The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-09-04
Reviews: 1
This an excellent extension with so many options, very good documents and support with examples.

This plugin do just like they promise and more.

Thanks, Gracias, from México.
2008-09-04
Reviews: 1
Downloaded and installed googlemaps and had some issues with the coding and getting the correct address to show up on the maps. Emailed Mike and got a very timely response with a couple questions.

1 short email later, had the answers I needed and the maps work great.

Great product, great support, great guy to deal with!!!
2008-08-29
Reviews: 1
Like so many others, I am very new to Joomla! and was looking for a good map extension. This plugin is relatively easy to setup, although if you learn how to write a kml file you will be ahead of the game. I was having a problem getting the directions to display in the pop up balloon, and got quick support that put me back on the right track (although I had looked at the documentation prior to requesting help, I missed the solution which was right in front of my eyes...). If you are looking for a map plugin - this is the one to get! Thanks for the great work!
2008-08-29
Reviews: 4
When a component does something complex in a simple way, you just have to smile.
It does what you need, does it well and explains things well.
There are a lot of settings for granular control of how to display google's various map options.

Can't beat it.
2008-08-26
Reviews: 1
I'm a Joomla beginner, and i didn't have any problem to integrate this plugin, so far i've been using the classic map to locate one place (basically same code used in the plugin presentation) as well as one of my googlemap via a kml file.

You will find all the information you need at the demo's site.

Moreover the developer is really helpful.
2008-08-26
Reviews: 1
Exactly what I was looking for and the quick support from the developer was amazing. No need to look any further for your map plugin needs.
2008-08-25
Reviews: 1
This extension is great!

I recieved support on several issues within hours of posting. And even though there was no immediate resolution, I continued to recived support until the issue was resolved.

If you need a map plugin - here it is!!!
2008-08-22
Reviews: 1
This is one amazing plugin!
Works like a charm...

I did want one change, and I contacted Mike through his website.
Within 10 minutes I had a reply!
Mike, very patiently told me where I could tweak the code, and after I played around a bit - it worked amazingly well!

Extremely well-written code, efficient plug-in, and best of all, an author who is really passionate about his work.

5 stars.

Thanks Mike!
2008-08-17
Reviews: 2
Thanks Mike for this great plugin and your super support!
Keep it going mate :)
2008-08-13
Reviews: 22
I use this on many of my sites.
Everyone loves it. And it keeps getting better.
YAY for free stuff!!
2008-08-11
Reviews: 1
This is a great plugin. Easy to install and configure. Support is fantastic! Great assistance pages and instructions at developers website.
2008-08-07
Reviews: 5
This has been by far the best tool I've used for integrating Google maps onto a site.

It can be used for single markers and can handle kml files... and the new kml sidebar that shows the folder structure is great.

I can also confirm that you can use the maps within tabbed content articles. I used 2J_tabs and could easily show a map in any tab... as well as multiple maps across different tabs.

The support is great as well. I received prompt responses from Mike that quickly resolved any issue I was having.

I haven't been able to think of any negatives... other than just having too many options and power... hahaha
2008-07-30
Reviews: 5
Though I haven't tested everything yet I must say that the scope of that plugin seems very wide and should cover every need. What's more the documentation is excellent, lots of examples, very well detailed and the most amazing part is support: just send a question to Mike and you'll get an answer in very little time and an answer that actually solves your problem. In a nutshell, great plugin and excellent support.
2008-07-25
Reviews: 1
I try anothers plug ins but this is the one who works.

But, you have to really follow the instructions.
2008-07-24
Reviews: 5
This tool is just fantastic.

Make sure to read the instructions.

Also for extending the plugin to component and modules you need to make a little modification to the index.php on the Joomla root directory... be aware on your upgrades that you might need to make changes to the file.

In the setup for the plugin you may need to input your coordinates (LAT and LOG)... I found a great site to do www.flashearth.com


Hands down the most amazing google map tool out there, great job!
2008-07-24
Reviews: 1
First of all thank You for the plugin, it's great! Very nice and awfull kind help, because of my low knowledge i had some problems with IE7 displaying the plugin but Mike was very kind and helped me trough. It's my "stupidity" and not the plugin :)

Thumbs UP Mike! Great job!
2008-07-11
Reviews: 3
I try it in Joomla! 1015 and 154 too. This plugin is really excellent and very customizable. Great support.

Thank you Mike, great job!
2008-07-11
Reviews: 1
This is a great plugin. Truly useful. The site http://tech.reumer.net/ is loaded with examples and different ways to adapt Google maps to anything you could possibly want to do. My questions were answered lightening fast with just what I needed. Good job!!
2008-07-09
Reviews: 1
Mike's plugin is an absolute must if you want maps on your site

But what really impressed me was Mike's fantastic customer service...he quickly gave me the support I needed and even helped me resolve a bug that was to do with something else but affected his plugin on my site.

Brilliant!
2008-07-08
Reviews: 2
Brilliant!

More? Easy, Useful, Amazing....

Great Job!

Andy
Page 29 of 35