The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-10-27
Reviews: 1
I had used the extension in several websites always without any problems. However a few days ago I had an issue with one of the joomla templates, I couldn't see the markers and I had no idea what was the problem. Mike answered my request and solved the problem in no time. Great extension and great support!
2009-10-26
Reviews: 2
Sure as a web designer i could copy and paste stuff into the content, but why making life not easy. With this plugin you can save lot of time.
Good work.
2009-10-26
Reviews: 2
Just installed it and it is absolutely fantastic. It works immediately upon enabling. The tooltips and documentation are clear, with a very small learning time. Great Joomla Plugin!!!
2009-10-25
Reviews: 1
This is a plugin you MUST use if you need to give directions or other guidance to your visitors. A map is worth more than 1000 words! Many thanks to Mike for an outstanding support, and thanks for a plugin with an amazing flexibility and control!
2009-10-21
Reviews: 2
This plugin is easy to set up and does everything it promises.
Thanks for very quick support.
2009-10-19
Reviews: 9
Excellent feature. Easy to use and lots of parameters for tweaking!!!
2009-10-17
Reviews: 2
Excellent Plugin. Very simple to install and use.
2009-10-16
Reviews: 1
Just Excellent plugin!! I have tested in joomla 1.0.x and 1.5.x and run smoothly!!!
Moreover great documentation and examples!!
Keep this excellent work!!!
2009-10-08
Reviews: 1
Be certain to read the checklist! There are subtle requirements that can trap you. Once you understand them and/or receive VERY FAST RESPONSES from Mike, you will be up and running in no time. There are many more options than I need, but it's nice to know they are there and supported just in case my requirements change. Great plugin.
2009-10-08
Reviews: 1
Well based documentation, instant support, piece of cake to install. I am very satisfied by the communication of the developer. In the beginning I had some kind of problem (my mistake) and he responded immediately. Thanks !
2009-09-30
Reviews: 1
Very good plugin.
There's no support for Google local business center and no support for Company ID parameter (cid=...)
eg: http://maps.google.fr/maps/place?cid=12969776648334829114&q=google&hl=fr
Owner's reply

Thanks for the vote and review. In the google maps api version 2 there is no support for the company ID so it can't be integrated in the plugin.
If google adds this support to there API v2 then it will be added to the plugin too.
If anyone has an idea on how to integrate it, please let me know.

2009-09-29
Reviews: 1
a real good plugin for joomla. i used it on j 1.5 in the standard contact form ... this is really excellent piece of code and the support is great ... thanks for all and keep going

Andreas
2009-09-29
Reviews: 3
I had some difficulty in the beginning but Mike was very patient and gave me lots of assistance. Great plugin and excellent support.
2009-09-27
Reviews: 1
First class flexibility with great support. Suitable for both for simple and complex mapping requirements. Anyone wanting to do more than just display maps should look here for a plugin with amazing configurability. Thanks
2009-09-27
Reviews: 1
Great plug-in and great technical support. Mike will find time to help even if the problem isn't related to his plugin.
2009-09-16
Reviews: 9
I installed this plugin sometime ago, and forgot to review it. (Sorry Mike) At the time I had numerous problems, all down to my lack of knowledge and stupidity. Mike always answered support questions superfast, and even took the time to go into the backend of my site to get things as I wanted. I recently upgraded to Joomla 1.5.14 and wondered why my maps wasnt working. Within an hour Mike had emailed me back and pointed out where I had gone wrong. (A simple case of not following instructions!) This is a superb plugin, and the support is second to none. If you are like me, we use these free extensions, and dont always donate to the programmers.
This guy deserves all the success he gets. And I just donated again. If you need a google map plugin THIS IS THE KIDDIE !!
Thanks Mike. A Real Extension star.
2009-09-13
Reviews: 2
Very good tool. It took me a while to figure it out but once I went pass a few mistakes and errors, the plugin work beautifully. Thank you for this great simple tool.
2009-09-07
Reviews: 1
installed it no prbs at all however only when i access localhost if i try to connect from the "uotside" i have api code error
Owner's reply

You can't access a localhost from outside "the internet" and make Google Maps work. This is not possible and not accepted by the terms of Google Maps API. So no problem of the plugin.

2009-09-02
Reviews: 1
I looked at all the map extensions and tried a couple before settling on GoogleMap Plugin. It does the most, the pages are quick to load and the support is first rate. Thanks for a great, useful, easy to use extension.
2009-09-02
Reviews: 1
If your client want a map displayed on their joomla site then dont look elsewhere.
This is the perfect extension to meet your need.
I installed it easily and is working great.

The best thing about this extension is the prompt support to your queries from the developer.

Thanks for this great extension...
Page 21 of 35