The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


The Geocode Factory ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Geocode Factory is a mapping component that allows you to display various types of Joomla! content on a Google Map. Geocode Factory can use data from Community builder (profiles), Jomsocial (profiles and Events), Sobi2, Mosets tree, SobiPro, Jevents, AdsManager, Joomla article, and GPS tools. The maps can be customized for each instance via templating and CSS and we provide many built in options like side bars, geolocation, radius parameters and many others!

With Geocode Factory Component, you can create an unlimited number of Google Maps (v3) or Openstreetmap (or other custom map). Each map has its unique parameters like zoom, zoom range, clustering, size, intro texts, radius search, locate me button (browser position for Android devices, iPhone, iPad, new browsers), etc... Any map can also be assigned to it's individual menu item if desired or into a module position (free module available).

The capabilities of Geocode Factory are extended by use of "markersets". Markersets are how the mapped data that shows on a particular map is defined and filtered. Creation of a markerset is very easy and multiple markersets can be displayed on the same map. For example if you wanted a map that displayed both the locations of your Jomsocial members and your SobiPro entries, Geocode Factory can do this!

Custom map markers can be used in Geocode Factory. A personal image or the profile avatar can be used as a marker icon. The markers can be linked by lines in multiple ways. For example you could show connection lines between Jomsocial friends or lines between Sobi entries and their owner. The combinations are endless! The markers are loaded as XML to increase performance instead of plain text javascript and a caching system is also an option.

The bubble (normal or tabbed) can contain any custom fields from the source component, an online status, avatar (icon for sobi2), streetview, distance from radius, waysearch, etc. The bubble is fully customizable with HTML statements, and loaded with a click with ajax to reduce the loading time.

You can mix profiles and points of interest on the same map (with different icons ans bubbles), for example, by showing the Sobi2 entries in a 50km radius from the logged user.

If you have existing profiles, it's easy to fetch the geographical coordinates (geocode) for them by the user postal address (zipcode, street, country ... etc). The process is launched in one click and the program divide the profiles in packages, to prevent max time execution errors. You can also silent geocode users during profile creation and edition. Google Apikey is no more needed.

This package includes :
Jomsocial plugin Map and Geocode plugin
Community Builder plugin Map and Geocode plugin

Full features list: http://www.myjoom.com/docs-geocode-factory/manuals-documentation/geocode-factorys-features-list

How it work link : http://www.myjoom.com/docs-geocode-factory/manuals-documentation/geocode-factory-how-it-work

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-04-27
Reviews: 2
Good functionality and GREAT technical support. I had a problem with the interaction between this program and CBSubs. I emailed Cedric and had a working page and an email response within 10 hours. When you find that level of support you need to take the time to promote it to others.

No complaints here, but one thing I would like to see in future releases is a radius search function.

Bottom line: This plugin/component is worth more than it costs.
2010-04-23
Reviews: 2
This extension is a very good investment. I does have some space for improvement, but it does well the job of geocoding your members and displaying than in a map with personalized icons if you like and with configurable popups with information of the contact clicked.

I Tried the free version plugin and than got the paid component because it is well worth it. If you want automatic Geocoding on your web site, this is it, look no further!

I did have some issues installing but the support was simply amazing. Recommended!!! and I don't recommend a lot.
2010-04-19
Reviews: 1
Geocode factory worked perfect for me, but the best part is the support. I had specific questions and got step by step instructions on fixing my problem within a day. Thanks to pelloq1 for all the help!
2010-03-28
Reviews: 7
This component does exactly what it says it will, and it's easy to set up. Configuration is extensive, you can customize your maps in so many ways.
Most of all, the support is fabulous! I had a problem with the map on one of my sites, and Cedric actually went into my site backend, figured out the problem, and fixed it within a few hours. You can't ask for better customer service than that.
More than worth the cost.
2010-03-09
Reviews: 3
The Geocode Factory is simple and effective... even if you are not a "Pro" you can use it esily!
Moreover, there is a very good assitance service (thanks mr. Pelloquin!).
2010-03-08
Reviews: 3
I needed a mapping component that worked well with Community Builder and would be easy non-technical staff to use. This worked out great for both reasons.

I did run into a couple of problems that were SEF related, but Cedric, the developer, was quick with his support. He even went ahead and upgraded my installation for me. Extra points for that!

