The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-07-17
Reviews: 5
I am sure this is a very well written plugin but the real spoiler for me is that it requires a Joomla hack to put it in a module.

For me that just isn't on as I do not want Joomla updates to screw up any modules that I will have carefully created. Its just one more potential problem that I don't need.
2009-07-17
Reviews: 3
My events take place on off-the-road locations, so a map location is quite useful :D
I am using this with EventList, it integrates very well and gives nice look on the site :)
There was a setup issue in the beginning, but Mike was very helpful to help me trace it!
thanks, and keep up the good work!
2009-07-13
Reviews: 1
I'm really impressed with the features of this plugin, especially the ability to display the sidebar beside the map.

Mike is also excellent in supporting this product, even though he has no obligation to. He helped me solve an issue with geoxml and I'm really thankful for that.

Great product and a great guy behind it!
2009-07-10
Reviews: 1
Very good plugin and the support is very efficient.

Thank you very much Mike.
2009-07-03
Reviews: 2
I have used this plug in many times and think it and the developer are great.

I got myself in a bit of a tizz at first but Mike was very quick to get back to me on support issues.

Well done & thanks
2009-06-23
Reviews: 1
The plugin is wonderful and easy to customise and most important is its working like a charm...

The support is excellent eventhough it is a non-commercial plugin

Keep up the good work!
JTC
2009-06-18
Reviews: 1
This is a fantastic Plugin - Fully flexible and customizable. Two thumbs up for support too from Mr Reumer!
2009-06-13
Reviews: 2
This is a great plugin with amazing support. Due to my silliness I coulden't get it working and Mike the developer sorted me out in an hour. Great docs, great support, great plugin
2009-06-10
Reviews: 1
I totally recomend this plugin, it does what it says in the most transparent and easy way, you just need to have your Google API keys to start with this thing.

The support is fast, clear and polite, got my issue (template's fault not the plugin's) in like an hour, the most important and valuable aspect is that the problem wasn't in the plugin and the author helped me anyway.

in a word: awesome
2009-06-07
Reviews: 3
As other reviewers have said, this plugin is versatile, and Mike is ridiculously helpful and rad. Harnessing the power of Google is a big part of what makes modern websites good, and when it comes to maps, this plugin can almost certainly do more than you need it to.
2009-06-06
Reviews: 1
Really nice and highly customizable extension. Very, very useful!
Got some truble at first, but my mail was answered within a few hours and the problem was solved.
Thanks a lot! :-)
2009-06-03
Reviews: 7
I have been using Mike's google map plug for over a year now. Each new customer brings me a different way to utiize the map. I had a problem with kml rendering and Mike literally spent over an hour emailing back and forth till the process was working. In the end, some spaces in the coordinates of the kml file were ultimately to blame. I thank you so much for your dedication to this project.

Sue Grady
2009-06-03
Reviews: 6
Just Amazing support!!!

I have been using this plugin for 2 months. My community loves it. I can display a KML file on a google map. The KML items are from a google calendar. I use yahoo pipes to generate the KML. I was having issues displaying the KML sidebar and Mike was quick to help. Even better, he figured out a way to directly connect the plugin to yahoo pipes. This will save me so much time. Great work Mike.
2009-06-01
Reviews: 3
I rarely write reviews, because a lot of the time, I have mixed feelings. And when it is free, hey who am I to complain. I appreciate the hard work. HOWEVER, this is such a well written plugin and does such a fantastic job, I will most likely donate to the project and at the very least, want to make sure I am able to write a very favorable view with a high rating.

BOTTOM LINE: if you are looking for a plugin that allows you to add great support for driving directions, general map needs etc... this IS THE ONE. And I never write in all caps.
2009-06-01
Reviews: 5
As a Joomla novice I found this plugin did exactly what I wanted. [See nynehead.org] Things would have gone even more smoothly had all my brain cells been firing when I first came to use it! As it was, Mike Reumer put me on the right track VERY quickly. As you might see, I have only used the plugin at a very basic level. There are all sorts of other things of which it is capable and I unhesitatingly recommend that you try it out.
2009-05-31
Reviews: 13
The support and the plugin are both excellent, really worth some donation if you can !
2009-05-25
Reviews: 1
Just wanted to thank for this very usefull plugin and also to congratulate for the fast responce support.
Good job!
2009-05-24
Reviews: 16
This plugin Googlemaps is easy to install and configure -- thank you -- and looks very professional! I made one mistake, in that I unwittingly set the plugin to use maps.google.com default behavior (Control type: Automatic) and then I couldn't figure out why my parameters where being ignored! The developer, Mike, was quick to answer my email request for assistance on this problem. Thank you very much! I totally recommend this plugin.
2009-05-23
Reviews: 6
I have followed this component for some time. It is constantly being updated - it is getting better and better and better.
This latest version - OMG!!! - can it get any more comprehensive???
I cease to be amazed.
Totally awesome extension.
2009-05-19
Reviews: 1
I had a problem getting UK addresses to display but after a couple of emails to Mike I had a new version of the Plugin and it worked perfectly.

Mike is the best!

You should definitely try this plugin, it has a wide choice of options as well.
Page 23 of 35