The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A SECURITY RELEASE 3.1 of plugin Google Maps is released and this must be applied to your Joomla installation.

Version 2.x (including 2.20) of the plugin is deprecated, because Google Maps API version 2 and Google's geocoding version 2 are deprecated from November 2013, please upgrade to the latest version 3.1.

In previous versions before 3.1, the proxy solution (plugin_googlemap3_proxy.php) for kml files had the following vulnerabilities: Denial of Service, XML Injection, Cross-Site Scripting and Full path disclosure vulnerabilities.
In this version 3.1 the proxy solution is not possible anymore. I am working on a new secure solution.

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Also added language support for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-10-16
Reviews: 1
Just Excellent plugin!! I have tested in joomla 1.0.x and 1.5.x and run smoothly!!!
Moreover great documentation and examples!!
Keep this excellent work!!!
2009-10-08
Reviews: 1
Be certain to read the checklist! There are subtle requirements that can trap you. Once you understand them and/or receive VERY FAST RESPONSES from Mike, you will be up and running in no time. There are many more options than I need, but it's nice to know they are there and supported just in case my requirements change. Great plugin.
2009-10-08
Reviews: 1
Well based documentation, instant support, piece of cake to install. I am very satisfied by the communication of the developer. In the beginning I had some kind of problem (my mistake) and he responded immediately. Thanks !
2009-09-30
Reviews: 1
Very good plugin.
There's no support for Google local business center and no support for Company ID parameter (cid=...)
eg: http://maps.google.fr/maps/place?cid=12969776648334829114&q=google&hl=fr
Owner's reply

Thanks for the vote and review. In the google maps api version 2 there is no support for the company ID so it can't be integrated in the plugin.
If google adds this support to there API v2 then it will be added to the plugin too.
If anyone has an idea on how to integrate it, please let me know.

2009-09-29
Reviews: 1
a real good plugin for joomla. i used it on j 1.5 in the standard contact form ... this is really excellent piece of code and the support is great ... thanks for all and keep going

Andreas
2009-09-29
Reviews: 3
I had some difficulty in the beginning but Mike was very patient and gave me lots of assistance. Great plugin and excellent support.
2009-09-27
Reviews: 1
First class flexibility with great support. Suitable for both for simple and complex mapping requirements. Anyone wanting to do more than just display maps should look here for a plugin with amazing configurability. Thanks
2009-09-27
Reviews: 1
Great plug-in and great technical support. Mike will find time to help even if the problem isn't related to his plugin.
2009-09-16
Reviews: 9
I installed this plugin sometime ago, and forgot to review it. (Sorry Mike) At the time I had numerous problems, all down to my lack of knowledge and stupidity. Mike always answered support questions superfast, and even took the time to go into the backend of my site to get things as I wanted. I recently upgraded to Joomla 1.5.14 and wondered why my maps wasnt working. Within an hour Mike had emailed me back and pointed out where I had gone wrong. (A simple case of not following instructions!) This is a superb plugin, and the support is second to none. If you are like me, we use these free extensions, and dont always donate to the programmers.
This guy deserves all the success he gets. And I just donated again. If you need a google map plugin THIS IS THE KIDDIE !!
Thanks Mike. A Real Extension star.
2009-09-13
Reviews: 2
Very good tool. It took me a while to figure it out but once I went pass a few mistakes and errors, the plugin work beautifully. Thank you for this great simple tool.
2009-09-07
Reviews: 1
installed it no prbs at all however only when i access localhost if i try to connect from the "uotside" i have api code error
Owner's reply

You can't access a localhost from outside "the internet" and make Google Maps work. This is not possible and not accepted by the terms of Google Maps API. So no problem of the plugin.

2009-09-02
Reviews: 1
I looked at all the map extensions and tried a couple before settling on GoogleMap Plugin. It does the most, the pages are quick to load and the support is first rate. Thanks for a great, useful, easy to use extension.
2009-09-02
Reviews: 1
If your client want a map displayed on their joomla site then dont look elsewhere.
This is the perfect extension to meet your need.
I installed it easily and is working great.

The best thing about this extension is the prompt support to your queries from the developer.

Thanks for this great extension...
2009-09-02
Reviews: 2
Works perfectly! Many thanks.
2009-09-02
Reviews: 6
This plug-in is so simple to use. All you need to do once you've installed it is to write a single statement to insert your map into an article!

I suggest using articles, as I am a bit leery of hacking into the core code to use this plug with modules or other content.

Fantastic!
2009-08-28
Reviews: 1
When you're building a site and the client suddenly says "I want a location map" you think, thank goodness for extensions.joomla.org and for Google!

I had no problem installing the extension and there are options for every conceivable eventuality. I had a map up in no time, BUT was unable to get it in the right place - I was using latitude and longitude. Support was first class - I've had much worse for commercial extensions! Turns out the problem was probably to do with Google UK, and using the Postal Code in the address field and 'local search' we got the right map. Highly recommend this for its flexibility and great support.
2009-08-24
Reviews: 4
If your site is location/map-driven site, this plugin is a must-have.

The plugin is very comprehensive it contains almost all Google Maps features to be utilized and benefit from.

The backend configuration has lots lots lots of options. Get that Google Map API like half a minute then you are left by imagination and creative to extend this plugin!

I managed to extend this plugin right to my end-users to input their own addresses and choose to display/disable their map on their own pages.

10 out of 5. Easily the best plugins of its class.
2009-08-24
Reviews: 1
Really good plugin. Thanks for the great help my mail. Feature wish for the future: displaying of altitude profiles out of a GPS track.
2009-08-23
Reviews: 6
This plugin is very easy to install and usefull with its multiple presentation are flexible. It will give you full satisfaction is a plugin that deserves to be developed with a module "back-end" integration of categories and selections of point of interest ... to be complete.
Bravo Mike!
2009-08-23
Reviews: 1
This extension is superb and the support from Mike is amazing.

I wanted to get a Google Map working within Jumi 2.1 and Mike was more than helpful in helping me to get it work.

I'm delighted with the results. Highly configurable and makes adding a map a breeze.

Thanks
Page 21 of 35