The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-06-25
Reviews: 2
Very straightforward to use and no problems with installation or setup.

Mike also provides very quick and helpful support responses.

Thoroughly recommended.
2008-06-24
Reviews: 1
This plugin really works, and the result is astonishing! Running a site for sailors, with a lot of "geographical" information, this turned out to be an astonishing tool.

But with the resent release of "the google earth plugin", this plugin also let you show 3D maps from any angle from any place on the earth, directly on your Joomla site! It is just becoming more and more incredable.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 1
and incredibly dedicated author. I am really impressed. If you need map on your site, do not miss this plugin.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 1
If you've read a few reviews before mine, you'll notice a common theme: Mike provides and excellent product and SUPERIOR customer service. I had a couple of problems (all my fault) and Mike patiently walked me through each obstacle. Once I (finally) understood how it worked, I was up and running. He always answered each email with great informaiton and, most importantly, almost as soon as I sent them. Thank you, Mike, I appreciate everything.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 3
be sure and read the "checklist" if you have problems, the solution is probably in there, if not, Mike is super supportive and happy to help. I give this one 5 stars for sure.
2008-06-16
Reviews: 1
Great job on the plug-in. I showed a friend of mine that has a GIS company and he couldn't believe how easy it was to install and setup.
2008-06-16
Reviews: 1
I installed Joomla as a blog site, primarily for a long motorcycle trip I'm doing this year. I wanted to add daily route maps to the articles and Mike's plugin was perfact for the job. The only drawback was, I needed to work in Google Maps only, no interface to Google Earth.

After contacting Mike, he added several new feaures to the plugin, including being able to use msid as a parameter and supplying the 'Link' information supplied by Google Maps directly to the kml parameter of the plugin.

Problem solved.

Many thanks to Mike for all his hard work and very fast support !
2008-06-12
Reviews: 7
I had written to the author asking him to include the ability to add driving directions in the next version. Within a few minutes he had written me back to inform me that the feature was already there.

Talk about responsive! He retroactively granted my wish list.

In case you missed it too, the instructions for adding driving directions are found on this post: http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/marker-with-directions.html

Great job!
2008-06-10
Reviews: 1
I love this plugin. After trying to get Google Maps to appear in an iframe, this came to the rescue. If you want mapping on your site, try this plugin!

Caveat Emptor! You will need to know that this plugin uses Google Maps API not Google Maps. There is a difference. The API data seems to lag behind the standard data. This can be a very nominal issue depending on your application.

Big Plus! The developer is great with support, stands behind his plugin personally, and was a great help with my issues.
2008-05-27
Reviews: 1
Even though I liked this plugin immediately, there was a problem on my site after it had been installed and published. I asked Mike (the author) for help and his support was nothing but excellent. He made a new version for me and it works like charm now. Great job!
2008-05-26
Reviews: 2
This is very easy to setup and use. The implementation just makes sense. If you have any questions at all about how to configure the map(s) the author has a ton of demos on his site.

Very well done!
2008-05-24
Reviews: 2
I'm new-ish to joomla and I don't code much.

I used a different google maps component in the past, but it just stopped working with joomla 1.5 - and the support around that product just seemed to cease altogether.

I came across this plug in and I thought at first it would be a little complicated.

I was wrong :)

This is a fantastic plug in - and incredibly easy to use (you just need to spend the 2 or 3 minutes it will take you to read the paragraph on how to install).

I had a small issue which was down to my template (not the plug in) and the plug in's creator mailed me back - on a weekend - literally within the hour.

Best of all, his simple 5 word instruction solved the issue!

This plug in is robust, well designed and looks great. Also very tweakable with all the options in the parameters section!

Many thanks
jose
2008-05-24
Reviews: 1
The Plugin is simple and effective. The best Google Map Plugin I have tried.

Stephen
2008-05-21
Reviews: 1
Best of the best!!!!
A+++++++
not thing can compare so far.

+ quick email support

thanks mike
2008-05-21
Reviews: 1
Mike created an excellent product that is easy to install and work with. Mike himself is incredibly nice and was quick to help me with an issue that ended up being unrelated to Googlemaps. 5 stars!
2008-05-20
Reviews: 1
Works nearly perfectly.

Everything is perfect. Except one aspect: I cannot use KMZ files instead of KML. (Although, the google Maps API support KMZ files.)

This would be a nice improvement.

Thanks
Owner's reply

KMZ files can be used with the same parameter kml='..'
See: http://tech.reumer.net/google-maps/demo-google-maps/using-kmz-file.html

2008-05-06
Reviews: 2
I installed the latest version of the plugin for Joomla 1.5. This plugin works great. Thank you Mike.
2008-04-23
Reviews: 3
I am using this on my website and i am getting amazing comments from my customers that are helped because of mikes great support too - it supplies vast amounts of information in a small palace - and i really have to thank Mike for his Time and great talent with his plugin! We need more Mikes in our community!
2008-04-22
Reviews: 2
I run a website for a group of associated organizations and I found this plugin invaluable for creating location maps for each organization. With the latest version maps can also be added to content in modules: meaning that in our events calendar, we can also include maps.

Mike is prompt to respond to queries.

All in all an excellent product, and one which I would heartily recommend to every developer!
2008-04-21
Reviews: 2
Just installed the latest version of the plugin on my Joomla 1.5 site. The installation and configuration was very straightforward. When I wrote to Mike asking for help about how to adjust the zoom, he replied in about 15 minutes! Now, that's service!

Just for everyone's info, he said he made a change in version 2.11a so the zoomlevel is following Google's setting convention instead. You have to do 19-old zoomlevel = new zoomlevel.

Overall, a great plugin!
Page 30 of 35