The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A SECURITY RELEASE 3.1 of plugin Google Maps is released and this must be applied to your Joomla installation.

Version 2.x (including 2.20) of the plugin is deprecated, because Google Maps API version 2 and Google's geocoding version 2 are deprecated from November 2013, please upgrade to the latest version 3.1.

In previous versions before 3.1, the proxy solution (plugin_googlemap3_proxy.php) for kml files had the following vulnerabilities: Denial of Service, XML Injection, Cross-Site Scripting and Full path disclosure vulnerabilities.
In this version 3.1 the proxy solution is not possible anymore. I am working on a new secure solution.

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Also added language support for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-08-17
Reviews: 2
Thanks Mike for this great plugin and your super support!
Keep it going mate :)
2008-08-13
Reviews: 22
I use this on many of my sites.
Everyone loves it. And it keeps getting better.
YAY for free stuff!!
2008-08-11
Reviews: 1
This is a great plugin. Easy to install and configure. Support is fantastic! Great assistance pages and instructions at developers website.
2008-08-07
Reviews: 5
This has been by far the best tool I've used for integrating Google maps onto a site.

It can be used for single markers and can handle kml files... and the new kml sidebar that shows the folder structure is great.

I can also confirm that you can use the maps within tabbed content articles. I used 2J_tabs and could easily show a map in any tab... as well as multiple maps across different tabs.

The support is great as well. I received prompt responses from Mike that quickly resolved any issue I was having.

I haven't been able to think of any negatives... other than just having too many options and power... hahaha
2008-07-30
Reviews: 5
Though I haven't tested everything yet I must say that the scope of that plugin seems very wide and should cover every need. What's more the documentation is excellent, lots of examples, very well detailed and the most amazing part is support: just send a question to Mike and you'll get an answer in very little time and an answer that actually solves your problem. In a nutshell, great plugin and excellent support.
2008-07-25
Reviews: 1
I try anothers plug ins but this is the one who works.

But, you have to really follow the instructions.
2008-07-24
Reviews: 5
This tool is just fantastic.

Make sure to read the instructions.

Also for extending the plugin to component and modules you need to make a little modification to the index.php on the Joomla root directory... be aware on your upgrades that you might need to make changes to the file.

In the setup for the plugin you may need to input your coordinates (LAT and LOG)... I found a great site to do www.flashearth.com


Hands down the most amazing google map tool out there, great job!
2008-07-24
Reviews: 1
First of all thank You for the plugin, it's great! Very nice and awfull kind help, because of my low knowledge i had some problems with IE7 displaying the plugin but Mike was very kind and helped me trough. It's my "stupidity" and not the plugin :)

Thumbs UP Mike! Great job!
2008-07-11
Reviews: 4
I try it in Joomla! 1015 and 154 too. This plugin is really excellent and very customizable. Great support.

Thank you Mike, great job!
2008-07-11
Reviews: 1
This is a great plugin. Truly useful. The site http://tech.reumer.net/ is loaded with examples and different ways to adapt Google maps to anything you could possibly want to do. My questions were answered lightening fast with just what I needed. Good job!!
2008-07-09
Reviews: 1
Mike's plugin is an absolute must if you want maps on your site

But what really impressed me was Mike's fantastic customer service...he quickly gave me the support I needed and even helped me resolve a bug that was to do with something else but affected his plugin on my site.

Brilliant!
2008-07-08
Reviews: 2
Brilliant!

More? Easy, Useful, Amazing....

Great Job!

Andy
2008-07-02
Reviews: 1
Worked from the very first start, works excellent!
Easy to implement, just needs to put some mambot code into your content.
Read install doc to understand google maps usage (requires API key from Google).
2008-06-27
Reviews: 4
I decided to use this component a little while ago for my multilingual site. Everything worked perfectly given the use of use of the mambot but I noticed 2 little problems:

a) There was an overlap of my site's logo with lightbox
b) I couldn't translate the text in my site's second language.

I contacted the author without having many hopes (after all it is a free component) and to my surprise he replied almost instantly sending me a new version that solved my first problem.

The second problem was a bit nastier so Mike followed my steps almost daily, he sent me another version and finally gave me the solution I needed and all this without asking for anything in return.

This is definitelly the BEST SUPPORT I ever had and given the fact that this is also a great mambot I give it an excellent rating (as well as a small donation)

Excellent work Mike!
2008-06-25
Reviews: 2
Very straightforward to use and no problems with installation or setup.

Mike also provides very quick and helpful support responses.

Thoroughly recommended.
2008-06-24
Reviews: 1
This plugin really works, and the result is astonishing! Running a site for sailors, with a lot of "geographical" information, this turned out to be an astonishing tool.

But with the resent release of "the google earth plugin", this plugin also let you show 3D maps from any angle from any place on the earth, directly on your Joomla site! It is just becoming more and more incredable.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 1
and incredibly dedicated author. I am really impressed. If you need map on your site, do not miss this plugin.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 1
If you've read a few reviews before mine, you'll notice a common theme: Mike provides and excellent product and SUPERIOR customer service. I had a couple of problems (all my fault) and Mike patiently walked me through each obstacle. Once I (finally) understood how it worked, I was up and running. He always answered each email with great informaiton and, most importantly, almost as soon as I sent them. Thank you, Mike, I appreciate everything.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 3
be sure and read the "checklist" if you have problems, the solution is probably in there, if not, Mike is super supportive and happy to help. I give this one 5 stars for sure.
2008-06-16
Reviews: 1
Great job on the plug-in. I showed a friend of mine that has a GIS company and he couldn't believe how easy it was to install and setup.
Page 29 of 35