The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-03-03
Reviews: 1
Mike has provided such great support and help. I have had a couple of issues with getting the plugin to work (one my technical failings, the other a CSS issue). Mike has been quick and accurate with his advice and support. I have donated more to this plugin than I have paid for a couple of others put together. This guy is the unreal. The plugin is fantastic and Joomla should add a 6th star just for him!!
2009-03-02
Reviews: 1
I have tried most map plug-ins and this is the best free one out there. The support is great and constant additions to the plugin are always being made.
2009-02-23
Reviews: 1
Best support! Only plugin of it's kind. Thanks Mike!
2009-02-21
Reviews: 15
I was looking for a plugin to put multiple markers on a map and single marker on other map, it's done very well and easy way to do !!
2009-02-20
Reviews: 5
I've got this plug-in running on all my Joomla sites that require a map. The basic configuration is easy and it includes a tonne of advanced features that I've not even tried yet.

Had a small problem after a install error on one of my sites - but got a quick email back from Mike telling me how to solve it. Awesome support ;)
2009-02-19
Reviews: 9
I was happily surprised by the reliability and flexibility of this Google Maps plugin.

The developer has clearly spent time thinking through the different challenges and situations associated with adding maps to web sites.

For example - I needed a map plugin that would work with multiple domains - and the plugin parameters support this feature.

Additionally, the ability in the parameters to specify many attributes - even lightbox style links attributes - is a welcome feature not as commonly found in other Joomla! mapping bots.

Highly Recommended!
2009-02-19
Reviews: 40
Mike has done an outstanding job on this plugin. Absolutely perfect! Enough said.
2009-02-14
Reviews: 8
Thanks Mike, this is just the plugin I needed. Support is fast and reliable (and in Dutch too!). Keep the good work. Miro from Zagreb
2009-02-13
Reviews: 11
I habe been using this plugin for several years now. It is extremely useful, works without failure, keeps beeing developed further and best of all: Mike is extremely helpful if necessary - though in my case the problem was another extension's fault.
2009-02-11
Reviews: 1
This plugin is brilliant! It works very well indeed and is a great addition to any Joomla site. Support from Mike is superb, he is so so quick to respond to any emails and knows his product inside out.
Well done Mike!
2009-02-07
Reviews: 1
This is a superb plug-in and works very well. Support from Mike is excellent and he is quick to respond to emails. The plug-in was lacking one small feature though for me, which Mike has acknowledged and promised to add it to the wish list. I am sure when I review the plug-in in the months to come I will give giving it a maximium rating. Well done Mike. Keep up the good work.
2009-02-07
Reviews: 2
Everbody has already said how this is a great and easy to use plugin.
But the real test of an extension is when you have problems.
I ran into a problem where googlemaps just stopped showing. I had no idea what had caused it.
I emailed Mike about it and within a few hours I got a very helpful reply. Problem solved! (It was a small compatibility problem with another plugin.) Mike was extremely helpful and did all he could to get my site fixed. He has a checklist on his site to follow for troubleshooting and thats a very intelligent attitude to things. People will always have problems and Mike accepts this and doesn't get smart. He just gets you going. Great attitude.. especially for someone who does this for free!
2009-02-05
Reviews: 1
This is a great plugin to add Google Maps to your web site. I would like to know if it is possible to have more than one marker placed on the map. That would be super!
Owner's reply

It's possible to add multiple locations or addresses to a map with my plugin. You have to use a kml-file see
Documentation: http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/documentation-of-plugin-googlemap/help-for-using-kml-file.html
KML with form: http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/documentation-of-plugin-googlemap/kml-with-form.html
Examples:
http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/kml-as-overlay.html
http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/large-kml.html
http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/my-maps-of-maps.google.com.html
http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/kml-sidebar.html

2009-02-05
Reviews: 1
This is a great plugin. I have only been using joomla for less than a month, and I found it very easy to install and get working. Using the support site I was even able to do the hack to allow me to put the map in my own module. There was also an excellent email response to questions.

As easy to use as just copying the google link page into raw html script!
2009-02-01
Reviews: 2
Before anything, of course, thanks for this brilliant plugin for google maps, from Mike Reumer. It is, without any doubt, also due to persons like Mike that joomla is what it is today...

After that I must say this plugin is, although filled with many features, absolutely simple to install, configure, use and the final result is of a great level of professionalism.

The support is another great thing: Every time present to help you, Mike Reumer, full of knowledge, doesn't let you feel alone and acts very fast helping you.

Conclusion: Every aspect, really every single aspect of the plugin, including support, a great.

Donation: Please, think you are using a fantastic plugin for free of charge. Please put your hands on your conscience and donate. Mike deserves.

Miguel Garcia
2009-01-24
Reviews: 1
This is the way Joomla Plugins should be. I'm a Joomla newbie and got this working in about 15 minutes. As another poster suggested, if you already have a map in google, to get that map in your webpage just do {mosmap msid=theidofyourmaphere} and then it is beautiful.

The only drawback to this plugin is that maps in modules cannot be used as image links (because only static maps can be used as links). In a future version it would be nice to see a "convert to static and link" capability added, because the Google Static Maps wizard makes it difficult to create very complicated maps/maps with many features and markers. If the plugin had this capability, you just mosmap your mapid created in google maps, then say "make this static and link to article x" and voila!

Anyway, the best about this is Mike's responsiveness. I had a couple of questions and he replied within 1 day. What makes this plugin extraordinary is not so much that it works right out of the box with no bugs (though that is cool too!), but that Mike answers any questions you may have knowledgeably and promptly. Way to go Mike, this is the way all Joomla plugins should be written and supported. 5 stars!
2009-01-23
Reviews: 1
I really like this plugin, but I have one small request. Please add the ability to specify a CSS style for any lightbox text. The default text color in the template I'm working with is - you guessed it - white!

Having the ability to specify a style would make it easy to get around this. Now I have to mangle the text that I insert to get it to show up correctly.

Thanks for a great plugin!
Owner's reply

The lightbox text has a class: lightboxlink where you can add css to make the color different.
For the infowindow, see: http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/documentation-of-plugin-googlemap/changing-style-of-map-buttons-or-infowindow.html

2009-01-23
Reviews: 1
...and the developer is on call if there is a problem! Thanks!
2009-01-19
Reviews: 1
This is an example of how simple *all* plugins should be. After spending countless hours on getting other add-ins to work, I was frustrated and ready to give up.

Then, I found this plugin. I had a map on my site (http://fh.opentechsols.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=5&Itemid=7) in less than 10 minutes: Thats from download plugin to view plugin on page.

Awesome! Very simple to use. Highly recommended. My personal thanks to the author of the plugin.

Using Joomla 1.5.8 (stable) with 2.12d

PS: The only suggestion I could offer is to put up a quick note about why there are 2.12a, 2.12b, 2.12c, and 2.12d. The question I had: Which one should I download.

Thanks again for the wonderful work.

Ajay
2009-01-18
Reviews: 3
I download 2.12d for Joomla 1.0.15..I'm suspicious about any conflict and afraid that too hard to use..but not expected..just install, enter your apikey and taa taaa..has many options to configure, really so simple to use..
Page 25 of 35