The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A SECURITY RELEASE 3.1 of plugin Google Maps is released and this must be applied to your Joomla installation.

Version 2.x (including 2.20) of the plugin is deprecated, because Google Maps API version 2 and Google's geocoding version 2 are deprecated from November 2013, please upgrade to the latest version 3.1.

In previous versions before 3.1, the proxy solution (plugin_googlemap3_proxy.php) for kml files had the following vulnerabilities: Denial of Service, XML Injection, Cross-Site Scripting and Full path disclosure vulnerabilities.
In this version 3.1 the proxy solution is not possible anymore. I am working on a new secure solution.

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Also added language support for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2011-11-03
Reviews: 38
There are only a handful of apps that I implement over and over as Joomla has evolved, and this is one of them. Love a simple interface for my visitors and love the ease of administration the programmer has created!
2011-10-30
Reviews: 6
This is a great plugin for my site. Just install and it works ... Easy to use and enough documentation, examples. Also, support is outstanding!!! Thanks.
2011-10-28
Reviews: 1
Really good Plugin, looks great on my Website.
Had some Issues with Javascript and Internet Explorer (ff and the others didn't mind)
So i emailed Mike
--> works

Again, thanks a lot and best wishes
2011-10-19
Reviews: 2
Tried several extensions and found this to be the most complete and useful (easy to work with too). However my need to use googlemaps over SSL got me stuck for a while. Emailed Mike and as usual wasn't expecting for a immediate reply. He replied almost immediately, very polite and knowledgeable. Gave me the information that allowed me to correct my mistake in several seconds. I totally recommend this. He deserves any type of support! Mike, My best regards and Best Wishes! I'll be a follower. Best regards
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for the 500th review of the plugin

2011-10-17
Reviews: 1
Easy and very extensive, very good technical support. highly Recommended. Thanks!
2011-10-16
Reviews: 3
I installed the plugin yesterday, and I copied the code inside cb tab and created a field it was working for at least a couple of times and I was very happy with it.

As I checke on it again after an hour, it was showing anything on the tab. Searched the internet and tried many ways, and it is still not showing. Please advice
2011-10-12
Reviews: 1
As a newbie, I picked this one randomly but I know now that should I need a map plugin again, I will certainly choose this one again.
The plugin worked perfect right away, easy install, user friendly UI.
As I could not setup a custom icon, I E-mailed the author and the answer (and solution) was so quick I thought I had paid for this extension. No I'm wrong, things you pay for don't usually have such a good support team. Really, answer with identification of my problem within 24 hours, developpement of the new tools I needed within a few days.
Thanks to the author
2011-10-07
Reviews: 2
Great extension. I have used it on a client website for their location map and I am sure I will be using it on many more client website. I had a slight issue with my marker position and Mike the developer was fantastic at replying and advising me where I had gone wrong.
2011-09-24
Reviews: 2
This is the prefect maps plugin, easy to configure and flexible as can be.

Support response is rapid too, I had a small problem caused by my own config and it was resolved within hours!

Thanks and keep up the good work!
2011-09-23
Reviews: 3
this is the best joomla map plugin , very easy to use , tons of features out there but simple. thanks alot guys I recommend this pulgin for everyone.
2011-09-18
Reviews: 1
It is a great plugin, very complete but simple. Meets plenty of functionality for which it is made, and offers great versatility and functionality.
Thanks Mike for your plugin and kindness.
2011-09-04
Reviews: 2
I used the plugin on a 3-language site, based on Joomla.
The installation was very easy and fast.
First, you can get a little bit confused with all the possible options (they are there for good!), but if you invest some time to figure it out, you'll understand the power, that this plugin gives you at hands.
Of course, it is not needed to know all the options to set up a working Google map on your web site, as the main options become clear quickly, but if you need some advanced tune-up, then you have all the options needed, and that is great.
I had a small issue with Google Maps itself (not with the plugin), because the map showed inaccurate location of the address. I've sent a correction request to Google and received a post card from them with a verification code, to confirm the address.
After that, and with the help of the advanced options in this plugin, I was able to show the correct location (I added lat and lon and switched the geocoding type from Google Geocoder to Local Search).
The author was very responsive and friendly and gave me excellent support to resolve my issue (which was with Google Maps, not with the plugin itself, as I said).
I strongly recommend this plugin for your web site maps solution.
I want to give my thanks to the author and to say, that this supportive, friendly spirit is what makes Open Source so great.
One recommendation for future versions: not a bad idea to separate the options of the plugin into 2 tabs - Basic Options and Advanced. This will help users set-up their maps even faster, as most of them probably won't need to configure the advanced options, or at least won't need to do it in the first-time run.
2011-08-31
Reviews: 1
Fantastic job! Very impressed! In fact it is so good I want to use it for several different maps on different pages of my site. As a newb, I can't see an easy way to do that, but I'm sure it is my ignorance not the plugin's problem - the author seems to have thought of everything! Well done and a huge thank you.
2011-08-30
Reviews: 1
I recommend this plugins apart from how easy
to use is powerful

and service help excellent

highly recommended
2011-08-29
Reviews: 5
Very reliable mapping service with excellent documentation, possible to achieve complex solutions when required.
2011-08-26
Reviews: 6
Mike Reumer deserves a world of credit for producing a well-documented, versatile extension that gives you a variety of creative options for your site. When I installed it, Google had a bug immediately thereafter. Mike chased it down with them and kept me informed throughout. It was fixed the next day.

Also, I hope people contribute to Mike's cause ... when someone puts something together that's this useful and of such high quality, we can kick in something for its maintenance. Plus he provides a link to his contributors!
2011-08-23
Reviews: 59
This is an easy-to-use yet powerful plugin to add Google Maps on your Joomla site. Even better, my client requested a small additional feature and the plugin's author added it promptly and personally emailed it to me. Highly recommended.
2011-08-23
Reviews: 6
Just add it to your site. Works great and is easy to use
2011-08-16
Reviews: 1
Easy install, config and very useable.
Quick and great support.
Progressive development.

Thank you for this plugin, Mike!
2011-08-01
Reviews: 1
I used this extension on a personal blog site, and I'd say I'm an intermediate-level Joomla! user. This extension is very versatile and can be employed to do lots of different things. The author has an awesome selection of well-documented examples which are incredibly useful, and give lots of ideas for how to get the best out of the extension. I turned up a fairly obscure bug relating to the editor I was using, and the author investigated the bug, fixed it and sent me a personal response within 24 hours. Very pleased to recommend this extension.
Page 10 of 35