The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A SECURITY RELEASE 3.1 of plugin Google Maps is released and this must be applied to your Joomla installation.

Version 2.x (including 2.20) of the plugin is deprecated, because Google Maps API version 2 and Google's geocoding version 2 are deprecated from November 2013, please upgrade to the latest version 3.1.

In previous versions before 3.1, the proxy solution (plugin_googlemap3_proxy.php) for kml files had the following vulnerabilities: Denial of Service, XML Injection, Cross-Site Scripting and Full path disclosure vulnerabilities.
In this version 3.1 the proxy solution is not possible anymore. I am working on a new secure solution.

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Also added language support for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-08-19
Reviews: 1
No much more to say - a great solution, thanks for your good work :) Be sure to check out the documentation on the site for all the options.
2009-08-17
Reviews: 2
I downloaded this a couple times for my websites. By far the best out there. I had trouble (sorry I forgot what the problem was as it was ages ago)when I first installed it but an email to support fixed everything. Replies were quick and useful. This is a must-have plugin for sites that want to use maps.
2009-08-06
Reviews: 1
This plugin is great! I was wondering if there was a way to disable the map and just use the lightbox link instead?
2009-08-02
Reviews: 2
Well-written component - fantastic set of options, very easy to configure and above-all personal support that surpasses any of the paid components I have used to date.

If you want a plug-and-play Google Maps components then this is for you. If you want to take it up another level or two in using some of GMaps' other functionality, then this is for you also.
2009-07-29
Reviews: 8
Works great. If your having trouble this component it is probably due to some script problems with the j editor. You should check what that actual script says in the html pop up, that no other charters have been added there. Very cool, looking forward to what comes next from Mike.
2009-07-24
Reviews: 3
Nice job, This plugin is essential for all my joomla websites!!
2009-07-23
Reviews: 1
Thanks a lot Mike!

Your plugin runs on any browser, and I had problems with my template in IE6, and Mike help me to Show google Maps into my site.

Great plugin, and Great help!
2009-07-22
Reviews: 1
Great Plugin to have - very easy to embed custom maps into the CMS.

Is there anyting to make it better?

Some slight additional documentation within the panel would make it even perfect - specifically. the input format for entering multi API key.

second a link beside the input api box that takes you the page where you can apply for a google maps key would make it easy for lazy asses like me.
2009-07-18
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a Google-Maps component that let's me display a Map within my article content and on which I could post several individual markers, possibly even with custom icons.

I have installed and tried the 3 extension on this site that seemed to fit my requirement: SVMaps, GoogleMap and this plugin Googlemaps.

Bottomline, Googlemaps was the only one the worked flawless for me.
I was at first a little hestitent of learning the KML-file, but later found out that it's only necessary if you need several individual markers and the KML file can be generated through MyMaps on Google-Maps itself, so no problem.

Issues I saw with the other plugins:
- SourisVerteMap: There is a commercial disclaimer and the Google-Map-Popups / tooltip is not active
- GoogleMap: Definitely very close second. Unfortunately did not work for me, due to some intereference of code on my side. Also great and quick response over forum and provides better frontend to manage several markers.

Just today, I had a small request with dealing with distorted custom icons. Mike answered right away and solved my problem. Now my map is already live and I'm happy!

Bottomline:
- Fast, problem-solving focussed response
- Extensible through using KML
- Supersimple installation (only 1 plugin-file)
- With the help of MyMaps on GoogleMaps easy to configure
- Extensive documentation and examples

Thx
Armin
2009-07-18
Reviews: 7
I would like to comment on this plugin, which I find one of the best tools available. It works well, it is well documented and the author is very helpful and fast responding. Thanks Mike for this great plugin. Everything works well!

@davidosullivan: You may want to publish it on a content page, which you can than publish in a module (e.g. module place here). It is very simple to move it around and there is no need for a hack.
2009-07-17
Reviews: 5
I am sure this is a very well written plugin but the real spoiler for me is that it requires a Joomla hack to put it in a module.

For me that just isn't on as I do not want Joomla updates to screw up any modules that I will have carefully created. Its just one more potential problem that I don't need.
2009-07-17
Reviews: 3
My events take place on off-the-road locations, so a map location is quite useful :D
I am using this with EventList, it integrates very well and gives nice look on the site :)
There was a setup issue in the beginning, but Mike was very helpful to help me trace it!
thanks, and keep up the good work!
2009-07-13
Reviews: 1
I'm really impressed with the features of this plugin, especially the ability to display the sidebar beside the map.

Mike is also excellent in supporting this product, even though he has no obligation to. He helped me solve an issue with geoxml and I'm really thankful for that.

Great product and a great guy behind it!
2009-07-10
Reviews: 1
Very good plugin and the support is very efficient.

Thank you very much Mike.
2009-07-03
Reviews: 2
I have used this plug in many times and think it and the developer are great.

I got myself in a bit of a tizz at first but Mike was very quick to get back to me on support issues.

Well done & thanks
2009-06-23
Reviews: 1
The plugin is wonderful and easy to customise and most important is its working like a charm...

The support is excellent eventhough it is a non-commercial plugin

Keep up the good work!
JTC
2009-06-18
Reviews: 1
This is a fantastic Plugin - Fully flexible and customizable. Two thumbs up for support too from Mr Reumer!
2009-06-13
Reviews: 2
This is a great plugin with amazing support. Due to my silliness I coulden't get it working and Mike the developer sorted me out in an hour. Great docs, great support, great plugin
2009-06-10
Reviews: 1
I totally recomend this plugin, it does what it says in the most transparent and easy way, you just need to have your Google API keys to start with this thing.

The support is fast, clear and polite, got my issue (template's fault not the plugin's) in like an hour, the most important and valuable aspect is that the problem wasn't in the plugin and the author helped me anyway.

in a word: awesome
2009-06-07
Reviews: 3
As other reviewers have said, this plugin is versatile, and Mike is ridiculously helpful and rad. Harnessing the power of Google is a big part of what makes modern websites good, and when it comes to maps, this plugin can almost certainly do more than you need it to.
Page 22 of 35