The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-09-02
Reviews: 1
If your client want a map displayed on their joomla site then dont look elsewhere.
This is the perfect extension to meet your need.
I installed it easily and is working great.

The best thing about this extension is the prompt support to your queries from the developer.

Thanks for this great extension...
2009-09-02
Reviews: 2
Works perfectly! Many thanks.
2009-09-02
Reviews: 6
This plug-in is so simple to use. All you need to do once you've installed it is to write a single statement to insert your map into an article!

I suggest using articles, as I am a bit leery of hacking into the core code to use this plug with modules or other content.

Fantastic!
2009-08-28
Reviews: 1
When you're building a site and the client suddenly says "I want a location map" you think, thank goodness for extensions.joomla.org and for Google!

I had no problem installing the extension and there are options for every conceivable eventuality. I had a map up in no time, BUT was unable to get it in the right place - I was using latitude and longitude. Support was first class - I've had much worse for commercial extensions! Turns out the problem was probably to do with Google UK, and using the Postal Code in the address field and 'local search' we got the right map. Highly recommend this for its flexibility and great support.
2009-08-24
Reviews: 3
If your site is location/map-driven site, this plugin is a must-have.

The plugin is very comprehensive it contains almost all Google Maps features to be utilized and benefit from.

The backend configuration has lots lots lots of options. Get that Google Map API like half a minute then you are left by imagination and creative to extend this plugin!

I managed to extend this plugin right to my end-users to input their own addresses and choose to display/disable their map on their own pages.

10 out of 5. Easily the best plugins of its class.
2009-08-24
Reviews: 1
Really good plugin. Thanks for the great help my mail. Feature wish for the future: displaying of altitude profiles out of a GPS track.
2009-08-23
Reviews: 6
This plugin is very easy to install and usefull with its multiple presentation are flexible. It will give you full satisfaction is a plugin that deserves to be developed with a module "back-end" integration of categories and selections of point of interest ... to be complete.
Bravo Mike!
2009-08-23
Reviews: 1
This extension is superb and the support from Mike is amazing.

I wanted to get a Google Map working within Jumi 2.1 and Mike was more than helpful in helping me to get it work.

I'm delighted with the results. Highly configurable and makes adding a map a breeze.

Thanks
2009-08-19
Reviews: 1
No much more to say - a great solution, thanks for your good work :) Be sure to check out the documentation on the site for all the options.
2009-08-17
Reviews: 2
I downloaded this a couple times for my websites. By far the best out there. I had trouble (sorry I forgot what the problem was as it was ages ago)when I first installed it but an email to support fixed everything. Replies were quick and useful. This is a must-have plugin for sites that want to use maps.
2009-08-06
Reviews: 1
This plugin is great! I was wondering if there was a way to disable the map and just use the lightbox link instead?
2009-08-02
Reviews: 2
Well-written component - fantastic set of options, very easy to configure and above-all personal support that surpasses any of the paid components I have used to date.

If you want a plug-and-play Google Maps components then this is for you. If you want to take it up another level or two in using some of GMaps' other functionality, then this is for you also.
2009-07-29
Reviews: 8
Works great. If your having trouble this component it is probably due to some script problems with the j editor. You should check what that actual script says in the html pop up, that no other charters have been added there. Very cool, looking forward to what comes next from Mike.
2009-07-24
Reviews: 3
Nice job, This plugin is essential for all my joomla websites!!
2009-07-23
Reviews: 1
Thanks a lot Mike!

Your plugin runs on any browser, and I had problems with my template in IE6, and Mike help me to Show google Maps into my site.

Great plugin, and Great help!
2009-07-22
Reviews: 1
Great Plugin to have - very easy to embed custom maps into the CMS.

Is there anyting to make it better?

Some slight additional documentation within the panel would make it even perfect - specifically. the input format for entering multi API key.

second a link beside the input api box that takes you the page where you can apply for a google maps key would make it easy for lazy asses like me.
2009-07-18
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a Google-Maps component that let's me display a Map within my article content and on which I could post several individual markers, possibly even with custom icons.

I have installed and tried the 3 extension on this site that seemed to fit my requirement: SVMaps, GoogleMap and this plugin Googlemaps.

Bottomline, Googlemaps was the only one the worked flawless for me.
I was at first a little hestitent of learning the KML-file, but later found out that it's only necessary if you need several individual markers and the KML file can be generated through MyMaps on Google-Maps itself, so no problem.

Issues I saw with the other plugins:
- SourisVerteMap: There is a commercial disclaimer and the Google-Map-Popups / tooltip is not active
- GoogleMap: Definitely very close second. Unfortunately did not work for me, due to some intereference of code on my side. Also great and quick response over forum and provides better frontend to manage several markers.

Just today, I had a small request with dealing with distorted custom icons. Mike answered right away and solved my problem. Now my map is already live and I'm happy!

Bottomline:
- Fast, problem-solving focussed response
- Extensible through using KML
- Supersimple installation (only 1 plugin-file)
- With the help of MyMaps on GoogleMaps easy to configure
- Extensive documentation and examples

Thx
Armin
2009-07-18
Reviews: 7
I would like to comment on this plugin, which I find one of the best tools available. It works well, it is well documented and the author is very helpful and fast responding. Thanks Mike for this great plugin. Everything works well!

@davidosullivan: You may want to publish it on a content page, which you can than publish in a module (e.g. module place here). It is very simple to move it around and there is no need for a hack.
2009-07-17
Reviews: 5
I am sure this is a very well written plugin but the real spoiler for me is that it requires a Joomla hack to put it in a module.

For me that just isn't on as I do not want Joomla updates to screw up any modules that I will have carefully created. Its just one more potential problem that I don't need.
2009-07-17
Reviews: 3
My events take place on off-the-road locations, so a map location is quite useful :D
I am using this with EventList, it integrates very well and gives nice look on the site :)
There was a setup issue in the beginning, but Mike was very helpful to help me trace it!
thanks, and keep up the good work!
Page 22 of 35