You can install or remove Josetta from your site at any time, and your site will operate normally with content in all languages working as expected.
Thus, you can be confident that your translations will be fully compatible with future Joomla versions. Even if a migration is required, your translations are standard Joomla content items and you will be able to move it to new Joomla versions as they become available.
In addition, using purely native Joomla content means that your site will enjoy the fastest display times possible on your server as no additional database queries are required to retrieve your translations. Other translation solutions will increase the number of database queries thus slowing down your site.
Key features of Josetta include:
* List of source language content displayed on front end (articles, menu items, categories, weblinks, newsfeeds, contact, modules of all types) with display filters
* Translator selects an item and clicks a button to translate to a given language
* Josetta automatically links translated content to the original language item - perhaps the most difficult task when translating content in the traditional fashion
* Dedicated translation screen with simple layout
* Integrated Bing Translator for automatic translation suggestion. Bing translator is the only free-of-charge translation API available.
* Easy to setup. Just add translators to the global Josetta user group (translate any language) or one or more of the per-language sub-groups
* Translation statistics displayed in backend, wi
Hi Pastor Dan,
Thanks very much for your review, I'm glad Josetta was helpful and simplified your translation process. Let me add two comments:
- front-end translation is not so much related to the size or number of people involved in translation. It has more to do with who is doing translation.
The basic idea is that translators should not have access to backend, because they probably don't know Joomla (and are not supposed to) - but please see second comment also
The underlying idea is also to sometimes change the workflow: instead of having translators receiving emails with text and emailing back translations, and then the admin cut and paste translations into articles, Josetta allows translators to work directly on the site.
Josetta shows them only what they should translate, they are not bothered by settings they don't understand and should not touch.
And admin don't have to manage emails and .doc files anymore
- despite what I said above, Josetta is already available in your site backend!
Wherever you are, click on the "Josetta translations" link that normally sits near the top of you admin screen, and Josetta opens and works fully in a popup.
This was done so that an admin can for instance create an article in source language in the backend, then click from the article manager and just work on the translation immediately, without having to go to a Josetta page in backend, then back to article (or categories, or contact, or...) manager.
After switching back from Drupal to Joomla for some sites, I am happy to use Josetta and have friends work with Joomla work-flow on the front-end without messing up my sites.
Josetta does what it promise, only I found out that’s not enough. It transferred my site (250 articles, 9 complex menu’s) without any remark.
However, after importing I noticed some unexpected result: First of all there is a big difference in approach between JoomFish and the multi-language capability of Joomla 2.5. JoomFish keeps only track of differences, true translated parts, while Joomla 2.5 needs a complete language structure. I found out, this is especially valid for menus. Fox example in my Dutch / English-website I use the same words for example for ‘Home’ and ‘ Contact’ in the main menu. Because they are not translated in JoomFish those items are not transferred either by Josetta in the UK-part. Unfortunately I have a lot of these non-translated items.
Secondly I found out the menus are flatted, e.g. all menu and submenu items are at the same level. Of course you can re-work this, but while I have some complex menus, with a lot of sub-items, this is quite some work.
Unfortunately, although never suggested by Josetta to be clear, it doesn’t import/convert modules. I use them a lot, for example with a picture of a catalogue and a link to request a copy, including a scheme were they have to show-up at what article. Re-building them again by hand is a lot of work.
Jupgrade does converts modules (and all other stuff) and luckily you can combine Jupgrade and Josetta. You upgrade first with help of Jupgrade, and use Josetta to import the menus, categories and articles. Because Josetta simply adds them to your (upgraded) site, it’s wise to delete the original upgraded items, by Jupgrade, first. In my case I ended with some partly translated menu’s, see above, but all articles. Due to the new menus added by Josetta, I lost complete the link with all upgraded modules, e.g. which module had to show-up at what article. So that was for me not the best solution possible.
Finally I decided to add, directly in the SQL-tables, the translated articles to the upgraded site by Jupgrade. Via SQL I also duplicated the menus for the UK-translation. That, of course, request some knowledge of SQL and the database tables.
Please note I don’t use Josetta’s translation management functionality.
Thanks for your review, it's pretty fair that you acknowledge the fact you haven't used Josetta for what it's been designed for, assisting in creating multilingual content. The Joomfish importer is an additional, no-cost, tool that was added to help users transitionning, when possible, from Joomfish.
