The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-05-18
Reviews: 5
This is an ideal addition to the Contacts component, with a wide range of parameters easily set in the plugin's panel.

Also, the support from Mike is top notch. I had a minor issue and contacted him and received very quick support by email over the weekend.

Highly recommended if you need a Google map plugged into your site.
2009-05-18
Reviews: 4
I spent a day and a bit trying in vain to embedd a Google Map iframe into my website. In 1 hour with Googlemaps, I succeeded where I'd been failing on my own. Thanks for a great plugin.
2009-05-16
Reviews: 2
It fits perfectly into your web pages and offers many features such as integration of KML files. Come see demonstrations and tests. I am a fan ...
2009-05-16
Reviews: 1
Very usefull plugin and quick support!
2009-05-09
Reviews: 2
I've been using this extension for some time to show my position in a google map in my contact details (contacts in Joomla 1.5), and it works great. Mike has good and detailed instructions and case uses on his website, at http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/documentation-of-plugin-googlemap/

Recently after updating to Joomla 1.5.10, and because of a mistake I did following Mike's instructions, the plugin was not working properly. I contacted Mike, and he was so helpful! Well, I granted him access to my site, and he located the error (that was my fault), and even corrected it by himself.

So definitely very good extension and developer, and very kind indeed.
2009-05-05
Reviews: 6
This was an excelent plugin that gave great impressions once presented as part of a Site Design. The fact that the map can be dragged, zoomed and directions gather right from the customer's site was the best. So many options and ways to deploy this. Included in my "Needed" objects in any design.

Thanks
2009-05-04
Reviews: 2
I like this a lot but I'm missing the oppurtunity to have several maps on the site. Eg one article one map, the next article another one and so on. It may be supported already but can't find any documentation on it??
Owner's reply

Multiple maps in one article are possible. Have a look at:
http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/multi-maps.html
http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/maps-in-tabs.html

2009-04-30
Reviews: 3
This plugin is really great and so is its developer. The plugin worked out of the box with Firefox and some others but IE did not display my map. I tried to solve this for hours, then I wrote an SOS-email to the developer. He shared his knowledge asap and solved that problem. Thank you very much. Great plugin and support.
2009-04-24
Reviews: 2
I've tried to do some programming with Google Maps API and I have to say, that there is tremendous amount of work done behind this plugin.
It has ~80 options which is amazing.
I already translated it into lithuanian, that was hell of a job - because of all these extensive options. :)
Best of the best.
2009-04-23
Reviews: 2
The plugin is easy to install anda manage, but gives the maximum freedom to embed a GoogleMap in our websites. Options can be set in order to show your specific point when the page is invoked from your browser.
I had a problem with the plugin with IE6 immediately fixed upon reviewing a Check List made available by the Author.
I got istant feedbacks from him when I asked about the above issue.
Excellent work, excellent support.
Thanks a lot,
Marco
2009-04-23
Reviews: 3
I was already using this plugin and thought it was the business

Now with Google Street View as well it's fantastic!!!

Only problem I have is that lat and long from google earth don't match on the map
Is there something I've done wrong?
2009-04-22
Reviews: 3
Easy to use and a versatile plugin. I had small problem when copying the coordinates and Mike Reumer quickly responded to my email pointing out the issue and solving it.

Thank you Mike for your product and support.

Highly recommended.
2009-04-21
Reviews: 4
This plugin is superb and its so easy to use. But the best part is the support I've had from Mike. I had a few technical issues which Mike has fixed. He's really helpful and his expertise is second to none. Can't fault it. This plugin now works great on my site!!!
2009-04-17
Reviews: 3
Have used several different methods to implement google maps into a Joomla site, but have to say that I am SO happy that I found this plugin!

The plugin is easy-to-use, but still extremely powerful, which is sometimes a hard feat to accomplish. Embedding maps is a breeze, with no special coding required, and the global config for this plugin seems to cover about every possibly implementation for Google maps, yet the well-written tooltip documentation on the globals page makes evrything easy to understand.

If you're looking to embed Google maps into a Joomla site, this is definitely the way to go.
2009-04-16
Reviews: 7
I was looking for a Google Map component, and ended up trying all the other modules until I finally came upon this plugin. I installed and configured the plugin, then created a blank article, with just this plugin in it. I then created a menu item to the article and there was exactly what I was looking for. In addition, I could add other information on the page easily if I wanted.
This is a very good extension, with a many options. Best of all you can configure directions to display on your own map, or in a lightbox with printing ability!
This works and saved me from writing my own which I was on the verge of doing.
Thank you.
2009-04-08
Reviews: 1
i've tried a few similar plug-ins but this one by far is the best.

was very easy to setup and get going. excellent documentation on his website and the author answered all my questions very quickly. Thanks for a great plug-in!
2009-04-02
Reviews: 2
I have tried several plugins of this kind. There is no one like Mike´s, this is the best one. Very simple to understand and install, very simple to get nice google maps. And support is fast and really fixes your problems!
2009-03-31
Reviews: 8
easy to install, easy to use .... not necessary to look further on.
And Mike was very(!) helpful with a question I had
2009-03-28
Reviews: 3
If you need to embed google maps in your site, LOOK NO FURTHER! this thing works, period! and make sure you check out the sample setups on the developer's site - shows you exactly how to do the settings, etc.

from download to implementation - less than 5 mins.

plugin googlemaps ROCKS!
2009-03-24
Reviews: 1
This plugin is really good. Extremely easy to use if you just want to plot an address or a KML file. It's a bit more complicated if you want to put multiple items on the map on the fly (especially if you have only addresses, not lon/lat) but it is still not a problem, with a little effort. Mike was very quick in getting back when I emailed him - he was helpful and interested and polite.
Page 24 of 35