The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A SECURITY RELEASE 3.1 of plugin Google Maps is released and this must be applied to your Joomla installation.

Version 2.x (including 2.20) of the plugin is deprecated, because Google Maps API version 2 and Google's geocoding version 2 are deprecated from November 2013, please upgrade to the latest version 3.1.

In previous versions before 3.1, the proxy solution (plugin_googlemap3_proxy.php) for kml files had the following vulnerabilities: Denial of Service, XML Injection, Cross-Site Scripting and Full path disclosure vulnerabilities.
In this version 3.1 the proxy solution is not possible anymore. I am working on a new secure solution.

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Also added language support for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-11-23
Reviews: 1
Most of it worked right away, after a bit of a learning curve, certainly one of the best extensions from and easy to use / works first time point of view. Support was also very good for a small issue I had.
2008-11-23
Reviews: 1
Mike is good and efficient .. and response is very fast ..

good work mike .. keep it up ..
2008-11-23
Reviews: 5
"Service" is a fairy tail with open source software at best. Not with this extension. I emailed Mike 3 or 4 times, each one of them he wrote back very promptly. I have spent days with other extensions and have questions that have yet to be answered on them. Now the extension itself, very cool and adds a lot to the specific page I installed it on. You can make as many kml files as you want using google maps, then link them with this software. Mike even goes as far as explaining how to change up the coding in Joomla, to modify this plugin into a module or component. In addition to this, he has written many "documents" on his website, all to help you get the most out of this as you can. If this looks like something that might help bring your page to the next level, you would be stupid not to get it.

Thanks, and good job Mike!
2008-11-22
Reviews: 2
Totally convinced by the quality of Plugin and support Mike thank you very much Mike
2008-11-22
Reviews: 2
This plugin is an amazing piece of work. It is so versatile that all the options can make you feel dizzy at first. But the author has a very good support site which he constantly updates, and if you follow the examples listed there, you shouldn't have a problem getting it to work.

Even better, Mike is 150% dedicated. I had a problem with the directions not working in IE. I contacted him via mail with all the necessary information. Eighteen minutes later, I had a reply in my inbox with an attached new version that solved my problem. I am simply amazed.

I am donating to Mike today and would recommend the same to all who use his plugin, to keep the author going.
2008-11-21
Reviews: 2
Great Application. Mike was very helpful in solving my problems. Would highly recommend to others.
2008-11-20
Reviews: 1
Mike is the man. This plug-in is wonderful and even if it wasn't wonderful Mike's support and patience with knuckle-heads like me makes it an Excellent plug-in. If you don't use this plug-in for your maps then your just crazy. Thanks again Mike and next pay day you are getting a few dollars from me.

Mark
2008-11-14
Reviews: 1
I had a problem installing 4 different locations and still have the route planner work, instead of pointing to 1 location.
Mike got me an answer very fast.
All works perfect now!
Tip for new users, you can use an adress instead of coördinates. Just make sure you use all information ( street + number + city + state/province and country)

Thx Mike
2008-11-14
Reviews: 3
This really is a great plugin. It works just great, exactly
confirming to what is promised.
But still better is the support. Mike is really there if you have any questions. You're helped within minutes.

Outstanding !
2008-11-14
Reviews: 16
I had an issue with this installing on my site - nothing wrong with the plugin, something I was doing wrong. I e-mailed support and Mike got straight back to me.

This is a brilliant plugin and I will be using this on all my client sites! Thank you very much!
2008-11-14
Reviews: 1
Went in first time. Amended settings as described in the instructions. No problems at all. Fantastic. Will use again for other clients' sites.
2008-11-10
Reviews: 2
A few weeks ago, I was looking for a sort of plugin for my new website. I needed to modify a few pieces , but I didn't came to a solution. Therefore I was looking around on the extension site and found this plugin. Install and look if I came to the solution I had in mind. That wasn't so I contact Mike ask hem to make what I wan't and a few days later it was on my new site . He is honest, do what he tell to do and is very correct!! Thanks Mike

For me personally good service is nice to pay!! And yes when you need this man , do it you want regret it.
2008-11-10
Reviews: 1
Great Component! and very very good support.
Thanks a lot Mike.
2008-11-09
Reviews: 1
This plugin does perfectly what it's supposed to do. Support is very professional. What should I ask more ?
2008-11-05
Reviews: 2
This is an excellent component. I'm completely satisfied with it.

I put it in one "custom" module and it didn't show up at first. I sent an e-mail to the developer and Mike contacted me within 24 hours, checked my site and told me exactly what to do to fix the problem. The problem was already in the "checklist" but I had overlooked it. Thanks Mike.
2008-11-04
Reviews: 16
I started by copying in the sample code in the listing in to a Contact. Use the hack instructions at http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/documentation-of-plugin-googlemap/maps-in-components-modules--contact-joomla-1.5.x.html

Then, all you have to do is put your API key into the Plugin, and it should work, you'll have a map of Europe.

From there on, in 1.5, you can just remove all the parameters, and configure it from the back end without hacking code.

Very cool. Must have, I think...
2008-10-30
Reviews: 3
Works perfectly. Ten minutes to set it up visiting the author's website.
j24
2008-10-28
Reviews: 1
It is very nice component. There are many demo examples and good documentation. Moreover I could count on quick help from developer of this extension. Excellent is good word for it.
2008-10-22
Reviews: 1
Congratulations for the FANTASTIC plugin! Straight forward to install and to use, do exactly what it says it does.
Updates are made on a regular basis, the support is FIRST CLASS (I had a reply within 24 hours) and all this for free. Hats off to Mike.
2008-10-13
Reviews: 1
To start with the author's support of this product is better than any commercial Joomla add-on I've used.

The plug-in is easy to use, flexible and has a huge variety of options. For once I'm not waiting on some functionality to be implemented for the the add-on to be useful.

I had a couple of issues getting it running, and I was able to solve one quickly with the online FAQ, and when I couldn't fix the other issue, I wrote for support and heard back within the hour. My problem was quickly resolved and everything is working great.

Thanks for the great plug-in Mike! I had no hesitation about making a donation for this one.
Page 27 of 35