That's why it only transfers sections, categories, articles, menus and menu items (it says so in clear on the front-page where you start the import wizard).
We've tried to accomodate as much as possible the difference in concept between Joomfish and Joomla multilingual, but as you pointed out, it's not always possible. When that happens, only a user can manually fix or simply do things.
I do hope that you will start using Josetta for what it is though ;)
we tried to use this extension.
We tried a lot, but it was too difficult.
The migration tool from Joomfish is fully bugged.
All the article ID were wrong.
It works if you have less than 100 items... very strange.
And Josetta does not seem to sort the article items.
We asked some help to the Josetta Team, but no significants results.
So just one advise, don't use this extensions if you have more than 100 articles.
Sorry you had so much trouble, but I think I can provide some information for you here:
It is NOT technically possible to keep the same article ids when moving from Joomfish to Joomla native multilingual system.
Very simply, the two systems don't work the same way: Joomfish had only on article id for all languages, while Joomla basically creates several articles, one per language, each with its own id.
Therefore, ids cannot be the same.
Josetta tries to do its best with this, and that's why we scan every menu, every article and automatically replace the ids to match the new ones, so that links in menus and articles are not broken after importing.
Note that in the process, we also adjust the urls, as Joomla has changed also its internal links: from view=frontpage to view=featured, removal of "section", moved to category,etc
Likewise, categories and sections are turned into nested Joomla categories, and ids adjusted where needed (ids cannot be the same, just like for articles or any other type of content)
As for "not working with more than 100 items", I just have no idea what you mean by that.
Josetta is routinely used by fairly large sites, with several thousands articles in multiple languages.
It seemed we had a terrible time communicating that message to you during the many exchanges we had on the forum, I hope it's clearer here and now.
What i like:
+ Bing supported translation, bit difficult to set-up but well documented
+ Logging of translation activities
What i dislike:
Josetta is a long way from beeing mature and actually usefull. To name a few
* Translating an article for which the translated category is known does not carry over the suggestion for the translation
* Translating a menuitem for which the parent is known and translated does not carry it over as a suggestion
* See no option to offer similar assistance associated menu entries
* The non ajax based on jgrid suggests you could edit multiple items but one cant. Every edit action is "select", edit.
* There is no ACL editing with articles etc
* No way to see if an article that was once translated needs to be "updated" because the source changed.
A number of these "requests" were submitted by email several months back as part of an initial feedback. After a an intitial promissing quick response "we will discuss it" internally and the promise to get back on it, i've yet to hear from them.
Support in the forum has a deflecting and condescending attitude, lets just make sure it's not "our" problem. Not reading provided already provide information or answering direct questions, just repeating / rephrasing their own.
Now looking back i see that the "top dog" added his 2ct to some of my posts in the forum, content wise a step in the right direction, but still fully missing the point and addressing my issues.
Long story short, i stopped responding in the forum, i considered asking a refund but decided against the negative impact and discussion. I thought long and hard about posting here. I wrote this review several weeks prior to posting.. to give myself some time to rethink.
IMHO Josetta.. NOT recommended.
I started looking around in the JED and found a promising alternative from a Spanish company( won't go as fat as to name names here ). To date they have been reponsive, polite and forthcomming. You'll find it if your interested.
It really seems you had a bad interaction with the support team, and I apologize for that. Now here is the information I can provide to you on the matter:
- I am the developer of Josetta. The features you asked for have never made it to me. It appears that failure in support came from those suggestions being made by email, and were not properly addressed. Again at this stage, I can only apologize for that and assure you we had a "healthy" discussion with support to remedy this. But please use the support forum for any request you may have, this will ensure speedy handling
- The one exception is when you asked for "removing check boxes" on the items list. That was on the forum, and so I did answer. My answer was purely technical: we are using the Joomla framework. Joomla displays all lists of articles, categories, weblinks,... that way, with a check box next to each item. User checks a box and click on "Edit" in the toolbar. Are you fine with Joomla (and all extensions I know of) using this method but not with Josetta doing the same? Sorry, that's a bit harsh.
- "The non ajax based on jgrid suggests you could edit multiple items but one cant:" I don't understand what you mean. How can one "Edit multiple" articles at the same time?
