The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2011-09-18
Reviews: 1
It is a great plugin, very complete but simple. Meets plenty of functionality for which it is made, and offers great versatility and functionality.
Thanks Mike for your plugin and kindness.
2011-09-04
Reviews: 3
I used the plugin on a 3-language site, based on Joomla.
The installation was very easy and fast.
First, you can get a little bit confused with all the possible options (they are there for good!), but if you invest some time to figure it out, you'll understand the power, that this plugin gives you at hands.
Of course, it is not needed to know all the options to set up a working Google map on your web site, as the main options become clear quickly, but if you need some advanced tune-up, then you have all the options needed, and that is great.
I had a small issue with Google Maps itself (not with the plugin), because the map showed inaccurate location of the address. I've sent a correction request to Google and received a post card from them with a verification code, to confirm the address.
After that, and with the help of the advanced options in this plugin, I was able to show the correct location (I added lat and lon and switched the geocoding type from Google Geocoder to Local Search).
The author was very responsive and friendly and gave me excellent support to resolve my issue (which was with Google Maps, not with the plugin itself, as I said).
I strongly recommend this plugin for your web site maps solution.
I want to give my thanks to the author and to say, that this supportive, friendly spirit is what makes Open Source so great.
One recommendation for future versions: not a bad idea to separate the options of the plugin into 2 tabs - Basic Options and Advanced. This will help users set-up their maps even faster, as most of them probably won't need to configure the advanced options, or at least won't need to do it in the first-time run.
2011-08-31
Reviews: 1
Fantastic job! Very impressed! In fact it is so good I want to use it for several different maps on different pages of my site. As a newb, I can't see an easy way to do that, but I'm sure it is my ignorance not the plugin's problem - the author seems to have thought of everything! Well done and a huge thank you.
2011-08-30
Reviews: 1
I recommend this plugins apart from how easy
to use is powerful

and service help excellent

highly recommended
2011-08-29
Reviews: 6
Very reliable mapping service with excellent documentation, possible to achieve complex solutions when required.
2011-08-26
Reviews: 7
Mike Reumer deserves a world of credit for producing a well-documented, versatile extension that gives you a variety of creative options for your site. When I installed it, Google had a bug immediately thereafter. Mike chased it down with them and kept me informed throughout. It was fixed the next day.

Also, I hope people contribute to Mike's cause ... when someone puts something together that's this useful and of such high quality, we can kick in something for its maintenance. Plus he provides a link to his contributors!
2011-08-23
Reviews: 71
This is an easy-to-use yet powerful plugin to add Google Maps on your Joomla site. Even better, my client requested a small additional feature and the plugin's author added it promptly and personally emailed it to me. Highly recommended.
2011-08-23
Reviews: 6
Just add it to your site. Works great and is easy to use
2011-08-16
Reviews: 1
Easy install, config and very useable.
Quick and great support.
Progressive development.

Thank you for this plugin, Mike!
2011-08-01
Reviews: 1
I used this extension on a personal blog site, and I'd say I'm an intermediate-level Joomla! user. This extension is very versatile and can be employed to do lots of different things. The author has an awesome selection of well-documented examples which are incredibly useful, and give lots of ideas for how to get the best out of the extension. I turned up a fairly obscure bug relating to the editor I was using, and the author investigated the bug, fixed it and sent me a personal response within 24 hours. Very pleased to recommend this extension.
2011-07-26
Reviews: 1
Being new to Google Maps in general and not wanting to spend much time ramping up, I found that installing the extension was easy and that any questions I had were promptly and correctly answered. Very good plugin and great and friendly support.
2011-07-23
Reviews: 3
Just grabbed the proper file and installed on the 1.7 platform - easy to set up and configure and works like a charm - a PERFECT application.
Thanks ... Jay - Thistle Site Design
2011-07-21
Reviews: 1
Installed the plugin in minutes. Configured the display the way I wanted in another 2 mins. Was done my "Location" page for client in 15 minutes flat - even after exploring a few extra options! Thumbs up, many times over!!!! One question, has anyone played with this plugin with ver. 1.7? Wondering if I upgrade from 1.6, will it cause issues...
2011-07-16
Reviews: 1
Easy and quick :)
2011-07-08
Reviews: 1
It installs easily. Sets up quickly. Mikes support is wonderful. He contacted me back within a few hours and we worked out the small issue I had. I would have found the solution myself if I had read Mike's documentation further. I highly recommend this product!!!
2011-07-08
Reviews: 12
Up and running in 5 minutes.
Not just nice to have but must have product with intuitive menus and functions.
Tested all across Joomla 1.6.4
2011-07-06
Reviews: 1
This is an amazing plugin for Joomla. I tried several plugins on the market for google maps but this one is the best!
Also, excellent support!
Thanks Mike Great job with this plugin
Keep up with the good work
2011-07-05
Reviews: 1
I looked at a few Google Maps plugins and found this one to have a great look and feel. I especially liked the ability to include the map on my page and size it accordingly and provide a button so that users could open the map in a lightbox and get directions to our Village Hall which is what the website is for. But more importantly I had a little problem with the font color due to the template that I was using. I emailed Mike and recieved a reply within 7 minutes. Mike had several options for me to try and he was able to get my issue resolved. Very nice gentleman and I would recommend this application to anyone looking or a Google Maps app for their site.
Thanks again Mike for all your help.

Kindest regards,

Alfred Gaskin
2011-07-05
Reviews: 2
Great plugin with a lot of features and very easy to install and use. I had an issue with a certain template and the support could not be better! Great!

Thanks Mike!
2011-06-27
Reviews: 4
The plugin works excellently. No problems installing on J11.6 and lots of options for display.

Have been using it since moving to J!1.6.
Page 11 of 35