A couple of comments/suggestions:

- there are a few issues with the English language file. this is not major. I'll see if I can provide one.

- the process of creating a map is not very intuitive. first you need to create a marker. then you create a map. i am not sure why this is a 2-step process. just my opinion.

- the process of ordering the product also seemed a bit convoluted to me. it should be a simple one-step checkout process.

Overall, this is a good product worth the money you pay for it.
2010-03-05
Reviews: 1
I tested the FREE plugin and it worked great. I had a large DB of users and needed to get the GEOCODE for thousands by hand was not productive so I opted to purchase the paid version. Keep up the good work, Cedric!
2010-02-09
Reviews: 3
This is a Great component, just your imagination is the limit. Easy to install, great support!
2010-02-04
Reviews: 1
I think this is the best CB plugin there is. Installed in less than 5 min and it worked perfect. I use it for a motorclub and the responses on this plugin are great!

Thank you so much!
2010-01-26
Reviews: 9
This has been long overdue - a mapping tool that geocodes addresses as well as places them on the map. Very easy and very awesome. Good support too in the forums.
2010-01-21
Reviews: 1
It works very easy. Surely worth the money.
2010-01-20
Reviews: 1
Installs easily- it may need a few tweaks, but the developer is right there and answers your questions in a matter of minutes or hours at the most!
Thanks, Cédric!
2010-01-07
Reviews: 2
I am very happy with this extension and the developer is very quick to provide support. Worth the money if you are looking for a way to generate CB user maps with ease.
2010-01-07
Reviews: 1
Need to say no more that this extension is one of the best for Google Mapping and CB companion!

I'd like to suggest some improvements if I may say:
- I wish that there is a "copy" function in the Marker Manager like the one in Joomla Module Manager so if we want to put the same marker layout to another map we dont have to start from the beginning.
- I wish that there is an "on/off" toggle button in the front-end for showing markers in a map. That way, when we have many kind of markers in a map, the users can choose if they want to show some markers or not
- I wish the link to CB profile pop-up in the bubble info has a choice of not limiting to registered users only but open to everybody (like when we create a CB List, there are choices that allowed access to EVERYBODY)

So Cedric, we all eager to see your next upgrade :)
2010-01-03
Reviews: 1
If I could give it 6 stars I would in a blink of an eye.

It does what it says and much much more.
I have been working with it for about a week and I absolutely love it like my customers.

Really nicely coded and allows for much customization to fit your own template/site.

Cedric is an amazing guy.
As mentioned above, money and time well spent.

Thanks a lot mate. I wish all components were as well written as this. I hope to do business with you again soon.
2009-12-31
Reviews: 6
I needed some way to display my existing members on a google map based on their zipcode. This plugin and component does t simply and Beautifully. More importantly, the developer is excellent about support. As with any component, please read his documentation. And since this component depends on CB, you will need to make sure that your CB is configured properly

Thank you Geocode factory
2009-12-28
Reviews: 1
Damn fine extension for CB and a must for any kind of networking site. For those of you wondering if its worth the $37 (AUSD) it really is. No doubt you will need support, which makes sense considering the wide range of options available, and the one-man support team responds within 5 minutes and helped me with several questions, including requests for help that im sure most support crews would have deemed "figure it out yourself" worthy.

Buy it. Its that simple! ^_^
2009-12-20
Reviews: 2
I am a novice with Joomla and found this componant extremely simple to install. Its also easy to customise using both Geocode and the Community Builder plugin manager. The only problem I had (due to me being a novice) was installing one of the plugin componantgs. The plugin has to be installed via the CB Plugin section and not through the Extension install/uninstall section. The instructions do say this whern you install the main componant, but I didn't see it at first.

Well worth the money!
2009-12-11
Reviews: 1
Let me preface by saying I am Joomla newbie and was a big scared to tackle this but with the help Cedric I was able to get it done. Now thta he showed me it is actaully very easy to configure and I am amazed how well thought out the Componant but for me it is all about the support. there is a similiar BC map extension out there that I purchased and had a problem and never heard back from the guy.

Thank again Cedric
2009-11-30
Reviews: 1
If you are looking for a good Google Maps extension for your Community Builder J! site, this is it! Not only does the Geocode Factory for CB work very well, developer support is fantastic. I had a minor configuration problem (my fault) and the developer responded very quickly.
Page 6 of 7