- "No option... associated menu entries": this is managed entirely automatically by Josetta, users don't have to worry about associations at all. If you still want to handle manually, you can, with the "Use existing content" Josetta toolbar button (and with regular Joomla backend of course)
- "No way to see if article...because the source changed": when translation is up to date, item status is displayed in Green, while it goes to Red when the source has been modified. This display in next to the "% completed" display, and is of course per language
- "No ACL...": This is a totally major point. No ACL is a deliberate choice. You can also notice that when translating a category, you don't have access to "number of items per page" or similar settings. Josetta is a translation interface. It is designed for translators. That's why translation happens on the front-end. Translators are given a clear view of what's been translated already, what's left to do, and can access only fields that SHOULD be translated.
Of course, as all of this is native Joomla! content, you have full control on ACL or all other settings simply by using regular Joomla! backend interface.
But a key issue we try to solve is to not force translators to have to go the backend, have to learn Joomla operation, and more importantly we want them to have the simplest translation interface, so that:
- they don't have to worry about things they don't understand (ACL being a good example)
- they don't risk breaking something: changing a parameter they should not change for instance.
Current feedback shows many users put value on being able to have their translators being put in a "sandbox", while not loosing any of Joomla!'s powerful features as the regular backend is still fully available to admins.
One last very important thing: Josetta is the only extension avilable on JED as we speak that does not hack the Joomla core. The other extensions all have a system plugin that modify Joomla! behavior and is required to display translation (including the one you mention). Once again you are back to relying on a 3rd-party extension for your site to work, while Josetta means forward compatibility with new Joomla! versions.
Lastly, please do not hesitate to ask for refund, that's a "no question-asked" operation, and though you're past the normal 30-days limit, I'm sure there won't be any question in your case.
Now the real stuff... Josetta
SO FAR —> What I REALLY like :
1• Josetta use the EXCELLENT integrated inboard translation system of Joomla.
They don’t try to reinvent the wheel and they don’t go against the grain of what will be the core language system of all future version of joomla. Josetta simply centralize and simplify all the separated steps in one interface. (You still need the basic first steps in making a 2.5 Joomla site multilingual from the start)
it does NOT create any separate tables in your database.
it does NOT require any extra performance overhead (i.e. increased database queries) when displaying translations
In fact, Josetta can be taking out of the site at any time without affecting it’s multilingual
2• Translation of content is based on plugins
Plugins for all Joomla default content types are included
— Any extension compatible with Joomla native multilingual system can be translated with Josetta
— They already pass a K2 plugins to the K2 Devs
— They have an How to make your own plug in tutorial freely available
3• Simplify the translation process and make it available to non-computer-savy People.
4• Accessible by the frontend
5• Didn’t see any bug (So Far)
6• Forum based help
I was even contacted for a follow up on some suggestions I propose to core functions ....
7• You can integrated Bing Translator (if you have an account) ... cool
8• Made by a well know pillar Dev in Joomla community
SO FAR —> What is SO-SO :
1• Forum help
The question are answered - Not Speedily but still answered in an acceptable amount of time. In hurry to closed the topics (sometimes)
2• The ergonomic of the apps can be better on certain details (but not really bad, simple)
SO FAR —> What should be better :
1• No translation by the Backend (only frontend)
Meaning that even if you have to create your original content (categories, menus,articles...) by the backend administration you have to switch to frontend to finish your job and translated that new content with the help of Josetta. Not a big big deal but annoying as you have to re-login to the frontend to complete your translation.
I pass this to the dev’s team and they will look to it...
Personally, I made a backend administration Control Panel Quick Icon mark Translation/Traduire where a backend administrator can direcly go to the ONE STEP—>FRONTEND LOGIN —> REDIRECT TO JOSETTA that is far more elegant than the 3 steps —> Go to frontend —> Login —> Go to Josetta
2• The backend translations statistics and component are to minimalist — You can’t really do to much there....
Josetta is the ONLY REAL SOLUTION that go hand to hand with the excellent internal multilingual motor of Joomla 2.5.
I wish the DEV’s themselves realized that this tool bring Joomla to new heights. Joomla without a solid EASY multilingual solution will fall behind other CMS to oblivion and other solutions that bypass Joomla internal solution are not the ticket.
do not buy this component.
We tried for three months to make it work from an export joomfish! Yes 3 months. And this has never really worked.
We lost a lot of money and time.
And finally we got ejected by the directors. He could not solve our problem! So the best solution for us is to refund and eject us. Amazing. We never see it before.
We think, but we are not sure, this component can work for small sites, but not for a site with over 1000 articles.
You have to buy a more powerful SQL server (according to developers). What we have done, but that is not enough.
So be careful.
It is ok for very small sites of few pages, but not for large sites.
I'm sorry you had so much trouble with Josetta. I was personally involved in the support we provided to you, and so I feel I can provide a bit more accurate information.
You were one of the first users of the Joomfish exporter/importer, and indeed there were some issues with exporting data from your site, because of missing or partial translations, which Josetta exporter did not handle very well in the first release. So we asked you for an Akeeba backup of your site, I installed it on my machine, identified issues in the export/import process, and after a couple of days was able to totally import your 6048 articles and more than a 1000 menu items into a fresh Joomla 2.5 web site.
We immediately provided you with the fixed version, and from then you experienced a performance issue, whereby after being loaded with those 6000+ articles, the MYSQL server on your €2.95 per month shared hosting account would fail under load.
We suggested you contact your hosting company, and they said 'yes, we put a strong limit on Mysql, get a bigger account'. It appears even their "bigger account" didn't solve the problem.
Because we had the akeeba backup, we tried ourselves: we had no problem installing your site on a variety of servers: local machine, VPS, cloud server and also the shared hosting account we have for testing under "real life condition". Your site runs fine on all our testing machines, so at the end, yes, we offer to refund you, as obviously the message "your server is not suited to your website" didn't get through.
Josetta does not add any overhead to a web site. It is a data-entry tool only, and multilingual display is entirely done by Joomla! native multilingual system. You can even uninstall Josetta and all your translations are still available and displayed.
I think we did our best, and actually very quickly solved the problem in Josetta. Eventually we offered to refund you though the 30-days no-question-asked money back guarantee had passed, just because you were so unhappy.
But to be honest, the current situation is that all of your old Joomfish content was successfully imported into your new site, and that site runs very fine on a number of hosting, including shared hosting - though not your hosting. Blaming Josetta for that does not seem right to me, from a technical standpoint.
As a side note, the Joomfish importer was released on May 9, that is only two month before your review. Fixes to issues you experienced with export/import were released to the public on May 29, but made available to you after a couple of days only.
Joomla core content editor features are somewhat badly organized, hence so many developers relying on K2 or Zoo to make content submission become easier for customers.
Josetta has a good value proposition for the standard J!, but no plugins for K2 and Zoo. And yes, the developer has a sandbox available for others to integrate with Josetta, but apparently has no intention on making the effort to develop himself for the most popular cck's, rather relying on the third parties to do it.
That's an awkard position, because, being a paid extension, the developer is limiting it's reach and ability to generate revenues.
Thanks for your review. As you seem to have noticed, Josetta is actually totally built in a modular way, and 100% extensible. Even the built in support for Joomla! default content is built as plugins.
Being the sh404SEF developer, I'm well aware of the constraints of having to build plugins for Joomla! extensions and more importantly follow up on those extensions upgrades: it's simply not possible, especially for large extensions.
That's why we rely on our fellow developers to create those (very simple) plugins to provide support for Josetta. We help them, and provide extensive documentation and how-tos.
As you may know, we built a sample K2 plugin (so that's already available, and it has been already passed on to the K2 team for inclusion in standard K2 release.
Josetta is only a couple of months old, please allow a bit of time. But in the coming weeks, you'll see many more of those Josetta plugins built right in major extensions.
Also note that in those 2 months, we've added a comprehensive Joomfish content importer so that you can transition from your Joomla! 1.5 sites to 2.5 native multilingual content. We figured that's also a priority for many.
As for the business model, thank you for your concern, but from the very start of sh404SEF and Josetta as well, I have applied the "Everything included" and never charged for anything aside from the main component (The joomfish exporter/importer component is part of the main Josetta subscription, at no additional cost).
Incredible service. Outstanding documentation and support. Top-notch company, really. This extension promises to knock the middle-man out of the whole translation game, by allowing translators to directly edit documents.